Ocean Beach condo rental - Use Ocean Front Patio 1 night for 2 hours if staying 3 nights or more.
Use Ocean Front Patio 1 night for 2 hours if staying 3 nights or more.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Ocean Beach Condo Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Check out our video for a walk through the property.

Ocean Beach Restaurant week is April 24-May 4.

Staying at House by the Sea enables you to spend 2 hours, surrounding sunset, on the ocean front patio of the main house for 1 evening, if your stay is 3 nights or more.

Be entertained by the setting sun, the Ocean Beach pier, tourists savoring the tidepools and the sight and sound of pounding ocean waves. You can kick back, enjoy a beautiful blue glass gas fire pit. Bring your dinner, drinks and smores to the patio to say goodbye to a great day. Gas BBQ available upon request.

House by the Sea is modern, fresh and fully stocked. The rooms have character and are decorated in sun and sea colors. All artwork is original, with scenes from Ocean Beach. (Can you tell, we love our town.)

The sea bird bedroom has a queen bed, comfortable mattress and full mirrored closets with shelves. The adjoining private bathroom has a bathtub and shower. The Ocean Beach pier bedroom with a queen bed and comfortable mattress has an adjoining bathroom with a shower and full mirrored closets with shelves. The 3rd bathroom is a powder room off the main living area. A leather queen sofa sleeper is a short distance from the powder room for your convenience.

The dining area seats 6, plus 3 bar stools for a quick meal. The kitchen is brand new with state of the art appliances including a coffee maker, tea kettle, blender and toaster. The refrigerator provides you with crushed and cubed ice as well as filtered water. Pack N Play and small outdoor grill, available upon request.

Walk less than a 1/4 block to soak in the setting sun along with locals who make it an evening ritual.

The beach will call to you. Thankfully, it is only 2 blocks away. With a walk score of 78, you can walk to the Olive Tree Market, many outstanding restaurants, Bo Beau, Ortega's, and the The 3rd Corner for wine tasting and fabulous dining. Raglan Public House, The Joint and Ortega's are blocks away. Not to mention shopping on Newport Avenue along with our Farmer's Market on Wednesday evenings. If that isn't enough to keep you entertained, there is always basic cable TV, a blue ray player, DVDs as well as a Roku in your House by the Sea. Free WiFi.

Keywords: ocean view, Ocean Beach pier, new, modern, contemporary, state of the art stainless steel appliances, beach decor without being cheesy, unique use of ocean front yard and patio for one evening of stay with 5 nights or more, walk score of 78, close by beach, tidepools, restaurants, grocery stores, WiFi, vacation in paradise.

More Details
Hide Details

Our home in Ocean Beach has a main house and attached guest house. I run a graphic design business and have two beautiful German Shepherds.

The Owner purchased this condo in 2010

The house is less than a 1/4 block away from the ocean. We love being able to walk everywhere.

Walk score of 78. Walking to the tidepools, beach, restaurants, shops. Everything else is 5-15 minutes away by car. Great malls, water sports at Fiesta Island, downtown San Diego, walking trails, beautiful harbor, Balboa Park, museums, Sea World, the Zoo, Cabrillo National Park and Coronado. Wine tasting at 3rd Corner is high on our list of must do events in Ocean Beach.

35 Reviews of Property 373133 in Ocean Beach, California

Steps to the ocean & 2 blocks to the beach, special rates for May
average rating of 4.9428573 based on 35 reviews
business
Steps to the ocean & 2 blocks to the beach, special rates for May
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373133vb
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Phoenix, Arizona
5

Couples weekend at the beach!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This condo was the perfect basecamp for a weekend at the beach with our friends. The location couldn't be better for walking to the beach, pier and town. There really isn't any good views from the condo itself but it is filled with light and steps to the ocean. We were all impressed by how clean and well appointed the rental was and how comfortable the beds and furniture was as well. Also, having two rooms that were similar in size both with on suites helped both couples have privacy and feel like we weren't compromising on space. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend the rental to families, friend getaways and couples for short or long term stays. The booking process was easy and clear and the manager was easy to reach and helpful. Overall we were impressed and felt like we'd found a hidden gem with great value for the cost.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Steps to the ocean & 2 blocks to the beach, special rates for May
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373133vb
Ocean Beach San Diego County
5

Family Spring Break

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We stayed for 5 nights at the House by the Sea for a Spring Break family vacation. It was represented very accurately in the website, with the photos showing the apartment exactly like it was. The home was very clean and everything was in great condition. We enjoyed walking to the beach and the cliffs even though the weather didn't cooperate. The property is located within easy driving distance of SeaWorld and the Zoo. Karen was very easy to deal with and was responsive without invading on our space and family time. The property is also located near enough to restaurants in Ocean Beach so that you can walk to dinner without worrying about parking. We tried several restaurants and would recommend the Pizza Port which had great pizza. We would highly recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Steps to the ocean & 2 blocks to the beach, special rates for May
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373133vb
Ocean Beach San Diego County
5

Canadian at Sea

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This property was exactly as listed, and owner was quick to respond to all email. The atmosphere in the Ocean Beach area is wonderful, the little shops up and down the street were fantastic. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting a laid back, peaceful holiday. We arrived on Christmas day and found BBQ House, this restaurant had excellent service, friendly staff and BIG portions of food with fantastic taste. Maybe need a list of stores or restaurants open during holidays, found it hard with no food or even coffee in the house when we arrived.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Guests, I'm so glad you found a place open, Christmas Day with great food and service. I'll be sure and add the BBQ House to my list of recommendations.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Steps to the ocean & 2 blocks to the beach, special rates for May
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373133vb
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Arizona
5

A Paradise By The Sea....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We brought our family to stay at House by the Sea and had such a wonderful time while there! I agree with everyone else, the pictures, although they are nice, does not compare to seeing this condo in person! First off, it is absolutely emmaculate! Everything is first class and yes...those beds are so comfortable! There is everything you need, all the way down to the shampoo in each shower! We cooked our meals and ate together as a family before taking our daily bike ride to the beach (which is a 5 minute walk away). We'd get up early to the crisp air and have our coffee on the patio only to lay down at night falling asleep to the sound of the waves crashing on cliffs outside our window. One of the evenings, we took wine and marshmellows to Karen's patio which she so graciously allowed us to reserve. We arrived to find wine glasses, plates, skewers..everything we'd need to enjoy the ever so breathtaking sunset. We roasted marshmellows in the gorgeous blus glass fire pit and took many pictures of the beautiful our eyes were soaking in...
I will bring my family back to House by the Sea...it's is what I like to call "a taste of Luxury".
Thank you Karen and also a shout out to Jody...who took the time to get us situated upon arrival, we really appreciated it.
Today is actually my fist day back at work, and looking at the pictures makes me sad that I have to wait another year before going back...."maybe I need to rethink this and return sooner"!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Steps to the ocean & 2 blocks to the beach, special rates for May
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373133vb
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Bay Area CA
5

Beautiful Apartment in Peaceful San Diego Neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The accomodations were perfect.I especially enjoyed the lovely window views when cooking in the very efficient kitchen! There is a nice Trader Joes 10 minutes across town near the Vons for large shopping trips. My daughters thoroughly enjoyed doing their cross country running workouts at the beautiful Sunset Clffs Natural Preserve and it was my favorite place to walk...thanks for the recommendation Karen! We enjoyed watching the fishermen on the pier and experiencing the nearby beaches. Mission Beach was a favorite with the teenagers due to the roller coaster and general atmosphere and is a 10 minute drive. I would exercise caution letting teenagers roam the Ocean Beach downtown at night, our girls were somewhat disturbed by some intoxicated folks they encountered...the stairway is probably not the best way to walk at night!
It was a great location, beautiful apartment, and we only wish we had more than 3 days. Would love to retuen sometime for a longer stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Steps to the ocean & 2 blocks to the beach, special rates for May
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373133vb
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Portland, OR
5

Great property and location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Our family of 3 for 5 days, and had a family friend join us for an overnight stay. The accommodations were spacious even with all of us there. The apartment is in excellent condition, and as others have commented, is cleaner than my house! The location is excellent and a bonus was having a parking spot. We had excellent communication with the owner. We highly recommend taking advantage of an evening on their ocean front patio--it is truly a beautiful set up and they very thoughtfully had everything ready for us. The deck from the apartment also has an ocean view (although limited) and was a pleasant area to hang out. The only drawback for us was the flight path, and this was minor. The location is within walking distance of many things and short driving distance to various San Diego sites. The recommendations provided by Karen were spot on. Thank you for a fantastic stay!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Steps to the ocean & 2 blocks to the beach, special rates for May
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373133vb
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Las Vegas NV
5

Great time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Once again we had a great time in OB. Karen as always did a great job making sure we had everything we needed. Looking forward to our next trip.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Steps to the ocean & 2 blocks to the beach, special rates for May
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373133vb
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Las Vegas, Nevada
4

Great kitchen in a well maintained unit

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Unit was perfectly furnished with up to date furniture, appliances, fixtures. The place was well stocked in the kitchen with everything from pots, pans, dishes, baggies, trash bags, plenty of TP, soap, towels, sheets, pillows etc. Seating was perfect for TV viewing or discussion etc. Bathrooms are awesome. Karen was very easy to work with and responsive. Watching the sunset on the owner's patio was wonderful. We wished we could have stayed longer enjoying the fire pit with the sound of the ocean as the evening progressed. We had a great stay. The only thing I will say not as enjoyable is the parking. My van was too big to easily park it in the area we were expected to park. I was very disappointed to find out we could not use space in front of the garage. The cancelation policy will prevent us from booking this place again unfortunately. We came close to losing lots of money for circumstances out of our control. Although not Karen's problem, we wanted to reschedule for another date rather than expect a refund.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Silvia, thank you for letting us know how difficult it was to park your van. We are working to open the space in front of the garage up for all guests in the future. Unfortunately, the closer you get to the ocean, the more difficult it is to park.

Our cancellation policy is standard. If a guest tries to cancel 48 hours before their arrival, we would not be able to find new guests to rent the apartment. We can refund the cleaning fee and hotel tax.

Thanks for being great guests.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Steps to the ocean & 2 blocks to the beach, special rates for May
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373133vb
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Alamo, CA
5

San Diego get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I traveled with a guest and we had an amazing time. The place was immaculate and had everything you needed including incredible views of the ocean. It was clean, comfortable, and such a better experience than staying in a hotel. In spite of some off and on rain and overcast, we maxmized our 2 full days down there, which included a hike in Torrey Pines and visiting several of the restuarants recommended by the owner. The rain had absolutely no impact on our stay. It's a very short walk to the restaurants and shops on Newport Avenue in Ocean Beach and the pier. I personally like the feel of Ocean Beach, more down to earth. I'd highly recommend it and plan to come down again and stay with my children.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Steps to the ocean & 2 blocks to the beach, special rates for May
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373133vb
Ocean Beach San Diego County
5

Soul-Healing Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
5 of us wanted a warm getaway for our friend's 30th birthday. After looking around, we found Karen's rental, and dealing with her was easy from the get-go. The location of the apartment was awesome, everything was clean and new, we all comfortably fit, and being able to spend a night out on the back deck to watch the sunset was an added bonus. You won't be disappointed if you stay here. Highly recommended!
Helpful votes: 1/1