Playa Hermosa house rental - House of the Surfing Turtle / Hermosa Palms
House of the Surfing Turtle / Hermosa Palms
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Playa Hermosa House Rental Photos and Description
3000 sq.ft. with 3 Bedrooms & 3.5 Baths. Sleeps 8. We have plenty of room.

LOCATION,LOCATION,LOCATION + Luxury... FAST INTERNET

Unobstructed & Surreal OCEANFRONT Views! Fabulous Hermosa Palms Clean & Fresh

Trade us your frequent flyer points or airline buddy passes for a FREE stay! Call for details.

Enjoy UNOBSTRUCTED ocean, beach, surf, sunset views, from our Master bedroom, en-suite bath / shower, & deck, as well as from the yard & 360 views from the rooftop deck at our private, tastefully furnished, clean, newer OCEANFRONT home. Relax with new mini split air conditioning and ceiling fans in every room, comfortable seating and quality finishes thru-out in one of Costa Rica’s best locations... serene, upscale, secure Hermosa Palms!

Our home is 3000 sq.ft. with 3 Bedrooms & 3.5 Baths. We have plenty of room for your family .

Gated community. 24 hour roving security. In home laundry, wi fi internet, private landscaped yard, jetted private pool, English cable TV (2 HD DVD, 1 with I-POD dock) just steps from private community beachclub / shared pool and beach access. Upscale furnishings, quality bedding & appliances. A Great Choice!

AREA & DESCRIPTION: At a lattitude of 9.65 degrees N., Playa Hermosa's 6 miles of tropical black sand beaches almost always appear to be steaming... Our surreal & unique Hermosa Palms community is located only a few meters from one of the most consistant surf breaks in all of Central America. Adding to the relaxing & relentless sights and sounds of the surf, is the warmth & beauty of the central coast and its people. Our well equipped, comfortable home, large beachfront community pool and the secure, convenient location will help make your trip to Costa Rica unforgettable.

Hermosa Palms is just 1:20 minutes from San Jose Airport via the new toll road, and only 5 minutes drive to the night life, shops & services of Jaco. Quepos & Manuel Antonio are just 40 minutes down one road to the south.

Multi Week Stay: Multi Week, Special consideration rates

Tours & Tips!: We can connect you with safe, reliable, reasonably priced tours, surfing lessons, rafting, monkey tours, fishing, etc. We also have a number of 'must see' tips and suggestions that will add value when staying with us.

More Details
Hide Details

Our family of 4 enjoy frequent leisure travel. For many reasons, we are always thrilled to visit the Costa Rican central coast area & our Hermosa Palms property in particular.

John and Tina DeRosa purchased this house in 2009

Surreal - choice oceanfront location in the central coast's most desireable beachfront community of Hermosa Palms.

Fantastic Costa Rican beauty and hospitality abounds. Close to Jaco for nightlife, dining & shopping, golf at Los Suenos and GREAT Surf. Just minutes north of the Turtle Refuge.

Our combination of our own private pool, larger than average private yard, 2 car garage, outdoor pool bath, convenient outside shower, unobstructed oceanfront views, proximity to common area pool & beach, upscale furnishings, quality beds, linens, and high maintenance standards make this property the best value in the area. This comfortable home, formerly known as 'Pax a la Playa' (Peace at the Beach) is the perfect spot to call home base on your next Costa Rica trip.

16 Reviews of Property 377202 in Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica

UNOBSTRUCTED OCEANFRONT Views in gated / guarded Hermosa Palms
average rating of 4.8 based on 16 reviews
business
UNOBSTRUCTED OCEANFRONT Views in gated / guarded Hermosa Palms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377202
+1 435 658-5050
Playa Hermosa Puntarenas
5

Perfect Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My wife and I stayed for two weeks at Tina and John’s wonderful house at Playa Hermosa. The location itself is great—an easy drive from San Jose airport, about 90 minutes, and the gated oceanfront community is a very peaceful, low-key, and beautiful resort-style area, right on the warm Pacific, with its unbelievable sunsets and world-class surfing. The house is fantastic—everything you could want, including washer/dryer, wifi, full kitchen, three bedrooms, sitting rooms, great A/C, garage, gas grill, outdoor Jacuzzi, and great, attentive staff members. The house is so spacious that we were able to have another couple join us for our second week
Playa Hermosa is a short 10 minute drive from the small town of Jaco, where we went everyday to buy our groceries, fresh fruit, produce, and incredible fresh fish. Jaco has a combination of American-style restaurants and plenty of great local places to eat and shop. The house is close to plenty of nice day-trips, like sailing at Herradura, hiking at Manuel Antonio national park, or visiting the most amazing sunset overlook at Villa Caletas.
Just leave plenty of time to relax and enjoy. We are already planning our next trip!
Owner's Response: Thank you for the many details in your review. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed our beach home and your recent trip.

Would it surprise you to know our home was previously known as "Pax a la Playa", or Peace on the Beach?

The ease of getting there, the great proximity to all of the central coasts activities, attractions & the areas friendly people, combined with the peaceful resort feel of the neighborhood make it a destination we never tire of. The day we leave there is often the same day we start planning our return....

We would be delighted to have you back & look forward to adding you to our growing list of return guests.

Pura Vida!

John & Tina
business
UNOBSTRUCTED OCEANFRONT Views in gated / guarded Hermosa Palms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377202
+1 435 658-5050
Playa Hermosa Puntarenas
5

AWESOME.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This beautiful home was perfect for our visit. The location is incredible - beautiful views & very close to the beach. The house was well equipped and very comfortable & clean. The pool in the yard is perfect for cooling off, relaxing, reading. The property managers (Trey & Enricho) were so nice & helped us get the gas grill going. The community pool (huge) is very close by & they even let you take the chairs on the beach. We felt very safe in this gated community. We DID feed Paco a banana or two! This home gets an A-plus - we'll return for sure!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hello Susan

Thank you for your comments about our beach home, its location, beach & pool proximity, views, comforts, local property management and cleanliness!

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our home and your stay! As you have noticed, we try to take excellent care of our home and our guests.

We look forward to adding you to our growing list of return visitors.

A few upgrades are planned, so hopefully you will find our place even more to your liking on your next visit...

Pura Vida!

J & T
business
UNOBSTRUCTED OCEANFRONT Views in gated / guarded Hermosa Palms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377202
+1 435 658-5050
Playa Hermosa Puntarenas
Sacramento, CA
3

Disappointed

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Although the house was beautiful, we encountered the following inconveniences:
1. The instructions for entry only provided a lock box key code. I was very upset that we were not notified in advance that the lock box was hiding in the back of the house. We had to circle the house several times in the dark to find it. Once we found it and opened the box...there were three keys in it. one key opened the main lock on the front door but the other two keys did not open the dead bolt lock. thus we were locked out of the house. We eventually got in by my son in law who had to climb through the kitchen window to let us in!
2. no propane for the BBQ
3. wifi did not work half the time we were there.
4. we were also told by the guard at the gate that the tap water was non-potable, so we had to buy bottled water during our stay.
5. Not enough toilet paper supplied. We bought more.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your recent comments. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. We strive to maintain our home to a considerably higher standard than most rentals. Not to discount your inconveniences in any way, but by way of an explanation, we recently transitioned to a new property management company located right in our neighborhood to better serve us & our valued guests. Their numbers and names are in our welcome packet.

As for the items that were overlooked on your check in, the missing deadbolt key was removed by our prior guests. We usually keep a spare propane tank beneath the laundry room sink. Extra toilet paper is usually stored in a kitchen cupboard. Each of these items will be checked prior to guest arrival in the future.

Throughout Costa Rica, there are occasional issues with electricity, water supply and internet reliability, as with many countries. Our neighborhood water supply comes from a private well. It is of better quality than many areas in Costa Rica. But when outside the US, bottled water is always recommended. We now recommend bottled water in our check in materials for our guests. Our local cable TV and phone companies, Cabla Tica and ICE, are continually investing in improved local cable plant infrastructure to improve internet reliability in the area. Our wireless router is nearly new and works well as long as the underlying DSL service is functioning.

Thank you for your detailed input on how we can improve our guests’ experiences. We understand that it is often the little things that make a difference. Pura Vida!
Helpful votes: 3/7
business
UNOBSTRUCTED OCEANFRONT Views in gated / guarded Hermosa Palms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377202
+1 435 658-5050
Playa Hermosa Puntarenas
5

Fabulous Tropical Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Great pad and location to unwind and enjoy true tropical paradise. Uncrowded, unspoiled beaches with surf right out the front door not to mention wildlife such as the local monkey in backyard tree (which we could call and fed daily), macaws, and inguanas basking everywhere. The house is well appointed and in new condition with great A/C to stay cool indoors and wifi to stay connected...a turn-key, just bring swim suits, tooth brush and Amex card ;) We stayed 2 weeks and didn't want to leave. Jaco is 5km away with shopping and plenty of good restaurants. Our friends also stayed two doors down but the place was not as nice as this unit. To sum it up, great facilities, beautiful environment, very cool wildlife, excellent surf with real warm water 83 luxurious degrees and bountiful fresh fish and tropical fruits for a tasty and healthy diet...what else does one need ? Enjoy...and as they say in Costa Rica, Pura Vida!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
UNOBSTRUCTED OCEANFRONT Views in gated / guarded Hermosa Palms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377202
+1 435 658-5050
Playa Hermosa Puntarenas
4

Pura Vida!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Excellent accomodations in the Playa Hermosa Palms. The house is well maintained and beautifully decorated. It is situated right near the main complex pool for easy access and the house pool was a wonderful treat after a long day at the beach. You can check the waves from the upstairs master or the viewing deck on the roof. Air conditioning in every room and the towels, bed spreads and sheets are in great shape if not totally new. Other homes in the complex look tired and/or need repair but not this one. You can tell they maintain it every step of the way. Thank you very much for putting so much into our Costa Rica trip. We will definately be back. Surfers from So. Cal., NPB.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
UNOBSTRUCTED OCEANFRONT Views in gated / guarded Hermosa Palms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377202
+1 435 658-5050
Playa Hermosa Puntarenas
5

Wonderful Vacation in Costa Rica

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We spent 7 days at this wonderful house right on the beach in Costa Rica. Everything was perfect from our arrival to our departure. The views are amazing, the house is fully equipped, and the pool in the side yard is an added little jem for families with small children. I have a 4 yr old that lived in this pool. The pool is small but that was perfect because he could reach the bottom and walk around the entire pool. I never need to worry about him in this pool and that helped me RELAX!!!! The house is fantastic, the pictures don't do it justice, but every amenity is available so no need to pack anything but your clothes and swimsuit. Thank you so much for allowing us to visit your beautiful home. We will definitely be coming back :)
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Nicole! We would love to have you back.

The day we leave is the day we start thinking about when we will get back ourselves. Hard to explain unless you have been there. It is difficult to showcase the place with photos as they just don't translate the peace & serenity of our oceanfront location. Other area homes may have higher ceilings & things which look good in photos, but they don't have our lot, designer touches, newer furnishings or our great views. We are so glad you enjoyed it! Thank you for your taking time to write a thoughtful reveiw.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
UNOBSTRUCTED OCEANFRONT Views in gated / guarded Hermosa Palms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377202
+1 435 658-5050
Playa Hermosa Puntarenas
Park City, Utah
5

Fantastic House in Costa Rica

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
I took my family to Costa Rica for Spring break in April, the accommodations were fantastic. The secured community was safe and well maintained with a beautiful oceanfront pool and gate to walk onto the beach. The turtle refugee was just down the beach and very fun to go see. The house is clean and beautiful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
UNOBSTRUCTED OCEANFRONT Views in gated / guarded Hermosa Palms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377202
+1 435 658-5050
Playa Hermosa Puntarenas
Park City, Utah
5

Amazing House and Community

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
I took my family to Costa Rica for Spring break in April, the accommodations were fantastic. The secured community was safe and well maintained with a beautiful oceanfront pool and gate to walk onto the beach. The turtle refugee was just down the beach and very fun to go see. The house is clean and beautiful.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Claudia. Glad you and the girls enjoyed it.

Thanks for pointing out how much the secure community adds to visitor comfort levels.

Pura Vida!

J & T
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
UNOBSTRUCTED OCEANFRONT Views in gated / guarded Hermosa Palms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377202
+1 435 658-5050
Playa Hermosa Puntarenas
Los Angeles
5

You Will Love It

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We spent lovely 9 days (5/11) at the "surfing turtle" and the experience could have not been better; the house is more beautiful than on the pictures, everything is high end and the whole experience with booking, helping to find the place and on the site help was outstanding. This was a gift for our older son's 30th birthday and he was having a blast surfing his little heart out. The beach is beautiful but rough for swimming; the pool makes up for it, as well as the fabulous jacuzzi at the house. You can be as active as you want or totally "veg" if you prefer. Oh, and the local fisherman stops by with the fresh catch. What a place !!! Coming back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
UNOBSTRUCTED OCEANFRONT Views in gated / guarded Hermosa Palms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377202
+1 435 658-5050
Playa Hermosa Puntarenas
St. George, Utah
5

A Beautiful country and people

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We just returned from a fun filled week at Playa Hermosa and found it to be a five star accommodation. Beautifully decorated, beautiful views and location. John and Tina were wonderful to work with the rental process and gave us recommendations for places to see and places to eat at. We enjoyed them all. Our friends were staying in another house down the street from us and they said that they felt like they were staying in "Motel 6" and that we were in the "JW Marriott". It was definitely a beautiful place. Thank you for adding to the beauty of Costa Rica.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Gary & Farrelyn. It was very nice working with you too! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your trip & stay.

THANK YOU very much for your qualified & thoughtful review comments! We just can't seem to show in photos or easily explain in words what you have described from your experience about our home.

Muchas Gracias! Pura Vida!

J & T
Helpful votes: 4/5