Mauna Lani townhome rental - 'great room' view; bamboo flooring
'great room' view; bamboo flooring
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Mauna Lani Townhome Rental Photos and Description
2 bedroom, 2.5 bath. Sleeps 5

INCLUSIONS: FREE LONG DISTANCE TELEPHONE CALLS TO/FROM U.S. AND CANADA. FREE WIFI. TONS OF CABLE TV & MUSIC CHANNELS.

For the beach: beach towels, coolers, totes, boogie boards, snorkel gear, beach toys & 2 chairs, 2 bikes. Extras: spices and condiments, computer printer, I-phone and I-pad hookups for TV and sound. Hair dryers, blender and 7 major household appliances. Viking BBQ at patio, a library as a great resource for things to do on the island.

So you see...

our townhouse villa has the warm feel of home, (the owners have called Big Island home for over 28 years!) and features local original artwork, a well-equipped kitchen, 2 couches and luscious leather recliner in the living room; dining room and patio seating for 6. Ca. King beds in the master and guest bedroom. Master has a huge walk-in shower and jetted tub. Spacious lanai off the master suite for enjoying your morning coffee, the singing birds, and view of the beautifully landscaped grounds and the peaks of Mauna Kea. Guest Bedroom has ensuite tub/shower. The Fairways has its own large pool, jacuzzi, workout room, and BBQ area.

More Details
Hide Details

Listed in March 2011 on HomeAway. Peter Messmer, owner, also known as 'Peter Palm' for his wonderful palm nursery (now in ownership of others), moved to Hawaii via mainland U.S. from Switzerland. Elaine Christianson, is a real estate Broker, specializing in North and South Kohala properties since 1987. (see website: www.hawaiipalmproperties.com). She is the owner of Hawaii Palm Properties, Inc. and

can assist you if you are searching for a place of your own! She was born in Edmonton, Alberta. and has family in Vancouver, BC, Ontario, Washington and California. Peter and Elaine came to Hawaii in 1984 (from Zurich) for vacation, and never left! (of course we still travel a lot off-island).

Elaine Christianson purchased this townhome in 2010

When we moved to Hawaii in the early 80's we had a Tennis membership at the Mauna Lani and really enjoyed the tennis, beach, spa, and restaurants. The Beach Club was our son's playground in elementary school time, and now they continue to return here for vacations with our grandchildren!

We feel this is the most appealing of the Kohala Coast Resort environments. Mauna Lani resort is environmentally conscious and in addition has one of top rated Spas in the world.There are so many restaurants in the area to visit: our pick of the oceanfront ones 'Hale Kai' or Browns Beach House at the Fairmont Orchid, and LavaLava at the Waikoloa Beach Resort area.

23 Reviews of Property 373180 in Mauna Lani, Hawaii

WHAT A FIND! Largest 2 bedroom villa plan at Fairways
average rating of 4.9545455 based on 23 reviews
business
WHAT A FIND! Largest 2 bedroom villa plan at Fairways
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373180
+1 808-987-9238
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
5

Delightful Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We stayed in this unit for a month and found it to be very relaxing and convenient for a delightful vacation 'home away from home". Foremost was the quiet location in the Fairways at the west end of the development. We heard no street noise from the traffic outside the entry gate that was on the east end of the complex next to the main road that served the Fairmont Orchid. The east-west orientation of the unit meant the night breeze could blow through the open windows upstairs where we slept. The living area faced the beautifully landscaped, colorful gardens so we daily enjoyed gorgeous botanical beauty. The patio off the dining area was shaded in both the morning and evening. This allowed us to comfortably eat all of our meals outside where we enjoyed the balmy warm weather and the symphony of bird song. The unit itself had everything we needed – the beds and sheets were excellent to sleep on, the unit was very clean, the garage stored 2 bikes and helmets, beach carts and chairs, boogie boards, snorkel sets, noodles, and balls for our grandchildren to play with. Others have written about the great location of the Fairways in the Mauna Lani complex. One of our favorite activities unique to the area was an early morning walk of 3 to 5 miles along the Mauna Lani Beach Trail with its classic Hawaiian views of rolling waves, fish ponds, and beached lava and coral. The owners were a delight to work with because of prompt email responses, immediate attention to any of our concerns, and even a welcome bottle of wine in the refrigerator. We hated to leave and it would be a pleasure to stay here again.
Owner's Response: both the cleaner and I give you folks five stars as tenants. thanks so much, you were a pleasure to work with.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
WHAT A FIND! Largest 2 bedroom villa plan at Fairways
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373180
+1 808-987-9238
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
San Francisco
5

Great condo!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband and I were more than comfortable and happy with this condo. Very spacious, nicely appointed with everything you could possibly need! Grounds are lovely - awesome pool! We visit Mauna Lani yearly and will most definitely book this condo again! Big Mahalo, Elaine!
business
WHAT A FIND! Largest 2 bedroom villa plan at Fairways
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373180
+1 808-987-9238
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
5

One Month in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
While we stay at the Fairways at Mauna Lani every year, this was by far our best visit ever. My personal favorite was reading time spent on the patio gazing out on vast Hawaiian yard with lush vegetation and only a few steps to the pool that was out of eyesight. We stayed one month and it felt like home. Our hosts even welcomed us w an assortment of beverages, wine, and snacks. Can't wait to return. Thank you for your hospitality and anticipating our needs
business
WHAT A FIND! Largest 2 bedroom villa plan at Fairways
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373180
+1 808-987-9238
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
5

Review Of our stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Excelent Location Very Nice Condo Perfect Vacation
Home Very Clean And Well Maintained And Equiped
Would Recommend Close to Shopping and Beaches
Very good restaurants at Near By Hotels Looking
forward to coming back next yearThank You David
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
WHAT A FIND! Largest 2 bedroom villa plan at Fairways
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373180
+1 808-987-9238
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
Scotts Valley, CA
5

Excellent townhome.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Place is exactly as it appears in the picture. The owner is very accommodating and very helpful with all our needs. Everything went as smooth as expected. No surprises at all. With unexpected delays with a real estate transaction, we thought we may have to sign loan documents during our stay and the owner was very helpful in getting us information to accomplish this task. We would definitely stay again. The place was very very clean !!!!! We loved having the two bikes.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
WHAT A FIND! Largest 2 bedroom villa plan at Fairways
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373180
+1 808-987-9238
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
5

Absolutely Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Four of us stayed the end of April to the 9th of May. This condo is everything it is advertised to be. The pictures are accurate and everything you could possibly need is there. Plenty of dishes,serving containers, silverware, and glasses. There were coolers, beach towels, and chairs to take to the beach. There was also plenty of snorkel gear which we didn't use as we brought our own. We loved this area. It was quiet, the grounds are well maintained and the pool area was lovely. We love to snorkel and the Beach Club was a perfect place to snorkel. We went there several times. The first morning I went to take a shower and the shower head was broken. We headed out for a walk and I was going to call the owners when we got back to let them know. The housekeeper had already let him know about it and he came while we were out walking (one of our guys didn't go with us so he was there to let him in) and fixed it! People were coming in the day we left so we couldn't have a late check out but Elaine worked with us and we were able to spend a little extra time at the Beach Club. Foodland is close by to pick up groceries. Some things are a little pricey. We actually stopped at Costco in Kona before heading to the condo. Another place to shop is Island Gourmet at the Queens Marketplace in Waikoloa. We have stayed 3 previous times in Waikoloa and we loved this condo every bit as much if not more. If this condo is available when you're traveling to the Big Island, do not hesitate to stay. We had a fabulous time! Thanks, Kathi B
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
WHAT A FIND! Largest 2 bedroom villa plan at Fairways
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373180
+1 808-987-9238
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
Sedona, AZ
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Our family enjoyed staying at this beautiful condo in a great area close to all the things we wanted to do. The owner provides lots of beach toys and two bikes to ride around the area. The owner was good to work with. Great place to stay!
business
WHAT A FIND! Largest 2 bedroom villa plan at Fairways
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373180
+1 808-987-9238
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
5

Best Big Island Snorkeling Condo area!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This condo is Awesome. No it is not on the beach, but the (3) beaches are so close and convenient it doesn't matter. Great for a couple, prefect for a family or small group! The interior photos do not do it justice. The amenities go on forever...beautiful home, granite counter tops, sitting room off the master bed, huge Master Bath. Wonderful 2nd bedroom. It is 500 yards from walk to the first of 3!!!! beaches in the development.

You get "reserved/resident" access to BEST Snorkeling in the area is on property at Mauna Lani Beach Club.

Mauna Lani Beach club is THE BEST snorkeling beach in the area. ...and we explored all the other "Top" beaches in the area (Mauna Kea Beach, Hapuna Beach, Puako Beach.

Amazingly furnished, with bikes, snorkel gear, beach towels, ipad/TV hook up, wifi, parking, well stocked kitchen... It is just fantastic.

This unit is a brilliant alternative to the Fairmont Orchid and Hapuna Prince resorts. You are close enough to go for a massage, but your accommodations here are more spacious, equally convenient and more affordable especially for a family or small group.

Can't say enough goo things about this.

Distances: 40 minutes north of Kona; 30 Minutes North of the airport; 1h45m-2hr to Hilo (this condo makes trips to Hilo and the volcanoes a little shorter).
12 Minutes to Hapuna Beach resort.

Also a great resort for road cycling (I wish I had time to bring my bike) and Lavaman Triathlon.

The owners are wonderful to work with. You just can't go wrong with this rental!

I will come back to this rental, next time we return to the BIg Island!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
WHAT A FIND! Largest 2 bedroom villa plan at Fairways
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373180
+1 808-987-9238
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
5

Great Townhome at Fairways!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
What a great vacation home we had,couldn't have asked for anything more for the money. Elaine was very accomadating for everything we had questions on and left some special goodies in the fridge.The pool area was great and used often in the evening after days on the beach or running around the Island to see the sights. It was such a wonderful place to return to after a long day of activities. The BBQ grill was used a couple of times and the evening meals on the lanai were very relaxing.Would recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy the island and return to a place you could call home even if it was only for a week.
business
WHAT A FIND! Largest 2 bedroom villa plan at Fairways
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373180
+1 808-987-9238
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
5

Fairways

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This condo felt like it was already ours. Pictures represented exactly what it was like with a quick walk up the path to the pool or 20 minute walk to the Fairmont Orchid. All instructions were very clear and the owner was a pleasure to work with. She was able to accomodate our later check out with an evening flight as well as change our original request dates when asked. The Mauna Lani pool area was also used as a rehearsal wedding area for about 35 quests. I got to witness 2 other condos within the complex but preferred our location.
If ever on the Big Island again I definitely would be contacting the owner again. The condo was not lacking for anything in my opinion and was for sure a home away from home. The Hamakua Plantation Nut Factory is a must see and we also enjoyed rounds of golf at Waikoloa Village as well as Hapuna on the Kohala Coast. Prices were also fair at the Foodland within the Mauna Lani but we did stock up at the Costco in town.
Weather had been super windy but at least 72 degrees and sunny daily. Getting to see whales jumping out of the water while driving along the coast highway was impressive.
Too bad the vacation has to end but the Mauna Lani memory will definitely live on. Thanks again Marilyn