Utica cabin rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps12
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Utica Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

PLEASE NOTE: Waterpark passes are not available with this unit, nor can they be purchased. All children must be over 16 years of age. Our cabin is ideal for adult guests looking to take advantage of nature's abundant amusements at a truly exceptional discount.

Welcome to our cabin, featuring over 2,800 square feet of woodland luxury wedged only minutes between the breathtaking trails and waterfalls of Starved Rock and Matthiessen State Parks.

Our cabin sleeps up to 12 people and offers open space galore, perfect for get-togethers. The great room looks out to a wooded wonderland, and features two sofas, two rockers, and a plush captain’s chair. The fully-applianced kitchen has a breakfast bar and overlooks the dining area's large inviting table. Double doors lead to the private upper level master bedroom with vaulted ceiling, fireplace, whirlpool tub, and separate bathroom. Two additional oversized bedrooms are located in the lower level, including a second master bedroom with two queen size beds, fireplace, whirlpool tub, and separate bathroom. The third bedroom boasts two sets of bunks, each with a twin upper and queen lower bed. Another full bathroom and laundry room with full-sized washer/dryer can be found in the lower level.

Perhaps the best feature of our cabin, however, is its location in the westernmost section of the resort. Tucked on a private cul-de-sac, the building backs to the wildlife preservation, making a perfect retreat after a long day of hiking. Spend some time relaxing on the deck (complete with seating), while taking in the many sights and sounds of nature. Here, I’ve enjoyed an abundance of wildlife: deer, raccoon, groundhogs…even a bobcat! And for you birdlovers: pileated woodpeckers, sapsuckers, wrens, nuthatches, owls, warblers, flycatchers, tanagers...the list is endless.

It’s the perfect environment to unwind, enjoy, and make lasting memories with friends and family. We hope to see you soon!

Keywords: Luxury Cabin, Starved Rock State Park, Secluded, Grand Bear, Hiking, Illinois River, Matthiessen State Park, I&M, Hennepin

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I truly love the Starved Rock area and visit often. Both of us like running, so there’s nothing like stepping out our door onto some of Illinois’ most coveted trails. We are also avid cyclists and enjoy being only moments away from the I&M trail system, and about 30 minutes from the Hennepin Canal. I also enjoy birding, which keeps me plenty busy given the area’s diverse eco-systems. And can’t forget to mention the local golf is great! We like to sneak in a round whenever we get a chance.

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2006

Starved Rock is quite simply the most perfect weekend getaway for us. It is still hard to believe that just over an hour’s drive can welcome us to such an amazingly beautiful and serene destination. Of course the trails allure most of us, but there are plenty of opportunities for everyone: horseback riding, canoeing, boating, fishing, star gazing, or just taking time to relax with friends and family. We love the local shopping, so be sure to stop by the quaint little town of Utica which is full of charm (as well as chocolate!). While there, try a local tasting at one of two wine shops and then pick up some truly gourmet popcorn. Afterwards, don’t forget to stop by Duffy’s for a great burger!

We love nature. There was no better location for us than to be tucked in the back of the resort with the wildlife preservation as our backdrop. Wrens and phoebes sing their hearts out each morning, and the whinny of horses can be heard from the nearby stables. Lounging on the deck is perfect for relaxing moments. Grab a cup of coffee, close your eyes, and listen to nature’s symphony. There’s nothing like it.

15 Reviews of Property 374661 in Utica, Illinois

Luxury Cabin Near Starved Rock. Most Secluded Area in Resort!
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
Luxury Cabin Near Starved Rock. Most Secluded Area in Resort!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374661vbi
Utica Illinois
5

new year stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This is a very comfortable place to stay and enjoy for the whole family. The cabins may look a little small on the outside but the layout and configuration were perfect. The cabin was as described and would stay there again. State parks with trails and activities were all close by.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
business
Luxury Cabin Near Starved Rock. Most Secluded Area in Resort!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374661vbi
Utica Illinois
Fort Myers
5

Perfect for Large Family Gathering

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We had a great time and loved the cabin (all 3000 + sq.ft. of it!). It was immaculate and we had plenty of room for everyone. We even had my brother and his clan over for dinner a couple of times and found most everything we needed in cooking tools to be provided. (Plenty of pots and the knives actually could cut stuff).

Most of the nights that we were there the resort was pretty empty and no one rented the other cabins in our unit. It was very quiet and private. Nothing but the white neighborhood cat and raccoons to contend with and they didn't make much noise. We loved the cabin and it was the perfect place to get our family together in one spot for a Thanksgiving Holiday. We had great sunsets and even saw it snow one day (first time I personally experienced snow in two years). Who know, we may be back in a year or two for another family gathering.

Only downside is there isn't any internet, but we were able to get 4G rececption on our phones and wi-fi hotspots.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Luxury Cabin Near Starved Rock. Most Secluded Area in Resort!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374661vbi
Utica Illinois
East Troy Wi
5

starved rock girls weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My family and I enjoyed our stay in unit 12-3. We thought the location was very quite and remote form all the activities of the resort. Our deck overlooked woods and made it seem secluded. The cabin itself was clean and stocked sufficiently. Plenty of space inside and having 4 bathrooms was a plus with 9 women. Sue was very quick to respond to any of our needs . The one thing we could have used was a drink pitcher for lemonade or ice tea.Just a suggestion. Thanks Sue for providing us with a beautiful place to stay. We are already talking of coming back next year.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: That's a great suggestion, I will bring one this week. Always good to hear it's still lemonade season! Anyway, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome your return next year!
business
Luxury Cabin Near Starved Rock. Most Secluded Area in Resort!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374661vbi
Utica Illinois
Louisville, KY
5

Great catch-up weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Wonderfully stocked and clean cabin to catch up with some friends. Proximity to starved rock park also a huge plus! Owner was super friendly and responsive and made the stay as easy as it could possibly be. Even had water already in the fridge at our arrival. Only (minor) issue was that there wasn't a mixing bowl, which made making pancakes for six people....interesting! Regardless, highly recommended!
Owner's Response: Oh no...occasionally an item is "removed" without my knowledge. I will be purchasing a replacement today (I can only imagine the creative ingenuity!). Thank you so much for your very kind words. I hope you and your friends plan a return visit in the future!
business
Luxury Cabin Near Starved Rock. Most Secluded Area in Resort!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374661vbi
Utica Illinois
Chicago, IL
5

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The cabin was clean, well stocked with kitchen utensils, cutlery, dishes, glasses, etc. All of the rooms were clean and comfortable. Would return again!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
Luxury Cabin Near Starved Rock. Most Secluded Area in Resort!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374661vbi
Utica Illinois
IL
5

Girls Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
It was wonderful - big enough, nice patio, privacy, right amount of rooms and beds. CLEAN!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
business
Luxury Cabin Near Starved Rock. Most Secluded Area in Resort!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374661vbi
Utica Illinois
Iowa
5

Family Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The location was easy to find, home was clean, the owner willing answered any questions we had.
We enjoyed hiking at the Starved Rock State Park, the weather was great for picnics.
We would recommend it to friends and would return to the same location.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxury Cabin Near Starved Rock. Most Secluded Area in Resort!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374661vbi
Utica Illinois
Chicago Illinois
5

This place is fantastic :)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We arrived at the cabin and everything was as we expected it; very clean and organized. It was fully equipped with everything we needed to prepare our meals (except groceries of course) and it even had a DVD player where our grand children watched movies and stayed cool for the 4 days we were there. We were also pleasantly surprised at the close distance from our cabin to the indoor water park were the kids spent the whole day enjoying themselves. We really recommend this place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Luxury Cabin Near Starved Rock. Most Secluded Area in Resort!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374661vbi
Utica Illinois
Dubuque Iowa
5

Very Nice Villa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The villa was very clean and roomy.The bedrooms were large and the beds comfortable.The kitchen had everything we needed and we cooked five meals there. We stayed for three nights at the resort. We went to the Enchanted Forest the kids ages 4 and 2 had a good time. We also went to Starved Rock state park to hike and had the Sunday brunch at Starved Rock Lodge it was delicious. The villa was just perfect. In the area I wish there was more to do or maybe an outdoor pool at the resort but we had a great time . The owner Susan was very helpful with ideas and refunded my deposit the very next day
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
business
Luxury Cabin Near Starved Rock. Most Secluded Area in Resort!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374661vbi
Utica Illinois
Naperville, Il
5

Girlfriend Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Perfect location for a girlfriend or couples get away. My only complaint was that there were no wine glasses!!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the GREAT suggestion - the cabinets are now freshly stocked with wine glasses. I hope you and your friends plan to visit again!
Helpful votes: 1/1