Drake Bay cottage rental - The cabina at night
The cabina at night
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Drake Bay Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Convertible bed(s), Sleeps 6

A stay at Sierpe del Pacifico is Costa Rica at its finest...remote and comfortable accommodations...nature in its purest form all around you...adventure rich...much more affordable for families than the Drake Bay Eco-Lodges

This is your chance to completely escape the monotonous grind of everyday life and rejuvenate your body and mind with a healthy dose of natural beauty, active adventure, and cultural authenticity. All five senses will be on full alert here, each one contributing to an overall sense of joy and relaxation. Start your mornings with the sounds of howler monkeys, the sight of tropical sunrises, and the aroma of Costa Rican coffee that would put Starbucks to shame. Fill you days with a plethora of river, ocean, or rainforest adventure, all available directly from your front steps. Finally, wind down the evening watching the flight of white ibis across the sunset over Isla Violin with a cold cervesa or mojito in hand. Sound like paradise to you...we think so too!

Our cabina's location on the Sierpe River - a fully navigable river that flows into the Pacific Ocean - serves as a direct connection to all of the best adventure activities that Costa Rica is known for. Accessible directly from the front steps of the cabina are 5 kilometers of hiking trails that weave through primary rainforest, wetlands, mangroves, and 3 tropical fruit filled gardens - all great for wildlife watching and birding. Feel free to help yourself to the fruit as well, the resident monkeys certainly do! Four kayaks are stored on-site and are yours to use for exploring the river and its tributaries.

Are you a fan of fishing? If so, you'll be glad to know that some sizable red snapper and snook have been caught from the two riverfront piers. For adrenaline junkies some pretty intense mountain biking and horseback riding trails connect the SDP property to the Mirimar mountain range to the south. Finally, if you just want to sit back and enjoy the wide open views of three coastal mountain ranges, Isla Violin, and the daily flights of macaws, toucans, and parrots over the river, two additional hill-top scenic overlook verandas are just a couple minutes walk from the cabina.

In addition to the on-site activities, it is highly recommended that you arrange for a variety of tour boats to pick you up at the riverfront dock for some of the ocean related activities that have made this area so popular with tourists. Favorites include deep-sea fishing (world class in-shore and off-shore), snorkeling, diving (Costa Rica's most renowned), and wildlife watching in Corcovado National Park.

The cabina itself is relatively new and was built in the signature Sierpe del Pacifico 'refined rustic' style. Large beamed exotic hardwoods combine with lofted ceilings and ample use of screened in windows to emphasize views of, and harmony with, the natural surroundings. A 215 sq. ft. veranda has rocking chairs, a breakfast nook, and lounger available to relax in while enjoying the amazing views. Despite being very isolated and completely off the grid here, a well appointed solar system, on demand hot water, and 3G cell phone coverage will keep you comfortable and connected. Ask about internet options. The beds are all custom made from exotic hardwoods, have orthopedic mattresses, and use high thread count sheets.

While the enjoyment of our river retreat provides the ultimate in tranquility, beauty, and seclusion, it must be said that this experience is better geared towards those who are adventurous and enjoy physical activities. The walk to the cabina from the boat dock is the equivalent of a few blocks and involves a decent sized hill. While the cabina is brand new and provides a wide range of modern comforts and conveniences, you must remember that you are “off the grid” and in the middle of a tropical rainforest. This cabin does not have air conditioning, but overhead fans and a design utilizing cross-ventilation measures keeps the cabina comfortable. In our version of paradise we sacrifice air conditioning for air of the purest condition!

This home is not suitable for children aged 2 and under or the infirm. Ask about suitability for children ages 3-6 or those with limited physical abilities.

More Details
Hide Details

My father and I built this home in 2008. Hailing from northern Wisconsin, we've always loved the outdoors and experiences that are adventurous and authentic. This home on the Sierpe River gives this to us in droves. We love days filled with river, rainforest, and ocean adventure, and evenings spent on the deck sipping mojitos and watching the birds fly by.

Cassidy Scheer purchased this cottage in 2008

It is the idyllic combination of river, rain forest, and ocean. We can access the beauty and adventure of all three environments from this one property.

This is the real Costa Rica. You will be hard pressed to find a more authentic and adventure rich experience!

22 Reviews of Property 375958 on Drake Bay, Costa Rica

Wildlife & Adventurer's Paradise...Access to Ocean, River, and Rainforest
average rating of 4.818182 based on 22 reviews
business
Wildlife & Adventurer's Paradise...Access to Ocean, River, and Rainforest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375958
+1 715 2034844
Drake Bay Puntarenas
5

Nature Life

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We really enjoy staying in such place inside the rainforest.
It is a really new experience to replace the sounds of our big town with animals sounds like howler monkeys in particular.
Don't hesitate. And if you need help and advices, Guillermo is there to give you all you need and organize a discovery day in corcovado or island...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hey Fabrice - We're glad to hear you had an enjoyable time at the cabina with your family! You're right, being up close and personal with nature is what really makes this experience so great. Everyone loves seeing (and hearing) the monkeys in their natural environment. I will make sure to pass along your compliments to Guillermo and the rest of the staff. Pura Vida - Cassidy
business
Wildlife & Adventurer's Paradise...Access to Ocean, River, and Rainforest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375958
+1 715 2034844
Drake Bay Puntarenas
Wausau, Wi. USA
5

Sierpe del Pacifico Adventure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We recently returned from our second visit to Sierpe del Pacifico. We had an excellent time at SDP. Our accomodations in the River Cabin we quite comfortable. We ate most all our meals there but made a few visits to the Village. The SDP experience is perfect for anyone that enjoys exploring the beauty of Costa Rica. While we were visiting we enjoyed both a guided river fishing trip for snook, snapper & corvina & a fantastic day on the Pacific. We ate fish almost eveyday! We had another great day riding horses & visiting with Rosie & her family on a real Tico farm. Visiting with Rosie & her family was a great way for us to work on our Spanish too. We took daily walks on the miles of well maintained trails, taking pictures & video of the plants & animals. On this visit we saw all four species of monkeys that are native to CR. We enjoyed fresh fruits from the garden daily. If you snorkel or dive, a day trip to Isla Cano is highly recommended. The SDP staff were there to help with just a call on the cell phone provided. So much to do. We had a blast. We recommend grocery shopping in Pal Mar on your way to Sierpe for best selection. Be sure to read the info provided. It's full of important points to have a safe & enjoyable experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear you had a good time John...glad to hear you caught some fish as well! In my opinion snook and corvina are two of the most delicious fish a person can catch in Costa Rica! We hope you can visit Sierpe again soon! Pura Vida - Cassidy
business
Wildlife & Adventurer's Paradise...Access to Ocean, River, and Rainforest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375958
+1 715 2034844
Drake Bay Puntarenas
Victoria, BC, Canada
5

Off the Grid Awesome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
If you are looking to get away from it all, and experience a little piece of the jungles of Costa Rica, then this place is for you. It's off the beaten trail, and accessible by a short boat ride down the Sierpe River.
This place is for those looking to enjoy the simpler things in life, not all inclusive resorts that don't actually show you anything about the country.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
Wildlife & Adventurer's Paradise...Access to Ocean, River, and Rainforest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375958
+1 715 2034844
Drake Bay Puntarenas
Victoria, BC, Canada
5

Jungle Oasis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Fantastic place off the beaten track... but not so far off that you feel totally isolated. Great service from staff including Guillermo and Donal. So much fun poking around in the jungle, listening to the noises at night, paddling kayaks on the river, eating fresh fruit from the trees in the garden, soaking in the heat and humidity. The place seeps into your soul!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Wildlife & Adventurer's Paradise...Access to Ocean, River, and Rainforest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375958
+1 715 2034844
Drake Bay Puntarenas
Midlothian, Virginia
5

Jungle Paradise!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We spent 5 nights in this Jungle Paradise for our 25th Anniversary and we can't wait to go back! This was by far the most relaxing, awe inspiring vacation we ever had.

Right from our first contact with Cassidy our experience was flawless, and Guillermo was a perfect host. He was always available for questions, happy to talk and share his knowledge of the river and Sierpe, and to help with arranging various trips. What you see in the photos and read in the description and reviews is exactly what you get - no surprises! Just Paradise!

We loved waking up every morning to the Howler Monkeys, enjoyed the visits daily by the White Faced Monkeys, and the added Sloth one evening was icing on the cake. In addition to just relaxing on the back deck, reading and taking in the sights and sounds of the jungle, we went on the snorkling trip to Cano Island, which we highly recommend. We also went horseback riding with Rosita which is another highly recommended activity. We rode with her through the jungle and had some lunch at her home, it was a very special day. We also took the night boat tour which was another great event. Oh, and we did take advantage of the kayaks that they have for your use at the dock - a must do!!

The home was absolutely fantastic, we loved the fact that there was no air conditioning, (there are ceiling fans which do the trick) breathing fresh air 24/7 for 5 days was magic. And the bugs were of no problem at all, truly we didn't have a problem all day, the mosquitos would come out after sun down, but nothing that some bug repellent couldn't handle, nothing more than we deal with here in Virginia :)

Honestly, when we left Sierpe del Pacifico and headed to Dominical we were both a little heavy in the heart. It actually took almost two days to stop wishing we were back in our Jungle home. There were games to play in the house, books to read, everything you could need in the kitchen, comfortable bed, refreshing showers (plenty of hot water if you wanted it) Toucans, Monkeys, Sloths, Beautiful Butterflies - everything you need for a restful, relaxing vacation. We are already planning our return for next year to celebrate our 26th Anniversary!! And next time we do plan to stay a little longer and make sure to go on one of the fishing trips - just ran out of time :)

Just Do It! Pura Vida!!!!
Owner's Response: Hey Debby - We're thrilled to hear that you had such a great time. We look forward to hosting you again for future anniversaries! Puuuuura Viiiiiiiida!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wildlife & Adventurer's Paradise...Access to Ocean, River, and Rainforest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375958
+1 715 2034844
Drake Bay Puntarenas
1

Very Very Dissapointed

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
During our recent visit to Costa Rica we had booked 4 nights at the Drake Bay Vacation Although the title of the property clearly states "Completely Private Waterfront Home", we were very disappointed when we arrived to find that this was not the case. The cabin is located on large piece of property that is subdivided for sale. The lot the cabin on is not located on the water and it is about a 10 minute walk to even access the river. The land was obviously logged at some time as any high growth canopy is gone. The cabin appears nice at first but things like the doors to the porch do not open and close well and there is no insulation in the place. With a dark green roof, no apparent insulation, and no trees to provide shade the place is a virtual oven during the day. Imagine hanging out in your attic on a hot day. I climbed up on the table and the ceiling was hot to the touch during the day and running fans would only push the very hot upper air down on you. Also the second bedroom is not attached and is only accessible by walking around the house and down a set of uneven stepping stones. While this might actually be nice for two couples it was not even an option with 3 small kids. That meant my husband and I had to sleep in separate rooms with our kids. The trails on the property are nice but poorly marked. The other house is very close and we could clearly hear the people talking and the clanging of cookware when they were eating. As someone who spends over 2 months a year "off the grid" in the Bahamas (a equally hot environment) I can tell you that the poor design of this house makes it physically uncomfortable to stay at. If you are looking for a rustic place there are many places that are nicer for less money out there in Costa Rica. The owner was pleasant to deal with and I don't feel they intentionally misrepresented the property but I do not feel the description is an accurate representation of the place.
Owner's Response: I'm very sorry that this guest was disappointed with their experience at the cabina. My family has been involved in the hospitality business for over 20 years in 3 countries, so we take the responsibility of setting, meeting, and exceeding reasonable guest expectations very seriously. In the case of our lovely off the grid jungle home that means clearly mentioning in our listing and rental agreement that this home is only intended for those people who are independent, physically active, and are seeking the adventure, nature, and authenticity of the Osa Peninsula over creature comforts or personal attention. It also means mentioning the suitability of the home as it applies to young children, the elderly, or people who aren't physically active. Overall, we've been very successful with our guests' abilities to self-qualify themselves for a stay at our home and have 19 very enthusiastic and heartfelt 5 star reviews to prove it!

For the record, the cabin does have heat insulation in the ceiling, there are trees up to 70 foot tall surrounding the house, we provide maps for the hiking trails, and the reason the doors require some extra push are because of large sweeps meant to help keep insects out. Additionally, the solar system will be doubling in size in late March, 2014, and we plan on installing more fans. It still isn't air conditioning, but it IS air of the purest condition!

Pura Vida! - Cassidy and family
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Wildlife & Adventurer's Paradise...Access to Ocean, River, and Rainforest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375958
+1 715 2034844
Drake Bay Puntarenas
5

Just do it. You will not be disappointed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I took my son to Costa Rica for two weeks this summer for a graduation present. We loved our five night stay at SDP. We were met at Sierpe by Guillermo. He pointed us to the grocery store a stone's throw away and we were off to get our supplies.

We loaded up on the boat and headed downriver for our Costa Rica adventure. Guillermo pointed out various sites along the way including a large croc or two and monkeys in the trees. He answered all of my logistical questions on the ten minute trip to SDP. Once at the property we walked up the hill to the house. We stayed in the "little house" which is just a bit below the big house. The little house was plenty big for the two of us and would have been fine for another person or two. In addition to the queen bed in the bedroom, there is a futon bed in the living area and an air mattress as well. The open construction made the most of the square footage. The house is really cool with exotic woods everywhere. The kitchen/dining area was good sized and had everything that we needed. I did not realize there was a freezer, but there was. It also has a section for refrigeration only.

Like most of the places we stayed in CR, there was no AC. That was not at all a problem. It is high enough above the river we were never really uncomfortable and never missed our AC--Coming from Oklahoma I was expecting hot and humid. It was humid, but never as hot as home.

I was a little afraid my son would be bored with five nights at SDP, since if is so isolated. That was never a problem. We loved sitting on the deck, watching the monkeys, sloths, and birds, but also really enjoyed hiking around the property and kayaking the backwaters of the river. Guillermo then arranged a snorkeling trip to Cano. Though we had plenty to occupy our time at SDP I think getting away just that one day probably helped keep us from feeling too isolated.

We found the gardens our first day and enjoyed hiking down there to watch the critters. We happened upon the caretaker, Donal's place while mountain biking. Donal was very nice.

The only two "negatives," were that the water heater was having trouble while we were there and on our last day the big house was rented and we could occasionally hear the people up there.

Cassidy was great to deal with stateside and Guillermo was warm and hospitable as well as helpful and knowledgeable. Without reservation I wholeheartedly recommend SDP.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the house Paul. From your review it sounds like the sloth that enjoys hanging out in the Guayrama trees right next to the house made an appearance, Pura Vida!

I also wanted to let you know that we switched out the pressure switch on the on demand hot water heater. Hot water flows reliably once again!

Thanks for your kind words, best regards - Cassidy
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wildlife & Adventurer's Paradise...Access to Ocean, River, and Rainforest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375958
+1 715 2034844
Drake Bay Puntarenas
5

A UNIQUE EXPERIENCE AND A GREAT FIND!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Contacting Cassidy and making arrangements was made easy. We were filled with detailed information and quickly recognized that we were working with a great team. Guillermo, the property manager, and Donal, a care taker, were there to meet us as we arrived in Sierpe. Both were helpful, and an integral part in the experience we had. Being transported to the house by boat was a great kickoff into our adventure. Donal stopped along the way as Guillermo pointed out a crocodile, a few different types of monkeys and birds, as well as, gave us the lay of the land through a local's eyes. Guillermo and Donal helped bring all our necessities up to the house, showed us around, and then left us to settle into the pura vida lifestyle. We found the cabina to be well equipped and perfectly comfortable. We soaked in the smells and the sounds and couldn't wait to get out there and explore. Explore we did! We quickly got into a morning and early evening routine of walking the property and taking different routes to discover all its beauty. We enjoyed the sunrise and sunsets from the many perches that sit above the canopy and the river below. We made good use of the kayaks that were there, paddling the different waterways and seeing the wildlife that make the estuaries their home. We were thrilled by the abundant presence of the white faced monkey, which made daily visits right outside the cabina.
(I could, and did, spend hours being entertained by them.) Being woken by the howler monkeys became a welcomed alarm and usually meant that it was time to get out the Costa Rican coffee press, make the morning brew and go find a perch for what was sure to be a beautiful sunrise. Bugs were there, of course, but with a dose of repellant they were a non-issue. Had we wanted to get out and explore all the different excursions, we knew it was just a matter of calling Guillermo. However, we had spent the previous week being the active traveler and knew that Sierpe del Pacifico was our time to get rejuvenated and relax. We did fish one day and fed off of our catch for the next 2 days. We spent 1 day back in Sierpe and since we had a rental car, went up the coastline to a beautiful beach that Guillermo suggested. I just can't say enough about this place and the hospitality of the team. If you go and invest yourself in the experience and what it has to offer, you will not leave disappointed. Hands down, a memorable vacation!!!
Owner's Response: Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay Darcy! I'll relay your kind words to Guillermo and Donal. They are great people and provide great service to our guests.! Pura Vida!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wildlife & Adventurer's Paradise...Access to Ocean, River, and Rainforest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375958
+1 715 2034844
Drake Bay Puntarenas
5

Unique experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We absolutely loved our stay at this jungle paradise. This was a very unique and authentic way to experience the people, culture, and the land. The cabin was great, especially the view and jungle sounds. We were able to go on several excursions and were picked up right at the dock of the property. We also had a blast exploring the property and taking the kayaks out onto the river and up into the tributary. Thank you so much for everything and all your great advice. We hope to return in the future.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wildlife & Adventurer's Paradise...Access to Ocean, River, and Rainforest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375958
+1 715 2034844
Drake Bay Puntarenas
Dallas, Texas
5

The gateway I hoped for!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I was looking for somewhere to de-stress, relax, and be away from people. I could not have picked a better place. Completely isolated, serene and breathtaking. It was almost like I was on my own private island. I will not bore you with so many details of how lovely this place is. It is evident from pictures, videos and past reviews.
I'd asked if the sound system had an AUX input for my phone and they weren't completely sure. So, my tidbit of info to you, is that it DOES! :) Since I'd brought my my own portable speaker system, I was able to use that for the bedroom where I could control it when I was in bed at night.
I can't say enough good things also about Gillermo (manager), and Donal (caretaker) who were very kind, and accommodating and pleasant. Absolute gems they were.
Thank you for a lovely place you have made available for us!
Helpful votes: 2/2