Darby house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Darby House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Detached Unit, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Nestled in the forest on the flanks of Trapper Peak, this rustic timber frame home offers a peaceful retreat in the woods. Adjacent to national forest with wilderness nearby, you will find easy access to mountain lakes, hiking trails, blue ribbon fishing, big game and bird hunting, mountain biking, back packing and more. Guide services easily arranged with the help of owner/manager next door.

Master and loft plus fouton in main house with full bath; large detached apartment above the shop with Queen and fouton with half bath.

Keywords: fly fishing, West Fork of Bitterroot river, mountain peaks, hunting, biking, forest, wildlife, hiking, secluded home, quiet

My father built this home and we (his four kids) have kept it in the family since his passing. My brother lives next door, 1/4 mile down the dirt driveway. He is a true outdoorsman and knows the country like the back of his hand. We love the Bitterroot and are happy we can share its uniqueness and our home with others who enjoy being away from it all. Because of its pristine nature we have a land trust to protect if from development 'in perpetuity'

Coffee on the deck in the morning often means seeing the local elk herd or watching the wild turkeys pop up from the brush. Moose and an occasional black bear sometimes wander up as well. The house is rustic but very comfortable and a great place for family gatherings or to return after a day of outdoor recreation.

5 Reviews of Property 373120 in Darby, Montana

Seclusion and the great outdoors in this Bitterroot Haven
average rating of 4.8 based on 5 reviews
business
Seclusion and the great outdoors in this Bitterroot Haven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373120vb
5414802543
Darby Bitterroot Valley
Scio, New York
5

Home base

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We chose this rental due to its proximity to the Bitterroot. We spent two weeks fly fishing and this cabin suited all our needs: clean, casual relaxed living area, basic kitchen and full bath, deck with grill, washer/dryer. The floor to ceiling windows in the living room and master bedroom offer great views and enhanced the awareness of being in nestled in a pine forest. ThIs is backcountry living with amenities; the cabin is remote and isolated, internet and data service aren't available= all of this was a bonus for us. Easy access to Darby for basic amenities. The owners are very nice people who were available and attentive to our needs/conditions of the cabin but weren't mettlesome. We'd go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Seclusion and the great outdoors in this Bitterroot Haven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373120vb
5414802543
Darby Bitterroot Valley
Alberta Canada
5

Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband and I travelled from Alberta, Canada to have a quiet trip and could not have been happier with cabin, it was exactly what we were looking for. Spacious, clean and very comfortable. The cabin is situated only minutes from the river, where my husband and I did a lot of fly fishing. Close to hiking trails and the town of Darby for ammenities. One of the owners is just down the road and made sure we had everything we needed and even gave us the name of guide for our fly fishing trip. We really enjoyed the cabin, the scenery and tranquility provided!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Seclusion and the great outdoors in this Bitterroot Haven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373120vb
5414802543
Darby Bitterroot Valley
Moscow, ID
5

Great Place To Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
If you're looking for great fishing access to the West Fork of the Bitterroot River in a secluded setting, then this is the place for you. Even with many other people fishing and recreating in the area, you still feel at home in the wilderness since this "cabin haven" is situated off the highway back in the woods where the only living creatures you might run into are bears, deer, elk, and turkeys. Great fly fishing is only a few minutes away.

The owner met us at the cabin when we arrived to make sure we had everything we needed and to answer any questions we had. Place was clean, spacious, quiet, and relaxing. Couldn't ask for anything more at a terrific price. Will be back one day!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Seclusion and the great outdoors in this Bitterroot Haven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373120vb
5414802543
Darby Bitterroot Valley
Billings, Mt.
4

4th of July Family Retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our family really enjoyed the cabin as it had all of the amenities we needed. It looked exactly like the photos on the listing. We liked the openness inside as there were 8 of us and we were always together cooking etc. It was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The apartment was nice as we were able to get away from the rest of the group when we wanted to turn in early.

The owner was very helpful making sure we had everything and checked to see that everything was working.properly.

We would and have recommended this property to friends.

The guys did a lot of fishing and had good luck. We enjoyed the seclusion and went on many walks.

We hope to return some day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Seclusion and the great outdoors in this Bitterroot Haven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373120vb
5414802543
Darby Bitterroot Valley
Sacramento, CA
5

Spacious, comfortable retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We were pleasantly surprised by this cabin. Surprisingly spacious and with all of the expected amenities, in a secluded location with nearby river and hiking out the front door as well as in adjacent public parkland. Not too far from Darby for provisions. Clean, well maintained, with one of the owners just down the road who was very helpful. Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Dave, hope you all can return! 21 wild turkeys walked right past me when I was at the back of the house last week!
Helpful votes: 1/1