Charlottesville cottage rental - Sunset view from deck
Sunset view from deck
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Charlottesville Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 4 to 6

The Carriage House at Warren Mill is a post and beam construction on the historic site of the still present Warren Mill.

It is on the 2nd level with an expansive deck that overlooks the horse pasture and creek on the property. Indoors, the living area is open and quite spacious with a full kitchen and large dining table.

It's proximity to the James River make it the ideal location for enjoying recreation on the river. Additionally, there are walking trails behind the property as well as a wide waterfall with swimming hole.

7 Reviews of Property 377455 in Charlottesville, Virginia

Carriage House at Warren Mill, retreat near the James, close to C'ville, UVA
average rating of 4.142857 based on 7 reviews
business
Carriage House at Warren Mill, retreat near the James, close to C'ville, UVA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377455
+1 4344342863629
Charlottesville Central Virginia
4

Fun carriage house in the woods

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The carriage house is very open and feels spacious. It has a deck with table and chairs and a balcony overlooking the courtyard. It was only a 20-30 minute drive into Charlottesville. Scottsville is a really small town with only a few restaurants (the restaurant that was most recommended on Trip Advisor closed a few weeks before we arrived). The grounds were beautiful - they had goats and horses. There was a really pretty waterfall on the property as well. The owners were very friendly and nice. We noticed the dining table leg was broken and told the owner as we were leaving to go to Charlottesville, he repaired it before we came back.

Positives: Open floor plan, deck for dining, beautiful view and grounds, most ammenities provided (soap, shampoo, dish liquid, etc)
Negatives: Bugs and ants in the house (it is in the woods), wish the second bedroom had a queen bed instead of 2 twins, the deck was rotting in some places making me a little nervous

Overall I really enjoyed my stay and would be happy to come back!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Carriage House at Warren Mill, retreat near the James, close to C'ville, UVA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377455
+1 4344342863629
Charlottesville Central Virginia
5

Absolutely lovely country retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We stayed in this carriage house for a month while my husband conducted research at Monticello. This is a very comfortable space with an airy and spacious loft-like feel. It has two small bedrooms (but also pullout couches in the living area) and an open-concept living area with high ceilings. It is, as stated, a carriage house—the second story above a workshop that probably used to be an old garage. The owners live in the main house, and the properties share a common courtyard.

We came with our toddler and were pleasantly surprised to find the owners had stocked the house with lots of books and toys. It is tastefully furnished and decorated, with a very comfortable bed and couches, and well-equipped kitchen. The family gave us our privacy while we stayed there, though they were very pleasant and friendly (one of their children even dog-sat for us when we left for a night for our anniversary).

The setting is quite rural—cell phones are iffy, wifi is there but slow. It is definitely a “get away from it all” kind of place! On the property you can visit with the goats and then walk down the horse pasture to a waterfall. Also, just down the road (a 5 minute or less walk) is a popular landing on the James River, where you can swim. Lots of people float the river on inner tubes from here, and if our daughter was older we would have too!

To respond to the previous poster about the trains…yes, there are trains that run by the house, and they blow their horns. Granted it was a hot month that we were there and we were running the AC, but the train never woke any of us during our whole visit.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Carriage House at Warren Mill, retreat near the James, close to C'ville, UVA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377455
+1 4344342863629
Charlottesville Central Virginia
Pa
3

Nice

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The cottage was very nice and the owners where very accommodating. If you like nature this is the place to be very quiet other than the train going by, but it wasn't that bad. Not far from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello and Walton's Mountain. After visiting Monticello we went to Michie's Tavern which was a very good place to eat. The only disappointment that I had "My Opinion" was the appearance around the cottage inside the court yard. I am very much a gardner and I pride myself in the way my flowers, garden and shrubs look. One thing this did not have, the garden was very overgrown with weeds and shrubs that needed to be trimmed and not many flowers at all. The cushions on the chairs where very dirty and the hot tub didn't look inviting at all. If you are not into outside appearance than this is the place for you. I feel she has a gold mine here with just a little tender love and care.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Carriage House at Warren Mill, retreat near the James, close to C'ville, UVA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377455
+1 4344342863629
Charlottesville Central Virginia
Maryland
5

Beautiful location and terrific cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We had a wonderful stay in the Carriage House at Warren Mill. The location is very pretty and remote but close enough to grocery stores and Charlottesville for convenience. The place has a great cottage feel. Beautifull decorated. Very comfortable beds and sofas. All the amenities you need in the kitchen. It was clean and well organized and laid-out. The family was very welcoming. We loved it and can't wait to go back!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Carriage House at Warren Mill, retreat near the James, close to C'ville, UVA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377455
+1 4344342863629
Charlottesville Central Virginia
2

Awesome property

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We loved this property - so beautiful! The setting is remote so being away from the traffic is a treat. There are goats, children's toys, a waterfall. Lovely! And the owners are very nice and easy to deal with. And it's a quick jump up to Charlottesville. What took away from our weekend experience were two things: The apartment was not very clean - there were lots and lots of stink bugs (dead and alive) and spiders. They were in every corner, on the ceiling, on the floor, on the counters. Everywhere. Which made it a bit tricky with our little toddler. Some of this goes along with the setting and the building, but many of them could've been removed prior to our arrival. There was also bird poop in the apartment - on the sofa cushios, the high chair, the counter top, the floor. Again, something that we feel should've been cleaned before we arrived, because that was just plain gross. The other thing that made our nights not so restful is that trains run very, very close to this property (like 100 feet or so) and they honk their horns every. single. time. We literally almost fell out of bed around midnight and 6am. So bring ear plugs and a noise machine for sleeping. The trains seems to run throughout the day and night as we heard and saw them many times.
Owner's Response: We have put a great deal of thought and work into making this property enchanting and pleasant for both adults and children. However, there are occasionally acts of nature which interfere. The above guest happened to stay during the height of the stink bugs' departure back outdoors. We had cleaned them out 3 times that day before their arrival. Each time we reentered the cottage there were more. The guests arrived late at night and we weren't able to get back into the cottage to clean again. We were also having a unique experience with bluebirds which had a nest in an unused stovepipe. It took us a while to figure out where the birds were coming from and going. But this issue has been resolved, the bird poop cleaned up and all is back to normal. After seeing this review, I also did a thorough stink bug search and destroy mission going after the ones which die in the deepest recesses. It is unfortunate that our guests were subjected to these forces of nature and I wish that they had let me know about it immediately, so it could have been taken care of and the remainder of their stay been more pleasant. However, I didn't know there was a problem until this review. Please know that we want all of our guests' stays to be as pleasant as possible and will do all in our part to make it so. As to the trains, you just gotta love 'em and most people do.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Carriage House at Warren Mill, retreat near the James, close to C'ville, UVA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377455
+1 4344342863629
Charlottesville Central Virginia
5

BEST PLACE EVER TO STAY.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Warren Mill was the most beautiful place we could have picked to stay at! Very clean!!! The layout was perfect. Our son had to have surgery at UVA and the location to the hospital was great, not far away. We had family come out and LOTS of room for everyone. It's great that the kettles, plates and glasses were provided for us to use. It was so relaxing to sit out on our deck or travel down to the fountain to check out the fish and relax on the patio chairs there, or we walked on down to see the horses and goats. It made us really feel at home (we are from Wisconsin), so seeing the animals added to the beauty of this place. A short walk down the road is a beautiful river, very peaceful and clean.
Lisa was great and always made sure we were comfortable. We had mail delivered while there and her husband brought the mail to us while our son was resting there after surgery. The house is not far from town and we were able to visit Monticello, which was only a 15 minute drive from the location. The restraunts in town were great, but we loved eating at the house and the grill is so awesome, my husband wants one too! I would so recommend this vacation rental to EVERYONE!! If we ever have to go back we will sure be staying there again! Everyone at Warren Mill were so friendly and were always willing to help out. Thanks so much for making our stay very relaxing!!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Carriage House at Warren Mill, retreat near the James, close to C'ville, UVA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377455
+1 4344342863629
Charlottesville Central Virginia
Virginia Beach, VA
5

Chrisi, Virginia Beach, VA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Had a lovely weekend at Warrens Mill. The grounds were beautiful and provided much entertainment for our 3 daughters. Horses, Goats and a Dog and Cat! Not to mention the tree swing! Huge hit...Lots of adventuring on the property. We loved the picture perfect private swimming hole and waterfall.
The carraige house was decorated like a pottery barn catalog and we had everything we needed and more!
The hot tub was a much needed bonus and the property owners were extremely accomodating to boot.
We will definetly plan a return trip..
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2