Stockton Springs cottage rental - bonfire on your private beach
bonfire on your private beach
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Stockton Springs Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 1.5 bathrooms, sleeps 4

Compass Rose Cottage is located on beautiful private oceanfront Sandy Point Beach in Stockton Springs, Maine. Forty minutes drive from Camden, Bar Harbor, or Bangor. This private three-bedroom waterfront property sleeps four and features a wraparound screened porch with expansive views of the Penobscot. The living room has a cathedral ceiling and french doors onto the porch. Once you arrive you may never want to leave, but this lovely heated 3-season cottage is within an easy drive of Acadia National Park, Camden Hills State Park, and much more, so you can relax and explore to your heart's content.

Compass Rose - Places to sleep: The master bedroom offers a comfy queen bed—high enough to open your eyes each morning to the beautiful sunrise and private beach. This bedroom connects to a private bath with sit-down shower. The second bedroom (full bed) and third bedroom (twin-bed) also look to the beach and share a half bath.

Compass Rose - Places to eat: The screened porch offers a large dining table for the entire family to gather, and many additional spots for quick meals and snacks throughout the day. In the evening, take in the soothing sights and sounds of the ocean while enjoying your freshly caught lobster feast—safe from the reach of pesky mosquitos. The smaller screened porch towards the back of the cottage offers views up the peninsula—where the sun goes down.

Compass Rose - Places to meet: No doubt you'll spend lots of time on the tranquil beach watching the sandpipers, loons and the occasional bald eagle cruise by. But, as night falls, you'll probably move inside to the covered porch for the evening meal and socializing. Day or night you'll be drawn to the bright and comfortably appointed livingroom featuring a cathedral ceiling and plenty of natural light—a perfect spot to curl up with a good book.

More Details
Hide Details

5 Reviews of Property 373388 in Stockton Springs, Maine

Private, Direct Oceanfront Cottage -sandy beach, private yard, screened porch
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
business
Private, Direct Oceanfront Cottage -sandy beach, private yard, screened porch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373388
+1 2075966959
Stockton Springs MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
New York, NY USA
5

Wonderful Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We have spent a few summers on the Maine coast, and had the most wonderful time staying in Compass Rose Cottage this past summer. We have two toddlers, and an English Bulldog, and the Cottage was the perfect home for us. The cottage itself was comfortable and clean, and the fully-stocked kitchen offered everything that we needed. The large yard and sandy beach provided hours of fun for our young kids (and dog!), and we spent many nights cooking hot dogs and roasting marshmallows at the fire pit on the beach. We love Stockton Springs as it always proves to be the perfect location for heading south to Camden and Mt. Megunticook or north to Acadia, and this summer was no different. Jan was an absolute pleasure to work with, and answered all questions that we had before and during our visit. I would highly recommend this house to anyone interested, and we look forward to coming back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private, Direct Oceanfront Cottage -sandy beach, private yard, screened porch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373388
+1 2075966959
Stockton Springs MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Thornton, New Hampshire
5

Comfortable and cozy - You Never Want to Leave

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was our fourth year at Compass Rose Cottage and we’re already planning for “same time next year”. My sister and I and our beloved dogs love it here. It is quintessential beachfront cottage, with whitewashed walls, floors, and ceilings and comfy overstuffed chairs and couches. Jan has left no stone unturned to make sure you have all the amenities from a fully furnished kitchen, comfy beds, a wonderful fire pit on the beach (just bring your own marshmallows and hot dogs) to the lobster pot and ring to cook lobsters on the beach. The screened porch is where we spend a lot of time when we’re not on the beach. There are several good restaurants around in Belfast (Delvino’s, Chase’ Daily) to the Good Kettle (wonderful homemade chowders) and Just Barb’s (best fried claims) in Stockton Springs, and now a local lobster pound (Shute’s). This year we opted for staying at the cottage more rather than going for day trips and enjoyed our week so much more. But there are easy day trips – Acadia and Bar Harbor, Camden/Rockport, Castine (home of Maine Maritime Academy), Blue Hill Peninsula and Deer Isle/Stonington/Isle au Haut. We especially enjoyed a walk through the Fort Point State Park (Stockton Springs), and don’t miss the beautiful (working) Stockton Springs waterfront. Compass Rose Cottage lives up to its description and then some. Jan is wonderful to work with and is very responsive to the simplest question or request.
business
Private, Direct Oceanfront Cottage -sandy beach, private yard, screened porch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373388
+1 2075966959
Stockton Springs MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

End of Summer Gift

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Compass Rose Cottage was the perfect place for our small family to celebrate my parents' 45th anniversary. The cottage was very clean, well equipped, and the decor was perfect for the setting. We loved the bright, airy rooms. Even our Italian Greyhound was in heaven! The screened porch was the most amazing spot to drink coffee and watch the sun rise over the bay. At the end of the day, we made a fire in the pit on the beach, sat in the comfy chairs, and enjoyed great conversations. The owner thought of every detail by supplying everything from firewood to floats. Although we found it hard to break away from the cottage, there are great restaurants nearby and easy day trips to Bar Harbor, Belfast, Castine, Southwest Harbor, etc. The owner welcomed contact and provided good suggestions as well as promptly returning the security deposit, etc. We will definitely be back.
business
Private, Direct Oceanfront Cottage -sandy beach, private yard, screened porch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373388
+1 2075966959
Stockton Springs MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Perfect vacation, loved this cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Compass Rose was everything we were wanting for our trip to Maine. The cottage itself is quaint, but very functional. The decor is super cute and everything we expected for Maine. All of the amenities listed on the site are available, plus more. You'll have all the basics in the kitchen...fridge, stove, microwave and coffee pot (w/ filters)...and we used them all. The pictures don't do this adorable cottage justice. But most importantly, it was very CLEAN.

The bed's were SUPER comfortable. The full bath was very nice, although we had to get our own bath soap. Mirrors were located in every bedroom so everyone didn't have to crowd the bathroom.

Our favorite part of the cottage was, by far, the screened in porch and the fire pit ON the beach.

The owners were a joy to work with and we would definitely stay here next time we're in the area. Thanks!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private, Direct Oceanfront Cottage -sandy beach, private yard, screened porch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373388
+1 2075966959
Stockton Springs MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Waiting for "Red October"!

Waiting for "Red October"!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Compass Rose Cottage is everything as advertised.. very well equipped and comfortable cottage not a walk to the beach but right on the beach! We were very comfortable for our short week stay. Plenty to do in the area near Belfast and Bucksport with many restaurants or just laze the day away reading a book on the beach!

We shall return!
Helpful votes: 5/5