Palm Springs house rental - Dusk view from back of property.
Dusk view from back of property.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Palm Springs House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Private home, photographed by and featured in Julius Shulman's Palm Springs book on Page 191. True Palm Springs Frank Sinatra experience that will take you back to the glamorous golden days, from original bathrooms with pink tiles to brick walls with non-functioning fireplace and sliding glass doors that open from all rooms facing the 1/3 acre back yard with covered lanai, grass, mountains and spectacular kidney shaped pool. Walled and gated property for ultimate privacy and security. Features 3 grapefruit trees and desert scape firepit area with seating for 6 in white butterfly chairs. Newly redecorated interior honoring Herbert Burns Architectural design and era. Walk or bike to downtown Palm Springs, no need for a car. The ultimate retreat. Wildlife abounds, with roadrunners, rabbits, morning doves, coyote calls and resident hummingbirds fluttering outside of the windows. Ideal property for photo shoots!

The large master bedroom is an intimate retreat with an en suite bathroom featuring early midcentury architecture, with walk-in shower, pink bath tub, large master wardrobe, double sinks, and floor to ceiling walls of galss with spectacular views of the Palm Springs Mountains. This bedroom features a Eastern King bed and a comfortable louning area.

The second and third bedrooms are furnished with authentic mid-century furnishings and luxurious linens. Original LIFE magazines from he 1960's and original photographs of the home are there for your enjoyment.

Keywords: mid-century, tennis club neighbourhood, golf, private home, central, palm springs, walk to downtown palm springs, private pool, modern, modernism week, hike, no need for car

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I have been coming to Palm Springs over the past 15 years. We love the warm dry temperatures and the walking and biking friendly neighborhood. We live in San Diego and every opportunity we have, we drive 2-hours to Palm Springs just to relax. We are both from back east but have lived in California for 15 years. We were married in Palm Springs in 2006. A very special place for us. The recent economic growth is alive and well in Palm Springs, with many new mid-century modern furniture stores and wonderful new dining experiences. We just love the community of Palm Springs.

Cathy Geddes purchased this house in 2011

The ultimate in privacy and solitude. All you hear are the birds singing. You won't want to leave the property. Very close to the airport, 5 minute taxi ride from Palm Springs airport eliminating the need for a rental car. Walk, bike to all museums, restaurants, mountain hikes, tennis, downtown shopping. This makes it easy when traveling with friends; everyone can do their own thing. My husband and I have visited this neighborhood for the past 15 years, in search of the perfect home and this is it! We are happy to have you enjoy our big piece of paradise!

You will fall in love with this home the minute you open the front door to the start of your vacation. The stunning full ceiling to floor glass walls, display the true Palm Springs experience, spacious views of the large backyard, grass, grapefruit trees and the spectacular mountain views. Ultimate in privacy. One of the many spectacular furnishings is our 20 foot curved vintage couch. Sit back relax. You won't want to leave!

21 Reviews of Property 374763 in Palm Springs, California

Mid-Century Modern/Crockett House/Tennis Club
average rating of 5.0 based on 21 reviews
business
Mid-Century Modern/Crockett House/Tennis Club
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374763vbi
(858) 212- 7338
Palm Springs California Desert
New York City
5

Mid-century Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This mid-century gem of a home can't be any more perfect. Meticulously restored and beautifully maintained, the home offers the best indoor-outdoor vacation experience. Every room of the house is delightful from the glamorous master suite with wide open views to the garden and the mountains; to the elegant living/dinning room with classic modernist details and floor-to-ceiling glass; to the retro kitchen with vintage "Jetson-style" appliances--even cooking at home is fun. And the furnishings, gardens, and accessories are as gourgeous as the architecture. Our only regret is we had to leave when our vacation was done.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Mid-Century Modern/Crockett House/Tennis Club
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374763vbi
(858) 212- 7338
Palm Springs California Desert
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The Crockett House is simply fantastic! The house is in unbelieveable condition - nearly as it was the day it was built with the addition of a beautiful swimming pool and firepit. Every attention to detail has been addressed and lovingly restored. You won't want for anything. There was even fresh iced tea in the frig when we arrived in 100 degree heat. The house and backyard are totally private, and even though close to downtown, it is tucked away in a quiet, peaceful neighborhood. Downtown and many great restaurants are within easy walking distance: Spencer's, La Vallerus, and Johannes to name a few. Kathy, the owner, was always available, but you won't need her - the place is perfect! We even skipped our tee time on the last full day just to hang by the pool and soak up the ambiance of the Crockett House one last time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Mid-Century Modern/Crockett House/Tennis Club
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374763vbi
(858) 212- 7338
Palm Springs California Desert
Sacramento
5

Attention to detail, location, ambiance make this a welcome Palm Springs venue

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The Crockett House lived up to the description and photos. The attention to detail in furnishings, decor and grounds maintenance resulted in a thoroughly enjoyable stay. This home is in a well-established lovely neighborhood that is close to downtown -- one can enjoy a respite but restaurants and shops are not far. Have been to many locations in the desert and this home stands out. Looking forward to a future visit to the Crockett House.
Recommend a visit to Palm Springs Art Museum and to Sunnylands, conference center, estate and gardens (tour reservations required).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Andrea, Thank you for choosing our home for your vacation. I am so glad you and your friends enjoyed our home as much as we do. You have inspired me to take a trip to Sunnylands. I will be sure to plan a trip there in the near future. I would also suggest you take a Red Jeep Tour of the San Andreas fault on your next visit. Fantastic history!
Kind Regards,
Cathy
business
Mid-Century Modern/Crockett House/Tennis Club
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374763vbi
(858) 212- 7338
Palm Springs California Desert
Berkshire, England
5

Wonderful house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This is the second time my family and I have rented this beautiful house. Not only is it perfectly & thoughtfully furnished, but the outlook, the mountains, and especially the pool, are amazing! I hope we can return next year. The owners have been charming, professional and have paid attention to every detail in both the house and the garden. I have no hesitation in highly recommending it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mid-Century Modern/Crockett House/Tennis Club
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374763vbi
(858) 212- 7338
Palm Springs California Desert
Brussels, Belgium
5

Family holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We rented Crockett House at the start of a Californian holiday to catch up with our 2 sons who are living abroad.
If you are looking to experience California during the modernist period of the 1960's, you cannot find a better place than Croquet House. The house has retained all of its original characteristics but the owners have upgraded it carefully - avoiding brutal interventions - to what you would expect to find in a house that was built recently. Not only is the house and its garden picture perfect, it's maintenance is impeccable. Waking up in the master bedroom with a view to the garden is the next best thing to having your own David Hockey in your bedroom...
We had our doubts about the weather but we found it easily acceptable and settled in very quickly; we found out that Americans tan IN the pool rather than alongside the pool. The air conditioning meets the standards of the best luxury hotels.
Communication with Cathy and Dale was easy and straightforward. Checking in was effortless.
We have spent an excellent 5 days at Crockett House and we'd like to thank Cathy and Dale again for their hospitality in sharing their spectacular house with us for 5 days. As frequent travelers - always renting privately for non-work related travel - Croquett House ranks in the top 3 of our rental experiences. We accordingly recommend wholeheartedly and would love to return in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hans, Happy we could create such a memorable family vacation for all of you to enjoy and appreciate. We hope to see you back again.
Kind Regards, Cathy & Dale
business
Mid-Century Modern/Crockett House/Tennis Club
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374763vbi
(858) 212- 7338
Palm Springs California Desert
Los Angeles, Ca
5

Relaxing in (old hollywood) style

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We have stayed in many areas in and around Palm Springs and keep coming back to this area. There is no wind, it's quiet, and still in walking distance to the strip for coffee, etc

This house is a nice retreat. It is in original condition but everything works great. The yard has the perfect size to get a great view of the close mountains, the patio faces north so you can always eat outside in the shade, the pool is clean and has the perfect temperature. The palm trees around the pool ensure that you will always find a little shady spot as well. At night we enjoyed sitting around the gas fire place outside and watched the stars.

The kitchen was very well stocked so preparing meals was very easy. There are also bicycles to use, rafts to lay on, design books to read, in short everyone will enjoy themselves - even without turning on the cable tv.

Lastly, the owners are a pleasure to deal with! Cathy and Dale were very accommodating and helpful with whatever we needed. Our only regret is that we did not get a chance to sleep in the master bedroom which has the best view, so I guess we'll have to come back soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Katja,

Thank you for your review. Our outdoor space is what captures the true essence of Palm Springs. Everyone wants to spend time outside and I am glad the girls were able to enjoy the pool so much. Hope to see you again! Kind Regards, Cathy and Dale
business
Mid-Century Modern/Crockett House/Tennis Club
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374763vbi
(858) 212- 7338
Palm Springs California Desert
5

Palm Springs Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This is the best place to stay in Palm Springs. Within walking distance to the main strip but quiet and surrounded by palm trees and the mountains. It has everything - beautiful place, gorgeous surroundings, pool and relaxing fire pit. It is Paradise!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Mid-Century Modern/Crockett House/Tennis Club
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374763vbi
(858) 212- 7338
Palm Springs California Desert
5

The Avery's

The Avery's
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I can sum this property up in one word.....WOW!!

This was our first time in Palm Springs and this house made us feel like we were living in a fantastic "Cocktail Hour Retro Film" ....its old Palm Springs with modern style. The house is beautiful....Cathy our host has thought of every possible need.....kids pool toys...check....towels for the pool...check....lots of pool furniture to lounge on when drinking afternoon cocktails ...check ….gas BBQ…check….shaded entertaining area on the porch with cool furniture …check ….gas fire pit with amble seating …check…incredibly comfortable beds…. check….the list goes on ….every time I needed something it was there ….ok…I’ll stop raving now.

On a professional note we reached out to three property’s in Palm Spring and Cathy was the only owner that responded in a timely fashion ….all emails were answered immediately or within a 4 hour window.

On an ending note the view from the master bedroom is fantastic…..perfectly framed snap shot of Palm Springs ….you’ll have to stay there to see it
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
business
Mid-Century Modern/Crockett House/Tennis Club
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374763vbi
(858) 212- 7338
Palm Springs California Desert
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
5

Family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Our family just finished a week stay at the Crockett House. It is a mid century jewel and so are the owners who kindly greeted us and graciously drove us to the grocery store. The house is truly in a perfect location, quiet, breath taking mountain views perfect for climbing which we did 3 times! We spent most of our time in the beautiful back yard, swimming in the pool with our kids. there are fruit trees plentiful and numerous hummingbirds the the bird lover! The interior is true to mid century design. The whole house opens up onto garden with floor to ceiling glass sliding doors capturing the beautiful garden/mountain views. It truly is post card perfect. We enjoyed our stay immensely and we'll for sure be returning. Thanks again for a great vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Mid-Century Modern/Crockett House/Tennis Club
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374763vbi
(858) 212- 7338
Palm Springs California Desert
St. Paul MN
5

Wonderful family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We stayed at the Crockett House for 2 weeks in March. It is a comfortable and gracious house that has retro mid-century authenticity, but is modern and large enough for 5 adults to have individual space and room for outside family dinners. The pool and fire-pit really fit the lifestyle of our family--we lived in the beautiful back yard.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Ann, we were so happy for your family to enjoy our home. Thank you for sending your family photo! Hope to see you on your next visit to Palm Springs!