Eldred farmhouse rental - The 1820 manor home has been fully renovated and featured in Dwell magazine.
The 1820 manor home has been fully renovated and featured in Dwell magazine.
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps13
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Eldred Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms, sleeps 9

As featured in Dwell Magazine: a mix of modern architecture and old-world charm makes this 1820 manor home an inspired destination. Sited at the edge of a pristine brook and waterfall, the home’s grand spaces, dramatic details, and expansive aura are as enchanting as the landscape surrounding it. An enormous kitchen features polished concrete floors, a wood-fired pizza oven, and a two-story wall of glass framing views of the brook, gazebo, apple trees, and barn. French doors lead to an expansive covered porch, suspended over the water’s edge, and the waterfall’s cascading rhythms fill the great room and master suite. Original cast-iron beds and wavy glass windows adorn all sleeping quarters, and vintage farmhouse furnishings abound throughout. Restaurants, farmers markets, river rafting, and concerts are all a country mile away. But the Floating Farmhouse is likely where you'll want to be. For more information, go to www.givonehome.com, click “work,” then click “Floating Farmhouse.'

26 Reviews of Property 377014 in Eldred, New York

Floating Farmhouse: Stunning renovation in storybook setting, 2 hrs NYC
average rating of 4.923077 based on 26 reviews
business
Floating Farmhouse: Stunning renovation in storybook setting, 2 hrs NYC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377014
Eldred Catskills
5

Another perfect weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
A small group of us stayed at the Floating Farmhouse for the 2nd year in a row. It has become a tradition for us that will be long lasting.

The house is comfortable, has everything you need and provides the perfect setting for a weekend of tuning out from busy city life. The pictures hardly do justice to all of the thoughtful work that went into renovating and expanding the original farmhouse. The pizza oven was such a fun feature and we cooked almost every meal in the oversized kitchen. Henning's Local is a great nearby option for dinner, and Narrowsburg has a few shops and galleries worth checking out.

Betsy is a pleasure to work with, and we will definitely be planning a return to the Farmhouse with her soon.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Floating Farmhouse: Stunning renovation in storybook setting, 2 hrs NYC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377014
Eldred Catskills
5

Even more perfect than we could have imagined

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The Floating Farmhouse is just as stunning inside as it is outside, and just as perfect as the pictures make it seem. All nine of us loved making it our home for the weekend. The amenities are spectacular, from the showers and bathtubs to the fireplaces and the pizza oven. And we loved how many different settings the house offers for us all to spend time together in beautiful, cozy settings, between the kitchen, the den, the master bedroom, and the porch. We only left the house once -- and only for a quick trip to the grocery store just down the street -- because all we wanted to do was spend more time in the house beside a fire, staring out through the plentiful windows at the snow all around us. Can't wait to book another weekend here, and working with Betsy was a complete pleasure throughout.
business
Floating Farmhouse: Stunning renovation in storybook setting, 2 hrs NYC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377014
Eldred Catskills
4

This place is divine.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This place is perfect. Full stop. Fireplaces cracking, pizza baking in the pizza oven, pheasants and deer walking through the front yard, old records playing on the record player. What more can you ask?
business
Floating Farmhouse: Stunning renovation in storybook setting, 2 hrs NYC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377014
Eldred Catskills
New York, New York
5

Beautiful, Comfortable, Fun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My college girlfriends and I try and take at least one trip together per year, and we recently booked a long weekend at the Floating Farmhouse. We were all in awe of the house. A wood-fired pizza oven! Every kitchen amenity you could want! A gorgeous, covered porch we used even when it rained. Cocktail hour in the little gazebo out back. Fires at night with lots of wine. Really, just a perfect spot to get away - particularly if you're looking to just relax, catch-up with folks and cook some great meals. Bonus if you are like me and coming from a tiny NYC apartment - the space is SUCH A TREAT! Oh, and Besty couldn't be more delightful to work with. All around terrific experience. I'll be back!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Floating Farmhouse: Stunning renovation in storybook setting, 2 hrs NYC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377014
Eldred Catskills
5

Best Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
As a party of 8, we enjoyed our long weekend stay to celebrate our friend's big day.

The house was exquisite and had all the amenities we all would ask for. The house was large enough to accommodate the whole party. The details of this house was impeccable and was simply a magical outer body experience.

We will be back...this time much longer than 3 days 2 nights!

The owner and contact person Betsy was amazing and accommodating. Thank you for making our stay so wonderful and memorable
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Floating Farmhouse: Stunning renovation in storybook setting, 2 hrs NYC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377014
Eldred Catskills
5

Can't wait to go back!

Can't wait to go back!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Floating Farmhouse is a little piece of heaven just two hours outside of Manhattan.

This place is just as beautiful in person as it is in the pictures. Absolutely gorgeous in every detail from the picture perfect kitchen to the fireplaces and soaking tubs.

The house is spacious with lots of room to stretch out and relax and lots of cozy communal spaces to share with your friends. Our group had such a great time we are already checking our calendars for a return stay.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Floating Farmhouse: Stunning renovation in storybook setting, 2 hrs NYC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377014
Eldred Catskills
5

Floating Farmhouse Lives Up To The Pics

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
A group of friends and me stayed at the FF this past weekend and had a terrific time. It's not far from NYC at all and feels like you're a million miles away. Betsy was a pleasure to deal with leading up to the trip and was quite responsive with my questions via email. The kitchen is the star of the show, and if you can master the pizza over, you're in for a real treat. We also experienced snow on Saturday which enhanced the beauty even more. The master bedroom is significantly larger than the other bedrooms, so if you are going as couples and not a group of friends I think the best way to go into it, is to offer to pay a bit more because it is definitely worth more.. I know others on this site won the room by a game of pool, so whatever you feel best. We hope to return in the warmer weather, as I can only imagine how incredible the lake must be.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Floating Farmhouse: Stunning renovation in storybook setting, 2 hrs NYC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377014
Eldred Catskills
5

Just Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This home is just perfect. Not one false note! We've been back once for a repeat visit and plan to make this a regular retreat from the city.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Floating Farmhouse: Stunning renovation in storybook setting, 2 hrs NYC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377014
Eldred Catskills
5

Perfect getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I was up at the Floating Farmhouse with a group of friends last weekend and had an amazing time. The property is absolutely stunning and really really well maintained. We had a lovely dinner at Hennings the evening we arrived (suggested in the guide that Betsy sent us), and spent most of the rest of the weekend just hanging out in the house, lounging in front of the fireplace and making pizza in the awesome pizza oven. This is the perfect getaway from the city, and Betsy was fantastic to work with from start to finish. Can't wait to go back!
business
Floating Farmhouse: Stunning renovation in storybook setting, 2 hrs NYC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377014
Eldred Catskills
5

AWESOME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
If you are looking to chill out upstate, cook great food, drink by a fire (if you're here in the winter) this place is perfect. The house is gorgeous. Amazing design. While its minimal its also super comfy and clean. Don't be afraid, use the wood fire oven to make some pizza's. We did and they turned out great! Betsy was awesome during the entire process and very helpful with all of our questions. We didn't do much of anything but enjoy the house but next time i'll def. hit up the town to see what partying with the locals is like as well as take advantage of the tubing hill 30 minutes away. Overall awesome time, and yes, i'd def. recommend to friends but keep it a secret from my enemies!