Needs a little work.
This unit is nicely located near Ubahn station but in quiet, older apartment building. It needs some basic maintenance done. Much of wood work needs to be resanded and painted to cover the exposed bare aged wood. There is a large construction ceiling defect on entry. The floor boards have wide gaps between and for some reason the owners have been reluctant to recaulk and repair.
Nice, large windows. Place needs an oscillating fan ! There is no closet space or furniture to hang up one's clothing, only a few pegs by front door. Can do for day or two, but longer than that.....no. The bathroom is small and dimly lit. No bar soap samples. Should a paying guest really have to call just to get some clean towels ? Why not simply stock a few extra ones in bath! Only GERMAN dvds with English subtitles. Wifi works fine. Did not use kitchen.
From street level, the unit is four flights of stairs up to apartment. There is no elevator access. The courtyard one must cross to enter is very dark at night.
Interesting Turkish neighborhood with fairly priced eats and great cultural mix.
Hesitated to write a negative review. Was disappointed in this property. It does not meet a five star status by any stretch. Hopefully there will be some simple improvements made.
Owner's Response: Hi Jim,
thanks for your review.
We always try to improve ourselves and reviews are a helpful tool.
Nevertheless, we were a little bit surprised after reading yours and we think, that some points need to be clarified:
The state of the furniture:
The building was build in the 1920s and the apartments have old wooden floors – the patina charmed most of our guests. But - there is no accounting for taste.
We do not understand what you mean by “large construction ceiling defect “ ?!
There was a wooden book board which really needed a fresh painting - we did that just after you left. It was already on our to do list.
If you think that the bathroom was inadequately lit, we will of course use a stronger bulb.
The courtyard-situation is typical for old Berlin buildings. There are 2 lights which make sure, that you cross the courtyard safely (It´s just approx. 8 meters).
We provided you with 2 clean towels and you stayed 4 nights. If that is not enough, next time you will get more.
All DVDs we offer – except 2 German movies - include an English AUDIO version – not just subtitles – we will be pleased to show you how to use them right next time.
The apartment is in the courtyard and the good thing about it is, that although it is quite light, it doesn't heat up during summertime. So we didn't see the need of a fan so far.
Yes, the building does not have an elevator – and you knew that fact before you booked. But to be correct - our apartment is 3 flights of steps and not 4.
There are no soap samples in the shower that is right - and you knew that fact before you booked as well.
It seems unfair to complain about these 2 points afterward.
Jim, we think that some of your complaints could have been easily solved with just one phone call. This is why all of our guests get our cell phone numbers and we tell them to contact us whenever they are in need of something.
Nevertheless, we hope you enjoyed your stay in Berlin.
Did you find this review helpful?