Onancock house rental - Welcome.
Welcome.
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
 

Onancock House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Gorgeous waterfront property directly overlooking expansive Onancock Creek, largest of the Chesapeake Bay tributaries, AND only two blocks from the adorable town of Onancock. Read why Budget Magazine just voted Onancock 'The Cooolest Small Town in America'

http://hamptonroads.com/2013/02/explore-big-fun-small-town-onancock.

Designed to create a peaceful and quiet escape, there is no TV, landline or electronics at The Shore House. There is, however, a huge covered deck stretched along the back of the house overlooking the water where you can watch the herons, egrets and osprey to your heart's content. There is also a library tucked amidst the four upstairs bedrooms that overlooks the water and is fully stocked with a wide variety of books. If you want more action you are a short walk from the town of Onancock which has antique stores, wonderful restaurants, a movie theater, a drama theater, a gourmet food/wine shop as well as the town warf. Park your car and leave it!

The house was built in 1999 by a builder for his family and therefore the lay-out is bright, spacious and well designed. The first floor of the house accommodates the master bedroom/bath suite, a full laundry room, a fully equipped kitchen a large family room with a game table, a formal living and dining room. The second floor has two kids rooms with two twins each and a jack 'n jill bath as well as two queen rooms that have a separate bath.

Our dock moors our Maycraft motor boat and canoe. These can take you in 15 minutes to remote state-protected beaches where you will be the only ones around for miles! In town, kayaks can be rented as well. The dock is also great for crabbing and the back yard is large enough to accommodate any sporting event imaginable.

Within driving distance are two golf courses in Cape Charles (30 minutes), the famous Chincoteague/Assauteague preserve where horses roam on the beaches (60 minutes), several places to charter boats in Wachapreague ('The Flounder Capital of the World', 15 mins) and in Cape Charles. Wallops Visitor Center, the up and coming star of the NASA rocket launching pads, is a 40 min drive north. There are also two grocery stores, fast food restaurants and other restaurants within a five minute drive.

In addition, our summer, full-paying guests will have access to the amenities at the Eastern Shore Yacht and Country Club (15 min drive). Guests of ours may use the pool for only $5.00 per person and may pay to use the golf course, dining room etc. This is a very special and generous offer on behalf of the country club and we hope every guest will treat the facility with the utmost respect.

There is nothing like the Eastern Shore, the largest stretch of undeveloped waterfront on the Eastern Seaboard. The Shore House puts you in the heart of it all.

Keywords: Large, new, spacious home. Perfect for a family reunion or getaway.

More Details
Hide Details

6 Reviews of Property 374671 in Onancock, Virginia

Luxury Waterfront, Boat, 1st Fl Master, Central A/C, Screened Porch
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Luxury Waterfront, Boat, 1st Fl Master, Central A/C, Screened Porch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374671vbi
7576529063
Onancock Eastern Shore Virginia
5

Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We were in Onancock for our daughters wedding and rented this house for 10 days for our family. It was absoutely perfect..... very roomy, large bedrooms, wonderful screened in porch overlooking the water and beautifully decorated. We had so much fun and I wouldn't change a thing.
business
Luxury Waterfront, Boat, 1st Fl Master, Central A/C, Screened Porch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374671vbi
7576529063
Onancock Eastern Shore Virginia
5

Fantastic Family Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was the perfect property for our family get together! The house is spacious, open, and the views are spectacular. The entire back portion of the house (living room, kitchen, master bedroom) faces the creek. Although the home is not handicapped accessible, we were able to lift my grandmother (in her wheelchair) up the 4 front steps. The open downstairs & master bedroom were perfect for her to move around. The wheelchair did not fit through the doorway of the master bedroom, but her walker did fit. The upstairs was spacious, with 4 additional bedrooms (6 beds), 2 bathrooms, and a library. The kids loved the gaming station and all the board games and chess table.. We spent most of our time on the shaded, screened back porch (on step down). It faces the creek, it is filled with comfortable furniture, has a large dining table, and offers exceptional views. My family had a great time crabbing & fishing off the dock, and at the end of the day we all enjoyed the fresh crabs! The steamer pot, grill, and propane tanks were appreciated. The kitchen is well stocked with dishes, pots, and pans. The famous Corner Bakery is 2 streets away, as well as multiple shops and the town harbor. I live 10minutes from this property, but my home is too small for all my family to visit. This property is beautiful, scenic, and one that we will definitely visit again. It was terrific!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Luxury Waterfront, Boat, 1st Fl Master, Central A/C, Screened Porch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374671vbi
7576529063
Onancock Eastern Shore Virginia
NJ
5

Great screened porch!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This is a lovely home. Quiet and private but within walking distance to town where we enjoyed the local restaurants, farmers market and antique shops. Its 5 bedrooms easily accommodated our group of family and friends. We thoroughly enjoyed the roomy screened porch, large yard and crabbing off the deck. It was fun using the boat to get to the nearby beaches.
FYI-just a few tips: if you plan to use the boat be sure to have a tide chart, the water around the dock is very shallow at low tide. Also, it would have been nice to have the hot tub filled and ready for use prior to our arrival and if you plan to prepare meals, the kitchen was under equipped for our group of 10.
But overall its a great place to relax and have fun....everyone had a wonderful time!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Luxury Waterfront, Boat, 1st Fl Master, Central A/C, Screened Porch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374671vbi
7576529063
Onancock Eastern Shore Virginia
5

A Great Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The home is as advertised. A perfect getaway where the pace is slow, the accommodations are fabulous, and there are endless things to do. We stayed at the home for one week. In that time we went kayaking, horseback riding, boating, antique shopping, crabbing off the dock, charter boat fishing (speckled trout and Red Drum are fantastic), drove to Chincoteague Island, and went down to see the long ships at Cape Charles. All of these activities are less than 200 yards away, with the exception of Chincoteague Island and Cape Charles. Cape Charles as an excellent beach for children and is only 45 minutes away. The best part of staying at the house is the back porch where my family gathered and spent time with one another-- all in all, a perfect vacation. Thank you.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Waterfront, Boat, 1st Fl Master, Central A/C, Screened Porch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374671vbi
7576529063
Onancock Eastern Shore Virginia
Santa Monica, CA
5

Lovely vacation spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
The house is spacious and lovely; rooms are tastefully decorated and uncluttered. The furniture is new and comfortable and everything was immaculately clean. We stayed for a few days in August and wished we could have stayed a lot longer. The location of the house at the end of a small road gives added privacy. There is ample space to play and relax both inside and out. We enjoyed dining on the back porch with a fabulous view of the lawn and creek and from which we saw wildlife daily, including a blue heron and rabbits. The location of the house gives very easy access to the harbor and ferry to Tangier Island, and to the town center with a variety of shops from boutiques to antiques. If you don't feel like cooking at the house, there are several dining options with a restaurant at the harbor and others in town including the Charlotte Inn. This home and it's location are perfect for a peaceful, relaxing getaway from technology overload, noisy traffic and busy, hectic crowds. We would highly recommend this property to a anyone looking for a lovely place to relax, retreat and reconnect. The photos and description provided are accurate and up-to-date and the owner was very helpful in answering our questions about the home and the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Waterfront, Boat, 1st Fl Master, Central A/C, Screened Porch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374671vbi
7576529063
Onancock Eastern Shore Virginia
Houston, Texas
5

An Ideal Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
A visit to Onancock and this property in particular may have your family fantisizing about moving to the Eastern Shore but why bother when stay in a place like this! When you walk through the front door you immediately downshift into vacation mode and are drawn through the front entrance directly out the back door onto the expansive screened in back porch where you can cozy up for hours with a good book or observing the wildlife or your children (and some adults) as they entertain themsevles on the private dock. Our family spent many afternoons enjoying cocktails and working location appropriate jigsaw puzzles (available in town) on the back porch while the children entertained themselves crabbing off the boat dock or playing in the large back yard. The house is very spacious, clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable. The bedrooms have plenty of room for you and your belongings to spread out. The location on the water is ideal for exploring the beaches and inlets by boat and very close to dining and shopping. You can walk into town for a meal in just a few minutes and there are lovely meals to be had. It is so close that older children can safely explore or catch a movie at the local theater. It doesn't get any more wonderfully lazy then this.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1