Pleasant Apartment in a Sub-par Building.
It is a surprise when you open the door of this unit, for based on the exterior appearances , your expectations will be quite low. The unit itself is spacious (by NYC standards) and airy. It has 2 bedrooms each with full size bed. The living room has 2 'futon' like couches that could be flattened for extra beds. The walls are original and painted in yellow and white.
1. The beds are new.
2. The kitchen counter is new
3. The floors are wood parquet tiles.
4. The kitchen is stocked with all appliances in working order,
5. The bathroom, while small, has nice hot water, a new vanity top, but no ventilation and a tub sorely in need of a refurbishment.
6. Lamps and Art work on walls pretty nice.
7. Subway and LIRR station are within a couple block. (5 minute walk)..
8. Plenty of closet space. Iron and tiny ironing board supplied.
9. Building's other tenants were quiet and not an issue.
10. 'Super' was responsive to our needs.
1. The furniture is mainly thrift shop especially the end tables, futons, kitchen table and chairs. Small, fragile, unattractive. Futons were very uncomfortable to sit. TV. Owner needs to spend a couple thousand dollars for some decent furniture.
2. The building has a steam radiator heating system, no controls in unit, which renders the unit way to hot in the winter. The landlord suggests opening the windows to control the heat (which got up into the high 80's). That doesn't work. And, if you are not accustomed to the noise generated by metal radiators and pipes expanding, you will find this disturbs sleep.
1. There is street noise, since this is a corner building on a busy street (Nostrand and Hancock). It quiets after about 10 pm.
2. There was a pipe leak within the wall over the tub at the 4th day of our stay. Hopefully it will be fixed before you visit, since it was pretty nasty rusty looking stains in the shower.
1. TV's worked, but they are tube TV's, not flat , with cable, not satellite. We needed some new batteries (supplied soon by the landlord) to make the remote controls work. There is no DVD player as advertised.
2. Needs a list of local restaurants, Post Office, grocery stores, drug stores, map of neighborhood, etc
You never know in these type of rentals if the landlord owns the building, or just the unit. The building is a turn off, but the unit is decent. The 1 star rating is wrong, but this isn't a 5 star either. Review based on 5 prior Homeaway rentals.
Owner's Response: Hi Will
thank you for your detailed Critique:)
I know that this is your profession and I happen to agree to disagree with many of your outlined CONs
First of all you made a mistake with your dates since you visited in November and since than the leak was long taken care of as the Super already told you when he exchanged the light bulb for you.
My furniture selection was placed very carefully to my taste and all is detailed demonstrated in pictures online. Sorry to hear that is it not your taste, but I guess we cannot please all.
We offer a low budget humongous space as oasis for travelers and never claim to be high end. We cater to people who want clean and nice and convenient with very good beds and easy access to transportation and parking.
There is a huge window in the bathroom for ventilation, unclear why you mentioned otherwise.
We do not own the building and therefore have limited power to expedite outside appearance and update of heating system. It is a prewar building that offers its personal charme and all that is part of living in NY. Thanks again and all the best, you are welcome anytime again but you will find the same side tables I promise:)
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?