Cross Village house rental - Sunset over Lake Michigan from Deck
Sunset over Lake Michigan from Deck
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Cross Village House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 6

An 'Upside Down House', that is, the living space-consisting of a great room, dining and kitchen areas, bath and large deck on top floor-allowing for unbelievable panoramic lake and sunset views. Extremely uncrowded beach as far as eye can see. Wood stove in Great Room. Front, covered porch, looking across at sand dunes and forest, large entry way, hall and three bedrooms, bath, laundry/sand room, screened porch and open deck to hang wet laundry, etc. off master bedroom on next floor down. Beautiful wood floors throughout, marble floors in baths. Garage and basement on ground floor. Cat walk over dune grass to sandy beach-no-rocks on beach or in water, on Lake Michigan's Sturgeon Bay, dead end road that borders Wilderness State Park.

The house was designed and built (literally) by my late husband who taught structural engineering at the University of Michigan. The space is a joy and a delight to be in, comfortable and inviting.

For several summers my family rented a house down the beach. We fell in love with the area as a perfect get away for parents, grandparents, kids and dogs. We were lucky to find this piece of land/sand with no rocks-on beach or in water-just sand. The house was completed about 11 years ago.

As I appreciate it when my dog is welcome on my travels, the house welcomes (well behaved) dogs, has a doggy door and a small fenced in area off front porch. The house is maintained in excellent condition-smoke free and shoe free.

5 Reviews of Property 376371 in Cross Village, Michigan

Contemporary, Lake Michigan, Sandy Beach, Great View
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
business
Contemporary, Lake Michigan, Sandy Beach, Great View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p376371
+1 7348346141
Cross Village Northern Michigan
Weston, Missouri
5

Everything and More

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
First off,thank you Marlene for sharing this incredible place.
When we arrived, my husband walked in first and as I approached the foyer he said .".drop everything and come up here right now you have got to see this!" The view was spectacular. The proximity to the beach fabulous. The multiple sitting areas no matter the weather abundant. Laying in bed watching the sun set one evening priceless.
This spotless,well stocked,beautiful home is not to be missed. Directions and instructions perfect. Location..well we have been renting houses all along the coast from Saugatuck up and this one is the winner. It was a perfect for rest and relaxation. From yoga in the morning with that beautiful view and the sound of waves to the miles of virtually deserted beach to walk on in both directions we totally tuned out. Easy proximity to Mackinaw City, the Island, Petosky and the tunnel of trees. The famous Polish resturant Legs just 3 mi up the road,walk bike drive what ever.
What one thing would I bring next time beside our personal items and food? My bike. There are so many trials to explore. This is a home for all ages and we could not have been happier with our choice. This home is well set up for beach living.Hose on porch , sand room, were wonderful for cleaning feet, both ours and our dogs. Yes, even in this gorgeous house in this magnificent setting, Marlene allows well behaved dogs, our 12 yr old lab is pretty sure she experienced the highlight of her life here too.
What a week!
Owner's Response: Thank you, Elaine for the lovely, enthusiastic review. I am very happy to be able to share this very special place with others. Makszi-dog also enjoys knowing that his fellow four-legged pals have a fine time as well. Do come back.
business
Contemporary, Lake Michigan, Sandy Beach, Great View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p376371
+1 7348346141
Cross Village Northern Michigan
Oak Park, IL
5

Perfect Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This rental was everything we hoped for and more! Our high energy family (including our well-behaved but very active dog) found many opportunities to enjoy the outdoors without having to travel far from the house, with swimming, hiking the dunes, bike riding, kayaking and beach walks (treasure hunts) all right there. The photos give a sense of the layout and design of the home and show the natural beauty surrounding it, but, as another reviewer mentioned, they don't do it justice. The more time we spent there, the more we appreciated how much thought and creativity went into creating this very special and calming place. My daughter felt this immediately and asked the first day if we could stay all summer, which we all wished we could. And we are now back home dealing with a depressed pup :) The house was well kept and stocked and the private beach was very nice and sandy with only a few rocks. The views both in the front and back of the house were stunning and we were happily distracted nightly by the incredible sunsets. Even on cloudier days, the sun managed to pop out just in time to amaze us. We did head to Harbor Springs one afternoon, which is a cute resort town, and into Wilderness State Park, but our most enjoyable times were spent at the house. We highly recommend it and hope to be back next year!
business
Contemporary, Lake Michigan, Sandy Beach, Great View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p376371
+1 7348346141
Cross Village Northern Michigan
Tontogany, Ohio
5

Best rental I've ever had!

Best rental I've ever had!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
When I first saw the photos, I thought they were too good to be true. However, photos do not do this home justice. This home belongs on one of the television shows! Hardwood floors and windowsills. Stainless appliances.Marble tiled floors in the bathrooms. And so CLEAN! Wonderful breezes and views! The beach was virtually empty which I value highly -- and this house is located on a prime part of the lake; there are no rocks there like there are a few hundred feet either way. Here are other highlights: original artwork (museum quality) adorns most walls. There was a flashlight beside the bed and candles and matches in case of power loss. Drawers contained tape and string and aluminum foil, etc. I didn't need to go buy all these little extras and that was a treat (not that I used many). A couple things to consider: although there is a TV, there is no reception/cable/satellite. There is no internet. There was no microwave. Verizon had NO signal (neighbor said AT&T did) and there is no long-distance phone access and this proved to be somewhat of a difficulty and we ended up having people call us. However, we quickly liked the idea of being isolated and not able to be bothered via cell or internet. We were not prepared for how far we had to drive to purchase groceries for the week and would have purchased on our way up had we known. (We went to Cheboygan but Harbor Springs would have worked too. Or Mackinaw.) There are things to go see and do within easy driving distance. We would most defnitely consider this home again! Excellent excellent value for the price we paid.
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind review. It is indeed, a special place and I am very happy to share it.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Contemporary, Lake Michigan, Sandy Beach, Great View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p376371
+1 7348346141
Cross Village Northern Michigan
5

AMAZING!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
If you want to get away from it all, enjoy privacy, nature, and beauty, this is your place! Everything provided, everything clean, top notch beach house.

Leave your worries behind, come to Lake Michigan and RELAX! You will not be dissapointed.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Contemporary, Lake Michigan, Sandy Beach, Great View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p376371
+1 7348346141
Cross Village Northern Michigan
Michigan
5

Paradise up north

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
The house is fabulous if you love sunsets, long walks on an almost deserted beach, sand dunes, swimming, and being surrounded with wonderful art. The sunsets are so stunning it is difficult to leave the house to sample the good restaurants that abound in Harbor Springs, Douglas Lake, etc. I would recommend this house to anyone. Sturgeon Bay is a very special location. Listening to loons and seeing an eagle soar --just heavenly. Home is well stocked and extremely well maintained.I loved my week there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7