Oakhurst house rental - Mountain View Home in summer
Mountain View Home in summer
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Oakhurst House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

The Mountain View Home located INSIDE THE GATES OF YOSEMITE NATIONAL PARK is only 18 minute drive to Bridalveil Falls, Yosemite Valley or to Badger Pass Ski area! Yosemite West is a small town located on the western side of Yosemite National Park just 3 miles off of Hwy 41 near the Glacier Point Rd. junction. EXCELLENT CENTRAL LOCATION INSIDE YOSEMITE! The home is well built, 2 story true Yosemite mountain home with spacious upper living/kitchen area upstairs. 3 Bedrooms totals 2 KING BEDS and 1 QUEEN, 1 TWIN. WIFI, laundry, full kitchen with dishwasher, all linens, gas BBQ. Mountain View Home offers comfort and privacy for couples, a family or group. Not recommended for wheelchair access as kitchen is on upstairs level, and stairs are easy, well built, standard 1 flight of stairs but, sorry, not accessible for wheelchair. EXCELLENT winter family home, warm, easy access and very handy in winter!! Also a terrific summer home at elevation of 5,600 as temperatures are moderate, central location, views and tall pines whispering in summer breeze.

Access to the Glacier Point Road for skiing or summer hiking is ideal, many excellent trails to explore just minutes from the home. Come make Mountain View Home your base camp for your Yosemite adventures! Enjoy a full Yosemite day and then return home to relax, BBQ out on the deck or cook a meal in the well equipped kitchen. This is a clean well maintained home that offers the ideal home base for your Yosemite experience. Views, mature pines, peace.

Please, no smoking, no pets.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

Rick and Annie manage the Mountain View Home for Rick's parents who own the home.

Family run rental = clean, quiet, well maintained, set up very well for vacation needs. Rick and Annie are very helpful with ideas of things to do in Yosemite - just ask.

Rick Cashner, Annie Barrett purchased this house in 1989

Mountain View Home is only 3 miles from the Glacier Point Road and it is very handy to go up for hikes (summer) along the Glacier Point cooridor such as Sentinel Dome, Taft Point, Phono Trail, or the 4 mile Trail. It is also close to Badger Pass ski area (winter), which is very handy in winter!!! excellent winter snow plowing and access to the home, important for saftey and easy access to the home. Very enjoyable!

The winter access to the Badger Pass ski area is especially nice, only about 18 minutes and we are cross country skiing on the free groomed Glacier Point Road. Very handy and fun! The home is also excellent in summer months as it is elevation 5,600, the temperatures tend to be very comfortable, easy access out to Glacier Point, Wawona, or Yosemite Valley!

8 Reviews of Property 220139 in Oakhurst, California

INSIDE YOSEMITE GATES! Views, quiet, private, spacious.
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews
business
INSIDE YOSEMITE GATES! Views, quiet, private, spacious.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220139vb
Toll Free (866) 367-3543 (California, USA)
Oakhurst Yosemite Area
5

Great location inside Yosemite, very close to Glacier Point

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Three Bedrooms and two full baths, living room, dining room, kitchen, deck with a view overlooking Yosemite mountains. Gas Grill on the deck. Wifi connections & TV. Great way to stay with a family while visiting Yosemite. Highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
INSIDE YOSEMITE GATES! Views, quiet, private, spacious.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220139vb
Toll Free (866) 367-3543 (California, USA)
Oakhurst Yosemite Area
White Hall, MD-Eastern U.S.
5

Location! Location! Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family (husband, 19 and 23 year old kids, and I) had a wonderful and relaxing week at this Yosemite West property. I would totally recommend this property to friends and relatives who are interested in experiencing Yosemite. The owners' description and photos were 100% accurate, and the property was clean and well-maintained. I spoke with the owner-Annie- on the phone and via email several times and she was extremely friendly and helpful (in terms of what to see/do before, during, and after our visit to Yosemite). The house location is ideal - especially for the west end of the park - including Glacier Point (an especially awesome area to hike and star gaze). The neighborhood is very quiet and easily accessible. The kitchen had everything we needed, so we never ended up eating out. The grill worked very well - something we have had little luck with in other places we have stayed. While we brought in all of our groceries from several hours away, I was pleasantly surprised to find the Village store in Yosemite Valley fully stocked and not crazy over the top expensive (though you would not want to do the bulk of your shopping there). It's great for picking up odds and ends and highly perishable products like milk and cheese. Our plan was to hike every day - and this we did. There are hikes for everyone, but I would highly recommend the North Dome trail and Cathedral Lake trail in the Tuolumne area, the trails to Sentinel Dome and Taft Point in Glacier Point, and the Valley Floor trail in Yosemite Valley. We also enjoyed cooling off in the Merced River at Cathedral Beach near the base of El Capitan in Yosemite Valley and at Tenaya Lake in the Tuolumne area. We used the travel guides we brought with us plus the several that were already at the house to plan our days and learn many good facts about the park. The tours that are available through the park are very expensive and crowded, and with a good book about Yosemite you can do your own tour at your own pace and learn just as much. We did use the free shuttle system in the Valley - which at first is really confusing - until you realize that there are three different shuttles that run on essentially the same roadways - so you just have to know the exact bus you need to get on and how often they run. Half-way through our week-long stay we realized that we would have to come back there is so much to do! This trip was one of the best experiences we have ever had-and we travel a great deal!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
INSIDE YOSEMITE GATES! Views, quiet, private, spacious.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220139vb
Toll Free (866) 367-3543 (California, USA)
Oakhurst Yosemite Area
White Hall, MD-Eastern U.S.
5

Location! Location! Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family (husband, 19 and 23 year old kids, and I) had a wonderful and relaxing week at this Yosemite West property. I would totally recommend this property to friends and relatives who are interested in experiencing Yosemite. The owners' description and photos were 100% accurate, and the property was clean and well-maintained. I spoke with the owner-Annie- on the phone and via email several times and she was extremely friendly and helpful (in terms of what to see/do before, during, and after our visit to Yosemite). The house location is ideal - especially for the west end of the park - including Glacier Point (an especially awesome area to hike and star gaze). The neighborhood is very quiet and easily accessible. The kitchen had everything we needed, so we never ended up eating out. The grill worked very well - something we have had little luck with in other places we have stayed. While we brought in all of our groceries from several hours away, I was pleasantly surprised to find the Village store in Yosemite Valley fully stocked and not crazy over the top expensive (though you would not want to do the bulk of your shopping there). It's great for picking up odds and ends and highly perishable products like milk and cheese. Our plan was to hike every day - and this we did. There are hikes for everyone, but I would highly recommend the North Dome trail and Cathedral Lake trail in the Tuolumne area, the trails to Sentinel Dome and Taft Point in Glacier Point, and the Valley Floor trail in Yosemite Valley. We also enjoyed cooling off in the Merced River at Cathedral Beach near the base of El Capitan in Yosemite Valley and at Tenaya Lake in the Tuolumne area. We used the travel guides we brought with us plus the several that were already at the house to plan our days and learn many good facts about the park. The tours that are available through the park are very expensive and crowded, and with a good book about Yosemite you can do your own tour at your own pace and learn just as much. We did use the free shuttle system in the Valley - which at first is really confusing - until you realize that there are three different shuttles that run on essentially the same roadways - so you just have to know the exact bus you need to get on and how often they run. Half-way through our week-long stay we realized that we would have to come back there is so much to do! This trip was one of the best experiences we have ever had-and we travel a great deal!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
INSIDE YOSEMITE GATES! Views, quiet, private, spacious.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220139vb
Toll Free (866) 367-3543 (California, USA)
Oakhurst Yosemite Area
san antonio, tx
3

yosemite

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We enjoyed our stay in Yosemite and this home. Recommend this home for one family with perhaps 2 children as there is only one bedroom large enough for comfort. The main bedroom downstairs is a nice size with it's own bathroom. There is a very small bedroom across the hall on the first floor and the occupants must enter the main bedroom to use the bathroom there are come upstairs to the other bathroom. Upstairs, there is another very small bedroom with the bathroom across the hall. My husband and I slept in this bedroom and barely had room to walk around the bed. There was not even room for a chest of drawer, just a closet. On the second floor is a nice area for watching tv and a fully stocked kitchen for cooking. The biggest problem was that this home is not air conditioned. The temperature in June while we were in Yosemite was 111 degrees. Try sleeping in a small upstairs bedroom with only a fan. Not very comfortable! Should be ok if you are there in the fall/winter. The owners were pleasant and easy to work with.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments as we constantly strive for excellence by quickly returning calls, maintaining and providing a clean well stocked home, and responding to guest comments. Indeed, this guest visited Yosemite during an extreme summer California heat wave and temperatures throughout the state were record-breaking high. We just purchased and installed a new super-sized evaporative cooler to cool the home more effectively during such heat waves. The house is spacious and is very comfortable for groups up to 6-7 people with 3 bedrooms and 2 full baths well stocked with towels. There is a total of 2 king beds, 1 queen, and 1 extra long twin. If more sleeping space is needed for larger groups, there is also a fold out queen couch and thick fold out sleeping pads with linens for kids to put on floors as needed. We happily assist our guests with Yosemite questions and hiking ideas, and the wifi at the home helps guests to easily reach us or they can call and we are very responsible about returning calls. Many families return to this home year after year during all seasons to enjoy beautiful Yosemite in this clean comfortable home.
business
INSIDE YOSEMITE GATES! Views, quiet, private, spacious.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220139vb
Toll Free (866) 367-3543 (California, USA)
Oakhurst Yosemite Area
Camden, new south wales, Australia
5

Yosemite

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We had a lovely two nights in the home. Arrived late at night and was met with a spectacular view in the morning from the balcony

The only thing I would suggest is a hair dryer be provided. Other than that all amenities were really good, good location not far from the valley and the park is the most beautiful. I would recommend this property to anyone, couples of all ges, groups and families.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
INSIDE YOSEMITE GATES! Views, quiet, private, spacious.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220139vb
Toll Free (866) 367-3543 (California, USA)
Oakhurst Yosemite Area
Ridgefield, CT
5

Walter, Sabina and Debbie at Yosemite

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The house was in excellent condition and very well-equipped. With only two bathrooms, I believe that the house would be overcrowded with 10 people. The information provided in advance by the owners was quite complete and very helpful. Because the living and dining facilities are on the second floor, I would not recommend this property for those with significant disabilities. I climbed the stairs twice per day with my cane.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
INSIDE YOSEMITE GATES! Views, quiet, private, spacious.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220139vb
Toll Free (866) 367-3543 (California, USA)
Oakhurst Yosemite Area
Kansas
3

Ample space

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
There was plenty of space for us to spread out in this home. The pictures in the listing are accurate. It is a basic house with nearly vintage decor. It could stand for some updating, but functionally, it was fine. "Very Lovely" in the description is a bit of a stretch. I don't know if we just happened to hit an especially hot week, but the claim of being at high enough elevation for the heat to be a non-issue were not true for us. That was a big disappointment for us. The location was GREAT! It was a central location - not far at all from the Glacier Point road, and only about a half hour's drive to parking in the Valley, and a little more than that to the Mariposa Grove. With the addition of air conditioning to the property, we would certainly return.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
INSIDE YOSEMITE GATES! Views, quiet, private, spacious.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p220139vb
Toll Free (866) 367-3543 (California, USA)
Oakhurst Yosemite Area
Phoenix
5

Perfect place for the family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
This house was just like home with everything we needed - great for the family of 3 generations where we each wanted our own space.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/6