Brooklyn apartment rental - Living room
Living room
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps10
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Brooklyn Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6-10)

'Cityviews' is a humongous size 2 bedroom with lots of prewar charme and fabulous views over blocks of bownstones onto the midtown Manhattan skyline . Furnished in each bedroom with a full size bed with splendor orthopedic mattrasses, the livingroom offers two futon beds in full size a comfortable recliner chair and there is a formal dining room with 8 chairs. Separate windowed kitchen is fully equipped with microwave, gasstove, fridge, coffeemaker and toaster and there is a separate windowed bathroom. Close to: Brooklyn Academy of Music, Prospect Park (zoo, horseback riding, boating) Fort Greene Park (tennis, live summer concerts) Brooklyn Children's Museum, Brooklyn Museum, Brooklyn Promenade, Atlantic Mall shopping center, Stuyvesant Avenue Live Music Venues, eateries, cafes. The A train is just a one minute walk to Nostrand Ave stop, that is just two express stops (8 minutes) in to lower Manhattan. This area has been home to such Brooklyn legends as Spike Lee, Wesley Snipes, Rosie Perez, Eryka Badu, Common, and many more. All that make this a great retreat for all travellers. From JFK take the A train as well in 20 Min.

Keywords: Right off the A train Express on a treelined block with historic brownstones, cafe's and artshops, major shopping and dining just 2 blocks away, a retreat from the huzzle and buzzle and yet close to all

$170 is for 2 people sleeps 8 please add $20 per additional person, children up to 10 years of age stay free, we offer high chair and travel cod

More Details
Hide Details

very up and coming, charming historic neighborhood, spacious apartment at a convenient location to all

quiet retreat from the huzzle and buzzle, humongeous for NY

20 Reviews of Property 377178 in Brooklyn, New York

Great 'Cityviews' from This Charming and Spacious 2 BR
average rating of 4.45 based on 20 reviews
business
Great 'Cityviews' from This Charming and Spacious 2 BR
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377178vb
(718) 373-2226 (New York, USA)
Brooklyn New York City
Germany
5

Lovely stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
We appreciated that the apartment is close to Manhattan and allowed us to discover Brooklyn as well. Safe neighborhood where you can get everything you need. We recommend to visit prospect Park and assist to a (free) music event in the BAM (Brooklyn Acabemy of Music) - Cafe. Going to Red Hook by Ferry was Great.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Andreas and family. Brooklyn has grown and we appreciate that you took advantage of some of its magnificent offers and enjoyed its beauty. The neighborhood is great and really allows you to explore all of New York with its proximity to the Express train. Please come again anytime!
business
Great 'Cityviews' from This Charming and Spacious 2 BR
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377178vb
(718) 373-2226 (New York, USA)
Brooklyn New York City
Cottonwood, AZ
3

Pleasant Apartment in a Sub-par Building.

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
It is a surprise when you open the door of this unit, for based on the exterior appearances , your expectations will be quite low. The unit itself is spacious (by NYC standards) and airy. It has 2 bedrooms each with full size bed. The living room has 2 'futon' like couches that could be flattened for extra beds. The walls are original and painted in yellow and white.

Pro's:

1. The beds are new.
2. The kitchen counter is new
3. The floors are wood parquet tiles.
4. The kitchen is stocked with all appliances in working order,
5. The bathroom, while small, has nice hot water, a new vanity top, but no ventilation and a tub sorely in need of a refurbishment.
6. Lamps and Art work on walls pretty nice.
7. Subway and LIRR station are within a couple block. (5 minute walk)..
8. Plenty of closet space. Iron and tiny ironing board supplied.
9. Building's other tenants were quiet and not an issue.
10. 'Super' was responsive to our needs.

Con's:

1. The furniture is mainly thrift shop especially the end tables, futons, kitchen table and chairs. Small, fragile, unattractive. Futons were very uncomfortable to sit. TV. Owner needs to spend a couple thousand dollars for some decent furniture.
2. The building has a steam radiator heating system, no controls in unit, which renders the unit way to hot in the winter. The landlord suggests opening the windows to control the heat (which got up into the high 80's). That doesn't work. And, if you are not accustomed to the noise generated by metal radiators and pipes expanding, you will find this disturbs sleep.
1. There is street noise, since this is a corner building on a busy street (Nostrand and Hancock). It quiets after about 10 pm.
2. There was a pipe leak within the wall over the tub at the 4th day of our stay. Hopefully it will be fixed before you visit, since it was pretty nasty rusty looking stains in the shower.

Mixed:

1. TV's worked, but they are tube TV's, not flat , with cable, not satellite. We needed some new batteries (supplied soon by the landlord) to make the remote controls work. There is no DVD player as advertised.
2. Needs a list of local restaurants, Post Office, grocery stores, drug stores, map of neighborhood, etc
You never know in these type of rentals if the landlord owns the building, or just the unit. The building is a turn off, but the unit is decent. The 1 star rating is wrong, but this isn't a 5 star either. Review based on 5 prior Homeaway rentals.
Owner's Response: Hi Will
thank you for your detailed Critique:)
I know that this is your profession and I happen to agree to disagree with many of your outlined CONs
First of all you made a mistake with your dates since you visited in November and since than the leak was long taken care of as the Super already told you when he exchanged the light bulb for you.
My furniture selection was placed very carefully to my taste and all is detailed demonstrated in pictures online. Sorry to hear that is it not your taste, but I guess we cannot please all.
We offer a low budget humongous space as oasis for travelers and never claim to be high end. We cater to people who want clean and nice and convenient with very good beds and easy access to transportation and parking.
There is a huge window in the bathroom for ventilation, unclear why you mentioned otherwise.
We do not own the building and therefore have limited power to expedite outside appearance and update of heating system. It is a prewar building that offers its personal charme and all that is part of living in NY. Thanks again and all the best, you are welcome anytime again but you will find the same side tables I promise:)
Helpful votes: 3/5
business
Great 'Cityviews' from This Charming and Spacious 2 BR
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377178vb
(718) 373-2226 (New York, USA)
Brooklyn New York City
Spain
5

Great Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had a wonderful stay in New York. Will come back next year.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: sounds great, you are welcome back any time
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Great 'Cityviews' from This Charming and Spacious 2 BR
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377178vb
(718) 373-2226 (New York, USA)
Brooklyn New York City
Germany
5

My review

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
A friend of mine recommended your service. The apartment was nice, booking procedure very good, the unit as advertised, and very clean. Location great as as soon as you passed Nostrand subway station.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so glad to have you back, anytime again, we love returning guests!
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Great 'Cityviews' from This Charming and Spacious 2 BR
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377178vb
(718) 373-2226 (New York, USA)
Brooklyn New York City
Romania
5

Great Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
A very good apartment. Cityviews is as advertised and the check in service was convenient and friendly.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Referrals are the best, thank you so much!!!
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Great 'Cityviews' from This Charming and Spacious 2 BR
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377178vb
(718) 373-2226 (New York, USA)
Brooklyn New York City
Kansas
5

Great

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had a great time in New York. The apartment was beautiful and comfortable. Will use this service again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: thank you so much, please come back any time again
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Great 'Cityviews' from This Charming and Spacious 2 BR
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377178vb
(718) 373-2226 (New York, USA)
Brooklyn New York City
California
5

Will come again

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Great neighborhood. The people are friendly and getting to Manhattan is easy. Will definitely come again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: that is great news, we rely on customers like you, much appreciated!
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Great 'Cityviews' from This Charming and Spacious 2 BR
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377178vb
(718) 373-2226 (New York, USA)
Brooklyn New York City
Rapid City, SD
5

No complaints

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We were probably the most difficult people to work with! We needed to book the apartment but i couldnt get my fax to work, my scanned emails werent readable, it was a mess! Luckily Petra was patient with us and we got it all figured out.

I showed up at the apartment at the agreed check in time, and was promptly met at the door. Quick and easy painless check-in was finished and we were in! Of course thats when I went around the apartment with a fine-toothed comb, but I found nothing that worried me. The apartment/building are old, so of course youre going to find spots where paint is chipping, or the floor is scratched, etc. We honestly thought we were getting a great deal for a great price.

The neighborhood wasnt too bad, but I doubt anyone is renting the place looking to hang out in the area! The train is a 5 minute (maybe not even 5 minute) walk away. It took around 15 minutes to get to Penn station from the stop in Brooklyn. We took a cab from Greenwich village back to the apartment one night, and I think it ran $20-25. Its a great apartment for a home base.

We had no problems with electricity, pests, dirt, etc. It was nice knowing Petra was always a phone call away if needed.

Hoping to book when we come back next year!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thanks Matt, much appreciated. We work hard to provide a good value, a smooth transaction for a clean, easy, affordable, charming, comfortable and reliable experience.
your honesty and satisfaction means a lot
Merci, hope to have to back soon
anytime:)
Helpful votes: 1/4
business
Great 'Cityviews' from This Charming and Spacious 2 BR
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377178vb
(718) 373-2226 (New York, USA)
Brooklyn New York City
Brazil
5

Just as expected, excellent

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Plenty of interesting things that we saw. Plenty of things remain to be seen. Apartment was good to stay at. We would recommend it. We will book it again for next trips. Café Dahlia and Café Le Paris Dakar were great breakfast spots and at night we enjoyed drinks at Vodou Bar all just a block away from the apartment
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Great 'Cityviews' from This Charming and Spacious 2 BR
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377178vb
(718) 373-2226 (New York, USA)
Brooklyn New York City
Minneapolis, MN
1

Stay Away!!! Absolutely HORRID!!!

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The description states that it has “prewar charm” ….the building looks like it is in the middle of a war and there is absolutely no charm whatsoever! The main entrance is supposedly in the middle of being renovated however we were there for a whole week and there was no sign of any construction or renovating taking place. The stairs leading up to the apartment are steep and filthy, which would probably explain the roach problem. They have not seen a bucket of pine sol and a mop for decades. Totally disgusting! The furniture in the apartment isn’t the same that is shown in the photos. The owner states the mattresses Orthopedic. What a joke! If those are Orthopedic then I would rather sleep on the floor. The futons are not comfortable and are not the same as shown. The linens look like they were purchased at a “yard sale” 20 years ago. There were only 9 bath towels for 5 adults to use for 7 days!! How does that work? Gross!

While there is a kitchen there is also a big sign above the toaster and the coffee pot that states, “Please TURN OFF ALL AC UNITS when using the toaster, coffee machine, blender and cappuccino machine.” When it is over 80 degrees outside turning off the AC to make anything in the kitchen is unacceptable. Apparently the sign needs to include hair dryers too….because the power went out on three separate occasions when we used the hair dryers. It is safe to say that the electric isn’t up to code in the apartment and plugging in AC units using the cheapest extension cords possible, seems rather unsafe.

The description used to say that there were quaint cafes and shopping nearby. Also, a complete lie! Unless of course you think Dunkin Donuts and Checkers are quaint cafes.

I have been fortunate enough to have traveled a lot in my life and have rented apartments in the US and abroad. I have NEVER stayed in a place like this. I expected a lot more or at least expected the description to be accurate for the price we paid. It was anything but! We actually left a day early and rented two hotel rooms in Manhattan which cost us a small fortune on such short notice, but it was worth every dime to get out of Brooklyn. I would NEVER in a million years return. The owner was completely unresponsive and could care less. She is a complete and total fraud. Whoever wrote the positive reviews prior to mine must have a really low standard of living. This place is a dump and you should stay away! Consider yourself warned!
Owner's Response: Not sure what your deal is that you are such an unhappy person and feel the need to spread such lies: we were in contact with you when you paid at arrival by check while you saw that all was as advertised. Even then you argued with your husband about other things in front of my staff.
You paid less than $50 a person and there are 4 towels provided per person, yes the hallway is being painted right now and that is beyond our control, the rest is just ridiculous
Helpful votes: 8/8