Coronado house rental - Great living room area for a fireside chat
Great living room area for a fireside chat
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 26 nights
 

Coronado House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

The calendar and lengths of stay may vary unexpectedly. Please contact manager for details.

This three-bedroom, two-bathroom classic Coronado Village home, which was built in 1910, seamlessly combines the charm of a unique early twentieth-century home with the look and feel of contemporary styling. Completely remodeled, refurnished, and repainted in 2011, this home is nestled on elegant and tranquil A Avenue and situated only minutes by foot from one of America's finest beaches, the Coronado Municipal Golf Course and, of course, the world-famous Hotel del Coronado. You can enjoy the comfort of a fully air-conditioned home with travertine bathrooms with multiple and rainhead shower heads, a private and spacious master suite, French doors that open onto a private patio and walled garden, and hardwood floors of rare beauty and style. Covered for decades by carpet, the original 1910 clear Douglas fir floors breathe again after being restored in 2011 to their original splendor. The home features an updated kitchen with a new stainless steel refrigerator and a filtered water system, a new tankless water heater, a gas fireplace, three flat screen televsions, cable access, and high-speed WIFI internet access. Known as the Ben and Camille Wyatt Home, the house has a rich history. Commodore Ben Harrison Wyatt was an early U.S. Navy aviator, a recipient of the Distinguished Flying Cross for his work in 1926 in mapping Alaska, and a driving force behind the founding of the Coronado Municipal Golf Course. During his 30-year naval career, he also served as naval air attache in several European capitals and, later, as military governor of the Marshall Islands. His wife, Camille Palmer Wyatt, was the daughter of a well-known British landscape painter.

Keywords: Historic 1910 Coronado Village Home, Completely Renovated in 2011, Hardwood Floors Throughout. Close to Beach, Golf Course, Tennis & Restaurants

More Details
Hide Details

My family has lived in Coronado since 1957 and at 729 A Avenue since 1967. We love this house and its history and plan to retire here someday.

The Owner purchased this house in 1967

One of the many wonderful things about this home is that it is within short walking distance of all that Coronado has to offer and within minutes by car or water taxi from all that San Diego has to offer. The home is quiet and peaceful and a perfect place to relax and unwind. Known as the Ben and Camille Wyatt house, this home has a strong and direct connection to the history of Coronado and to the history of the U.S. Navy and naval aviation. Just 5 blocks away is Coronado's nationally reknown Central Beach, and the city's climate is temperate year round.

59 Reviews of Property 344571 in Coronado, California

Newly Remodeled Classic Coronado Home, Only Blocks from Beach
average rating of 5.0 based on 59 reviews
business
Newly Remodeled Classic Coronado Home, Only Blocks from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344571vb
(619) 229-1006
Coronado San Diego County
Tucson, Arizona
5

Perfect Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We love this home! This was our second time staying here and we are planning our trip for next year already. We've tried other homes for our once yearly trip to Coronado but they just aren't the same. It has all the comforts of home and isn't obscenely priced. Bob is always great and incredibly accommodating. You will not be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Newly Remodeled Classic Coronado Home, Only Blocks from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344571vb
(619) 229-1006
Coronado San Diego County
Minneapolis
5

Minnesota Family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We just returned from our stay in Coronado--our second time at the house. My husband and I spend two weeks there and have our adult children and grandchildren join us--each of two families for a week. The house works perfectly for all of us, with plenty of space for the children to play. The fenced in back yard is wonderful for kids and also offers protection from the wind on a cooler day. We couldn't ask for anything more in a vacation house--outstanding kitchen with all the amenities including enough dishes to entertain a large group, high end appliances, great pans and knives, and plenty of wine glasses! The beds are all so comfortable and outfitted with high end linens. There are also beach chairs and beach toys for the kids. They have thought of everything! The house is immaculately kept up and Bob is wonderful to work with. He is always accessible and helpful. The house is steps from Spreckles park for the kids, downtown Coronado, the beach at the del, and the ferry landing. We rarely used our car. There is no place we would rather stay on Coronado Island than this home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Newly Remodeled Classic Coronado Home, Only Blocks from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344571vb
(619) 229-1006
Coronado San Diego County
UK
5

Highly recommend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This home surpassed all expectations. Upon arrival it was spotlessly clean and clearly cared for and well maintained. There were provisions provided that are rarely found in rental homes such as a cupboard stocked with condiments, spices, tea, coffee etc and also kitchen paper, loo rolls, washing up liquid etc etc. There were 6 of us staying (3 couples) and there was more than enough space for everyone not to feel crowded. The location was perfect, in easy walking distance to the beach and shops etc. I would recommend this home to anyone staying in the area.
business
Newly Remodeled Classic Coronado Home, Only Blocks from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344571vb
(619) 229-1006
Coronado San Diego County
The United Kingdon & Vancouver, BC.
5

Perfect for a discerning group of friends or family.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Six adults stayed at this house in Coronado for a week and there was plenty of room for all of us. Our gourmet chefs thought the kitchen was very well kitted out, modern, spotless, and nice that there were loads of odds and ends so we'd didn't have to buy all the small stuff. Bob was brilliant and justifiably house proud with the property being in the family for generations. Nice to get sun in the back for a good chunk of the day. Very well located for walking everywhere: the Del, the beach, Vons for groceries, restaurants on Orange, golf course and tennis centre, and the ferry to the USS Midway (must-see), Horton Plaza and the Gas Lamp Quarter.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Newly Remodeled Classic Coronado Home, Only Blocks from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344571vb
(619) 229-1006
Coronado San Diego County
5

Colorado winter visitor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We found this home exactly as it appeared on the website, & it felt very welcoming. It was very well maintained, & the attention to detail made our stay even more enjoyable. The neighborhood is quiet & within walking distance to everything we wanted to do on the island. The owner was always accessible & responded promptly to the few questions we had. We would recommend this property, & in fact have already rebooked for next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Newly Remodeled Classic Coronado Home, Only Blocks from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344571vb
(619) 229-1006
Coronado San Diego County
5

Great location & livability!

Great location & livability!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
You cannot find a better location. Easy walking distance to beach/Hotel Del side and shops and restaurants on Orange. Pleasant residential street. Longer walk but easily done to the ferry side shops and restaurants. The house itself is well laid out with 2 large bedrooms down and one very large bedroom up with it's own bathroom and balcony. Charming details and hardwood floors throughout - good for my allergies. Circulon cookware and Mikasa dinnerware very nice. Advise bringing a flashlight as Coronado residential streets are poorly lit. The house electrical has been upgraded so there are plenty of outlets, but they might not be where you need them so an extension cord is handy. Would definitely use this rental again. Coronado is a great winter getaway for those who like to walk and explore.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
business
Newly Remodeled Classic Coronado Home, Only Blocks from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344571vb
(619) 229-1006
Coronado San Diego County
Spokane
5

back for 2nd time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This was my second year bringing my family to the home while I attended a conference. It was again perfect for all of us. Great proximity to shopping & beach and the bay. Quiet, lovely place. The fenced yard was great for kids.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Newly Remodeled Classic Coronado Home, Only Blocks from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344571vb
(619) 229-1006
Coronado San Diego County
Bettendorf, IA
5

Cozy home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Our family thoroughly enjoyed staying at this house. It was clean and had all the amenities one would hope for. The photos depicted it accurately. It was in a convenient location and an easy to walk Orange Avenue. We would definitely recommend this home.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
business
Newly Remodeled Classic Coronado Home, Only Blocks from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344571vb
(619) 229-1006
Coronado San Diego County
5

Time away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Home away from home is the way we felt the moment we walked into this house. We felt comfortable from the start. The house itself is immaculate, furniture is comfortable and clean. Nice dining area for family to enjoy dinner cooked in the beautiful and fully equipped kitchen. Everything was there, from blender to wine opener to nice pots and pans. The bedrooms are very spacious and the beds are super comfy. Top Of the line bedding was an added feature.
Location location location! Close to everything, walk to the beach to watch the sunset was awesome, biked all over, restaurants and grocery stores close by. Ferry at your fingertips. It's all good! We love this house and woll definitely book this beautiful home again
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Newly Remodeled Classic Coronado Home, Only Blocks from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344571vb
(619) 229-1006
Coronado San Diego County
5

Conference convenience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We (6 aspiring Neuroscientists) stayed here while we visited San Diego for a conference. The house was in the perfect location to access the convention centre daily and in the evenings it provided the perfect retreat away from the hustle bustle of the conference and hectic downtown areas. The house was extremely comfortable and had all the mod cons you could ever need. An extra bonus was the proximity to Coronado beach.... where we took regular walks to watch the people, as well as spot dolphins and pelicans.

We will definitely book to stay here when the conference next visits San Diego.

Thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway