Cabo Matapalo house rental - Front view of the house. 2 story-cabin, social area, main cabin.
Front view of the house. 2 story-cabin, social area, main cabin.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Cabo Matapalo House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

This luxury beachfront, Costa Rican home is the perfect hideaway for sophisticated nature lovers. Osa Marmaris, an eco-friendly site, provides the perfect balance between tranquility, elegance and adventure. In Osa Marmaris you can check out the waves without leaving your bedroom.

Designed and decorated by one of the best architectural firms in Costa Rica, under a detached unit concept, you can have privacy in your own Bungalow and also enjoy with your friends and family in the social area within just a few steps. This way, some guests can retire to solitude and listen to the sounds of nature as others stay in the social area for as long as they want! Every piece of furniture, every room and bathroom has been custom made to make you enjoy a tasteful home inserted in paradise!

Osa Marmaris has beautiful Costa Rican hardwood floors as well as comfortable and stylish wooden furniture. You will enjoy a spacious living area with a bar (in case you wish to have some cocktails!), a fully equipped kitchen and open dinning room (for those delicious meals you want to make yourselves or have us make for you!).

Located in Cabo Matapalo, Peninsula de Osa, Casa Marmaris is surrounded by a unique natural atmosphere, in such a privileged area that you can watch Howler Monkeys jump from tree to tree and teach their offspring how to jump as you are having breakfast on the dining table. You´ll marvel as you watch this breathtaking show every day!

In relation The New York Times wrote:' Seemed to hold an increasingly rare chance to observe the rain forest in all its fecund carbon storing, oxygen-producing glory, without quite so much human company...' says AMY HARMON. Read the entire article in this link:

http://www.nytimes.com/2014/04/13/travel/in-search-of-wild-costa-rica.html?emc=eta1&_r=0

Known as one of the best surf spots in the world, Matapalo also offers eco adventure activities, that we´ll be glad to help you arrange with the best local tour office, such as:

Hikes: Corcovado tour, Day jungle hike tour, Bird watching, Night tour

Boat tours: Animal sanctuary, Dolphin watching, Snorkeling, Rio Esquinas Tour, Fishing (full day / half day or in-shore / off-shore)

Adventure: Waterfall rappelling, Tree climbing, Canopy

Educational: Chocolate Tour, Animal Sanctuary, Orchids House “Casa Orquídeas”

Other: Horseback riding, Kayaking tours (sunset kayak, dolphin kayak, full day kayak, one week kayak)

Come to Osa Marmaris so you can walk a few minutes to get to Backwash Bay and lay in the white warm sand or get your surfboard and in high tide, jump into one of Matapalo’s best surf points, right through Osa Marmaris garden.

This house, under a detached unit concept offers you an invigorating ocean front view from every room you find yourself in.

In Osa Marmaris you´ll enjoy a Master Bungalow with a king bed and 2 Bungalows (in a two story building) with 2 double beds each. Every Bungalow has a private luxury bathroom, outdoor hot water shower, a fan and a balcony with a table and two rocking chairs.

Steps way from the Bungalows, the social area includes, 1 extra room with a king sofa bed, fan, luxury bathroom and hot water shower, a spacious and comfortable living area with a nice bar, and an open dinning room that sits 8. You´ll also find a fully equipped kitchen with service for 8 that has a refrigerator, stove/oven, blender, shelves, counters and granite surfaces.

Highest quality towels (bathroom and beach) and linens are provided for our guests, as well as daily light cleaning.

We offer wireless internet access for you so you can stay connected!

Our caretakers will be very happy to assist you during your stay. They will welcome you, take care of your needs and answer your questions as we are all service oriented in Osa Marmaris. Not only do we want you to feel like at home, but we want your experience to be unforgettable!

Regarding meals, you can either cook yourselves or you can hire our caretaker's wife to cook delicious dishes and costa rican menus. You will have great meals and enjoy every breakfast, lunch and dinner at Osa Marmaris, as you will be surrounded by the sounds of nature and feel very healthy as you breath clean fresh ocean air.

Also, you can relax or read a book lying in a hammock in the landscaped garden under the shadow of our magnificent trees.

In Osa Marmaris you will fall asleep with the sound of the waves and wake up as the Howler Monkeys sing good morning.

How to get here:

If you´re driving from San José, we can send you detailed instructions upon request.

If you wish to fly, book a flight to Puerto Jimenez through one of the local airlines (www.natureair.com) or (www.flysansa.com) and from there take a taxi to Osa Marmaris at a US $40 rate each way.

If you are looking for one of the most beautiful places on Earth, come to Osa Marmaris, it will truly be an unforgettable experience!

Keywords: Oceanfront Luxury House in Cabo Matapalo

More Details
Hide Details

Ximena is a chilean lawyer who lived in Costa Rica for almost 30 years and still lives partially there. She fell in love with Matapalo in the year 1993 and bought her first property then. Osa Marmaris was built between 2008 and 2009. She fulfilled her dream of building the most elegant and luxurious house in the area, without compromising its eco-friendly standards.

Ximena Soler purchased this house in 2009

This property is magnificently located right next to Backwash Bay without loosing its privacy. Even though it is ocean front, it has a 15 meter rise which makes the view breathtaking from every room you are in.

In Osa Marmaris you will have 3 private bungalows, each one with it´s private bathroom and shower. They are all separate from the social area that includes the living room, dinning room, kitchen and extra bedroom. This way you can choose if you want to hang out with your friends and family in the social area or if you want some privacy and quiet in your own room.

14 Reviews of Property 333083 in Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica

Amazing Luxurious Oceanfront House in Cabo Matapalo with pool
average rating of 4.888889 based on 14 reviews
business
Amazing Luxurious Oceanfront House in Cabo Matapalo with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333083vb
+56 94599999
Cabo Matapalo Puntarenas
5

Beautiful Place for an R&R

Beautiful Place for an R&R
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Lovely to getaway to Osa again with my hubby and Casa Marmaris was the perfect place to stay in paradise.
The plunge pool was perfect after a nice cool down after coming back from any excursions and enjoying the lovely view of the backwash beach. Also, our neighbors the howler monkeys kept us company all through the week with other wildlife friends that have passed through the garden.
There was only one issue which was the power outages and at least that has been worked on and as well as the owner just added 10 more solar panels which will solve the problem for any future arrivals to this gorgeous place.
Looking forward to our next visit to your beautiful place real soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Amazing Luxurious Oceanfront House in Cabo Matapalo with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333083vb
+56 94599999
Cabo Matapalo Puntarenas
4

Fantastic Stay in Osa Peninsula

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This is a fantastic house in the beautiful and peaceful Osa Peninsula. It's a gorgeous property which manages to feel very open, but still private. It has a lovely view of Backwash Bay and is great for wildlife spotting - we saw monkeys every day passing through. Each of the rooms are beautifully appointed and it's a very relaxing place to hang out (especially in the hammock!).
We went at the end of the rainy season, so were pretty much the only people on any of the 3 nearby beaches (my personal favorite was Backwash). Incredible surfing too at the right time of day, and no one on the waves either! My husband, who is a keen surfer, said it's sone of the best surfing he has seen (and we travel a lot).
Not much going on in the area night-time wise, but we just made our own fun. I'd recommend a dinner out at the Laps Rios resort nearby, it was delicious. Isaac and Desiree, the on-site caretakers, were super helpful and friendly. They are constantly at your disposal and always smiling. Desiree was great with our friend's baby, who she baby sat for a few hours every day. She also made a couple of very nice dinners for us.
I'd say the only downside is that the pool is on the small side, more of a plunge pool - not for lap swimming! But the ocean is right on your door step so it's not a big deal.
I'd definitely recommend it for a peaceful, relaxing break for the adventurous type, and we'd love to come back one day!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing Luxurious Oceanfront House in Cabo Matapalo with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333083vb
+56 94599999
Cabo Matapalo Puntarenas
Sydney
5

Totally Incredible Oasis In A Tropical Paradise! The Best House @ Cabo Matapalo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed at Osa Mamaris for 2 months and everything about the place was beyond our expectations. Its unbelievably beautiful, serene and peaceful. The staff and owner are a pleasure to deal with and be with. The location just doesn't get any better - right on the beach with little rock pools to swim in out the front and a surf break behind. And the wildlife viewing right from your loungeroom will blow you away. There are monkeys crossing in front every day and we saw armadillos feeding in the yard and pizotes and beautiful lizards of all colours and shapes. Every day was magical! The place is well taken care of and has an air of down to earth luxury. You have great walks nearby, waterfalls and wonderful adventures. You have everything you need and more. I can't wait to come back and stay again. I highly recommend this place if you want the ultimate osa experience!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing Luxurious Oceanfront House in Cabo Matapalo with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333083vb
+56 94599999
Cabo Matapalo Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Words cannot describe what a wonderful time we had

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Hi, I wanted to thank you for allowing myself and friend to stay in your wonderful home in the Osa.

Words cannot describe what a wonderful time we had. Isaac, Jesse and Andress were wonderful.

I have traveled around the world, stayed in many places from Africa to Bali to Europe but must say your place is amazing. Thank you!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing Luxurious Oceanfront House in Cabo Matapalo with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333083vb
+56 94599999
Cabo Matapalo Puntarenas
United States
5

Ideal Family Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My wife, three children, and I stayed in this house for a week and it was probably the best vacation week we have ever enjoyed. Every day was spent watching spider monkeys, squirrel monkeys, white-face, and howlers swing through the trees along with scarlet macaws and toucans before even leaving the breakfast table. Meanwhile the house is extraordinary and beautifully appointed. The owner was extremely responsive and helpful, while the caretaker and his wife took care of every detail while we were in the house. From the condition of the home, they clearly have been taking care of every detail with the house. We took advantage of the cooking service and enjoyed the best food we have had during our travels in Costa Rica with fresh seafood every night courtesy of local fisherman. The caretaker's wife and cook who made extraordinary meals along with incredible fresh juices were hands down better than any restaurant we have found in Costa Rica.

The location allows for direct access to Backwash Beach which is stunning and not bad if you want to surf or kayak. From the house you can also do a number of reasonable hikes into the rain-forest where we additionally spotted sloths, poison dart frogs, butterflies, and a stunning array of birds that you won't find anywhere else. We also went tide pooling and found crabs, sea hares, lobster, etc... Perfect for kids and adults as well.

The drive down is pretty manageable as long as you have four wheel drive, and you can also rely on taxi services if you prefer not to drive. Just be sure you stock up in Puerto Jimenez for your stay so that you can avoid return trips for extra food. You can also use this location as a jumping off for Corcovado, but know that you have a meaningful hike from Carate up into the park. We opted to do Corcovado from the north by boat later in our trip so we could enjoy more of our time in Cabo Matapalo exploring the southern part of the peninsula. Our kids range from 3-11 years of age, and all of them loved the house.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing Luxurious Oceanfront House in Cabo Matapalo with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333083vb
+56 94599999
Cabo Matapalo Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Absolutely perfect

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Dear Ximena,
We are back in San Jose waiting to fly home. Everything at Osomarmaris was absolutely perfect. The house was so comfortable an luxurious and we loved the location right on backwash bay. Isaac and Deseret couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. They made the whole trip so easy and enjoyable. We saw tons of wildlife off the front porch and had so much fun surfing in the bay. We have already decided that we will definetly be coming back with our friends next time.
Thank you for everything!
business
Amazing Luxurious Oceanfront House in Cabo Matapalo with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333083vb
+56 94599999
Cabo Matapalo Puntarenas
Lewiston, NY
5

The perfect Christmas

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Please add to my review,

Cabo Matapalo is the prettiest oceanfront rental house in Mataplo. Marna
Owner's Response: Thank you Marna, hope to have you back soon, Ximena
business
Amazing Luxurious Oceanfront House in Cabo Matapalo with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333083vb
+56 94599999
Cabo Matapalo Puntarenas
Brooklyn, NY
5

Casa Marmaris in June

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our stay at Casa Marmaris was lovely. The house is perfectly situated and has amazing views. We saw numerous monkeys and a variety of birds on the property daily. The house is spacious and very well equipped for cooking. We were four adults for the majority of the week and were then joined by friends and their two kids. We all fit very comfortably at the house. The caretakers, Issac and Desire, are also responsive and helpful. We were there at the beginning of the raining season and the solar power did generally go out every evening, but it did not diminish the experience.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing Luxurious Oceanfront House in Cabo Matapalo with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333083vb
+56 94599999
Cabo Matapalo Puntarenas
San Jose/ Costa Rica
5

By far my favorite vacation in CR

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Osa Mar Maris is my best vacation ever! The place is outstanding, marvaleous commodities inside the most beautiful primary forest, incredible ocean view and beaches. I am already planning my next visit. The house is amazing.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing Luxurious Oceanfront House in Cabo Matapalo with pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333083vb
+56 94599999
Cabo Matapalo Puntarenas
Paris, France
5

great vacation house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We had a great time with our friends at this beautiful house in Matapalo, Osa. The house's architecture is magnificent and goes along very well with the properties' surroundings. It is a great place to be in touch with the rainforest and the wildlife in Osa, yet it is very comfortable and has the necessary luxuries. We were very pleased with the service as well. This house is perfect for a family vacation or for some time with your friends, the social spaces are very well integrated.

We would definitely love to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway