Durango house rental - Rustic exterior, luxurious Southwest interiors, spectacular 360 degree views
Rustic exterior, luxurious Southwest interiors, spectacular 360 degree views
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps18
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Durango House Rental Photos and Description
6 bedrooms, 4 baths, including two master suites, sleeps 18

Animas Vista Lodge is located on County Road 250 in the Animas Valley about eight miles north of Durango, Colorado. The 4,500 sq. ft. house has six bedrooms and four baths, spectacular 360-degree panoramic views and lots of living space for both family activities and privacy. The warm, Southwestern interior has beautiful, quality furnishings and sleeps 18 comfortably. The home and property are tobacco free and pet free. Take in the sunset and the mountains as you lounge, cook and dine on our expansive, 30 x 26 covered outdoor living porch with wood-burning fire place, propane gas grill and 14-foot custom dining table. Relax and play in our 30 x 30 game room with 14-foot vaulted ceiling, nine-foot pool table, Foosball, large Sony flat-screen HDTV with 6-speaker surround sound and built-in wet bar with computer desk.

Outdoors: Take in the sunset and the mountains as you lounge, cook and dine on our expansive, 30 x 26 covered outdoor living porch with wood-burning fire place, propane gas grill and 14-foot custom dining table. On the opposite side of the house off the kitchen, a roomy back deck and play area take advantage of red cliff views. Our ten acres of open land allow plenty of room to roam, and CR 250 is the most popular biking byway through the valley. You are within 2-3 miles of the Bar D Chuckwagon and Western Stage Show; Dalton Ranch Golf Club and restaurant; an upscale shopping area and Trimble Hot Springs Spa. You are only ten minutes from the city of Durango to the south and all it has to offer; and about twenty minutes from Purgatory ski area and Durango Mountain Resort to the north.

First Floor: A large, airy great room (living/dining/kitchen) fills the entire center of the main level, with timber frame ceilings and striking views to the south (red cliffs) and north (Animas River, upper valley, Engineer Peak and more). The great room sitting area includes a comfortable queen sleeper sofa, gas log fireplace and flat-screen HDTV. The spacious, well-equipped kitchen is convenient to the front living porch and the back deck. Two king master bedroom suites (one with gas log fireplace) flank either end of the main level, each with HDTV, private decks and gorgeous views. Two queen bedrooms and a shared bath complete the first floor, along with an attached two-car garage.

Second Floor: Relax and play in our 30 x 30 game room with 14-foot vaulted tongue-in groove ceiling, pool table, Foosball, large Sony flat-screen HDTV with 6-speaker surround sound and built-in wet bar with computer desk. Large windows on three sides frame wide-open outdoor scenes, in particular, the stunning red cliffs. The media area includes plush curved sofa, two barrel swivel chairs, Blu-Ray DVD player and I-Pad docking station. A separate queen sleeper sofa completes the furnishings.

A third king bedroom and connecting bath is situated off the game room. The combination bunk room and exercise room has a twin-over-full bunk bed and futon. A Vision Fitness treadmill and elliptical machine flank two vaulted windows with a spectacular vista of the upper Animas Valley, Engineer Mountain and the peaks beyond. Four can sleep comfortably in the bunk room, which has a wall-mounted HDTV and hallway access to the bath located on this level. An additional stacked laundry set is nearby.

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 377718 in Durango, Colorado

Large, Newly Completed Family Home on Ten Acres in Beautiful Animas Valley
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Large, Newly Completed Family Home on Ten Acres in Beautiful Animas Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377718
(501) 804-7000 (Arkansas, USA)
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Margate NJ
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This house is absolutely stunning! We had a family reunion with 16 people ranging in age from 7 to 73 and it was perfect for our needs. The kids loved the game room and entertained themselves endlessly with the pool table, foos ball and big screen TV with big comfy couches. The adults' favorite spot was the outdoor living area which is spectacular. The house is sited perfectly and some strategically placed trees hide any nearby houses so all you see is the amazing view. We enjoyed watching the Durango Silverton train climbing up the mountain in the mornings and the hummingbirds in the evenings. We also loved the outdoor fireplace.
The house is fully stocked; there was literally nothing that we needed that we didn't have. The kitchen has everything. It even had 2 coffee makers so we could make regular and decaf. Two grills, gas and charcoal.
We really enjoyed our stay and I kept getting complimented since I was the one who "found" the house. Ann was a pleasure to deal with and answered any inquiries promptly and courteously. We all want to come back!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Large, Newly Completed Family Home on Ten Acres in Beautiful Animas Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377718
(501) 804-7000 (Arkansas, USA)
Durango Southwestern Colorado
United States
5

Great property for large families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We met our 3 children and their families after Christmas for six wonderful days in this beautiful home. We were 17 people (8 adults, 9 children from 13-2yrs old.) The bedding and space was more than we had hoped for. The pool table and Foosball table kept the men happy. The several large flatscreen TVs were all used. But the best was the space around the house that the children could explore--even with snow on the ground. And access to Durango and to the ski slopes was terrific. The house was just perfect for us and very comfortable.
We had some trouble getting up the driveway because of ice upon arrival, but the local liasion went out of his way to help us. Our stay could not have been more perfect for a winter retreat. I'm sure it would be great in spring or summer as well. We recommend this property without any reservation. It exceeded our expectations.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Large, Newly Completed Family Home on Ten Acres in Beautiful Animas Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377718
(501) 804-7000 (Arkansas, USA)
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Indianapolis, IN
5

Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We are just getting rested up from our trip to Colorado and the stay at your wonderful house there. We enjoyed so much about it!! Eating our meals on the porch, chatting away the evening with a fire in porch fireplace, seeing deer in the yard every day, the beautiful landscaping. The last night we were there, it was raining with sunshine making raindrops look like diamonds. What a sight! Thank you so much for sharing with us and our friends. L&M C
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Large, Newly Completed Family Home on Ten Acres in Beautiful Animas Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377718
(501) 804-7000 (Arkansas, USA)
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Midland, Texas
5

Outstanding Durango property!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This property in Durango is fantastic! I will echo other reviewers in saying that the pictures on VRBO simply do not do it justice. The house itself is spectacular with ample room for everyone to enjoy many activities. The kitchen is very well stocked and lacks nothing for any cook. The furnishings throughout are incredible. We could not have asked for better accommodations. The outside is even better! The front porch is nothing short of awe inspiring. We spent each evening gazing at the millions of stars that were visible as well as just listening to the sounds of nature around us. We were treated to daily visits from the resident chipmunk families and the numerous deer that came up each morning and evening. The views of the mountains that completely surround the property are gorgeous. You will not be disappointed in this property. We had an absolutely wonderful time during our week in Durango and made many wonderful memories to treasure for years to come. Ann was more than accommodating for each need/question we had during our stay. We look forward to returning soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Large, Newly Completed Family Home on Ten Acres in Beautiful Animas Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377718
(501) 804-7000 (Arkansas, USA)
Durango Southwestern Colorado
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The house and property are far more beautiful than the pictures on VRBO. This home was perfect for our family of 18. We could not have asked for a better place! Everything was clean and well maintained. We highly recommend this home for your getaway with family and friends. The owner was always available to answer any questions thoroughly and promptly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: We are delighted when other families enjoy our home as much as we do, and care for it as if it were their own!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Large, Newly Completed Family Home on Ten Acres in Beautiful Animas Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377718
(501) 804-7000 (Arkansas, USA)
Durango Southwestern Colorado
5

This house is immaculate!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
You will not be disappointed in this home! My wife, my parents, and I stayed in this luxurious home several days while visiting Durango. The place was probably 4 times larger than what we needed. It is very evident that the main function this property serves is a luxurious comfortable home for the owners and their family. You will not believe the amount of quality furnishings and decor in this home, it is not your typical rental. Despite it's enormous size, the home has such a warm, comfortable and cozy feel. As beautiful as the pictures of this home are, they do not do it justice....you have to see this place to understand what I mean.

P.S. I have used Homeaway/VRBO many times in the past but never bothered to actually register so I could leave a review. I decided to register for the sole purpose of having the ability to praise this property in a review. I would have felt guilty if i didn't. It was that awesome :)
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Large, Newly Completed Family Home on Ten Acres in Beautiful Animas Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377718
(501) 804-7000 (Arkansas, USA)
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Oklahoma
5

Absolutely Gorgeous Home!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My family stayed in this gorgeous home 3/18/12 through 3/23/12. We have rented many private homes throughout Colorado and this one is at or near the top of the list! It is more beautiful than the pictures show, and the views are unbelievable. We woke up to viewing elk out the front windows each morning, the home was very clean and beautifully decorated. They layout of the home is ideal...the upstairs game room/bedroom and exercise/bunk room are upstairs above the garage so the noise is not heard in the main living areas. Two great outdoor decks...one uncovered out the back door looking into the red cliff mountains and the primary outdoor living area (covered) with a fireplace, great furniture and a large table for seating up to 12-14 people! The home has in floor heating, a very clean garage, plenty of kitchen amenities, two washer/dryer units, flat screen tv's, 3 fireplaces, etc. The home has all natural colored wood on the interior - no sheet rock. The owners were very easy to work with, easily accessible via email, text or cell phone. We will certainly be back to this beauty. My wish is to rent it for the whole summer!!!! Thank AVL!!!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Large, Newly Completed Family Home on Ten Acres in Beautiful Animas Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377718
(501) 804-7000 (Arkansas, USA)
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Oklahoma
5

Absolutely Fantastic Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My family stayed in this gorgeous home 3/18/12 through 3/23/12. We have rented many private homes throughout Colorado and this one is at or near the top of the list! It is more beautiful than the pictures show, and the views are unbelievable. We woke up to viewing elk in out the front windows each morning, the home was very clean and beautifully decorated. They layout of the home is ideal...the upstairs game room/bedroom and exercise/bunk room are upstairs above the garage so the noise is not heard in the main living areas. Two great outdoor decks...one uncovered out the back door looking into the red cliff mountains and the primary outdoor living area (covered) with a fireplace, great furniture and a large table for seating up to 12-14 people! The home has in floor heating, a very clean garage, plenty of kitchen amenities, two washer/dryer units, flat screen tv's, 3 fireplaces, etc. The home has all natural colored wood on the interior - no sheet rock. The owners were very easy to work with, easily accessible via email, text or cell phone. We will certainly be back to this beauty. My wish is to rent it for the whole summer!!!! Thank AVL!!!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Large, Newly Completed Family Home on Ten Acres in Beautiful Animas Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377718
(501) 804-7000 (Arkansas, USA)
Durango Southwestern Colorado
5

Amazing home with spectacular views!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We stayed here during recently and it was perfect for us. We had 3 generations and in-laws. The place was perfect to have everyone together as well as to spread out to the outside porch, living room, game room, fitness area, or retreat to one of the beautifully decorated rooms.

The views are incredible and are literally 360 degrees. It's close to Durango to still hang out in town, but we loved that it was out of town and nestled in the forest. We saw several deer and a white mink. We rode the winter train, which we highly recommend. We heard the Polar Express train ride is amazing, but buy your tickets early (we didn't think to do that).

Prior to coming the owners were quick to respond to questions we had and when we had a problem there, they responded immediately and corrected the situation. They even provided a high chair and a couple gates, which was nice so we didn't have to travel with them.

If you're planning a trip to Durango, this is a great home to stay.
Owner's Response: We especially love for multi-generational families to come to our home, as it's what we love to do ourselves, being grandparents. It is a wonderful opportunity to enjoy God's creation while making new memories with loved ones.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Large, Newly Completed Family Home on Ten Acres in Beautiful Animas Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377718
(501) 804-7000 (Arkansas, USA)
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Truly inspirational

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
You have a wonderful home. We loved the outdoor porch and the beautiful views. I found this place truly inspirational. Thank you for allowing us to stay.
Helpful votes: 3/3