Homer cottage rental - Walkabout Cottage from the Garden & Drive
Walkabout Cottage from the Garden & Drive
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Homer Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bath, sleeps 4

Walkabout Cottage is a modern 2-story cedar-sided cottage located on 14 acres of land, and just 13 miles east of the city of Homer, Alaska. Two decks, one from each level, overlook Kachemak Bay and the Portlock and Dixon glaciers across the Bay. The upper level of the cottage features a very large, open Master Bedroom, which overlooks the living area below, has French Doors leading to a walkout deck overlooking the Bay, and is furnished with a King sized bed and a built-in day bed. Adjacent to the Master Bedroom is a small sleeping loft with a built-in daybed. The lower level of the cottage has a full sized, fully furnished kitchen with dining space for four, a living area with couch and chairs a handy mud-room with a washer and dryer, and a full sized bath. The bathroom features a toilet and shower that is accessible to persons with disabilities.

Travel and Activities Planning in Alaska : Please contact me if you need assistance with planning your trip to Alaska. I have lived in Alaska for 30 years and have visited almost all areas of the state. I can point you to interesting activities ranging from art galleries to sea kayaking.

More Details
Hide Details

20 Reviews of Property 375925 in Homer, Alaska

Private Cottage overlooking Kachemak Bay
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
business
Private Cottage overlooking Kachemak Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375925
+1 907 278-3860
Homer Alaska
5

More than perfect. Hope to stay again.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Agree with last review about understated views. My jaw was dropped when I first arrived looking at the view. Totally captivating. At times, there was total silence. Not a bird, plane, car or any sound. Perfect relaxing retreat. Didn't want to leave. The advertisement posted was 100 percent accurate. The views from all levels were stunning. Loved the change in weather from sunny to rain to fog. Loved the selection of books. Wish I could stay long enough to read them all. Even found a great radio station. Loved all the windows. Loved the selection of bed and table linens. Was great having a washer and dryer with soap provided. First visit to Alaska and Homer. Locals were all very friendly. The view from the road leading ot the cabin had amazing views also. Next time will take that drive daily just to take in the views. I did my shopping for grocery staples in Anchorage and saved a few dollars. Found huge selection of DVDs at Walmart and Target.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Cottage overlooking Kachemak Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375925
+1 907 278-3860
Homer Alaska
5

House was perfect.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We were not expecting the view to be so amazing. Two glaciers across the bay. The cottage contained everything we needed. Shopped at the local Safeway for groceries and did get a few movies. The tv does have the local channels so we did get local news, etc. We went to the Spit to look around. Hiked Bishop's Beach, saw the sandhill cranes. A good view of the bay and a glacier was behind Wasabi's restaurant. Ate at A.J.'s restaurant and had great food, the steak bites were delicious. Had some wine from the Bear Creek Winery and managed to bring two bottles home in luggage. Took the Rainbow Tours trip out to Seldovia. Foggy day but got some good pictures of otters, and the seabirds. Seldovia is a quaint town but since it was late in the season, a few shops were closed. Overall, we had a great time and the house was comfortable and quiet.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Cottage overlooking Kachemak Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375925
+1 907 278-3860
Homer Alaska
5

An Exceptional Three Night Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The cabin is in a lovely setting and we couldn't have asked for a more comfortable place to stay. The cabin is well appointed, very clean and tastefully furnished.
The upstairs library offered us an eclectic array of books to choose from and we both slept like babies in the comfortable bed. The views were awesome from each and every window.
If we ever return to Homer we will certainly plan to stay at the Walk About Cabin.
business
Private Cottage overlooking Kachemak Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375925
+1 907 278-3860
Homer Alaska
5

Our Homer Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
As always the cabin was shipshape and ready to be enjoyed. The views of the surrounding area were absolutely beautiful and enjoyed by our entire group. The full kitchen provided space and refrigeration for us to prepare lunches for our boat fishing trips and arrive back at the cabin to cook our dinner. The grill was put to use daily. It was great to dry out clothes in the complete laundry area. There was plenty of room to park our boat each night. We enjoyed the perennial garden and love the new location of the shed complete with art work.
business
Private Cottage overlooking Kachemak Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375925
+1 907 278-3860
Homer Alaska
5

Just Perfect! Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We've been to Alaska many times, but I can truly say this was the perfect home base for our vacation, and the best home rental we've ever found in Homer -- the view from the windows and decks are absolutely unbeatable and the home was nicely appointed and very clean, and very well maintained. The kitchen had an abundance of cooking supplies, including a dishwasher, and the front loader washer and dryer would be a real plus for a family. We made a couple of trips to see the bears at Katmai, but other than that, we were quite content to be at home base and take in the scenery. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone--especially friends or family. I would give it a 10 star rating if I could!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Cottage overlooking Kachemak Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375925
+1 907 278-3860
Homer Alaska
5

amazing place....!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This plac sie FAB... words ca
business
Private Cottage overlooking Kachemak Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375925
+1 907 278-3860
Homer Alaska
5

Comfortable & Quiet Retreat - HIGHLY Recommend

Comfortable & Quiet Retreat - HIGHLY Recommend
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is a fantastic rental and we couldn't have been more pleased. The views are spectacular - the huge windows show off the Bay, there is plenty of space to roam, and a fantastic library upstairs. Nancy, the owner, was extremely helpful and so kind to us.

Overall, the home was very clean and sweet. For those cooks out there - the kitchen had all the utensils, pots, pans, etc. that we needed. You may want to bring your own spices; there was salt, pepper, sugar, and olive oil, but this is all up to what people bring and leave behind :-)

The living room is quite comfortable and we made use of the board games and also the binoculars to check out the wildlife. There were a couple of DVDs, but others can be rented at Safeway in town. You can get a few channels on the TV. We spent most of our time on the decks, just enjoying the view over tea and coffee. We loved having the huge windows in the loft so we could wake up and see the Bay and the glaciers. The grounds are gorgeous - so many wild flowers, and even a badmitton net was set up!

The bed was really comfy and there happened to be eye masks already there so we weren't affected by the "land of the midnight sun" during the summer :-)

If we ever make it back to Homer, we'll definitely try and come back to this home!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Cottage overlooking Kachemak Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375925
+1 907 278-3860
Homer Alaska
Bethlehem, PA
5

Once is not enough!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We found this lovely cottage on HomeAway after countless hours of research on where we wanted to stay during our planned week in Homer. But it was all worth it when we drove down the driveway and saw our beautiful home away from home there before us, with the crazy gorgeous Kachemak Bay and glacier views at our feet - jackpot!!!

From the minute we walked in, it felt like home. Beautifully decorated, with that oh so comfy bed, with windows everywhere letting in the spectacular views and the midnight sun - it could not have been more perfect.

Our days at the cottage flew by, and we spent a great deal of time out on the deck(s) just reveling in the views, watching eagles soar overhead, and boats traveling back and forth - it was just so peaceful.

We lucked out with weather - all seven days didn't produce one drop of rain - clear skies, brilliant sunshine, and warm temperatures (most days in the low to mid-70's, we even got a tan!). We had lots to keep us busy - daily trips to the Spit to pick up fresh seafood from the co-op for our evening meals, hours spent in the Pratt Museum and the Islands and Oceans Center, a floatplane trip with Steller Air to Dick Proenneke's cabin on Twin Lakes in the Lake Clark National Preserve, a water taxi ride with the Rainbow Connection over to Seldovia where we spent a lovely afternoon searching for seaglass, visits to Fritz Creek General Store for wonderful pastries, sandwiches or other dinner fare, my husband's guided King Salmon fishing excursion with Silver Fin Guides (and yes, we enjoyed fresh salmon on the grill that night!) and even an afternoon armed with realty listings searching for our retirement cabin in the Homer area!

Nancy was a pleasure to deal with and was a gracious hostess by providing a notebook with area information. The house was spotless, the kitchen well equipped, the library upstairs was like a candy store for this book worm, and the upstairs deck off the master bedroom was the perfect place for our morning cup of coffee upon waking and an evening cocktail before bed. The view from that deck is now on my screensaver to remind me of the BEST vacation we ever experienced! :)

From start to finish, our stay in the Walkabout Cabin was perfection. And believe me, we'll be back again - hopefully sooner rather than later.

Thanks again Nancy for sharing this enchanting cottage with us.
business
Private Cottage overlooking Kachemak Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375925
+1 907 278-3860
Homer Alaska
5

Wake Up to a Glacier

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
One week's stay at this cottage was intoxicating... the view was even more fabulous than the pictures; next time we need 2 weeks.
We had to force ourselves to leave each day to sight see-- it was that gorgeous of a setting. It was very difficult to leave what we considered our private view of the mountains and a glacier...as we thought what could top 'our' scenery? The downstairs balcony's mountain view was amazing-- and a great place to grab a quick nap for my husband -- but the upstairs balcony allowed us to sit up in bed and first thing in the morning see a glacier. How many people can claim that?
Our Alaska experience also included seeing a moose amble by several times-- one sighting was of a female with her baby; how awesome is that?
The house was immaculate and the owner thought of all incidentals you could need-- including a library of several hundred books- alphabetical by author even. I pushed a chair over to the sliding glass door upstairs and created the most fantastic reading niche- tho it was hard to concentrate what with the view.
There is also plenty of local, famous fishing; my husband went halibut fishing from the local harbor- nearby- and he caught a small one (30#) which we had frozen and Fed-Ex'd back once we left.
There are plenty of good restaurants; I would recommend Capt. Patty's in the harbor area and also The Fat Olive for great pizza.

Nancy provided excellent and friendly customer service but beyond that it was the homeyness and spectacular scenery of the cottage that allows us to highly recommend it. It definitely exceeded our expectations.
business
Private Cottage overlooking Kachemak Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375925
+1 907 278-3860
Homer Alaska
5

Perfect Retreat Near Homer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We will remember our time at Walkabout Cottage - overlooking Kachemak Bay, the mountains and glaciers beyond as the most peaceful, enchanting time in our three weeks in Alaska. Thirteen scenic miles east of Homer and only a few miles short of the end of the road (literally), this immaculate, nicely decorated home provided the secluded retreat from which to enjoy our time in the Kenai Peninsula.

We appreciated the large and well-stocked kitchen, bath and laundry, our host having provided the newer appliances and extra amenities to make hers a five star home rental. The open concept master bedroom led onto a second story deck from which we gazed at the mountains and glaciers and I spent early mornings reading from the eclectic library Nancy provided. This after a night under the quilts in the inviting and very comfortable bed.

The owner provided spot-on directions and helpful area information. The rental pricing was very attractive and we certainly paid more for much less elsewhere in Alaska. We would return in a heartbeat.
Helpful votes: 2/2