Playa del Carmen condo rental - The beach is only a few steps away! Enjoy the sun
The beach is only a few steps away! Enjoy the sun
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Playa del Carmen Condo Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 3.5 Bathrooms, Convertible bed(s), Sleeps 7

Escape to warm turquoise waters and serene beach strolls with your own Penthouse Caribbean Dream. Savor moonlit margaritas in your private rooftop Jacuzzi with exclusive entrance to the rooftop pool. With a FABULOUS LOCATION just steps from the beach (1/2 block from the beach), and a couple blocks from 5th Avenue, Penthouse Caribbean Dream offers you a modern, comfortable, spacious and totally equipped condo with all the amenities that you need for an amazing vacation with your loved ones. Two bedrooms comfortably sleep 1-6 people. Whether you are coming for fun or a relaxing vacation, you will find everything that you need, the beach is literally across the street, amazing restaurants around the corner, convenience store 5 minutes away, taxis, water activities! A perfect Oasis, plus the building is located in the most up-and-coming area with 24 hr security. Take advantage of our SPECIAL RATES and enjoy your stay in your own Penthouse Caribbean Dream only steps away from the beach!

Things to do in Playa del Carmen: Playa del Carmen boasts miles of sandy, palm lined beaches, bordered by the crystal clear waters of the Caribbean. Dozens of varied restaurants and hotels are available to meet any budget or taste, and a tranquil and serene atmosphere and attitude that you won't find in tourist meccas like Cancun or Cozumel.

Hit the beach and enjoy many watersports from windsurfing to scuba diving, jetskiing to peaceful snorkeling. Lie on the beach and tan, or boogie the night away to live music at a local hotspot. Take a short daytrip and visit Mayan ruins nestled in the jungle at Coba, or overlooking the Caribbean at Tulum. Visit the natural aquariums at Xel-Ha, or the nearby park at Xcaret.

Stroll along the new pedestrian walkway and discover fine dining and great shopping opportunities. Take a day trip and have an adventure...centoes, snorkeling, ruins, swimming, lagoons - it's all amazing!

Discover the Mayan ruins of Tulum!: Playa del Carmen has some interesting Mayan ruins near by, but if you want to see some truly magnificent pyramids you'll want to visit these sites. Tulum is about a 45 minute ride (by bus, taxi, or rental car) south of Playa del Carmen. The only Mayan city built directly on the sea, Tulum is thought to date from 400-900A.D. After exploring the ruins and enjoying the spectacular view from atop EL CASTILLO.

Don't forget to bring your swim suit! You can take a refreshing dip in the Caribbean from the pristine beach in front of the site. Tulum is the most visited Maya ruin and is the biggest attraction on the coast. It was the only Maya city built on the coast, possibly having housed 2000 people and once functioned as a trade center. There is no question why Tulum holds great significance to the Mayans.

We definitely recommend visiting Tulum, it can be done in half day or a full day, and it's a wonderful opportunity to explore the mysterious and very impressive Mayan world!

Eating in Playa del Carmen & Some Recommendations: There are nearly 75 restaurants in Playa, with foods of every type and price range.

Ah Cacao Chocolate Café, 5ta Ave. at Constituyentes. A chocolate-themed coffee shop, selling chocolate in all its forms (including pure cacao beans). Famous for the brownies. Probably serves the best lattes and espresso in Playa.

Babes Noodles and Bar: Very popular restaurant bar serving Thai-style noodles, loud music, and lots of beer. Two locations: Calle 10 between 5th and 10th, and 5th Ave. between calle 26 and 28.

El Asador de Manolo - Argentine owned restaurant with the best steaks in Playa! Located on 5th Avenue between 30 and 32 Streets.

Ileana's Il Pescadore located on the North end of Playa, a newly renamed Italian Restaurant that is a must on any visit to Playa.

La Casa del Agua is on 5th Avenue at 2nd Street, Playa del Carmen. Great ambiance; the Calamari at lunch was excellent !

La Cueva del Chango -Calle 38. Contemporary Mexican cuisine in an offbeat 'jungle garden' setting.

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 372582 in Playa del Carmen, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Great Deal! Luxury Beachfront Penthouse! Ocean View, Pool, Jacuzzi, Wi-Fi...!
average rating of 4.3636365 based on 11 reviews
business
Great Deal! Luxury Beachfront Penthouse! Ocean View, Pool, Jacuzzi, Wi-Fi...!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372582
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo
4

Great property, Definitely recommended !!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We stayed there for 5 night. Place was very clean when we arrived. Very well decorated. Doesn't face the beach but located literally ten steps away from the beach, balcony provides a decent view of the beach. Beds were very comfortable, private Jacuzzi area on the roof was very cool ( Jacuzzi didn't had hot water) and also had private steps leading to the pool which was never too crowded ( also provides a good view of the beach). Condo had a washer/dryer in it, WiFi, beach n regular towels and pretty much everything one would need.
Only two issues we had were power loss only in our unit when we got back from Chichen Itza and no water the other day in the whole building. But the property manager Carlos was able to resolve both the issues promptly. Ricardo, the security guard was extremely helpful in carrying the luggage and was extremely friendly and courteous (Customer service was very satisfactory) . Also there is a 24/7 police post about 20 steps from the building.
Property is within 5 minutes drive to Walmart and 5th avenue which has all the stores/shops one could imagine.
In general it was a good stay and everything was very satisfactory.
Owner's Response: Dear Unser,

Thank you for your review, we are very happy to know that you had a pleasant stay.
We are very sorry for the inconviniences you had, normally this doesn´t happen but we are glad our property manager could be there fast to help you.

Thanks again for your words and pleae think in us on your next visit to PDC, we are sure you will come again!!

Cheers

I
business
Great Deal! Luxury Beachfront Penthouse! Ocean View, Pool, Jacuzzi, Wi-Fi...!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372582
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo
5

Amazing place, good location, great for couples!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My husband and I stayed at the penthouse for one week from December 14, 2013. This was our first time in Playa and at this penthouse. Coming from New York, we loved having so much space to ourselves. The first day we went to the Walmart nearby to buy groceries and some snacks for the week. We also found the convenience store at the end of the street very useful. We had breakfast every morning in the kitchen which is huge, then we alternated between going to the pool upstairs and the beach other days. We liked going to the Royal beach club across the street which has some excellent food and music! Having Satellite TV was very convenient, we were able to watch some reality shows in English. We liked having the private terrace just for us in the evening after coming back from the pool or the beach. We are thinking of coming back perhaps with another couple. The place is perfect for two couples because there are two good size bedrooms each with its own bathroom. As for the activities, we went one day snorkeling tour to Cozumel which was great, thanks for the info! The only thing I would suggest is to have more information about car rentals, however the taxis are very cheap, and 5th avenue is a short walk away. The shuttle that you suggested to/from the airport was good. Overall, we had a great vacation!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great Deal! Luxury Beachfront Penthouse! Ocean View, Pool, Jacuzzi, Wi-Fi...!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372582
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo
2

Nice place, terrible on-site management.

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I spent the New Years holiday and the week following it in this condo with a small group of friends and although the unit itself was nice enough, the management ruined the experience for us. The washer was not working upon arrival but we were assured it would be fixed immediately. Each day the manager made different excuses as to why he couldn't have it fixed. He never followed up with us on repair schedules and seemed generally uninterested in the fact that we had no clean towels for the majority of our stay. We also requested maid service (at cost) multiple times and these requests were ignored. Again the manager made excuses as to why he couldn't schedule maid service. The "jacuzzi" does not get warm enough to use it comfortably whatsoever. When we complained that the water in the jacuzzi wasn't warm, we were told that it wasn't a "hot tub" and that the water wasn't supposed to get warm. ARE YOU KIDDING ME? In what world does a jacuzzi not get warm? It was completely useless to us during our visit. The hot water heater had about enough water for one hot shower at a time, after which you'd need to wait about an hour for it to get the water warm again. All in all the unit is nice enough but definitely not worth the money we spent to have all the extras (aka rooftop and jacuzzi) which were ultimately of no value. There are way better options in Playa.
Owner's Response: Dear Husein,

We acknowledge receipt of your concerns, we are sorry you feel that your stay has not been entirely satisfactory.

We were not aware that the washing machine was not working upon your arrival. It must have broken down with the previous guests, and by the time we where notified, it was impossible to find a technician who could come immediately to repair it, due to the time of the year, "New Years" In Mexico is a huge deal.

Cleaning services were requested last minute by you, it was previously explained to you at the time of the booking, that cleaning booking must be done in advance before arrival. We do this in order to keep our clients satisfied and our staff organized. Last minute requests are impossible to accommodate, especially during the holidays.These cleaning services must be requested well in advance.

We only wish that you would have contacted us during your stay. You had our email and phone numbers, this has always been our way to communicate. We still wonder why you didn't let us know immediately your concerns, certainly we feel, we deserved the opportunity to try to correct the situation.

We know our property is worth every penny. Many have come and enjoyed their entire stay and returned on other occasions.

The jacuzzis do not have water heaters, perhaps you are referring to hot tubs? They have water heaters to keep water warm or at higher temperatures. Jacuzzi's can be filled with hot water continually at no extra cost to our guest.

Finally there always been plenty of towels for all of our guests, never had any complaints, two bath towels and two beach towels, two hand towels for each guest. This is considered standard for any rental property. Daily towel replacement is never available in any rental accommodation.

I think it is important to note that In our final inspection we found substantial DAMAGE to our unit and furniture, including a completely shattered toilet seat, a broken table glass top, several cups and goblets, a full set of sheets with blood stains that could not be washed and had to be discarded and replaced, you left the property filthy to say the least, plus, several complaints from security staff and neighbours about the noise and disruptive behaviour coming from the unit during your stay.

Above all, we gave you 100% percent of the security deposit back to you.

We thank you for your review and certainly wish you all the best.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great Deal! Luxury Beachfront Penthouse! Ocean View, Pool, Jacuzzi, Wi-Fi...!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372582
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo
5

Pictures don't do justice to this house

Pictures don't do justice to this house
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We just returned from an 8 day trip to PLaya Del Carmen. The Penthouse is a beautiful condo with all the amenities. The rooftop pool was amazing. We were having a tough time deciding where we want to spend time...the beach across the street or the rooftop pool with private access. The kids especially enjoyed the pool. The house was comfortable and convenient. We did not have a car, it was easy to find cabs to get to the ferry, collectivo and other public transport. It is also a short walk away from 5th ave.
business
Great Deal! Luxury Beachfront Penthouse! Ocean View, Pool, Jacuzzi, Wi-Fi...!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372582
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo
5

Great place and location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The best place and location in Playa del cermen'. It was a fantastic location only a steps away from the beach, restaurants, shops, and nightclubs. The condo was all very clean and the building. There was a full-sized kitchen with modern and new appliances including a water purification system which was an added bonus. The condo also has spacious and luxury seating and dining areas and the bedrooms were perfect for our family. There was a full-sized washer and dryer, which was handy towards the end of our stay. The condo had plenty of closet space, storage, and a safe for locking up valuables. We were glad that the condo had beach chairs, beach towels, an umbrella to take to the beach which saved us from having to buy.

We were able to find many restaurants to have breakfast, lunch, and dinner all within a few minutes walk. . There was no need to rent a car (although you could) as taxis were available all day and the cost was no espensive to get around Playa and the surrounding areas including tourist attractions.
W
e were extremely happy with our stay and plan to return again very soon.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your preference. im really happy you enjoyed your stay at Penthouse Caribbean Dream. I need to thank you for being so wonderful guests. I liked your enthusiasm and your friendlyness. I hope to see you again and remember that this is your second home! Cheers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Great Deal! Luxury Beachfront Penthouse! Ocean View, Pool, Jacuzzi, Wi-Fi...!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372582
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo
5

Great Place for Families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Stayed for 9 nights and loved just about everything about the house. Had plenty of room for the entire family and the house is comfortable and felt like home right away. Had everything you need. Everything was clean and ready for us. Private rooftop area is awesome and because the complex is not always full, you get to have the rooftop pool all to yourself most of the time. Neighbor is great with everything a 3-5 minute drive or a short walk or bike ride away. Beach is great. Not really a ocean view as you can only see a small partial view from the patio and make sure they explain in detail how to work the jacuzzi. Other than that, the place is awesome.
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your review and your stay in Penthouse Caribbean Dream! Im happy to know you really enjoy our property and Playa Del Carmen. The private rooftop area or terrace is also our favorite place, we love to be at the jacuzzi or at the lounge sofas. My kids love the hammock! We would like also to have a greater view to the ocean from our balcony, nonetheless the view form the rooftop area is awesome and the beach couldn´t be closer. Our property manager told us you and your family are very nice people We hope to have you and your family again as our guests in the future. Thank you for your preference!

Cheers,

Wendy
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great Deal! Luxury Beachfront Penthouse! Ocean View, Pool, Jacuzzi, Wi-Fi...!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372582
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo
2

First Time in Playa del Carmen

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Condo was clean but wasn't set up as well as we expected as far as the basics. There wasn't any hand soap in any of the bathrooms, there was really nothing to cook with, there was only enough dishwasher soap for one run through (sorry I'm not doing dishes by hand while on vacation) and the grill's starter wasn't working. There were matches but no strike box. The location was further out than what we anticipated and not really close to a market for groceries. We were able to get to the Mega and the cab ride home was 50 pesos so not a big deal. The beach was not up to expectations. It seemed to be for the locals which in itself is ok but when we walked through, I saw more people sitting with 40oz beers which made it a little uncomfortable to walk through with our children. We were able to walk to Mamitas (sp) which helped. It wasn't really close to the 5th Ave. which could be a good thing depending on what you're looking for but it was further out than what we had hoped for. When we were there, we couldn't find the convertible bed so one of our sons ended up sleeping on the couch for the entire stay. However we did feel safe wherever we went and it was quiet at night. Overall I wouldn't recommend Playa del Carmen for families. There seemed to be more couples.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: Dear Patrick,

Thank you for staying with us in Penthouse Caribbean Dream! Im sorry you didn´t liked our beautiful caribbean beach. You saw many locals because beaches in Mexico are not private, are for all people, you wont find any exclusive beach for US citizens. Many people preferr being with locals because Playa del Carmen has an international comunitty and could be interesting talking to people from different places of the world. Playa is an excelent place to spend with your couple and has an excellent night life for grown ups, none the less is a place that has amazing nature parks, beach activities and many otheer places to have fun. 5th Ave. is at 5 minute walk, the same distance to Mamitas Beach Club. It is not our responsability to have groceries or food basics and personal bath products, the guests are responsible for aquiring their own stuff. Thank you for your review, we will try to immprove our service and hope you will visit us again in the future.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Great Deal! Luxury Beachfront Penthouse! Ocean View, Pool, Jacuzzi, Wi-Fi...!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372582
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo
Boston, MA, USA
5

A wonderful place to stay in Playa!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
My husband and I just returned from staying 5 nights at Caribbean Penthouse Dream and we thought it was an excellent value. The condo itself was very spacious, clean and brand new. Although the unit does not offer real ocean views because of its location in the building, it is very bright and the view from the rooftop was great. (There is one terrace off the dining area that offers a partial ocean view) The beach is just across the street and although it is not a private beach, it was just fine for our needs. There were many parts of the the stretch that had currents (red flags) but the beach near the condo was lovely and calm. Since we didn't have beach chairs, we went to the Canibal Beach Club everyday for lunch (excellent food!!) and could've stayed the whole day and used their beach lounges/chairs for spending 150 pesos per day on food/drink...a GREAT deal!
The rooftop pool area at the condo was never crowded although it was high season. The poster beds near the pool, although they were not designated to the PH guests-- were great & available every time we went up to use them. We normally stay at condos with daily maid service, but actually enjoyed NOT having someone coming in every/other day. We did not need it, so why pay for it? Great idea to have it available but not mandatory. We loved having Wifi and purified water throughout the unit. (Wifi not available on private PH terrace.) Some things I would suggest: more towels, beach chairs, TV in master bedroom would be really nice!, figuring out a way to fill jacuzzi with hot water before it gets cold.
The great thing about staying in this condo in Playa is that it is accessible to everything! 5th Avenue is so close but not too close that you hear the noise. The restaurants on this end of 5th Ave are EXCELLENT. We are foodies from Boston and travel all over the world and PDC has some incredible restaurants. Our favorites for dinner include ComoComo and PachaMama (next to each other between Call 36-38.) For lunch everyday, we went to Canibal Beach Resort (on the other side of The Elements).I would include this info in the Guest Info Book at the Condo. Also include spending the day at Canibal for spending 150 pesos/pp on food drink. We did some food shopping for breakfast items at a nearby supermarket and then had THE BEST COFFEE/Latte at Ah Cacao. We bought some to bring home.
All in all, this was my 5th time to PDC and I've stayed at Luna Encantada and the Elements. This was the best value. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great Deal! Luxury Beachfront Penthouse! Ocean View, Pool, Jacuzzi, Wi-Fi...!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372582
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo
5

Vacaciones de Lujo en Playa del carmen

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Increible Playa del Carmen, las playas, el mar, la quinta avenida y el Penthouse con lujo inigualable, Primera vez en playa y seguro volvemos para el verano, nos vamos enamorados y nuestra estancia en el condominio fue de lo mas placentera. La alberca con sus camas fueron de nuestras favoritas, el jacuzzi por las noches junto con unos vinos y la fiesta en la terraza hicieron nuestras noches. Recomiendo ampliamente el condominio, esta cerca de todo, mamitas y cannibal beachclubs a minutos, la quinta caminando y la playa la teniamos a un minuto de distancia. Todos nos vamos felices y agradecemos a los propietarios por todas sus atenciones y hacernos nuestra estancia mas comoda. Excelente lugar para descansar y disfrutar de playa, lo recomiendo.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Muchas gracias por tus comentarios! Nos da mucho gusto que hayas pasado unas vacaciones increibles con tu familia en el Penthouse y en Playa del Carmen. Gracias nuevamente por su preferencia y por haber seleccionado a Penthouse Caribbean Dream. Los esperamos aqui cuando gusten volver, aqui ya conocen el Penthouse y ya saben que se pueden sentir como en casa! Un saludo a todos!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great Deal! Luxury Beachfront Penthouse! Ocean View, Pool, Jacuzzi, Wi-Fi...!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372582
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo
Toronto
5

Amazing place, amazing owners!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Hello to All,

My partner, his sister and I had an amazing opportunity to get away this past New Year to this magical Mexican town of Playa Del Carmen.

We stayed at Casa Del Mar penthouse unit. This appartment is fabulous. It is located in the very secure area, surrounded by many great hotels and restaurants.

Over the period of our 10 days stay in Playa del Carmen we enjoyed the beach that's located just steps away from this apartment. It was super convenient.

Architecturally the building and its amenities are very modern , high-class, yet very cozy! The buiding and the apartment are accesible through a secure passcode and
there's a 24 - hour on-site security.

You would definitely enjoy the privacy , tranquillity and peacefulness of this apartment . The unit is beautifully furnished and there are stainless steel appliances
in the kitchen. The marble floors, the bathrooms are high class and the running water is filtered what makes it very soft and drinkable!!!

We all certainly fell in love with our stunning private patio and the jackuzi and the adjacent Rooftop deck with its amazing view and pool are simply breath-taking.

The owners of the unit are very professional and willing to assist with any request!

We are ready for another vacation in Playa and recommend this place to anyone!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2