Granbury house rental - Sunset View from the dock at our lakehouse affectionately called 'The Place'
Sunset View from the dock at our lakehouse affectionately called 'The Place'
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Granbury House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 12-14)

The relaxing atmosphere at this Granbury lakehouse makes this home a great place to spend a few days as a leisurely vacation or holidays with your family or a small group of good friends.

Maybe you need to just get away and relax for a long weekend with someone special. Longer rentals are generally available, depending on the season. Check our calendar for availability during the upcoming holidays.

The home can easily accommodate small family reunions, retreats, wedding parties, or birthday's. Maybe you need a central location for one of your small church groups, a Girls Getaway Weekend, or a Guys Golfing or Fishing Weekend. It can even be a nice change of pace when the family wants to get together to celebrate any of the holidays.

The latest addition to the home (which was completed in March 2013) is a large gourmet kitchen with all new appliances, granite bar and new accessories. The kitchen is open to the family room and is perfect for entertaining friends and family.

Also recently completed is a large covered veranda overlooking the water. The veranda is next to the bbq grill area and has a ceiling fan, hammock, plenty of chairs and side tables for a relaxing afternoon or evening, just looking at the lake. A new horseshoe pit is another fun addition for the back yard.

The Master Bedroom known as the ' Black Room' is the largest bedroom and has an adjoining Master Bath with an oversized walk-in shower with a built-in bench and handicap rails. Both bathrooms were recently remodeled and have beautifully tiled shower enclosures.

The Master bedroom has a 'king' sized bed, nightstands, dressing table, and plenty of space for clothes and all of your other lake necessities.

The front bedroom, known as the 'Red Room,' has a queen sized bed, built in drawers, and a closet for hanging all of your casual lake clothes. The closet also houses a Library of Books to read and enjoy during your visit. Various novels, paperbacks, and historical books make up the 100+ book collection.

'Alyssa's Bunkhouse' is the third bedroom and is perfect for children with a set of twin bunkbeds and two additional twin beds. The bedroom is decorated in bright turquoise, hot pink, orange and lime green and it makes a great place to hang out, play board games, or take a nap.

The Family Room is a big, open, and very comfortable room with french doors and a huge picture window that overlook the lake. The room has been completely redone in a stylish black and khaki design with matching drapes, wood floors, two confortable wingback chairs, with ottomans. An oversized rocking chair and full size sofa make the room an inviting place to just sit and visit, watch a movie, or catch up reading magazines and books.

The adjacent dining room area has a large rectangular table that will seat up to 8 people and a smaller dining table will accomodate 4-6 people. An old oak highchair from the 50's sits in the corner ready for your toddlers.

The kitchen area houses a wine rack with plenty of wine glasses. Just bring a bottle of your favorite wine and enjoy the newest addition to the home. Our tuscany kitchen is completely furnished down to the detergent for the dishwasher. Laundry soap is also provided. Basic toiletry items and hair dryers are in each bathroom along with plenty of plush bath towels, etc.

You will love the proximity of this lakehouse to the lake itself and to the historic Granbury Town Square (4.6 miles).

Be sure and check out the newly renovated Granbury Opera House featuring shows by the Granbury Theatre Company. Ticket information is available at GranburyTheatreCompany.org or by calling (817) 579-0952.

Grocery stores and the Granbury Marina are close by for those last minute lake necessities such as ice, gasoline, fishing bait, snacks, and drinks. There are a number of nice restaurants and local casual restaurants on and around the Granbury Town Square. Menus and suggestions for other things to do in the Granbury area are in our Guest Notebook on the coffee table.

The whole family will enjoy Fossil Rim Wildlife Park, (16.6 miles) and for the golfers in your group, a great game of golf at the 36 hole 'Squaw Valley Golf Course' (13 miles) or the public 9 hole course at the Granbury Country Golf Club are literally just minutes away from 'The Place'.

Keywords: Beautiful lake house with 'walk out water' on the main body of Lake Granbury. The lake is even a perfect place for winter and early spring trips and enjoy the casual lifestyle of living on Lake Granbury.

More Details
Hide Details

We are a 60ish couple that married late in life with a passion for 'doing projects'.

Our primary home is located in the Texas Hill Country where we enjoy entertaining, remodeling, crafting, woodworking, as well as working outdoors in the back yard, and tending a vegetable garden and planting flowers.

When we bought the lakehouse 7 years ago, we were really excited to have some new and different projects to tackle in this home built and decorated in the early 70's......

We have completed landscaping the front flower bed and have recently upgraded the inside of the lakehouse with newly remodeled bathrooms. New designs including drapes and curtains, along with modern colors and hand crafted accent pillows now fill the house.

We love to decorate the house for all seasons, and have recently enjoyed spending some of the Holidays at our second home on the lake.

Nancy Marstiller purchased this house in 2006

Our lakehouse which is affectionatly known as 'The Place' has been in the family since 1972.

Over the years it has been gathering place for both sides of our families which are located throughout the South.

We have hosted several family reunions, and even lent our home to our next-door neighbors and their family when they recently married in a lakeside ceremony. We have also enjoyed entertaining many of our Hill Country friends at 'The Place'.

When we had the opportunity to buy the lakehouse in 2006, we did not hesitate and have since sometimes even referred to it as 'Our Place.'

We really enjoy sitting on our new covered veranda area, and drinking coffee in the early morning. We generally have all of our meals outside to take advantage of this new additional living space.

We relax and watch the swans, ducks and geese walk across our back yard, and then they swim around in the cove all day.

In the early morning, the water is generally very calm so we get to enjoy a beautiful view of the lake and watch the people and their boats enjoy a day on Lake Granbury.

In the evenings, we move two chairs and a little table to the edge of our boat dock, take along a nice bottle of wine, and just sit and watch the sunset.

We contemplate the next day of 'just relaxing' and being able to enjoy the lake life in Granbury.

20 Reviews of Property 374193 in Granbury, Texas

Spring and Summer Get Away Lakehouse - Book now for 2014
average rating of 4.9375 based on 20 reviews
business
Spring and Summer Get Away Lakehouse - Book now for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374193vbi
512-461-1461
Granbury Texas Lakes
dallas, TX
5

Excellent, relaxing home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
the attention to detail in this rental property is terrific. Have never stayed in a home that provided so many extras (beach towels, staples in kitchen,toiletries in bathrooms to name a few).
We were a small group of women who rented To relax for a few days. The Place feels like visiting a friends home and not a rental property. We had a minor issue that was handled immediately by the owners. wonderfully quiet neighborhood and property right on the lake view.
although water level is down it didn't deter or hamper our visit and stay.
Great place!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Adrian for the nice compliments.
We are so glad you and your friends found our home so comfortable and that we met your expectations as a rental at Lake Granbury. Hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Nancy and Bob
business
Spring and Summer Get Away Lakehouse - Book now for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374193vbi
512-461-1461
Granbury Texas Lakes
Tyler, Texas
5

MahJongg Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This was not our first stay at The Place. The upgrades are beautiful and so inviting. We enjoy the relaxing atmosphere and the beautiful view of the lake and yard. It is so nice to shop in downtown Granbury which is only a few minutes away.
We will be back.
Thanks for being great hosts!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Joyce.
So glad you and your friends have enjoyed your Mah Jongg get away weekends at "The Place". Looking forward to having you back again next year.
Bob and Nancy
business
Spring and Summer Get Away Lakehouse - Book now for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374193vbi
512-461-1461
Granbury Texas Lakes
5

The Perfect Getaway !!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
What a great time we had!! Six girlfriends who love to play Mah Jong gathered for 3 days of Mah Jong, laughter, and friendship. The Place was the perfect getaway. I can't think of a single thing you might add to improve it. The house was pristine. The beautiful remodeled kitchen and bathrooms were well stocked - you thought of every detail including notes with instructions, etc. where needed. The master BR has a new king size bed which felt like heaven at the end of each day. Although it was breezy, we enjoyed sitting outside overlooking the water, enjoying some wine and lots of laughs.
We played Mah Jong non-stop, taking a break to go to dinner on Saturday evening at the Haufbrau. The Place is right on the lake and a beautiful, peaceful setting even in January. The town square in Granbury is a short drive away with several shops to browse. We have all agreed that we should make our stay at The Place an annual event.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Mary.
Sounds like you had a great time with your friends playing Mah Jong. You are the second group of ladies that have come to "The Place" just to get away and play your favorite game.
We are looking forward to having you back again next year, or before,......if you just want to relax at the lake in Granbury.
Thank you,

Nancy and Bob
business
Spring and Summer Get Away Lakehouse - Book now for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374193vbi
512-461-1461
Granbury Texas Lakes
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Labor Day Weekend Vacation- 5 Stars

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We invited another family to join us at 'the place' on lake Granbury, for a great weekend. I'd read many of the previous reviews and they helped us make our choice. The place exceeded our expectations.
The kitchen was completely updated and fully stocked with equipment and supplies for our chef friend to cook great meals.
The house was immaculate and the lot, and views were beautiful. The lake water was low but the owner furnished me with a current elevation lake map and placed markers for us to anchor my boat (many thanks) and we were able to ski and wakeboard each day.

This place will top your expectations. We will have to plan early next year if word gets out what a gem this place is as it'll fill up early if folks realize what a prize spot it is.
business
Spring and Summer Get Away Lakehouse - Book now for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374193vbi
512-461-1461
Granbury Texas Lakes
San Aantonio, TX
5

Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Wow! at the kitchen! Remodeling opened up whole living area. Everything was clean, well maintained. The only drawback was the lake level, beyond your control. Appreciate the extra day to compensate for that. Fishing was good. You have great neighbors. We enjoyed Babe's Chicken House and the burger place- Grumps- or something like that. Owner was very helpful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Wayne. I thought you and your family would really enjoy the new renovations this year when you returned for your 2nd family reunion. Glad to know the fishing is still good on the lake. Yes it is a little low, but I hear that you were able to get your 2 ski boats in and enjoy the water.

Hope you and your family will come back again next year.
Nancy and Bob
business
Spring and Summer Get Away Lakehouse - Book now for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374193vbi
512-461-1461
Granbury Texas Lakes
Dallas, TX
4

Great 4th of July vacation!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family of five (husband/me/3 kids aged 4 thru 8 yrs) stayed at this property over July 4th weekend. It is a wonderful location to view the fireworks from the city of Granbury, plus surrounding homes that put off quite amazing displays. The home itself is clean, modern, and comfortable. Everything was working properly and as it was described online. The owner was friendly, accessible (over email), and had stocked so many things in the house that made the stay easy (beach towels, for instance).

I would highly recommend this property if you are looking for a place to have a relaxing, low-key vacation around the Granbury area.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you Rebekah.
Glad you and your family were able to enjoy the wonderful annual 4th of July activities in and around Granbury. We love the small town attention to this holiday, as the fireworks and events around the town square seem to get better each year.
My neighbors said you enjoyed the lake and the kids had fun playing on our beach.
Looking forward to having you back next 4th of July, or maybe sooner.
business
Spring and Summer Get Away Lakehouse - Book now for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374193vbi
512-461-1461
Granbury Texas Lakes
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Corporate Golf Outing

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Very well maintained and updated home right on the water with all amenities a short drive away. The home looks small from the outside but can easily accommodate a single digit group with coordinated sleeping arrangements. A good value for a family or business group, BYOB (bring your own boat). Thanks for the use of your home, I’m already looking forward to next year!
business
Spring and Summer Get Away Lakehouse - Book now for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374193vbi
512-461-1461
Granbury Texas Lakes
Dallas, Tx
5

Lake Vacation with small children

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Nancy and Bob thank you for sharing your "place" with us. The house was just perfect. Upon entering, my 3 yr. old asked where she was going to sleep. I said she could go down the hall and find her room. She was so excited when she found "the rainbow room" and yelled to her brother, "I found our room!" Each and every room in the house is so nicely decorated and very well kept, clean and equipped. It is a perfect, cozy place to relax and have a fun lake vacation with the family. We have rented a number of summer houses on VRBO and this property was by far one of the nicer, cleaner homes. The view of the lake was gorgeous! The yard was well kept. The veranda was very nice, although, with a 3 and 6 year old we had little time to sit! The kids enjoyed walking down to the water and playing and collecting shells on the beach. We will definitely consider your "place" on our return trips to Lake Grandbury. Let me also add that Nancy and Bob were easy and a delight to communicate with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you Tommy for the nice comments on our Lakehouse. We are so glad that you and your family were still able to come to "The Place" for your vacation. With the recent tornado in Granbury, we were very lucky to only have minimal damage to our house and yard. Glad we were were able to get it cleaned up and ready for your visit. Hope you will come back and see us again.

Nancy and Bob
business
Spring and Summer Get Away Lakehouse - Book now for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374193vbi
512-461-1461
Granbury Texas Lakes
5

Fun Spring Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
"The Place" exceeded our expectations as a vacation rental. Everything we needed was clean and available, and the beautiful kitchen was well-stocked with plenty of cooking supplies. We especially enjoyed the back porch with its lovely view of the lake. We hope to be back again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Helen.
Glad to hear that you liked the newly remodeled kitchen and veranda. Hope you and your family will stay with us again the next time you are back in Granbury.
Nancy and Bob
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spring and Summer Get Away Lakehouse - Book now for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374193vbi
512-461-1461
Granbury Texas Lakes
Lubbock, TX
5

"Our Place"

"Our Place"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Our family had a great time while at your "Place". The house was very nicely decorated and comfortable to be in. Great view of the lake. Although, the lake was down and the small dock was out of the water, it did make for a nice beach, and shallow area for the children to play. The yard was beautiful, with plenty of shade when needed. The house was very well stocked with things we might have wanted or needed. Thanks for making your home available for rental! We sure enjoyed it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Glad you and your family were able to enjoy some vacation time together at the lake, even if the water was a little low. That's our "good old Texas" weather for you... hope you will come back again.
Nancy & Bob