Sanibel Island cottage rental - The Shellbox Cottage, no shared driveways or walls!
The Shellbox Cottage, no shared driveways or walls!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
 

Sanibel Island Cottage Rental Photos and Description
BR (king) LOFT (king daybed) LANAI (futon) LR (2 futons) Sleeps 6 nicely

WELCOME to our fresh, bright & clean & classic 'Old Florida' Beach Cottage.

Phone calls welcome until 10pm EST - Email answered every weekday morning. Calendar & rates are up to date. We only have 2 rates (1 for warmest months & 1 for coolest months).

The most frequent questions.....

- Do I have to pay for all 28 days? No! Our Cottage is rented monthly, however you can take less days if we do not rent the cottage again that month. So write us anyway (and we may still be less expensive 'per day/per week' than MOST condos if you stay less than 28 day rule per month but still take the month!)

- 'Is a true cottage?' Yes. It was moved in the 1950's back away from the Gulf beach. It is NOT a duplex or townhouse. There will be no one above, below or on the 'other side of the wall'. Great privacy.

- Unlike many calendars - ours is updated daily. If you are looking at dates they are available today.

- Our (heated) pool is only a few steps from the back door (not the pool at the recreation center - which is lovely but a drive...) It is one of only 2 true old Florida beach cottages on the island with a pool and a tennis court.

- The beach is a short walk. The famous 21 mile Sanibel path is right out your front door. Your kid will make it in a 1.5 minute bike ride door to sand. It may take you 3-5 minutes to catch up. Use `Google street view` to see exactly how short your walk would be! Also one of our photos is taken right from bike path that shows you distance from the cottage to the Holiday Inn, down the street (right on the water & a great place for a 1st night cocktail or dinner) then stroll home....

Just down the street from the Gulf of Mexico, our (fun/clean/easy) beach cottage offers the best of two worlds - your own cottage but part of a small home association with a fantastic pool & tennis court, on 4 acres of gracious, lush, quiet grounds with mature tropical trees. No one walking past your door (or worse smoking outside it).

A quiet oasis on Sanibel, but close to everything.

Our cottage is perfect for everyone, but especially couples, people with a 1-2 children or grandchildren or friends visiting! While it does sleep 6 nicely, futons are not as comfortable as beds - so it's best suited for the month for 2 to 4 with occasional guests like children or grandchildren on the futons.

SOME HIGHLIGHTS

Your own cottage, no shared walls. All yours.

An Unusual 5 places to relax outside!

1. the FRONT PORCH open air. Perfect for evening cocktails

2. the SCREENED IN BACK PORCH. Perfect for morning coffee. naps, looking over the pool or waiting for the cook to come back from the (excellent Weber) BBQ

3. the POOL DECK. Chaise, chairs and dining tables and (we have lunch by the pool most days we are on Sanibel).

4. the PICNIC TABLES. Right near the GRILL and of course.....

5. the BEACH.... just down the street.

Tennis court - newly resurfaced 2011

Rinse shower in front of house - helps keep the house clean and the beer cooler ready.

Hot & cold shower in back - the finest shower in the world if you ask us!

Two full bathrooms

Sanibel's famous bike path-- just outside our door.

Walk to the Jac or Matzaluna for dinner

Hit the Dairy Queen for a `dip` then walk over to Periwinkle Campground and say hello to the birds

Close to the premier bike rental places with our own beach clunkers thrown in for free.

A big old box of everything: sand toys, boogie boards umbrellas umbrella stand, shovels & pails, and even POOL RAFTS and some decent tennis racquets.

Games, toys, the classic paperback book stack, some decent DVD's, videos, and small diverse music library.

Audio wire to a fantastic stereo system for your MP3 & Smart phone playlists!

Entertaining items (champagne, wine, water, margarita & cocktail glasses, ice bucket, interior & exterior tablecloths, candle holders lobster pots, etc). One of us is a professionally trained cook so we have lots of kitchen toys.

This is a true cottage (and it's pretty darn cute). It even use to sit on the beach in the 1950's. It is clean. Very comfortable & graceful. It has some nice art and real decorative items. But it is not perfect and it is not brand new (there are no Corian counter tops, stainless steel appliances or sub zeros or modern furnishings).

This is more like borrowing your family's old beach house.

Not for everyone but PERFECT for some.

You know who you are....

More Details
Hide Details

We live in NYC. We are both in non-profit health care and we're from NY and Ohio originally. We rented as adults for the first time in 2008 and then for several years before we bought the Shellbox Cottage.

Frank purchased this cottage in 2011

The cottage was designed by an architecture student as his graduation thesis. His parents were early developers on the Island and his mother refused to destroy the house, so it was saved and moved to its location. It's a great cottage - interesting and efficient layout, bright, old wood walls that still smell like the beach and it belonged to the islands first real estate agent.

Several real estate agents tried to steer us to the west end, which we love for it's seclusion but we really fell in love with the Sanibel Shores area. The entire island is a joy....don't misunderstand us - but we loved the way the streets run north south here and we liked the convenience of riding our bikes to the Dairy Queen, the liquor store or a stroll home from Matzaluna or the Lazy Flamingo. We also think of ourselves and environmentalists so we see how many days we can go without using our car and this is the perfect part of the island for that. It's also kind of a romantic area in a way, so it's good for our soul.

20 Reviews of Property 377298 in Sanibel Island, Florida

Sanibel, a loved place, never too early to consider 2015/16 inquiries.
average rating of 4.9 based on 20 reviews
business
Sanibel, a loved place, never too early to consider 2015/16 inquiries.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377298
917 887-9099
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Holidays 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The Shellbox Cottage was PERFECT for our family of 4 – including our 2 grown children. Clean, bright, freshly painted, and homey, it is a style of old Florida that we really appreciate. My husband & I shared the comfy king-size bed in the master bedroom with bath, my daughter enjoyed the privacy of the loft bedroom, my son liked spreading out on the futon in the sleeping porch, and they shared the second bath. We prepared at least one meal a day and found the poolside grill and the kitchen perfectly adequate. We had super (winter) beach weather the whole time, yet we never used the AC and found the ceiling fans just right to cool the house. Having the pool in the back was a great bonus to relax around after salty sandy days and the long bike ride (Shellbox bikes—another bonus!) around Ding Darling preserve. The walk to the beautiful beach was easy peasy; we even walked to shopping at Periwinkle Place and had my husband pick us up with our packages. He was engrossed in the Randy Wayne White "Doc Ford" novels, and was so happy to run into the author at Doc Ford's Rum Bar, which turned out to be a favorite restaurant of ours. Timbers also had a super seafood menu and very professional service, whereas we were pretty disappointed in the "Green Flash" in Captiva.

Frank was totally personable and responsive, and I felt as comfortable as if I were dealing with an old friend. We REALLY hope to return!
Owner's Response: Thank you Nancy and family for a great review and you were kind enough to write it during a Polar Vortex! The majority of our guests in 2012 and 2013 had already stayed here once and we would love to add you to the list. I'm here now and you took wonderful care of the Shellbox. Also we try to offer return guests the same rate for as many years as we can. We prefer people who know and understand the place which results in better communication, less wear and tear and satisfaction for all of us. Happy New Year Nancy and it was a pleasure to work with you as well.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sanibel, a loved place, never too early to consider 2015/16 inquiries.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377298
917 887-9099
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Five stars aren't enough

Five stars aren't enough
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This was our second year at Shellbox, a testament to how perfectly it met our needs: quiet; multiple places to read and relax; breezy (no need for AC during our stay!); a pool big enough to swim laps; a good kitchen; and proximity to everything we wanted (ice cream, the farmers' market, library, beaches, & wildlife refuge). As we didn't want to bother with a rental car we'd be unlikely to use much, we took a shuttle from the airport and we were unlocking the door at Shellbox less than an hour after our plane landed. We watched with smug satisfaction as we bicycled past lines of traffic and did not contribute to the congestion we assume most people are on Sanibel to escape. We pedaled Shellbox's bicycles everywhere, including a 12-mile trip, departing at 5:45 a.m., to the Key West Express and a return at 9:00 that night. With all the great bike paths on Sanibel you can get everywhere with ease, including Captiva, where we experienced the MULLET FESTIVAL!! (Long live the mullet, an underrated fish that we ate fried in a bun, smoked, and in fritters, while listening to a singer with a repertoire of John Denver, CCR, and Jim Croce at the water's edge.) The owners of Shellbox were responsive to all our needs, and clearly cherish this delightful place. We're thankful they're willing to share.
Owner's Response: Dear Allison & Dave, Thank you! What a great holiday gift to receive such a nice review. And I'm so happy to have environmentalists on the island. We chose Sanibel in part because when we retire we have a self contained community we can reach via bicycle. You did the Key West Express! Extra points doing it via bike! I've had mullet and I agree (underrated). And boy are you right - we do cherish that cottage - thanks for taking care of it for us. Happy New Year to you and yours.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Sanibel, a loved place, never too early to consider 2015/16 inquiries.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377298
917 887-9099
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Piqua, OH USA
5

Great location in a one of a kind Florida cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We loved our first time visit to Sanibel and our stay in the Shellbox cottage! The description and photos are accurate; clean; well-equipped for cooking on your own; great location for biking all the bike routes or walking to the beach or shopping if you need to. Frank was excellent in communicating with us before and during our stay - answering all questions promptly. Yes, I'd recommend it to a friend as long as they promise not to take "our" month next year. We liked Gramma Dots at the Marina though we usually did our own cooking. Activities we enjoy are biking, shell collecting, swimming, kayaking.
Owner's Response: We are really glad you are coming back. And we are laughing because even though we own our own cottage now, when we see people at the place we rented our first year on Sanibel we think "hey, that's our month!". My favorite places have always been the kind of places people feel protective about - and Sanibel is certainly that kind of place; very special in the country and particularly special for Florida. Happy New Year Kathy.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sanibel, a loved place, never too early to consider 2015/16 inquiries.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377298
917 887-9099
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
France
5

Great Location on Sanibel Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We are a family of 5 (2 parents and 3 children aged 8, 17 and 24) and spent six days in Frank and Terry's cottage. We had a great time there as their house is very comfortable and has everything that one needs to cook, relax, play (even games for children) etc. We also really enjoyed the pool which is big, clean and in a very nice environment (lots of plants). The location is very central and at walking distance from the nearest beach, yet it is very quiet! Furthermore, it was very easy to communicate with Frank before and during our stay. So we recommend this house to anyone looking to spend time in family or with friends on Sanibel Island.

- - -

Nous sommes une famille de cinq personnes (2 parents et 3 enfants âgés de 8, 17 et 24 ans) et avons passé six jours dans la maison de Frank et Terry. Notre séjour était super car leur maison est très confortable et a tout ce qu'il faut pour cuisiner, se détendre, jouer (il y a même des jeux pour enfants) etc. Nous avons également beaucoup apprécié la piscine qui est grande, propre et placée dans un très bel environnement (beaucoup de plantes). L'endroit, bien que très central, est très calme et la plage la plus proche est accessible à pied. Par ailleurs, il a été très facile de joindre Frank avant et durant notre séjour. Nous recommandons donc vivement cette location à quiconque souhaite passer des vacances en famille ou entre amis sur l'île de Sanibel.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Chère Martine & Marion,
Au revoir et profitez de vos visites à Cape Canaveral, Key West, Savannah et New York. Merci de prendre bien soin de Shellbox Cottage.
Très cordialement,
Frank
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Sanibel, a loved place, never too early to consider 2015/16 inquiries.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377298
917 887-9099
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

My vacation paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My two friends and I had a fantastic week in the Shellbox in June. Walking distance to the beach as well as restaurants. The first time I tried renting a house and it is highly recommended! Or it was just us being lucky with our landlord. We felt right at home and could have been at least 2 more staying there, certainly plenty of room in the cabin and also with a well equipped kitchen. After the thunderstorm knocked out the electricity in half the house the helpful neighbor came by and fixed the problem quickly. Frank had provided us with a lot of suggestions on what we could see and do, as well as restaurants. Very helpful! And we were more than pleased with the restaurants we ate at, very good food. So maybe it was lucky we couldn't spend more than a week on the island.. I'm already thinking about when I can go back, and then try to be there for longer than a week! Sanibel is really my vacation paradise and the Shellbox cottage to stay in.
Owner's Response: Thank you Anna & friends. We rented the month of June to these lovely ladies from Sweden who ended up all over the East coast - we even made them a restaurant reservation in NYC (Gaonnuri on 39th floor of a midtown building- fantastic) and then they came to Sanibel to relax! So glad you all enjoyed it, we were worried it would be too slow after all your travels, but it really is a special paradise like no other in Florida - and the cleaning lady said you left it as clean as she left it for you - thanks and please come back!
Glad sommar
Frank & Terry
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Sanibel, a loved place, never too early to consider 2015/16 inquiries.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377298
917 887-9099
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

We'll be back!!!

We'll be back!!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The shell box cottage was a perfect little spot for our family vacation! The cottage was spacious and clean with all the beach equipment you would need. The property was beautiful and well maintained. The pool was basically our own for our entire stay, not to mention the nice neighbors. The best part was dealing with Frank. Great property owner willing to go out of his way to make sure we were enjoying our stay. We'll definitely be back!!!!!
Owner's Response: Dear Cari and family - thanks so much for the kind words. I'm so glad it worked out. You were our first guest from Georgia too!
Warm Regards,
Frank
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Sanibel, a loved place, never too early to consider 2015/16 inquiries.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377298
917 887-9099
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

best of everything!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
wonderful holiday in a wonderful place - Shellbox is central to beach and town - no car needed. The cottage is cute as a button and comfortably equipped. We made great use of the tennis court and pool and enjoyed the peacefulness of the surrounding complex. Frank is a gem to work with and the neighbours too made us feel right at home - no, better - because nobody at home bakes us cookies!!!
Highly recommended for all groups, couples, families, seniors.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Sanibel, a loved place, never too early to consider 2015/16 inquiries.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377298
917 887-9099
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Don't tell too many people about Shellbox Cottage!

Don't tell too many people about Shellbox Cottage!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We wondered if "old Florida"-style living could be found on Sanibel, and can report that it is. Here's what's perfect about Shellbox Cottage:
*The owner's attention to our needs and to the details, including a table-top driftwood Christmas tree. This is not a corporate big-box rental with generic "beach" art made in China. Shellbox smacks of another era.
*Spaciousness: plenty of room for "alone time," from the loft to the lanai.
*The well-equipped kitchen: everything needed for cooking (One exception might be a smaller coffee pot. With only one of us a coffee drinker it was hard to get that perfect one cup to start the day. I did try to engineer something with a pen shell, a binder clip, and a paper filter, to no avail. Next time, I'll bring my cup-top filter holder).
*Proximity to everything, at least for us. We decided to use only bicycles for transportation (No rental car!), and readily traveled from the lighthouse on one end to the Captiva bridge on the other, and visited every beach in between multiple times. We easily transported our groceries, wine, beach towels, binocs (for regular trips to the Refuge), etc. One can easily walk to the beach from Shellbox, and a good mix of restaurants are nearby.
*The pool: large enough for lap swimming!
*Lots of windows and cool breezes! With the cooler December temperatures, we needed neither heat nor air conditioning. And we did not use the indoor shower even once!
Owner's Response: Hey Guys, Someone is going to think we wrote this! LOL. This is exactly how we feel about the Shellbox and it really makes us happy you felt the same vibe. You were our first no car guests and we are really excited you wrote that in your review - as environmentalists one of many reasons we bought on Sanibel was because we could help save the planet and our Island by not needing a car. We will take care of the coffee - perhaps a miele drip or French press? Wishing you the happiest of holidays and you are welcome back at Shellbox and after that review at the same rate! Thanks so much.
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Sanibel, a loved place, never too early to consider 2015/16 inquiries.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377298
917 887-9099
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Perfect Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
What a great place for a perfect holiday! We are a family of 4: two kids (9 and 8 yrs old) and the cottage had all we needed and more. The owner made sure that we felt welcome, safe and comfortable at all time.
The house is nice and clean and decorated like you imagine a beach cottage to be with little details everywhere so that you feel very much at home. We were provided with all kinds of information about the island, restaurants and best places on the island to visit. The pool was clean and fresh and the kids just loved it! We came home with great memories and new friends and we often think back. We hope we will be able to return one day and we want to thank Frank for being so kind and caring at all times.He is not just the owner but a great host to his guests.
Best wishes from Germany!
Owner's Response: Dear Anita & Holger, Thank you for such a nice review. We really appreciate it. We work hard to make sure our guests feel as welcome as people we rented from made us feel when we first rented on Sanibel. It's a special place that way. We've heard great things about you and your kids from our neighbors who said they were the most polite and brightest kids they had met in a long time. And how cool to hear you all keep in touch! Please write us again if you want to stay - we try and protect repeat guest from any rate increases. Happy Holidays. Frank
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Sanibel, a loved place, never too early to consider 2015/16 inquiries.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377298
917 887-9099
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Mehr braucht man nicht

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Ein wunderbares Haus mit toller Athmosphäre, sehr liebevoll eingerichtet und die Umgebung ist ideal zum Relaxen. Wer sich auf Sanibel Island heimisch fühlen will, ist hier genau richtig. Man fühlt sich nicht wie ein Tourist, sondern wie ein Eingeborener;-) Alles was man mit Kindern am Strand braucht ist hier reichlich vorhanden: Spielzeug, Sonnenschirme, kleine Surfboards etc.
Wir haben es hier geliebt und Frank ist ein hervorragender Vermieter. Top! Wir kommen wieder!
Owner's Response: (if you don't speak German it says:
"Nothing else is required"
A beautiful house with a great atmosphere, very loving, and the area is perfect for relaxing. Who wants to feel at home on Sanibel Iceland (Island) is the right place. You do not feel like a tourist, but as a native;-) Everything you need is on the beach with children abound here: toys, umbrellas, small surfboards etc. We loved our stay here and Frank is an excellent landlord. Top! We will be back!

Thanks you Markus and family! We would love to have you and your family back - you took great care of the Shellbox. I arrived the evening you left and it looks great. Have wonderful holidays - your country is especially beautiful this time of the year....Frank
Helpful votes: 10/10