Akumal villa rental - View from terrace
View from terrace
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
Minimum Stay nights
 

Akumal Villa Rental Photos and Description
Villa, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Casa Aurora, on Yal Ku Lagoon, snugged into the rocky shore of the Caribbean coast, at the mouth of the sea, has a powerful beauty. Views of the lagoon and sea, from the balcony of the palapa covered house, are truly unparalled.

The house, with its large thatched roof, window trim, banisters and balconies of local wood, coral terraces and white stuccoed walls, is at one with the surrounding natural environment, contributing to our guests’ enjoyment with its simplicity and comfort.

Arriving at the property from the palapa covered garage one walks through a tropical garden, where the pool is located, protected from the wind. Palms and Almendra trees, provide shade for those who prefer it. Teak lounge chairs and tables beside the pool invite a quiet read, or a lively conversation. Pink and red hibiscus, yellow climbing vines, birdsong and the sound of the sea complete the scene.

Our guests, as they pass through the archway of the house, are greeted by the sea in its many versions of blue. The Casa Aurora experience has begun.

Whether one chooses to lounge on the coral terrace, or paint under the arches in the reading niche, nap in a hammock, sit by the pool, there is always a stunning view and always a choice of sun or shade.

From the terrace, a coral paved path leads down to an entrance to the calm lagoon where one can swim and snorkel.

Though most of our guests’ time is spent outdoors, Casa Aurora’s interior is inviting as well.

The open plan living room, dining room, and kitchen, located on the second floor, is comfortably furnished with two built-in sofas, chairs, and a large round dining table as perfect for playing cards or games, as it is for dining. Large windows provide spectacular views from every direction.

The balcony, at the top of the stairs is, no doubt, the most coveted spot for viewing the sea. In the morning, guests gather to sip coffee, and in the evening again to share a cool drink. The sea and sunset, constant breeze and changing sky, provide an irresistible backdrop to every conversation.

There are three bedrooms in the main house: a queen size bed in the upstairs master bedroom and double bath; and downstairs there are two bedrooms one with twin beds and a bath, and the other with a king size bed and bath. All of the bedrooms are comfortably and simply furnished with views of the sea. Who needs more?

The casita, which is situated in the garden by the pool offers a fourth private and charming space with bedroom and bath, sitting room with built-in sofas and bar kitchen and private porch. For those who like a bit of remove, the casita is an enviable location.

Akumal center is a leisurely 20 minute walk from Casa Aurora. Along the way there are several very good restaurants, as well as artisan shops and a weekly market. Yoga classes and massages, tennis and fishing are also available in town. A new artists’ residence is located just across the road from the house.

For culutural day trips, our guests can visit the ruins of Tulum or Coba, or the colonial city of Valladolid. There are many cenotes close by to explore, as well as other outdoor activities, such as hiking and biking. Families often enjoy the ecological park, Xelha. The beaches of Tulum are indescribably beautiful and are accessible through some hotels and restaurants.

However you choose to enjoy it, Casa Aurora will be an unforgettable experience for those who appreciate relaxing in a naturally beautiful setting.

Keywords: Villa, house, beachfront, rockfront, lagoon view, casita,

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 374324 in Akumal, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Incomparable Views of the Sea, Entrance to Lagoon, Garden Pool
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Incomparable Views of the Sea, Entrance to Lagoon, Garden Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374324vbi
Akumal Quintana Roo
Dallas, TX/USA
5

Quiet, Private, Stunning Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Casa Aurora is truly beautiful! This is a great house for a family to rent who doesn't want to be on top of each other. All the bedrooms are away from the public rooms and are very private. The two downstairs bedrooms open onto the deck so sunbathing and reading are just steps away. The casita is separate from the house and totally private, and it opens onto the swimming pool. The kitchen is well stocked, and the living/dining room is good sized and very comfortably decorated. Most of your time will be spent outside on the deck taking in the view of the lagoon. Access to the ocean is just a short walk straight out from the house. We walked to Akumal Center (about 15 min walk) for lunch occasionally, and just down the road is a very nice restaurant/bar which we frequented. It's great not to have to take a taxi anywhere, as everything is within walking distance. This house is a treasure, and I can't wait to go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Incomparable Views of the Sea, Entrance to Lagoon, Garden Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374324vbi
Akumal Quintana Roo
Fort Walton Beach, FL USA
5

Once-in-a-lifetime memories

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
This beautiful hideaway was a great venue for introducing our kids, in a manageable way, to the exotic experience that is Mexico. The property is immaculately kept, well-appointed and comfortable; having the casita gave us, as grandparents, our own space, and offered our daughter and son-in-law and their three girls ample room in the main house. Our granddaughters spent countless hours swimming in the pool, while we lounged, read and played along with them. They saw their first iguanas. They tasted fresh papaya and fish tacos. At night, they illustrated their own rhymes about the sea and the fish they imagined in it. Meanwhile, grownups enjoyed the spectacular views (best vacation photos ever), the constant sea breeze and the great luxury of an afternoon siesta, followed by wine at sunset on the terrace. The adults also enjoyed swimming in the sea. The water was crystal clear. We took the girls out once with life jackets, but they voted to return to the pool, as it has no current and is a friendly depth for third-graders. Now, we love hearing them say, "Hey, Papa, do you remember in Mexico when we...?"
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Incomparable Views of the Sea, Entrance to Lagoon, Garden Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374324vbi
Akumal Quintana Roo
Fort Walton Beach, FL USA
5

Once-in-a-lifetime memories

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
This beautiful hideaway was a great venue for introducing our kids, in a manageable way, to the exotic experience that is Mexico. The property is immaculately kept, well-appointed and comfortable; having the casita gave us, as grandparents, our own space, and offered our daughter and son-in-law and their three girls ample room in the main house. Our granddaughters spent countless hours swimming in the pool, while we lounged, read and played along with them. They saw their first iguanas. They tasted fresh papaya and fish tacos. At night, they illustrated their own rhymes about the sea and the fish they imagined in it. Meanwhile, grownups enjoyed the spectacular views (best vacation photos ever), the constant sea breeze and the great luxury of an afternoon siesta, followed by wine at sunset on the terrace. The adults also enjoyed swimming in the sea. The water was crystal clear. We took the girls out once with life jackets, but they voted to return to the pool, as it has no current and is a friendly depth for third-graders. Now, we love hearing them say, "Hey, Papa, do you remember in Mexico when we...?"
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Incomparable Views of the Sea, Entrance to Lagoon, Garden Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374324vbi
Akumal Quintana Roo
Chihuahua, Chih., México
5

Wonderful !!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Casa Aurora is the closest place to paradise I know. I have been coming back with my family once a year for several times now and we really can relax there. We enjoy so much the ocean, the beach, the pool, the garden, and everything at the house which is clean, comfortable and complete. It is wonderful!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Incomparable Views of the Sea, Entrance to Lagoon, Garden Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374324vbi
Akumal Quintana Roo
Spartanburg, SC
5

Casa Aurora

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Casa Aurora provided one of the most relaxing vacations we have ever had. Spectacular views, peaceful
setting, uncluttered accommodations. Very private. Great location. Casa Aurora is even more beautiful than the photos. Everything was very clean and well kept. The owner was quite helpful with
dinner recommendations and places of interest in Akumal and the nearby vicinity. We would recommend
this property to all of our friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Incomparable Views of the Sea, Entrance to Lagoon, Garden Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374324vbi
Akumal Quintana Roo
Calgary Alberta Canada
5

A truly fabulous place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2010
My friends and I had one of the most memorable holidays of our lives there. It is a beautiful house in a stunning spot . Snorkling in the lagoon is great with easy access , you can swim there from the house! . However, the view is the best aspect of the house , just fabulous. Sitting out on the veranda at night with a glass of wine is awe inspiring.

The house was beautifully clean and well stocked with all the essentials . It is air conditioned with great decor. I would recommend this property to anyone as it is within easy reach of Canada and the US. with frequent flights to and from Cancun International Airport.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Incomparable Views of the Sea, Entrance to Lagoon, Garden Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374324vbi
Akumal Quintana Roo
sptbg, sc
5

akumal

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Breathtakingly beautiful venues; steady ocean breezes; refreshing swims in the ocean; relaxing private pool; beautiful sunsets; neat-o places for day trips. Excellent spot for relaxation and re-charging accomapnied by a change in culture and cuisine. Absolutely devine.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Incomparable Views of the Sea, Entrance to Lagoon, Garden Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374324vbi
Akumal Quintana Roo
Charleston
5

Exceeds Description

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
My wife and I rented this beautiful house in February and it was perfect- including the weather. We had never been to the village of Akumal and loved being off the beaten path from the tourist crowds. The house ,pool and views of the ocean are incredible, We especially enjoyed snorkling on the reef in front of the house and our casual days wondering around the local restaurants and watering holes. I also managed to sneak in a day off very inexpensive offshore fishing. We would recommend the house to any family/ group of friends and plan on coming back to share the house with our friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Incomparable Views of the Sea, Entrance to Lagoon, Garden Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374324vbi
Akumal Quintana Roo
Spartanburg SC USA
5

Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Have stayed at Casa Aurora several times over the last 3 years. It is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the beauty of the sea at Akumal particularly from the deck where we practically lived during our visit. The location makes it easily accessible for snorkeling and swimming which we enjoyed daily. The houses are well kept, extremely clean and with comfortable beds. Marvelous place for a vacation!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1