Dauphin Island house rental - Waterfront porch featuring fabulous new turquoise cushions on teak lounge chairs
Waterfront porch featuring fabulous new turquoise cushions on teak lounge chairs
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps14
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Dauphin Island House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 2 1/2 Baths with an outside shower, (Sleeps 16)

We are glad you found our vacation home. For us, it has been our home for the past two and a half years. We are excited about others finding out what we know. We are now making our house available to rent and now everyone can find out how Dauphin Island is one of the Gulf Coast’s best kept secrets. We feel like we have the best of both worlds here. We have one of the most spectacular views from our back deck looking out over one of Dauphin Island’s inlets, with a long view toward Mobile Bay and the entry to the Gulf of Mexico. Our front porch offers another amazing water view with a stunning sunrise. We are just a couple of minutes from the beach so we have you covered whichever you prefer during your stay. You could hang out by the pool or take that short journey to the snow white sands of the island. There is a boat lift available for the avid fishermen and pleasure seekers. No worries about the hassle of launching your boat each morning!

Our house has a great layout inside. You could come with just your family or use it for a multi-family gathering place. We have two bedrooms on each side of a large family room with jack-and-jill baths in between providing plenty of privacy for each family if you are sharing your vacation with others. The downstairs 5th bedroom room is perfect for the kids with queen bunk beds and a pull out couch but is not accessible from inside the house. There is also a half bath that is easily accessible from the pool deck. The kitchen is open toward the family room giving it that warm, open feeling. It is fabulous for the cooler seasons as well because you can open the doors and feel the breeze through the screen doors.

Our back deck is a winning part of this story. You will not want to come back inside once you have relaxed on the deck and simply gotten lost in the view. There is always a beautiful sunset. You will see boats passing by and the peacefulness of the water on a calm or breezy day. While you relax on the back deck, you can keep an eye on the children swimming below in the pool while soaking in the hot tub. I told you that you won’t want to go back in.

No matter how long your stay is, you will not lack for things to do. Right from our home you will be able to swim, fish, kayak and go boating. Dauphin Island is a great place to go for long walks, bike rides, bird watching, or just laying out on the beach or by the pool. You can even catch a ferry that runs between Dauphin Island and Gulf Shores for extra shopping and entertainment.

Dauphin Island will give you what most people want from a vacation. A chance to escape the busy and noisy life. When you go home, you will know that you have been rested and recharged. We hope you will love our home as much as we do. Thank you, Steve & Cathy Vickers

Keywords: Beautiful, Charming, Relaxing, fun, peaceful,delightful, heaven on earth,blessed

More Details
Hide Details

We have lived in the Theodore, AL area all of our lives. Our children were born here and now have families of their own. We have been very blessed to be able to purchase this home and would love to share it with your family.

Steve Vickers purchased this house in 2010

Dauphin Island has always been a special place to us. It is close enough to home that we can jump in the car and come down any time we feel like it. This is where we brought our children when they were young and could not imagine wanting to go anywhere else.

Our favorite times at Dauphin Island are when the whole family is here. We hang out and visit on the porches and the kids love the pool. We have a pontoon boat and we frequently take it out to sand bars and for sunset cruises. There are many dolphins around our area and they are lots of fun to watch as they are playing in the water. The kayaks also keep everyone entertained. We have three kayaks on the property and we will be glad to let you use them instead of renting. Our home is on an inlet with a no wake zone, which makes it very safe even for the little ones to kayak. We also fish right from our dock when we don't feel like taking the boat. Ft. Gaines and the Dauphin Island Sea Lab and Estuarium are just a bike ride away. We have several bikes available, if needed, of various sizes so you won't have to rent them or bring them with you. The ferry can be taken to Ft. Morgan for easy access to Gulf Shores. You have to try out The Bakery for breakfast and The Common Loon for lunch or dinner while you're here, too! The public beach is a couple of minutes away or you could go to the West End beach (about a five minute drive), which has many amenities, like water slides, music, parasailing, rentals, and a concession stand. There is a small fee for parking, but it is well worth not having to walk a long way to the beach.

20 Reviews of Property 374153 in Dauphin Island, Alabama

'Island Pleasure'Waterfront, Stunning Views,Kayaks, and Bikes
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
business
'Island Pleasure'Waterfront, Stunning Views,Kayaks, and Bikes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374153vb
251-463-3322
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
5

Great time on spring break!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had a great time. There were three families total who stayed in the house with 6 kids ranging from 5 to 14. There was plenty if room. All the extras provided here were perfect to keep everyone busy: golf cart, bikes, kayaks and fishing poles!!! You'll find everything you need in the kitchen too! Thanks for a great time!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
'Island Pleasure'Waterfront, Stunning Views,Kayaks, and Bikes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374153vb
251-463-3322
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
5

Very Happy Spring Breakers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Oustanding home and locations with everything you need for a great Dauphin Island getaway. Owners we great to work with and everything was as advertised. If we could have just gotten a little more sun and warmth it would have been the perfect week. Would stay again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
business
'Island Pleasure'Waterfront, Stunning Views,Kayaks, and Bikes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374153vb
251-463-3322
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
5

Large family holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Wonderful large family holiday! Great house and easy to arrange even internationally.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Island Pleasure'Waterfront, Stunning Views,Kayaks, and Bikes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374153vb
251-463-3322
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
5

Wonderful visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The property is in top notch condition and very comfortable for a large group, although occupancy for 16 would be a stretch. Our family group of 12 fit very nicely. The pool and hot tub kept the kids occupied when when the adults wanted to relax with a cocktail and kick back on the deck. With the kayaks, bikes, fishing, and close by beach there is plenty to keep everyone busy. If you have a boat and can bring it, do so as there is a dock at the property. We wouldn't hesitate to stay in this property again.
Owner's Response: Thank you Donna, It was a pleasure to have you guys spend your vacation in our house! You were fantastic and hope to visit us again in the future. We hope you got to see the most beautiful sunsets in Ala. as you relaxed at one of the most beautiful places on Dauphin Island.

Thanks again!
Steve and Cathy
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Island Pleasure'Waterfront, Stunning Views,Kayaks, and Bikes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374153vb
251-463-3322
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Dalton, GA
5

Great Visit With Kids and Grandkids!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Loved the layout of this house - great utilization of space. Lots of common gathering areas and room to spread out when we needed our own space. The open feel and the lighting were great as were the wonderful sunsets viewed from the back deck as we enjoyed our evening meals.

Bikes and kayaks were a bonus and used almost every day by at least a few.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Candace, what a great way to spend your vacation! When you can have your kids and grandkids together that makes life so special and Cathy and I are so glad you chose to spend it in our house on Dauphin Island! Hope to have you visit again in the future.

Thank You
Steve and Cathy
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Island Pleasure'Waterfront, Stunning Views,Kayaks, and Bikes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374153vb
251-463-3322
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Maryland Heights MO
5

Great Family Vacation House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This beautiful house was perfect for our family of 8 adults and 3 children. Our son and wife and the three kids, 4,2, and 6 months stayed in the "west wing" with the two bedrooms connected by the bathroom. Across the kitchen and living area my husband and I shared the "east wing" with our two adult daughters. The boyfriends had the lower level bedroom which worked out well, providing them some privacy and a place to escape if there was too much family time. Steve was so very helpful and prompt answering questions before the trip and during when we called to inquire about mail delivery to the island. He provided us with directions and information about the island and the house. The house was very clean and pretty. It had so many extras like the beach butler which lifted our luggage and groceries to the upper level, kayaks, some bikes, a hammock, porch swing, many comfortable chairs the front and back decks, pool toys and rafts, life jackets for adults and child, fishing poles and ceiling fans inside and out. I appreciated the gates on the different levels of the deck which made it safe and easier to watch grandkids, as did having NickJr on the TV in the bedroom along with the cute pop-up Disney books. The kitchen was well stocked with cookware and utensils, the appliances new and clean and the outside grill was used often. Bathrooms were clean and roomy. The beds were comfortable and there were extra blankets and pillows. I am coveting the new washing machine which was so nice to have allowing us to pack less and dry our beach towels before packing up. The extra touches of the ice machine on the refrigerator, the wet bar with ice, and even night lights just added to the comfort of the house. We were surprised that some restaurants were closed on Monday and Tuesday but we did enjoy a good family dinner at the Islander. We stopped at the Walmart on the way in but made trips to Greers or the Ship and Shore on the island for more milk and beer! We visited the fort early one morning and the kids found some bikes to ride on the path to the bird sanctuary. Our four year old fell asleep in the kayak with his mom on the peaceful water! We took the ferry to Gulf Shores beach and then drove to Alligator Alley. We visited the the beaches on the island and played in the pool. The best time was sitting outside in the evening playing games, talking, laughing and enjoying having our family together for a week. This is a well maintained,comfortable, peaceful home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying on Dauphin Island. Your comments made us glad you chose to stay at 515 Buchanan Dr. It is really difficult to tell folks how nice it is, but you did a fantastic job. It has so many gathering places that you never feel crowded. The bad part is how fast time goes by and it seems as if you have just settled in when it's time to leave, and it is the same for us. We are truly blessed to have such a place. Being able to share it with families like yours makes it that much sweeter. We hope to see you guys again Until then we'll be watching the sunsets with our toes in the sand for you!

Thank again
Steve and Cathy Vickers
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Island Pleasure'Waterfront, Stunning Views,Kayaks, and Bikes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374153vb
251-463-3322
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
st louis mo
5

Wondeerful Family Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This beautiful house was perfect for our family of 8 adults and 3 children. Our son and wife and the three kids, 4,2, and 6 months stayed in the "west wing" with the two bedrooms connected by the bathroom. Across the kitchen and living area my husband and I shared the "east wing" with our two adult daughters. The boyfriends had the lower level bedroom which worked out well, providing them some privacy and a place to escape if there was too much family time.
Steve was so very helpful and prompt answering questions before the trip and during when we called to inquire about mail delivery to the island. He provided us with directions and information about the island and the house.
The house was very clean and pretty. It had so many extras like the beach butler which lifted our luggage and groceries to the upper level, kayaks, some bikes, a hammock, porch swing, many comfortable chairs on the front and back decks, pool toys and rafts, life jackets for adults and child, fishing poles and ceiling fans inside and out. I appreciated the gates on the different levels of the deck which made it safe and easier to watch grandkids, as did having NickJr on the TV in the bedroom along with the cute pop-up Disney books.
The kitchen was well stocked, the appliances new and clean and the outside grill was used often. Bathrooms were clean and roomy. The beds were comfortable and there were extra blankets and pillows. I am coveting the new washing machine which was so nice to have allowing us to pack less and dry our beach towels before packing up. The extra touches of the ice machine on the refrigerator, the wet bar with ice, and even night lights just added to the comfort of the house. We were surprised that some restaurants were closed on Monday and Tuesday but we did enjoy a good family dinner at the Islander. We stopped at the Walmart on the way in but made trips to Greers or the Ship and Shore on the island for more milk and beer!
We visited the fort early one morning and the kids found some bikes to ride on the path to the bird sanctuary. Our four year old fell asleep in the kayak with his mom on the peaceful water! We took the ferry to Gulf Shores beach and then drove to Alligator Alley. we visited the the beaches on the island and played in the pool. The best time was sitting outside in the evening playing games, talking, laughing and enjoying having our family together for a week.
This is a well maintained,comfortable, peaceful home with fantastic sunsets.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Mark, what a great review! You have made our decision to make our house available to rent that much easier. It is families like yours that we love to spend their vacation in our house. The house is not huge but it is so well laid out and there are so many gathering places and things to do that you never feel crowded and always entertained by the boats, pool, hot tub, sunsets, stars and so much more.

Thanks again!
Steve and Cathy
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Island Pleasure'Waterfront, Stunning Views,Kayaks, and Bikes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374153vb
251-463-3322
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Huntsville, AL
5

Relaxing and fun!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and I booked this home back in November and gifted this trip to our closest friends for Christmas! We TOTALLY enjoyed our delayed Christmas celebration in June. The home was immaculate with all the supplies you'd need to enjoy a week at the beach. We were able to get most of what we needed at the Ship and Shore or Greer's. We used the kayaks, bikes, pool, and hot tub almost every second of every day we were there. Such awesome amenities! Fully equipped kitchen and great washer/dryer. Also, staying on the bay was calming and peaceful. We had several kiddos and babies with us and they all enjoyed the salt water pool. We went to Rainbow Island Pizza, Barnacle Bills, The Lighthouse Bakery and even drove into Mobile to eat at Felix's Fish Camp one night for an adventure. Steve and Cathy were welcoming and absolutely wonderful to rent from. All communication with them was quick and clear. We are grateful to have made precious memories with our dearest friends in this beautiful home.

The Rogers
The Ballingers
The Johnsons
The "New" Masons
The "Cool" Masons
Andy, Aubree, & Tucker
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Emily,
Wow, wow, wow!!! Isn’t great to have friends that you care enough about to share your vacation with. We feel like we’re as lucky as your friends are to have had you spend your vacation in our house at Dauphin Island. You are absolutely right about so many things to do. We have always loved the beach and still do, but our house has so much to offer. It is like one of our guest said, they would go to the beach but couldn’t get back to the fun stuff fast enough. We hope you and your friends have precious memories to last a life time and maybe we’ll see you again.

Thanks again!
Steve and Cathy Vickers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Island Pleasure'Waterfront, Stunning Views,Kayaks, and Bikes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374153vb
251-463-3322
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Farmington NM
5

Loved It !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our first visit to Alabama and the Island Pleasure home was indeed more than expected and even greater than hoped for. June Alabama weather was perfect. Our family of 16, included children, spouses and grandchildren from Florida, Iowa and New Mexico. We maxed out the home capacity but we were all able to function comfortably with the well designed home layout.
There are so many gathering spaces outside and the expansive deck, pool, hammock and fishing docks made for a great variety of meeting and mingling spaces, The home had everything we needed. It was great for meal preparation. Having Wi-Fi was greatly appreciated too.
We caught our limit of Red Snapper after a morning of deep sea fishing and the grill was perfect for preparing some for dinner that evening.
Our family thoroughly enjoyed their time there and we are definitely thankful for being able to stay at Island Pleasure. A very relaxing, wonderful place to vacation with family.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks you guys for staying on Dauphin Island in our house. We are glad the whole family got in on a super fishing trip. It is a fantastic place for catching up and just doing your own thing. There are so many things to do from fishing, biking, kayaking, swimming or just relaxing that you never feel crowded. You really have a great looking gang and it was an honor to have you stay with us.
Until next time take care!
Steve and Cathy Vickers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Island Pleasure'Waterfront, Stunning Views,Kayaks, and Bikes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374153vb
251-463-3322
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Missouri
5

EXCELLENT FAMILY VACATION!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
WOW! We have been to Hawaii, Florida, Mexico, and on cruises and this is hands down the best vacation we have ever had. This was our first time staying in a private home and I will tell you right now we will never stay in a hotel or a resort again. This home was above any expectation that I could have ever dreamt of. The house had everything that you would need. I kept emailing them asking if there was anything that I would need and they said no just beach towels and food. I just couldn't imagine that the house would meet 12 peoples needs and it surpassed. We had 3 families me and my husband both 40, our 14 year old son, 4 year old son, and 2 year old twins boy and girl. My friends early 30's their 8 year old son and 4 year old daughter and my other friend 35 and her 14 year old son. Every single of one of us loved it!

We went to Gulf Shores and took the ferry, we went deep sea fishing one day, we went to the Sea Lab, Fort Gaines, and the beach. We took a nap everyday sat out on the wonderful deck and watched the boys kayak and fish and the sun set. We sat on the front porch in the morning and watched the sun rise. It was absolutely relaxing and beautiful I couldn't have asked for more.

If you are looking for a vacation to get away and relax this is it!!! Beautiful home and beautiful people the Vickers, so appreciate that they shared their home with us. So those of us that have the chaotic lives can take a step back, take a deep breath, and ENJOY!!!!!

Thank you both so much I could go on and on but I promise we will be back if you will have us!!!!!

God bless,

Williams Family
Piercy Family
Rogers Family
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Wendy, if I had posted the review my self I couldn't have said it better. You guys were fantastic and we would love to have you back again. We have been to a lot of the places and stayed in some great beach front rentals as well, but our home is hands down the best when it comes to family entertainment and relaxing. We have been blessed to have such a place and to be able to share it with folks like you makes it that much nicer!

Thanks again!
Steve and Cathy
Helpful votes: 1/1