Cloudcroft cabin rental - Elk Hollow Get-A-Way - Wonderful hill to sled down
Elk Hollow Get-A-Way - Wonderful hill to sled down
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Cloudcroft Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Elk Hollow Getaway is a comfortably decorated, two bedroom, two bath cabin with spacious covered decks surrounded by tall pines, and has all the comforts of home. It is located only a few miles from Cloudcroft and sits on several lots allowing you room to enjoy the sunshine and private wooded location. We call our cabin Elk Hollow, because at dawn and dusk the elk will stroll down the hollow beside and below the cabin. Sometimes you will see herds of 25-30 elk at one time.

In the greatroom, the ledge-rock, gas fireplace will warm you during chilly evenings. The well-equipped kitchen has everything you need. Use the gas barbecue grill on the deck while enjoying a spectacular view of the Sacramento Mountains. There is a pond just down the road from the cabin where you can feed the many fish. There is also a nice hiking trail through the Lincoln National Park just beyond the pond.

The bedrooms at Elk Hollow are very nicely decorated, have ceiling fans, and both have nice views. Both bathrooms have heaters in addition to central gas heating.

Elk Hollow is located in a private community where the roads are maintained year round. The community has no really steep hills, so driving and walking is a pleasure. It is advisable, however, to use a four-wheel drive vehicle or chains during winter months.

There is abundant wildlife in the area. You may see elk, whitetail and mule deer, bears, raccoons, chipmunks, rabbits, and a huge variety of birds. Several varieties of hummingbirds make their home in the Southern Rocky Mountains from April through Mid-September.

Just minutes away from our cabin is the Cloudcroft Lodge and Golf Course, four Village Tennis Courts, Ski Cloudcroft, the Village Ice Skating Rink, park, playground, shopping, the Cloudcroft Museum, bakery and restaurants. Browsing the quaint shops in the village is a must.

One stay at Elk Hollow will bring you back. The combination of stylish country decor, refreshing crisp mountain air added to the fabulous Sacramento Mountain view, makes this one of Cloudcroft's best rental cabins. Come see for yourself why Elk Hollow is the perfect solution to your mountain get-a-way no matter what the occasion.

We provide four snow discs for your use on our hillside, or you may take them to Ski Cloudcroft ( 3 miles away) to use with their towrope, or they can be used on the sand dunes at White Sands National Park.

__________________________________________________________________

*BE SURE TO CLICK THE LINK TO OUR PHOTO WEBSITE AND GUEST COMMENTS PAGE, LOCATED UNDER 'LINKS TO MORE INFORMATION'.

__________________________________________________________________

ADDITIONAL RENTAL INFORMATION:

Deposit of Two Night's Rent Required to Hold Reservation. A maximum of six occupants. WE ACCEPT PAYMENT BY CHECK OR MONEY ORDER, AND WE MUST RECEIVE THE DEPOSIT WITHIN (7) DAYS OF THE INITIAL RESERVATION. December 15-January 4 Reservations must be Paid In Full by November 15th. MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO ELK HOLLOW.

ALL RENTALS WILL BE CHARGED A $60 CLEANING FEE.

Keywords: Mountain Cabin

More Details
Hide Details

My husband, Bill, retired from the Air Force with 26 years of service, and I had a career as a Realtor, specializing in corporate and military relocation, for over 20 plus years. We've lived all over the USA including Washington, DC, MD, SC, FL, CO, UT, TX, NV, and overseas in Japan and Korea.

We fell in love with Cloudcroft after visiting friends there in 2003. We enjoyed living in the mountains previously, so we decided to build a second home in Cloudcroft once we found the perfect location.

At Elk Hollow we provide everything you need to make your vacation a wonderful experience. We want all of our guests to feel as though Elk Hollow is their own little piece of heaven.

Well, you just can't beat the view from Elk Hollow! Mountain views and woodland views from all rooms, and Elk Hollow has a large, fully covered wrap-around deck and gas BBQ for your enjoyment. We also have Wi-Fi and two TV's and DVD players. We furnish all condiments, herbs, spices, coffee and even birdseed. If your visiting for the wildlife, then we've got it. It is not uncommon to see herds of elk in our yard and throughout the neighborhood. We have a large pond down the road where you can feed the many fish, and just across the pond is a hiking trail through the Lincoln National Forest. We furnish sand/snow discs for winter use, or they can be used to sled down the sand dunes at White Sands National Monument in Alamogordo.

15 Reviews of Property 74351 in Cloudcroft, New Mexico

Elk Hollow - ~A~ Mountain Getaway on Cloud Nine
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
Elk Hollow - ~A~ Mountain Getaway on Cloud Nine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p74351vb
(512)818-5849
Cloudcroft New Mexico
Muleshoe, TX
5

Elk Hollow

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This was a great place to stay! Very nice and relaxing. Can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review. Come back soon!
business
Elk Hollow - ~A~ Mountain Getaway on Cloud Nine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p74351vb
(512)818-5849
Cloudcroft New Mexico
Snyder, Tx.
5

Best getaway ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This was the most peaceful vacation we ever took. Even though attractions were a short distance away, we enjoyed the property and surrounding landscapes so much, we wound up not leaving the area but one time. The house (inside and out) looked like it was brand new. The view out the sliding doors and on the patio were beautiful mountain, valley, and clouds dancing through them. We got to experience the elk bugling and coming down the mountain right beside the house three times. We'll be going back in the future. We surely would recommend this place to friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Robin and Charlotte, for your review. Peaceful and perfect is what we like to hear. Bill and I are happy to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed the mountain view and abundant wildlife that stroll through our property daily. Thanks again for taking the time to write, for it means a lot to us and to our potential future guests.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Elk Hollow - ~A~ Mountain Getaway on Cloud Nine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p74351vb
(512)818-5849
Cloudcroft New Mexico
a burb of Houston
5

magical and relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The weather had turned rainy while we were heading up the mountain, but it did not matter.
I think it just made our stay that much more interesting.
The owners are so friendly and accommodating. The pantry was stocked with popcorn and cookie mixes and much more just to make you feel at home.
My husband and I had just finished 3 days with extended family and the beautiful mountain cabin was just what we needed.
The porch had soft comfortable furniture and bird feeders . If you felt the need for TV, there was a flat screen. Plenty of books and games and even Wi-Fi.
The elk were rutting , so they were bugling all night. what a lovely sound accompanied by the rain.
The next day we hiked around White Sands, but couldn't wait to get back to our restful peaceful cabin.
When I booked it they had only 2 nights available.
I will remember to book way in advance so we can stay longer.
Thanks again to Bill and Jeri-Lynn...
Your home is a treasure. Thank you for sharing!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Melinda and Bruce for your very kind words. We've tried to provide all the comforts a family could ask for, and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed our cabin as much as we do. Please come again soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Elk Hollow - ~A~ Mountain Getaway on Cloud Nine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p74351vb
(512)818-5849
Cloudcroft New Mexico
Lubbock, TX
5

Wonderful Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I'm tempted to give it a mediocre review just so it will be easier to book in the future!

Seriously, this is a wonderful property with a great view. We saw a multitude of hummingbirds, chipmunks, and other interesting wildlife. The koi in the pond were very fun to feed. There was good cell phone reception, but no data transmission on AT&T, which made for a nice excuse to never check my e-mail on the trip.

Of all the places recommended to eat, we can't praise Big Daddy's enough. Very nice folks, and the food was incredible. We ate there twice during our 3-day stay.

This property is a great getaway that we will definitely be recommending to our family, and we will be using again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Elk Hollow - ~A~ Mountain Getaway on Cloud Nine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p74351vb
(512)818-5849
Cloudcroft New Mexico
arlington tx
5

ELK HOLLOW WOW!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The owners Jeri-Lynn and Bill have gone above and beyond on this cabin. We had EVERYTHING we needed and then some. What an awesome time we had in Cloudcroft, but we really didn't want to leave the cabin because it was so relaxing and had plenty of wildlife. The view from the deck was spectacular! We have stayed in several VRBO's and this is by far the best we have rented. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful mountain home with us. We will definitely be coming back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Joy and Robbie, for such a nice review. We always appreciate our guests and hope that they all have a wonderful time while visiting at Elk Hollow.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Elk Hollow - ~A~ Mountain Getaway on Cloud Nine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p74351vb
(512)818-5849
Cloudcroft New Mexico
-
5

Misplaced New Mexicans

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Elk Hollow was a perfect location to reconnect with our NM roots. While vacationing we always look for that residence we can return to again and again and in Elk Hollow we found our Central NM "second home." The house, kitchen, and bathrooms were well stocked & furnished. The house was clean and nicely decorated. It was comfortable and the area perfect for an escape from the city. Elk Hollow is a reasonable driving distance to our favorite haunts of Cloudcroft, the Rio Penasco, and Ruidoso. The owners are friendly and quite accommodating. Thank you for a great stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We appreciate your comments, and are happy to hear that Elk Hollow will be your "second home" away from home. We welcome you back any time, and we thank you for taking such good care of our little piece of heaven.
business
Elk Hollow - ~A~ Mountain Getaway on Cloud Nine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p74351vb
(512)818-5849
Cloudcroft New Mexico
Tucson, AZ
5

Couldn't Really Ask for More

Couldn't Really Ask for More
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This cabin in the Sacramento mountains is not really like any other VRBO. The owners have gone WAY out of their way to make a stay here just about like visiting your own cabin. They have provided not just the essentials, but every thoughtful touch that you can think of. My wife and I have stayed in many VRBO properties and this is not like any other. We only came up for a couple of days to celebrate our anniversary because that's what we had time for. This morning as we took a final stroll down to the pond where the trout hang around in crystal-clear water waiting for breadcrumbs, Kelly said, "I wish we had one more day". Everything, from the friendly neighbors, to the spectacular view, to the fully-equipped kitchen, to the comfortable beds, extra towels, etc. was exactly as you'd expect if you were invited to stay at a friend's place for the weekend. And the surroundings are terrific. Yesterday we awoke to the sunshine streaming through the blinds, prepared a nice breakfast in the kitchen while the fireplace warmed the greatroom, and then took a long walk in the forest with our little boy. Returning, we had sandwiches and leftover chili (which we made on the night of our arrival) while he napped, relaxed with a game, and then drove into town for a hike on the Trestle Trail and a delicious and homey dinner at Big Daddy's. Finally, we sat in the greatroom and watched one of the great movies from the cabinet, ate popcorn, and had a nightcap before retiring in the comfortable bed. A perfect day. Many thanks to Jerri-Lynn and Bill for making their home so inviting to visitors-- we expect much less from rental properties. We felt truly welcome, and we hope to come back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: WOW! What a nice review. Thank you so much! Bill and I strive to make Elk Hollow a place where our guests can relax, let their hair down, and enjoy the cabin as though it were their own. Thank you, Pete and Kelly, for all your kind words. We want all of our guest to have the same type of experience that you had.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Elk Hollow - ~A~ Mountain Getaway on Cloud Nine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p74351vb
(512)818-5849
Cloudcroft New Mexico
Ardmore, OK
5

Elk Hollow Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Beautiful location and home. Everything you could possibly need provided. Plenty to do all within short driving distance. Wildlife and scenic beauty abound.
Vacationed at Elk Hollow in early Feb. Snow on the ground and got a pretty good snow shower the day we left. It was absolutely perfect!
The one and only concern would be that if you go in the winter months, you should probably have a 4-wheel drive vehicle and some shoes with good grip as the steep driveway will be iced over. That, however, is a small price to pay for a wonderful stay in this beautiful, homey, cabin.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Bill and I thank you for your very nice review. You are correct that our guests need to have a four-wheel drive vehicle (or chains) during the winter months, as we never know when we will have snow. If it isn't snowing when you arrive, it very well may be snowing when you leave, so it is always good to be prepared.
business
Elk Hollow - ~A~ Mountain Getaway on Cloud Nine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p74351vb
(512)818-5849
Cloudcroft New Mexico
Central Texas
5

Cool, Clean & Comfortable!!!

Cool, Clean & Comfortable!!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We stayed at Elk Hollow for a wonderful 7 days the end of August. Being from Central Texas, what a difference a day's journey makes temperature wise. Relaxing on the deck over looking a beautiful green valley with a cup of coffee and a good book... the cool breeze, the mountain views, and no worries....what else could you want. This beautiful log cabin has everything you would ever need for a perfect mountain visit. If I was rating a 1 to 10, it would have to be a 12 and nothing less. Can't wait for our next vacation to Cloudcroft and staying at the Elk Hollow.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Elk Hollow - ~A~ Mountain Getaway on Cloud Nine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p74351vb
(512)818-5849
Cloudcroft New Mexico
Texas
5

Gorgeous Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
This cabin was wonderful and has everything you need, and I mean everything! It is so organized inside and out, and the view is spectaculor. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed watching the birds and riding our 4-wheelers along the roadsides viewing all the properties and seeing the mountain.
Thank you for sharing this wonderful cabin with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3