West Tremont cottage rental - A spacious deck to relax on as you breathe in the salt air
A spacious deck to relax on as you breathe in the salt air
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

West Tremont Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms/2 baths, sleeps 4

Blue Hill Bay is the beautiful scene viewed from Dix Point Shores deck and windows. Beautifully appointed, this 2 bedroom/2 bath cottage is full of amenities, inside, and adventures, outside. The 3-point kitchen has a breakfast counter and the dining table is close by for convenience. Comfortable furniture surrounds the wood stove/fireplace for relaxing and conversing. An office/computer space is, also, an added bonus. Walks along the shore will be an everyday activity at Dix Point Shores and at dusk some of the most beautiful sunsets can be seen. At the end of the day, falling asleep to the rise and fall of the tide will rejuvenate your heart and mind ~

Sunsets: Walk down to the shore path at dusk and fantastic sunsets can be viewed.

Lobster: Thurston's Wharf is a few miles from Dix Point shores in the tiny village of Bernard. It is a working lobster pound with a restaurant that serves the freshest lobster, right off the boats that are moored in Bass Harbor, Maine

4 Reviews of Property 376329 in West Tremont, Maine

Mount Desert Island, Maine oceanfront property in a quiet, wooded setting
average rating of 4.75 based on 4 reviews
business
Mount Desert Island, Maine oceanfront property in a quiet, wooded setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p376329
+1 2072443339
West Tremont Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
4

Great location and views!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was our (2 adults and 2 teenagers) first trip to Maine and we could not have picked a better place. The owner's agent and owner were great to work with. The property was very well maintained and in a great location. The site is very secluded but we liked that - it was away from all the crowds. The view of the water was very pretty and relaxing. It is about 20 minutes from all the activities at Acadia. We recommend the hikes - the trails are easy to follow for novices like us. We had an excellent time and would recommend this cottage.
Owner's Response: We are so appreciative of renters like you! You left the cottage in great shape!
We would love to have you come visit, again ~ Thanks for the wonderful review ~ From the Owners and Agent
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Mount Desert Island, Maine oceanfront property in a quiet, wooded setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p376329
+1 2072443339
West Tremont Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Great vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
When you walk in the door, the first thing you see is the amazing view from the huge picture window and you know you are going to have a great time. We stayed for a week with our two sons, then 3 and 9 months. It was great for us to not have to worry about stairs in the house and the deck was perfect for sitting outside and having some wine after the kids were in bed. Just bring your bug spray!

The dining area makes you feel like you are in a cabin in the woods, then you walk into the living room and you see that beautiful water. The master bedroom has a nice view of the bay as well. The bath in the master bath is huge...my son thought it was almost a swimming pool :)

The house is very secluded so you are driving to everything, but it's also wonderfully quiet. We loved walking along the rocks and looking at the tidepools. The only bad part about having the water right there is that you want to dive in but it's really not a spot for swimming. We also loved watching the lobster boats through the binoculard the owners provided.

With two kids, we weren't much for going out to dinner so we did a lot of cooking. The kitchen has everything you need, and the open floorplan is great for keeping
an eye on the family while preparing food.

The owners were there, in another house on the property behind this one, when we stayed. They were very nice and helpful, but not imposing at all.

Two things to note--there is only one shower. The master bath has a huge tub but no shower. Second, the address that the realtor gave us came up as someplace else on Google. We noticed it was wrong by the pictures Google was showing. I think it was a Google issue, but I'm glad we realized and didn't end up at the wrong house!

We loved our stay here. If we were going to Maine for vacation again, we would absolutely stay here. My son told us the other day, "I plan on going back there." It definitely made an impression!!
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Mount Desert Island, Maine oceanfront property in a quiet, wooded setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p376329
+1 2072443339
West Tremont Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Quaint, Peaceful, Adorable...Absolutely Loved It!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We absolutely loved our stay at this oceanfront property. From the moment we drove up the driveway, we realized it was going to be a very peaceful place to stay. The house was comfortable, amenities were over the top, loved the fireplace, there were lots of windows to help you enjoy the outdoors even when it was raining, and the list of good things just goes on and on! We found it difficult to leave the house because we just wanted to stay there and enjoy the peacefulness and beautiful scenery. One day a bald eagle perched on a tree top right by the house and let us take lots of pictures of him. It was enjoyable to watch the lobster boats in the bay and seeing all the waterfowl. As for the area - we enjoyed Gaylene's Restaurant in Bar Harbor, Dry Dock Restaurant in Southwest Harbor, climbing up Cadillac Mountain, walking around Jordon Pond and seeing all the beautiful fall foliage. Back to the property - the listing was accurate, property and grounds were clean and well maintained. The grounds caretaker was pleasant and available via telephone for questions on the area. The owner/lister has been pleasant to work with as well. The only disappointing thing about this place was we had to leave to come home. We highly recommend this place and will return again (hopefully next year).
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mount Desert Island, Maine oceanfront property in a quiet, wooded setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p376329
+1 2072443339
West Tremont Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Beautiful Home on the Quiet Side of the Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We spent a week here with our 9 and 12 year olds. This is probably the nicest rental we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in many. The house is beautiful with fantastic views. The furniture and beds were very comfortable. We loved that it was away from Bar Harbor and the crowds. It's just a short drive to Southwest Harbor where you will find a bakery, small grocery store, wine and cheese shop, etc. All the things you need without the touristy stuff. The house has a nice kitchen and a gas grill which allowed us to cook at the house several times. We loved having coffee on the deck in the morning and watching the sun set from the rocks with a glass of wine. Our goal was to see Acadia National Park and from this side of the island you can hike and bike on many trails. It's also near Echo Lake which is the best place to swim during the summer. Can't say enough about this place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 4/6