Zihuatanejo condo rental - Spectacular View of the Bay of Zihuatanejo & Playa La Ropa
Spectacular View of the Bay of Zihuatanejo & Playa La Ropa
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Zihuatanejo Condo Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 6

Casa Del Arbol Cantando (“House of the Singing Tree”), less than a 10-minute walk to Playa La Ropa, has a spectacular view of dreamy Zihuatanejo Bay from two terraces, both facing the bay and graced with many tropical plants and outdoor seating.

Recently renovated, our work-in-progress is on the road to perfection. It was crafted by some of the finest local artisans, using rich local woods, handmade terra cotta tile & fine stonework. A brasil tree dramatically centers the entry stairway, rising up two floors.

With almost 3,000 square feet, this luxury condo is perfect for 3 couples or a family. The fully-equipped kitchen, with gas stove, has a lovely view of the foothills of the Sierra Madre Mountains. Bottled purified water is provided.

Every room has a ceiling fan and air conditioning is available. Every bedroom has a king bed with 400-thread count linens and its own bathroom with rain showers & smooth pebble floors.

There is a lovely pool, off-street parking & 24-hour security.

A truly magical spot in beautiful, peaceful Zihuatanejo.

This is the best time to secure your vacation for next year, while it's still available.

Check out our YouTube Video:: http://youtu.be/9WTnzUfS18E

More Details
Hide Details

Sherwin & Peg are both artists/designers from New York. Sherwin is a semi-retired art director & graphic designer who came to Zihuatanejo in 2001, after being coerced by a good friend. 'Let's go to Mexico,' he said. He stayed on La Ropa and moved over to Las Gatas and camped out with local legend Owen Lee. Week after week passed and the original return home date was a distant memory. Anna Della Marina even wrote a play about the experience, called 'The Man Who Failed to Fly.'

The following year, his future wife Peg (aka Margarita), an interior designer (retail) and senior associate at a renowned architectural firm followed him down to make sure he came home, and she too fell in love with Zihua. (Who doesn't?) It is a magical place that resonates deep within the soul.

They've met amazing folks here and continue to expand their circles. It's been a richly rewarding experience. And the weather!! That word Paradise pops into everyone's vernacular. They love the fact that it is NOT a high rise resort or a Spring Break destination.

Sherwin & Peg Harris purchased this condo in 2010

With gorgeous views of the Zihuatanejo Bay from the hill on the south end (their favorite) of Playa La Ropa, the casa is just a short walk down to the beach and restaurants, and a short cab ride to town ('El Centro'). There is fantastic flora & fauna to be found, with hummingbirds, herons, chakalakas, geckos, iguanas and many many more exotic birds and beasts, not to mention lush tropical plants and flowers everywhere. Heaven!

9 Reviews of Property 377992 in Zihuatanejo, Mexican Riviera

Dreamy View of Playa La Ropa & Bay + Luxury Style!
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Dreamy View of Playa La Ropa & Bay + Luxury Style!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377992
+1 (917) 864-4690
Zihuatanejo Guerrero
5

Better than Advertised

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This home is how we would like ours to be, in any country or environment.
When we weren't on the beach or in town or touring, our favourite spot was the magnificent large deck overlooking what all the world should look like.
Very comfortable. Very spacious. Very clean ( and kept that way with a great housekeeper all week). The owners of this paradise treated us like we were long time friends, and I could see it would be easy to become such with them. Easy short walk to the beach. Could even walk to town, but usually took the lazy way out with a $50 peso cabride ( less than five dollars). The wonderful culture of Mexico and it's friendly people are fully exposed in this town. We were welcomed and pampered, and although we usually like to try different restaurants for every meal, we became regulars at Carmelitas. It is truly a quality Mexican restaurant owned by amazing people. Prices very cheap by our standards at home, but even modest by local comparisons.
Stay at this palace if you like the best of everything.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Dreamy View of Playa La Ropa & Bay + Luxury Style!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377992
+1 (917) 864-4690
Zihuatanejo Guerrero
5

casa Del Arbol Cantndo - 5 Star Plus Rating

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We stayed with a group of friends from 12/17 to 12/28/12 and can't say enough about the condo, the location and the caring, personable and involved owners, Sherwin and Peg! We have rented a lot of condos over the years in lots of places and this condo stands out as one of the best ever. The condo is gorgeous, the view is breathtaking. Waking up to that view every morning was priceless. Our quads are in the best shape ever after those breathtakingly beautiful walks up and down the 75 stairs to La Ropa beach! We loved the quality touches of the condo- the signature "arbol cantando" is a huge wow factor! But the gorgeous dishes, ample and quality silverware, glassware and copper bottom cookware (I could have used a baking sheet though) are fabulous. The ambience is just perfect. Having two patios was delightful and both are a plant and flower lovers feast! Dona Rosario was a wonderful and personable housekeeper who made great breakfasts for us. The five of us had plenty of room to spread out and relax. But what really sets this condo apart is the caring and personable owners - Sherwin and Peg were great at answering questions ahead of time but called while were there multiple times to make sure everything was ok. We ended up sharing photos back and forth and feel like we made new friends in the process of renting. I'm sure they make all their guests feel this special! All of Sherwin's recommendations were spot on. We found one of the most gorgeous "happy hour" bars ever thanks to Sherwin - so hidden we would never have found it on our own. We loved taking the bus into Zihua to explore the great restuarants and our favorite coffee shop - it's an easy 1 block walk from the bottom of the stairs and the 6.5 peso bus ride was a local experience and adventure in itself. It's also a great hike from the bottom of the stairs over the rocks to Playa las Gatas - again the best combination of workout followed by relaxing great beach, shrimp tacos and great margaritas or cerveza once there. We would highly recommend this great condo to anyone looking for a memorable Zihua experience!
Owner's Response: Dear Karen & Joe,
Thank you for your very kind review.
(FYI, there is already a baking sheet here....brought it down with us.)
Along with more additions, you will enjoy.
Hope to 'see' you again next year.
Saludos Tropicales,
Sherwin & Peggy
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Dreamy View of Playa La Ropa & Bay + Luxury Style!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377992
+1 (917) 864-4690
Zihuatanejo Guerrero
5

Wonderful condo in Zihuatanejo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Our group of three couples just completed our one week stay in this beautiful condo. Sherwin the owner went to great lengths to assure that we had a wonderful stay. I can't say enough about his attention to our needs before and during our vacation.

The condo has three large bedrooms, all with king beds and each with its own bath/shower. Two large terraces provide outstanding views of the beach and bay below. Night time views of Zihuatanejo are spectacular. A large kitchen and indoor living room complement the rooms. There is also a separate powder room, with combo washer/dryer for use.

The condo is perched on the hillside above Playa la Ropa. It is a 5-10 minute walk to the beach, down a road and some fairly steep stairs. Mobility impaired folks will find the trip to and from the beach a challenge. Taxis are available, though.

Lots of superior restaurants are within a short drive from the condo.

We would not hesitate to stay here again when we visit Zihua in the future.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Dreamy View of Playa La Ropa & Bay + Luxury Style!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377992
+1 (917) 864-4690
Zihuatanejo Guerrero
Vancouver, Canada
5

LL

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This is the 2nd time we have stayed in this condo and we really enjoyed the lovely large space. Each bedroom is very comfortable and having your own private bath is nice. The kitchen area is big and we ever able to entertain with comfort.
The view from this condo is spectacular and there is not a lack outdoor space for all the enjoy.
We will definately be returning next year to Zihua. Thanks so much Sherwin and Peg for extending your lovely home to us Canadians.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: Thank you Laura! We were happy to have you back. Glad too that you like the improvements. We look forward to having you back next year. Happy Holidays!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Dreamy View of Playa La Ropa & Bay + Luxury Style!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377992
+1 (917) 864-4690
Zihuatanejo Guerrero
5

One of the most beautiful views we have ever seen

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Pictures can not do it justice. A beautiful place with an ourstanding view overlooking the entire Zihuatenjo Bay. Literally steps to the one of the most fantastic beaches. Everyday was the same as the next, just hit reset. Wonderful, freindly people everywhere. While there thry El Manglar Restaurant a 10 -15 minute walk down the hill on the beach.
We are booked here again already for next year...and will continue re-booking year after year.
Owner's Response: We are thrilled that you enjoyed our casa and Zihuatanejo so much, Tim. You 'get it.' Every day is 'Another Day in Paradise.' We love El Manglar also. ¡Hasta pronto!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Dreamy View of Playa La Ropa & Bay + Luxury Style!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377992
+1 (917) 864-4690
Zihuatanejo Guerrero
battle lake, mn
5

wonderful place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
For starters, the wow factor is huge when you walk in, not only is the condo huge, but Sherwin and his wife did an incredible job with the decorating and appointments. The plants and decor they have don't get the notice they should because we were so busy enjoying the view of the bay. Granted, it would be nice to be closer to the beach, but sip a beer or margarita on the way down, or pay a cab $2-3 to bring you home. Luis was our contact person through Sherwin and everything he recommended was spot on! Rossy's on the beach, Leo's by downtown, etc. He's very well spoken, intelligent, and fun to be around- a huge plus for our vacation. So many great restaurants, beautiful beach, activities if you want them, or tranquil enough to enjoy a book without hearing the constant loud music from a spring break-type atmosphere. Our college son and his buddy had a great time and met plenty of locals and tourists alike, not as many as they would in Ixtapa, but enough to keep them entertained. Luis brought us to the large supermarket where we stocked up on some food and plenty of beverages, and carried a cooler to the beach. Moses on the beach lined us up with a fishing boat to Ixtapa Island where another Luis cooked up the mackerel our son caught on the way there. Armando was thoroughly entertaining, picked us up and dropped us off right by Rossy's instead of the pier. If you have questions contact Sherwin and he could provide my email, overall a dream condo that we would surely stay at again. Scott
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are humbled by your enthusiasm and by the joy you experienced in our home and in Zihuatanejo. The locals are indeed wonderful folk and we also are grateful for the welcoming atmosphere that abounds here. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Dreamy View of Playa La Ropa & Bay + Luxury Style!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377992
+1 (917) 864-4690
Zihuatanejo Guerrero
MN
5

Better than the pictures

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This home is beautiful! The pictures do not do it justice, it feels more like a luxury suite than someone's second home. The layout is great - when you're in the bedrooms you can't really hear anything from the living spaces. We spent a lot more time in the condo than we anticipated. Everything we needed was there and you get great breezes and sun in the outdoor living spaces. The pool area is nice and relaxing as well but if you want more privacy just go up to one of your private verandas. The walk to the beach is doable, of course a little harder on the way up but nothing too bad. Taxis come quickly once called, an inexpensive way to get around. Rosario, the housekeeper, is very kind and even helped us arrange a fishing trip (two 70lb sail fish were caught!), she does a great job as well. Sherwin, the owner, was very easy to make arrangements with and communicated very well. We didn't have to worry about anything! There were 3 couples and the space and privacy was more than enough. Hope to go back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Sherri! We're so happy you had such a great time, and that it worked so well for you. We love it too, and it gives us pleasure to share it with folks like you. Hope to see you next year.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Dreamy View of Playa La Ropa & Bay + Luxury Style!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377992
+1 (917) 864-4690
Zihuatanejo Guerrero
Madison, WI USA
5

Heavenly Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
A truly remarkable retreat. We have been vacationing in Zihuatanejo since 1997 but have never had the joy of a home away from home like this one. Beautifully decorated, well appointed and everything you could ever need. The view of the city is breathtaking and the beach is just a short walk away. I would recommend the Harris home to anyone in need of the perfect tropical getaway with all of the conveniences of home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We were delighted to have had you in our home, and that you had such a good time. We are pleased that you enjoyed all the details you described on the phone: the stonework, the tree, the woods, and the service. We know you are picky, so we're thrilled that you plan to come back!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Dreamy View of Playa La Ropa & Bay + Luxury Style!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377992
+1 (917) 864-4690
Zihuatanejo Guerrero
Mexico
5

The perfect vacation rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Hello, I wanted to say that throughout the many years of renting vacation rentals from all over the world I have found a rental that not only has many deferent amenities, But at the same time the attention to detail that is shown in this rental is amazing.

The home is owned by two American designers and the finish work throughout the property is just perfect. I think that not only is the rental a great find but at the same time I have found that dealing with the owners was a pleasure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Mark. It was a real pleasure having you as our very first renter. And with being the first comes the desire to do the best we can from the get go, while helping to contribute to a memorable vacation. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciated our home.
Helpful votes: 3/3