Tahoe Valley cabin rental - Gardener Mountain—a quiet peaceful neighborhood in South Lake Tahoe
Gardener Mountain—a quiet peaceful neighborhood in South Lake Tahoe
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Tahoe Valley Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Location: Gardner’s Mountain, South Lake Tahoe, California slt permit #103205

Accommodations: Expanded Classic Pine A–Frame, 3 Bedrooms and a Loft, 1.5 Baths, sleeps 8

Near the casinos at Stateline and the Heavenly Valley Ski Resort, the cabin is centrally located and close to beaches and lake recreation areas. Cross country skiing in the forest is just down the street.

'Jerry’s Place' is a charming, cozy Tahoe classic. The 1960s home is tucked up among pine-lined streets in the quiet neighborhood of Gardner Mountain.

The cabin comfortably accommodates up to eight people both for work and play and is designed to make your stay a pleasant experience.

You'll love the easy open flow between the kitchen/dining area and living room. The kitchen is well equipped with a gas burning stove, microwave and dishwasher.

Other kitchen essentials provided include a coffee maker, pots and pans, bake-ware, mixer, blender, dinnerware, utensils, and wine glasses. (A visit to the Picchetti Winery South Lake Tahoe tasting room to pick up some wine is a must.) Savor meals in the cozy dinning area for eight or on the deck under the sun umbrella or the stars. Bon appetite!

There are three separate sleeping rooms in the cabin. plenty of pillows and blankets, linens are optional. The master bedroom with a king sized bed is an intimate upstairs spot perfect to rest and relax...read a bestseller .

The second bedroom has a queen sized bed and looks out onto a pine tree garden with a chop wood fence.

The third bedroom is called “the kid’s room.” The two twin beds are in a large room so the youngsters can spread out and kick back, play board games or retire to an evening of zzzzz's!

The bathroom is stocked with soaps, shampoo and conditioner, and a hair dryer. The ½ bath is small but with up to eight guests...a real blessing! It's really cute too, tucked upstairs with a pocket door, very near to the Master bedroom,

The washer and dryer are just waiting for your dirty clothes. (You will most certainly have some if you hike in the high Sierra, spend the day at the lake, bike ride on or off trail, or mount a horse and clip clop to Fallen Leaf Lake. Not to mention the days on the slopes.)

So, fire-up the gas grill while your clothes are washing and grill some burgers or fresh tomatoes and other veggies. There is a gourmet Raley’s Superstore five minutes away. Yum!

During the chilly months you may put a log in the wood-burning fireplace and in the spring and summer enjoy outdoor dining on the deck surrounded by pine trees and an .occasional saucy Blue Jay.

When the temperature plunges rest assured at the end of the day you’ll stay nice and warm with the central heater throughout the cabin.

Jerry’s Place is located two blocks away from South Lake Tahoe High School. The school is nestled next to the El Dorado National Forest and you can access the track for exercise and the soccer and baseball fields.

A few blocks down Clement there is a trail that winds its way to Fallen Leaf Lake and into the Desolation Wilderness and is direct access to the El Dorado National Forest, it is a pleasant hike of about 45 minutes. The trailhead leads into a very gently rolling hill and meadow area which is perfect for an after dinner hike or some cross-country skiing. (Keep your eyes peeled for critters.)

Don't drive to the slopes! The ski bus is just down the street from the cabin.

Tahoe is California’s jewel and playground. The South Lake area offers a myriad of festivals, art shows, shops, restaurants (including a classic Irish pub with frequent Celtic music concerts), And don't miss the activity at Valhalla where they have frequent movie nights or concerts in the Boat House and actives for children in the summer months. Outdoor activities like parasailing, snow and water skiing, nature walks, dog sledding, and sleigh rides, backpacking trails, dog friendly restaurants (deck noshing), snowshoeing, ice skating at Stateline. beaches, biking, boating, tours, historic sites such as Vikingholm, cruises, fishing, golfing, Camp Richardson, horseback riding, rafting and so much more there’s not enough room. The closest 'playgrounds' are: Baldwin Beach, Pope Beach, Camp Richardson Resort Beach, El Dorado Beach, Kiva Beach (a.k.a. dog Nirvana) . The Taylor Creek Nature Area is a must for the kids and the salmon run in the fall is pretty spectacular. Regan Beach, Tallac Picnic Area.

The cabin is located up the hill from the 3.9 mile Pope-Baldwin Bike Path, a bike-only trail through aspen and pine. The bike path is kid friendly and runs through the Taylor Creek Nature Area.

In the fall, the golden aspens will take your breath away. You’ll spot lots of critters on early morning rides. The trail hugs Highway 89 and leads west to Emerald Bay.

There’s also the South Lake Tahoe Bike Path, also paved, which runs in the opposite direction through the city of South Lake Tahoe and then on to Nevada and the casinos.

And if you’re a coffee nut, Alpina Gourmet Coffee is down the hill from Jerry’s. The knotty pine café has the best roasted coffee in the basin and is reported to have a ghost. If you visit during autumn, especially during the height of the yellow and crimson leaf display, you’ll have a chance to see the Alpina apparition!!!

Keywords: Expanded A-Frame, classic cabin, knotty-pine, cabin, ski chalet, house in woods, tahoe getaway, mountain cabin, mountain, getaway, Tahoe cabin, Lake Tahoe cabin, Lake Tahoe Getaway, Tahoe getaway, Tahoe ski cabin, Tahoe ski chalet, ski cabin, Gardener Mountain, Near South Lake Tahoe High School, casinos, airport, parking, rv parking

More Details
Hide Details

My father-in-law built the cabin next door to Jerry's Place. We always admired the workmanship in Jerry's classic expanded A-Frame and finally bought it about 20 years ago to join the two properties.

Jerry's is named after its builder who constructed about half a dozen homes with the same floor plan and solid, well-built construction in South Lake Tahoe on Gardener mountain.

Patty Derobertis purchased this cabin in 1990

Our extended family has grown up and now we really just need the original cabin. We've decided to share Jerry's Place with others.

We have spent so many happy days here—eating family meals, coming home after hikes and skiing, playing at the beach and celebrating family events.

The cabin offers the best of both worlds. When you're on the property the every day hubbub is a million miles away. And yet, shopping, and full city amenities are just blocks away.

The other charming thing about Jerry's is that Gardener Mountain (where it's located) that it is a filled with year round residents. This keeps the area quiet and friendly.

We love Jerry's and are delighted to share our home with you.

A few years ago I became dependent on a wheelchair and there is plenty of room to get around. The tall windows to the ceiling give a wonderful view of the beautiful blue sky and pines just outside. The marvelous fireplace is vented to give additional warmth to the room and the roaring fire is so cozy. Wonderful family times have been had during summers on the deck.

Jerry's Place has a large, easy access down stairs with only two low steps up from the outside.

The downstairs has two of the bedrooms, the full bath ( with dual hand bars in the bath), kitchen, living and dining area, and opens onto a beautiful deck where mountain jays zip through the air competing with other birds, squirrels chatter and chipmunks scamper.

I can enjoy the mountains and have complete access at Jerry's.

The property is boat and RV friendly and is on a larger corner lot. There is a large paved parking area a driveway and garage.

The off street parking can be a life saver when it snows because you can't park on the street because of the plowing.

One of the things I really like about Jerry's is the access to the El Dorado National Forest. About half a mile down the street the neighborhood ends and the forest begins.

There are gentle slopes there for the kids to sled down and it's a prime and less frequented cross country ski area.

It's a special treat to rise early, walk in the forest and spy the wild life.

13 Reviews of Property 372618 in Tahoe Valley, California

Classic, Roomy Tahoe Cabin—Casinos, Skiing, Lake
average rating of 4.75 based on 13 reviews
business
Classic, Roomy Tahoe Cabin—Casinos, Skiing, Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372618vbi
+916 383-0613
Tahoe Valley South Lake Tahoe
5

Brilliant!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had a great time staying at the cabin- cozy, clean, and very comfortable! Cheers!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Classic, Roomy Tahoe Cabin—Casinos, Skiing, Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372618vbi
+916 383-0613
Tahoe Valley South Lake Tahoe
San Francisco
5

GREAT CABIN

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We rent cabins often in South Lake Tahoe and this is one of the best places we have rented. It's affordable, no hassle and very spacious. We were only 4 people, but we had plenty of room and could have comfortably fit 6-8.

Great location, great parking, clean and cozy. Definitely recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Vanessa. Enjoyed having you stay with us.

Patty
business
Classic, Roomy Tahoe Cabin—Casinos, Skiing, Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372618vbi
+916 383-0613
Tahoe Valley South Lake Tahoe
5

Great Cabin, Great Location, Great Deal!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The pictures online do not do this place justice! Before we arrived we knew the location was going to be good and we were very happy with the price, but when we actually arrived... we were absolutely impressed with this vacation rental! This is a beautiful, roomy A-frame cabin that gives you the real "Tahoe" feel, but with all of the amenities of home. Great woodsy property in a quiet neighborhood that's very close to trails as well as stores and restaurants. This cabin was very comfortable and when it came time to head home, it was actually kind of hard to leave. Thank you very much to Patty for her hospitality and we promise we'll be back as soon as we can!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a good time. Tahoe can be so beautiful in the fall and of course I can offer better rates on off season. Thank you so much for sharing.
business
Classic, Roomy Tahoe Cabin—Casinos, Skiing, Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372618vbi
+916 383-0613
Tahoe Valley South Lake Tahoe
Folsom
5

Comfortable and Cozy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I recently had my bachelor party at this cabin and it was very affordable and comfortable. It sleeps eight, but for the thrill-seekers/sleeping-bag goers, it could very well sleep up to a dozen or more (although I would not necessarily recommend it). Great kitchen, as well as a BBQ grill; it also included a flat screen TV with cable, wood fireplace, an upstairs and downstairs porch. It is located within walking distance of a Raley's and Starbucks. It is also reasonable close to hiking areas such as Fallen Leaf Lake.

Also, the owner was very helpful! I definitely plan to stay here again!
Owner's Response: thank you Justin! While the house seems like it would accomodate more people, we are registered with the City for 8 and 3 Cars, any more than that, if there happened to be a distrubance, the Police might frown. Looking forward to having you return.
Patty
business
Classic, Roomy Tahoe Cabin—Casinos, Skiing, Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372618vbi
+916 383-0613
Tahoe Valley South Lake Tahoe
El Cerrito, CA
5

superbowl weekend stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Clean, warm, roomy, well-maintained. I was vary satisfied with the location and the stay was a success. I will be coming back this summer for sure. Thank you Pat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The next best thing would have been if the 49ers had won the Super Bowl. Thanks for sharing and will look forward to having you visit again.
Patty
business
Classic, Roomy Tahoe Cabin—Casinos, Skiing, Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372618vbi
+916 383-0613
Tahoe Valley South Lake Tahoe
5

Family play day in the snow

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Our family booked our stay for a week....ski week....fun fun fun!
The cabin was great! Clean and had everything we could need to enjoy our family.
We did not forget anything but if we had the cabin is so close to stores, restaurants, etc....
Our grandchildren even joined us for two days and built snowmen on both the decks.

My family has stayed in other locations and I would have to say that this cabin was a fantastic value.
We will definitely look to here again before any of our past cabin stays.

Thank you for our great experience/memories!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You are most kind, that's what it's all about! Thanks for sharing.
business
Classic, Roomy Tahoe Cabin—Casinos, Skiing, Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372618vbi
+916 383-0613
Tahoe Valley South Lake Tahoe
San Francisco
5

nja

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This place is perfect for 6-8 people. The living area is a bit smaller for 8 people. I would def. stay again at this property.
Owner's Response: Thank you all for sharing with us over the 2012 Holiday. We have a bucket full of family memories of good times had at Jerry's place and also love to sneak up, just the two of us, for a quiet weekend. Happy New Year and thanks for treading so softly.........................Patty
business
Classic, Roomy Tahoe Cabin—Casinos, Skiing, Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372618vbi
+916 383-0613
Tahoe Valley South Lake Tahoe
Sausalito
4

A great week

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The cabin was nice and beds super comfy. The pictures represent the property well. The owner was helpful and responsive. Everything was clean and ready for us. For our two families, the arrangement of beds, including the two twin beds in the loft, was perfect. The kitchen had everything we needed and the bathrooms worked fine for the 8 of us (thanks to the 1/2 bath upstairs). We were so close to Fallen Leaf Lake, Baldwin and Pope Beaches, Cascade Lake, Heavenly, etc. The only thing keeping this review from being 5 stars is the traffic on the nearby road. Mornings on the deck would have been much more peaceful without all the noise nearby. But, the value this cabin offered and the convenience of the location made up for it. HIghlights of our trip were a pontoon boat rental at Fallen Leaf Lake, an easy hike to Cascade Falls (the 3 year old did it!), Baldwin Beach, Tallac Historic SIte and Truckee River Rafting.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Yes Julie, I agree, the morning traffic on 10th Street does destroy the tranquil feeling of the area on the lower deck, guess I've just blocked it out over the years, Thanks for taking the time to comment and thank you for sharing.
Patty
business
Classic, Roomy Tahoe Cabin—Casinos, Skiing, Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372618vbi
+916 383-0613
Tahoe Valley South Lake Tahoe
Boston
5

A rustic cabin feel, but with luxurious comfort and great amenities

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had a wonderful time at Jerry's little cabin in the woods. All the previous reviews are very accurate. I'd say the pictures are also pretty representative of the house, although they fail to convey the charm you feel when you enter the house. It feels cozy and comfortable, while also, due to the cathedral ceiling in the living room, feeling spacious and modern. The kitchen was easy to cook in and the couch wonderful to curl up in after a strenuous day of hiking, kayaking, bicycling, and/or horseback riding - all of which are short drives away. The beds were comfortable and we slept like babies after our adventure filled days. Thanks for a great time Pat!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Caroline, it was most enjoyable chatting with you in Maine before you stay. Thank you so much, you were a delight!
Patty
business
Classic, Roomy Tahoe Cabin—Casinos, Skiing, Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372618vbi
+916 383-0613
Tahoe Valley South Lake Tahoe
Travis AFB, CA
3

Nice but not Luxury

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This is a perfectly adequate place to stay if you are on a budget. The beaches and other outdoor activities are not really walking distance if you have kids or if you want to bring anything with you such as coolers, beach toys etc, you will have to load up your car and drive. Be sure to do your research before you go, Pope Beach is closest...the description of the property talks about Fallen Leaf Lake, not a good choice if you have small children and there is no picnic type access. We never could find the "path behind the high school" when we asked a local, she said there was no such path, kind of a big waste of our time. You drive to the lake which is several miles past Pope Beach and park in the day lot, then you have a quarter mile hike but the path is not paved and is uneven. So not for small children. The house is fine, the kitchen is actually very well stocked with equipment for cooking and so on. Everything in the house is worn and rather grungy for my taste, I had to run water through the coffee maker several times to clean out the grounds and build up. I would have given this property a "good" rating but the couch was really nasty and to be honest I had to cover it up with a blanket in order to even sit on it. It really needs a good cleaning or to be replaced. There are a lot of pillows on it, but the when you really look at it, it is very dirty. I had a baby with me and I did not want the baby on the couch. The downstairs bath is fine, the washer and dryer are a huge plus for sure. The little half bath upstairs was helpful. The stairs going up to the second floor loft and master bedroom are a little steep but doable. The master bed was comfy and we slept well. All in all, you get what you pay for, so if you are looking for something affordable and close to the attractions, this place delivers. The owner was very kind and generous, she said we could check in early but we didn't get there until later anyway. She is very responsive on email and helpful.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Good grief, I did not realize the couch was that bad except for the arms. I must admit it was a very poor choice of fabric for Tahoe the Micro suede gives different illusions, unfortunately sold a bill of goods how easliy it cleans. We are not about luxury to be sure, just hope those who stay with us will be comfortable and enjoy the mountain setting. We most certainly appreciate your comments, thanks for taking the time and thank you for staying with us.
Patty