Otis house rental - .View in Spring front of house
.View in Spring front of house
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Otis House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeping Porch, sleeps 6 in bedrooms, can sleep 8-10

Architecturally beautiful contemporary 3 bedroom, 4 bath home for rent. Fresh air, tranquility, blue skies, lushly treed, very private, and quiet. Sun-filled and spacious with a first floor living room with fireplace and an upstairs living room with fireplace. 5 minutes to pristine Otis reservoir, Otis Ridge Skiing and beach in Tolland Forest and Big Pond.

2 master suites (each with own private full bathroom) upstairs with queen Simmons' Beauty Rest Beds. Stars and moon lull you to sleep as you gaze up through the skylights in romantic main Master Suite. Oversized Jacuzzi in main master bath. 3rd bedroom on 1st floor. All glass sun porch with post & beam, domed ceiling for cozy chats, nature naps, or watching amazing, pink-sky sunsets. Pull-out sofa. Second living room upstairs with pull-out sofa. Queen size bed in fully finished walk-out basement.

The house is fully furnished with washer, dryer, dishwasher and well equipped kitchen. 2 fireplaces. Hardwood floors throughout. Queen beds in all bedrooms and 2 pull-out sofas.

Sleeps 6 in private bedrooms. Plenty of outdoor parking. Deck surrounds most of the house and back overlooks beautiful mountain/woods.

In warm weather, relax on the private deck.

Approximately 2 hours from Manhattan or Boston.

East Otis has a small market for good food shopping, exceptional meat counter. 5 Minutes to Otis Ridge Ski area, 25-30 minutes to Ski Butternut. 5 minutes from Otis Reservoir. Very close to Jacob's Pillow (10 minutes), Great Barrington (cineplex and restaurants) and Stockbridge (Historic Red Lion Inn, Berkshire Playhouse) are about 25 minutes away as is Lee (outlet Mall and Joe's Diner). Allow more time for jaunts to Tanglewood, Shakespeare and Co. in Lenox and at least one hour more for Williamstown Playhouse, the Clark Museum and MOCA in North Adams. The Appalachian Trail cuts between Routes 23 and 8. Many other events are listed in the Berkshire Week, a Thursday supplement of the Berkshire Eagle.

Rates quoted are for groups of 1-6, extra for additional people.

Tanglewood,summer home to Boston Symphony, James Taylor and many famous musicians. Jacob's Pillow for dance, Berkshire Theatre Playhouse, Historic Stockbridge home of Red Lion Inn and Rockwell Museum, quaint village towns with many art galleries and famous writer's homes open to the public.

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 377530 in Otis, Massachusetts

Berkshire Summer and Ski Retreat Rental, Stunning Woodland Views
average rating of 4.5 based on 14 reviews
business
Berkshire Summer and Ski Retreat Rental, Stunning Woodland Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377530
+1 847209 x 5530
Otis Berkshires
5

Great size house for a nice family getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This house is very spacious and cozy. My family and I have been coming to this house for several years now and will continue to do so for years to come. The renter is a pleasure to work with. We always enjoy our stay.
business
Berkshire Summer and Ski Retreat Rental, Stunning Woodland Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377530
+1 847209 x 5530
Otis Berkshires
3

Large but not very clean and it seems occupied.

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
It is large, location is great, but we found it not very clean and it seems occupied by the owner or another year-around tenant (clothes in closets, more than half of the refrigerator was stocked with used stuff, someones shampoo and shaving stuff in cabinets, etc).

I have already send the owner this as feedback:

We could not lock the backdoor because the lock seemed busted (the plate on the inside was loose, i.e. not fully attached to the door). We also found that the backdoor of the first floor bedroom that opens to the deck didn't lock. While you let me know by e-mail that *you* might trust that the area is "crime free", I can assure you that mentioning that is not sufficient for some guests to feel absolutely safe at night. I'm sure some city folks will find the advice to "push a chair against it" in lieu of a lock very strange.

While the house was generally clean in terms of dust and cleanness of the floors, many areas/items were not as clean as we are used to at home or when renting vacation homes. Some examples: Utensils in the kitchen were dirty and a lot of knives and pans were rusted to a degree that I would not use them. The rugs in the house and the mats in the bathrooms didn't look clean (I'm sure the mats came out of the washer, but again: they didn't *look* clean -- and that's definitely not what you'd like to see when you enter a rental property). See some pics are attached to see what I mean. The smell of a dog throughout the first floor was also clear. We found hairs in the shower upstairs and did use some cleaning stuff from the kitchen sink cabinet to clean before taking a shower. Altogether, I must admit that I found the rental somewhat overpriced. This is when I compare price, cleanness, and location across some properties that we've rented in New England through the HomeAway site.

The location of the house is fantastic and so was all the space. We had a great time sitting around the fireplace at night. We loved the contemporary design. But as you can see by this feedback, we were not fully content with cleanness.

I would not recommend this place to friends and I won't rent it again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Berkshire Summer and Ski Retreat Rental, Stunning Woodland Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377530
+1 847209 x 5530
Otis Berkshires
5

Great place for a family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My family and I have been going to Tricia's house for 3 years now. The house is very spacious and clean. There is more than enough room for the 10 of us. Other than the size and accomodations, it is directly between Boston and Long Island so both families have a short trip (2.5 hours) for a weekend getaway. We love this family gathering and plan on continuing to come to Tricia's for years to come.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Berkshire Summer and Ski Retreat Rental, Stunning Woodland Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377530
+1 847209 x 5530
Otis Berkshires
5

Fantastic Weekend Getaway House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This home is a fantastic place to come for a weekend getaway with a large group. We were three couples who slept comfortably in three separate and private bedrooms, each with their own bathroom. We were able to cook and have a fireplace and visit the various attractions in the Berkshires. The house was clean, the kitchen had an array of cooking tools and utensils, and enough space for a lot more people. I would definitely come back and highly recommend Tricia's home.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Berkshire Summer and Ski Retreat Rental, Stunning Woodland Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377530
+1 847209 x 5530
Otis Berkshires
5

Our lovely weekend in Otis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a lovely time at this house. It was clean, spacious and well-stocked. The kitchen allowed for cooking for a group and there was plenty of room to spread out. The dining room was comfortable and there is a beautiful sunroom off the kitchen which is a great place to hang out. There were three full baths which made it easy for everyone to have access. We were particularly appreciative that the rental was available for a weekend (which is all the time we had). We're hoping to go back.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Berkshire Summer and Ski Retreat Rental, Stunning Woodland Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377530
+1 847209 x 5530
Otis Berkshires
Portland, OR
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We really enjoyed Tricia's hidden hideaway in July 2012. First off, the place is huge, and while the master bedroom with skylight and Jacuzzi tub were pretty amazing, there really wasn't a bad bedroom to be found. Tricia was super helpful and communicative throughout the stay as well as leading up to it -- should anything have gone wrong it was obvious that she would have been ready to swoop in and help out.

Our favorite piece of this stay was really the location. It's down a long dirt road and then a little further. We felt completely tucked away into the woods with all of the modern amenities provided.

I'd definitely recommend Tricia's abode to friends -- great bang for your buck!

Leon
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Berkshire Summer and Ski Retreat Rental, Stunning Woodland Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377530
+1 847209 x 5530
Otis Berkshires
5

My Great Escape to Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I was so lucky to spend a beautiful weekend in this house with friends, and I was
perfectly delighted with the entire experience. All of the amenities
were provided as listed in the description, the house was spotless,
and the atmosphere was warm and inviting. After a stressful, busy week in the city, this was paradise to me.

Tricia, the owner, made sure that every detail was taken care of - I
felt more like a guest at an exclusive inn rather than a "vacation
house renter." There were bed and bath linens laid out, toiletries
and even coffee provided.

The views were stunning as promised. There was great hiking and
plenty of local culture. My friends and I plan on making this an
annual retreat.

I highly recommend this property.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Berkshire Summer and Ski Retreat Rental, Stunning Woodland Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377530
+1 847209 x 5530
Otis Berkshires
New York, NY
5

A castle out of a fairy tale!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Our stay here was the perfect Berkshires getaway. Not only is the house amazingly gorgeous, it was sparkling clean and evident that the owners take great care. We loved the wooded views out of every window. We relaxed, cooked dinner, lounged by the fire, took walks in the beautiful surroundings. The beds were warm and comfortable. Everything was in perfect working order, and the owner, Tricia, was extremely helpful and available for any of our questions. We felt renewed and peaceful here; we highly recommend this house to anyone looking for a beautiful, tranquil mountain experience.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Berkshire Summer and Ski Retreat Rental, Stunning Woodland Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377530
+1 847209 x 5530
Otis Berkshires
NY
1

Stay in a hotel

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
A mistake from start to finish. . After we send the deposit we receive a long list of rules and responsibilities that we have to follow as well as a list of items that we cannot use. There are two fireplaces but only one works. There is a jacuzzi but forget about a hot or even warm bath. You must fill it three times with 25 minute intervals in between. Upon arrival and inspection of the kitchen we found MOUSE DROPPINGS all over the kitchen. Evidently if you leave ANY open food anywhere , including a bag of chips sealed,they appear. The owner was shocked that I was surprised over this. There is a cleaning fee but what its for I dont know because you must strip the beds and remove the garbage and clean the dishes and kitchen!!!
Oh and best of all...the windows in the master leaked during a rain storm--raining ON THE BED all night. I immediately emailed the owner, who was in town,and she did nothing. I spent hours cleaning up.
The furniture is shabby . The dishes are all chipped. The coffee mugs are mismatched cheap dollar store crap. I have never stayed in such a trashy place.
On top of all this the owner wants to keep my deposit because I did not follow the garbage separating rules well enough. I cannot believe how much time I spent separating and moving garbage!!!
Hotels for me from now on
If you like being ripped off and vacationing with mouse crap this is the dump for you
Owner's Response: The above is only true as to rules/information sent to the renters, and the fact that there was a serious torrential downpour that damaged the window and caused a leak, but I was not in town,as she claims, as I live in Chicago and there was nothing to be done during the storm. I apologized as it could not be fixed during the storm and I am sorry that this happened. The window has since been fixed. She did not pay a cleaning fee as that was negotiated out of the contract, which I have from her in her own writing, should anyone care to see it. I request that renters put their dirty dishes in the dishwasher, I do not ask them to clean. The mugs are from Macy's and I am surprised that she represents herself as an attorney, because I can't imagine using the word "crap" from an educated person. The dishes do have some chips, but they are from Crate and Barrel. I suppose I could put out plastic or paper plates. The chips come from previous renters and I have never charged them for damage and no one has complained. She cashed her full refundable security deposit on Jan 13, and wrote this review Jan 23, stating that I want to keep her deposit... so this review is somewhat bogus. Her real problem is that, after she signed the contract in November, they wanted me to comp them for Xmas day. I had friends there, and if they were not going to pay, I was not going to boot out my friends. One of these friends is my housekeeper, so I know that the place was in perfect condition. See other reviews posted about how clean this house is. If she spent that much time on garbage, that is because she created that much trash. It is the rule in our area that refuse must be separated for recycling and keeping the community green. As for the furniture, one man's shabby is another man's chic. I am sorry she was not happy as that is not my intention for any guest to not enjoy themselves.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Berkshire Summer and Ski Retreat Rental, Stunning Woodland Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377530
+1 847209 x 5530
Otis Berkshires
Lincoln, Massachusetts
5

A Month in the Berkshire Woods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We decamped from the city to spend August 5-Sept 5 at this house. Using the Verizon MiFi provided by the owner, I set up a home office in the upstairs open area -- much more comfortable than my own home office! It is a quiet neighborhood too.

There is so much to do in the area that we'll have to get back and do that which we didn't get to. And everything seemed to be only a short drive. Verizon cellphones worked well, even in the basement. The TV's were big. Be sure to catch a Pittsfield Colonials baseball game - the stadium and low prices are a delight. Bring bicycles, as touring the countryside is great! Lots of good hiking nearby. Three nice lakes nearby were delightful.

We bought fresh veggies, including really fresh corn, frequently and ate well.

The owner answered every e-mail, and returned our deposit promptly. The place is huge and you can park all cars off the street.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers