Harlem townhome rental - living room and 3rd bedroom downstairs
living room and 3rd bedroom downstairs
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Harlem Townhome Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, sleeps 10

Black Swan is a special place for special people. This beautiful, eco friendly townhouse is located on a tree lined street in a historic part of Harlem, 2 minutes from subway and only 3 stops from Times Square. The house is a peaceful sanctuary, a perfect place to rest after a busy day in the big city. It has 5 bedrooms. Master bedroom has a king size bed with an organic latex mattress. The second bedroom has 2 twin beds with 2 trundles. Third, office bedroom has on over sized queen bed. Additional bedroom downstairs has a queen bed, and one more bedroom with 2 full beds. It has all luxuries for your unforgettable vacation. Gourmet kitchen suitable for a fine cook as well as a raw chef. Sub-zero, Gaggenau, Vitamix, dehydrator, water Ionizer just to name a few. All organic bedding and towels. All natural building material: American clay plaster, handmade Moroccan cement tiles. Bang & Olufsen TV/sound system, i-pod doc, wireless internet, printer, scanner. Nice outdoor deck on 2 levels with the lounge chairs, landscaped private backyard.

House managers: Omar, Aida and Ousmane.

-they speak English, French

-can do laundry (at a reasonable fee)

More Details
Hide Details

This house was build with a lot of love and care to be a home for my family. We ended up moving to Hawaii right after it was built. It is a special place of beauty and harmony and I am sure anyone staying here will be very happy and satisfied.

This is not an ordinary rental, this house is an oasis of positive vibrations. It was build with all eco friendly organic materials. It has amazingly non toxic environment for NYC and is perfect for any conscious traveler...

18 Reviews of Property 375749 in Harlem, New York

Gorgeous Sanctuary in Manhattan
average rating of 4.4117646 based on 18 reviews
business
Gorgeous Sanctuary in Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375749
Harlem Manhattan
Paris, France
5

nice stay in Manhattan

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had a very nice stay in this beautiful appartment, well furnished, spacious, agreeable, cosy,
At 300 hundred meters from the subway ,a very good quality-price ratio, to recommend.
We were welcome by the intendant , Ousmane, at a quite late schedule ( over 9pm ), and well advised.
The last day, he was willing to keep our luggage until we had our flight back to Paris, all day long.
Maybe there s a microwave oven missing, but it s the only lack I would notice.Not much.
We were a group of 6 people, and were very comfortable.
We stayed 6 nights in october 2013 and we d like to do it again at the same place next time.
Eric. From Paris.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Gorgeous Sanctuary in Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375749
Harlem Manhattan
France
5

Convenient situation, very comfortable property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The appartment is well situated (near one express subway station and one bus stop, other subway station and bus stops a few blocks away, one supermarket in the neighborhood). It is a very comfortable place, well suited for children (toys are available). It is exactly as it looks like from the pictures. On the downside, one has not to be afraid of stairs...

Overall, we had a very nice stay!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Gorgeous Sanctuary in Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375749
Harlem Manhattan
4

Great place to relax while visiting Manhattan

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We very much enjoyed this spacious and well equipped home. It was great coming back here after spending another full day enjoying the sites and sounds of Manhattan. Description of the house is accurate, it was clean and well maintained. Only minor observation to make: no toilet downstairs (as per description) and creaking bed downstairs. Contact with friendly owner was very smooth, received very friendly and accomodating welcome by care taker living in the apartment below. Downtown Manhattan only 20min away with express metro service, metro station being only a 5-10min walk from the house. Staying in this house in Harlem also allowed us to experience this part of the town where you might not have wandered of to when staying south of central park. Enjoyed some of the restaurants in the area: Amy Ruth's for soul food and Ethiopian restaurant Zoma. Also supermarkert nearby around the corner. I would definitely recommend this house: good value for money, pleasant atmosphere, good location to discover whole of Manhattan.
business
Gorgeous Sanctuary in Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375749
Harlem Manhattan
4

Perfect - Except A/C

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Beautiful home in Harlem just 6 blocks from Central Park and a short, safe walk to Public Transit (which we used all week.) CVS, grocery store, and several restaurants just down the street. Definitely visit The Native Bar and Grill up the street to enjoy a great burger and Harlem hospitality. Kitchen is fully functional with several appliances, cookware, spices, etc. We enjoyed the wood table near the window where our entire family could eat together. Screened windows for air flow, back porch with furniture, and lots of places to sprawl and relax. The overall décor was excellent - even better than the photos.

Communication with the property manager could have been better. One email to firm up arrival time was not answered, and the manager did not provide phone contact info until after we arrived. So if we had had any issues before arrival, we would not have had a way to communicate this information. When we did arrive, we learned that a main A/C unit was out, with no promise to get it fixed. Weather was in the 80's, and we came home to and slept the night in a house in the lower 80's - this was a big letdown as the home was not quite the oasis from a busy day that we had hoped. We received a short tour of the home and were shown how the various appliances and TV work. The property was clean.

Overall, we do not regret our decision, and the property provided a great way for our family to be together, be a little more in touch with the local community, and have quick access to all of the great things about NYC.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Gorgeous Sanctuary in Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375749
Harlem Manhattan
1

Not worth the money

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The place is spacious, nicely decorated and house manager responds in a timely manner but it was overall disappointing. The neighborhood is loud, people shouting in the middle of the night, not a "peaceful sanctuary" at all. The apartment was extremely hot, specially the middle floor, we had to buy 2 fans. Guests stayed mostly in the "air conditioned rooms" which were barely cool. Wouldn't stay here in the summer, extremely uncomfortable. We found cockroaches and kids were bitten by bed bugs and mosquitos in the house. Some bed sheets were dirty and smelled of sour milk. Freezer didn't work, we wasted frozen desserts we bought.
I wouldn't recommend staying here.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Gorgeous Sanctuary in Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375749
Harlem Manhattan
3

No A/C

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Clearly a lot of money was put in to the original renovation, but it is showing wear and tear (likely normal damage, but still easy to spot). The most disappointing aspect was no working air conditioning upstairs. No air conditioning at all downstairs. Also no ceiling fans, and only one fan in the place. We bought another fan to survive. Hot & humid in NYC in the summer, be prepared! Also no bathroom downstairs, that would have been very helpful. Do not rent if you have trouble with stairs. Otherwise good location, close to subway, buses, groceries, some restaurants...
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gorgeous Sanctuary in Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375749
Harlem Manhattan
Vermont
5

Totally convenient

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This property worked out great as a rental for myself and six other colleagues who were attending a week long institute at Teacher's College. The home was neat, spacious, clean and very accurate to the pictures, etc. Omar, the house manager was extremely professional, kind and helpful. The owner was very attentive to emails and questions regarding the property, I will definitely recommend this home to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Gorgeous Sanctuary in Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375749
Harlem Manhattan
Currently I reside in Syracuse, NY but I am originally from Harlem N.Y
5

More than a Home away from Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
During our stay at this beautiful Harlem Brownstone, my guest were amazed and awed how our planned weekend had occurred without a hitch, how accommodating the space was and how it met the needs of each individual in our women's circle. (And meeting the needs of each women is not an easy task!) The descriptions in your write up gave detail to the space and what we saw in the pictures were exactly what we got in person.
The space was clean, well stock, the caretaker was kind and helpful, available via phone if needed. The amazing kitchen is a cook's dream with a good assortment of cooking tools, dishes and glassware. It was extremely hard for my guest and I to decide if we wanted to explore the large variety of restaurants in the neighborhood or sample the cooking skills of the amazing cooks that were among us and have that much more time enjoying the space and each others company.
It was a grand weekend, I would highly recommend this property and I am sure we will return.
business
Gorgeous Sanctuary in Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375749
Harlem Manhattan
5

Wonderful stay at a wonderful home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Excelente quality of acomodación.Lovely treatment from housekeepers.Good location and nice set up so near to Central Park. We will repeat If in New York anytime.
business
Gorgeous Sanctuary in Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375749
Harlem Manhattan
4

Lovely flat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our stay was comfortable and we were well taken care of. All of our questions were answered by the house manager who lived upstairs. The home was clean, spacious, and decorated with style. The upstairs rooms were cooler for sleeping in the summer heat, but the library bed was comfortable as well. The modern kitchen had what we needed; the common space downstairs we rearranged to cozy-up the living room. There are plenty of businesses and restaurants nearby, as well as subway stops (2 blocks) and Central Park (8 blocks!). Thanks! Bridget et.al.
Helpful votes: 1/2