Dominica villa rental - Front view. Notice solar panels (=reliable power!)
Front view. Notice solar panels (=reliable power!)
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Dominica Villa Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 6

Villa PassiFlora is a spectacular 3-bedroom home on Dominica's stunning northeast coast, with expansive views and easy access to one of the island's most beautiful beaches. The villa has 3 luxurious bedrooms with private bathrooms, accommodating up to 6 people. The architects and designers have created a luxurious Caribbean environment which maximizes the benefits of the cooling breezes through extensive shaded veranda space onto which all rooms open widely, providing glorious sea and mountain views. Cool in our private pool while taking in magnificent vistas of the sea and coast. You may choose the option of having some prepared meals using a bounty of locally procured seafood, poultry, vegetables and fruit. Throughout the villa, a mix of antiques and art pieces contribute to a unique and beautiful living space. For those lucky enough to experience it, Villa PassiFlora is destined to become a never-to-be-forgotten vacation home! The best costs a bit more!

A New Standard of Style and Elegance: Villa PassiFlora is for the traveler who would like to enjoy Dominica in a vacation home of style and elegance still rare on the island. It is an ideal setting for several couples wishing to share a relaxing vacation together, for small groups interested in literary, yoga or culinary retreats or for families without young children. When compared with similar accomodations elsewhere in the Caribbean (there are no comparable accomodations on Dominica), the villa is eminently affordable for the couple or individual who appreciates space, beauty and privacy. For a group it is a bargain. It is for you if you relish the prospect of enjoying the sound of the waves, the feel of the cooling trade winds and the view from one of the most breathtaking spots in the Caribbean. It is a tonic for the senses.

True Value in a Splendid, Caribbean Villa: Daily breakfast and fresh juices are provided, with a variety of options for prepared meals using a bounty of locally procured seafood, poultry, vegetables and fruit. Throughout the villa, a mix of antiques and art pieces contribute to a unique and beautiful living space. For those lucky enough to experience it, Villa PassiFlora is destined to become a never-to-be-forgotten vacation home. If you are looking for a simple roof over your head, look elsewhere. If you believe true value lies in a reasonable fare for style, privacy, quality and luxury, you have found your Dominican lodging. If you want accommodations every bit as spectacular and memorable as Dominica itself, and you're willing to spend a bit more to have it, Villa PassiFlora is for you!

More Details
Hide Details

Between us, we juggle lives in neurology, choreography, dance education, Pilates instruction, theater administration... and we have created what we believe is the most beautiful guest house in Dominica.

Bruce Kaplan purchased this villa in 2003

We spent a decade looking for seaside land and homes in Florida, California, the Yucatan, Tobago and the British Virgin Islands. Then we found Dominica. Dominica combines extraordinary-- almost overwhelming-- natural beauty with a sense of adventure and discovery. We are passionate about Dominica!

9 Reviews of Property 372433 in Dominica

Luxury Caribbean home with pool and spectacular ocean views
average rating of 4.5 based on 9 reviews
business
Luxury Caribbean home with pool and spectacular ocean views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372433
+1 423 718-1842
Dominica Caribbean
Cape Cod, MA
2

Greatly disappointed . . .

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We rented Villa PassiFlora for the month of January, 2014. The owner, Bruce, was very responsive and easy to deal with in the confirmation process. We are two women well past retirement age, who escape the cold New England winters every year by renting somewhere each January, and then returning to a villa we have rented for over a decade in the British Virgin Islands.
Let me begin with the location: the view of the Atlantic Ocean from the pool and decks IS spectacular. But since the house faces North, there was not one spot where you could sit in the sun (at least in January), which means the infinity pool stays cold. Even with a 4-wheel drive car, you will find the roads are in awful shape and rental cars have the steering column on the right (British style). The nearest village of Calibishie is quite limited in services and goods, and the locals did not seem particularly friendly.
The Villa is described on the website as a "luxury villa" but it did not meet our experience and expectations with other luxury villas, some found on VRBO. The kitchen was not provisioned with a nice set of dishes (rather all but the cereal bowls and cups and saucers were plastic). There is no dishwasher, coffee maker, outside grill or toaster, and very limited glassware. Most troubling for us, since we are big readers, is the the fact that there were no comfortable reading chairs with lamps or other lighting. In fact the villa's lighting in general is sparse, mostly using wall sconces.
The most serious issue for us was safety. We understand that petty thievery is a problem on many of the islands, but we had never experienced the degree of concern exhibited by these owners. There are two dogs, a Rottweiler and a Pit Bull, who guard the perimeter of the house 24/7. In addition, the owners request that you close, bolt and lock, all of the doors on both levels whenever you leave the premises AND at night. While all of these measures are intended to make guests feel safe, it had the opposite effect on us.
In the end, the above issues were significant enough that we left after three days, despite having paid for the month. I am aware that our experience appears to be the exception, given other rave reviews--many of which influenced our decision to rent the Villa in the first place. My purpose in writing this review is in no way intended to "dis" this property or its owners, but rather to give future renters an additional perspective.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: Creating Villa PassiFlora was truly a labor of love, and we have been delighted that the vast majority of our renters have found it a very special place to stay, but Dominica is not for everyone. We fell in love with the island both because of its extraordinary natural beauty and because it is a dramatically different culture than what we experience in the US. It is relatively undeveloped both physically and economically. We are delighted to spend time in a country where tourism is secondary to the island culture, having visited other beautiful islands where the cultural tone is set by tourism. Bumpy roads are OK: "The last of the real Caribbean."

Secondly, Villa PassiFlora is not for everyone. Our highest priorities in designing our home were to take advantage of the glorious location we have on the NE coast, while maintaining a cool, livable environment year-round. In terms of year-round comfort, shade trumps sun in the Caribbean. During winter months, when the sun is lowest in the sky, there is indeed little direct sun at poolside. Between walks to the beach and time in our observation tower, we’ve never felt deprived of sun. We try hard to live within the limitations of our solar energy generation-- which is part of our commitment to the eco-tourism philosophy. We don’t have a dishwasher or clothes dryer, and we try to avoid energy inefficient appliances and accessories. We do try to utilize CFL bulbs, and lighting is purposely relatively low intensity outside of the dining room and kitchen. We don’t have a recliner, but we do have traditional Caribbean plantation chairs and a pair of glorious McGuire chaise lounges. We need to make clear that more glass/dish/kitchenware is available on request, for those with more kitchen savvy.

In order to maintain the villa’s very open environment that maximizes enjoyment of the vistas, the breeze and the sound of the surf, our security is based on the presence of fulltime, live-in caretakers and our two dogs, Eevie and Jacko, two ridgeback/rottweiler/Doberman mixes (no pit bull). While we would continue to lock up the villa if both guests and staff are away, it is reasonable to leave it open unless our caretakers are away on errands.

I appreciate Jane’s thoughtful comments, which will help us continue to improve our guests’ experiences. I urge all potential guests to use this information, along with that presented on our website, to help decide if Villa PassiFlora is right for them.
business
Luxury Caribbean home with pool and spectacular ocean views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372433
+1 423 718-1842
Dominica Caribbean
St. George, Barbados
4

Home away from home!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Having never been to Dominica, I was a little hesitant to book our accommodation sight unseen. However, after much research and reading the reviews on FlipKey and Vrbo, I was confident that I had made the right choice in choosing Villa PassiFlora.

Villa PassiFlora did not disappoint, from arrival to departure, we were treated just like part of the family. Brad, Lisa and Isolene were the most gracious of hosts and so very helpful. Isolene's breakfasts were just what were needed for a break away from the hustle and bustle of life.

The villa looks exactly as pictured, the views alone make the villa worth every penny spent and the pool was great (great for lounging, taking in the fantastic view of the Atlantic Ocean and sunsets). It is absolutely idyllic and perfect for either a romantic getaway or a family vacation. The location is great with a few restaurants in close walking proximity as well as a beach. You could even spend all your time in the villa and still feel like you had the best vacation ever!

Stay at Villa PassiFlora, you won't want to leave, I know we didn't.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxury Caribbean home with pool and spectacular ocean views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372433
+1 423 718-1842
Dominica Caribbean
5

Paradise found

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had the most amazing week in Dominica at Villa Passiflora. The house itself was so much nicer than we had imagined, it is all we had dreamed of in a Carribean destination. Stylish, natural and very comfortable without being ostentatious. You immediately feel at one with your surroundings which are stunning! If you can prise yourself away from the pool and terrace, a short walk takes you to an amazing stretch of coast with interesting rock formations and a lovely beach. The village of Calibishie is charming, authentic and a great place to enjoy the local food. The surrounding vegetation was so lush and beautiful we felt like we were holidaying in a tropical paradise, with amazing walks to waterfalls and stunning beaches, eating coconuts off the beach, and fresh bananas and mangoes from the roadside stalls. Everybody was so friendly, especially the housekeeper who made us feel like family. We were thoroughly charmed by the place and hope to return as soon as we can. Many thanks to all.
business
Luxury Caribbean home with pool and spectacular ocean views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372433
+1 423 718-1842
Dominica Caribbean
Bridgewater, New Jersey
5

A Gorgeous Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Staying at Villa Passiflora will transport you to a time when life was simple, and timeless, and the small wonders of nature are all around you. I used to fall asleep to the sound of the surf, and wake up to watch hummingbirds from the bathroom window as the sun rose over the bay. The villa is a complete ecosystem, and is graced by Isolene who is a wonderful cook, and Brad & Lisa who are the current caretakers, very friendly and helpful. You could stay a week at the villa, & not bother with a car, and spend time in Calibishie, with an occasional jaunt to Portsmouth. The beach was absolutely spotless & empty (August is the off season), and the Pointe was a great place to explore, and sit watching the sun set. But, since this was our first trip to Dominica, we chose to hire a car and a driver (essential for newbies!) and roam around the island. and what a beautiful, unspoilt island it is! Needless to say, time flew by, and our week went by all too fast. I most definitely recommend this as a getaway retreat!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Caribbean home with pool and spectacular ocean views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372433
+1 423 718-1842
Dominica Caribbean
Massachusetts
5

A great vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Villa Passiflora has everything you need for a perfect Caribbean experience...open air living, books and a hammock, hillside views with cooling breezes yet close proximity to a beautiful (and often deserted) swimming beach, a roof deck for sunsets and star gazing, a great Caribbean music collection, nearby shopping and restaurants, a convenient location for exploring the island, and a wonderfully helpful and accommodating staff. I only regret that we didn't have a longer stay and that we missed mango season!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Luxury Caribbean home with pool and spectacular ocean views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372433
+1 423 718-1842
Dominica Caribbean
5

Perfect retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
My husband and I went to Pasiflora in December to change the pace at Christmas time. And what a change! Wow. The beauty of the place is spectacular. If there ever was a house designed to take full advantage of being outdoors this is it. The pictures are accurate. Everything is in fresh air and open to the magnificent views of the ocean below and the mountains beyond. At night you can see the lights of distant islands and the stars, that's all. I don't think my husband left the hammock, reading and sleeping. I liked exploring the wading pools and sitting in the surf. The food was wonderful, fresh and local. I'd say it's a great place to get away from the rush of ordinary life any time of the year.

Getting there was a hassle, I must admit, but we planned our trip to stay one night in Puerto Rico and enjoyed the Caribbean night life and shopping.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Luxury Caribbean home with pool and spectacular ocean views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372433
+1 423 718-1842
Dominica Caribbean
St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec
5

Villa d'exception

Villa d'exception
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Le 25 février 2011

Villa Passiflora est sûrement la maison antillaise la plus extraordinaire que nous n'avons jamais louée. Nous y avons séjourné du 10 au 24 janvier et ce fût un pur bonheur. D'abord, la villa occupe un site exceptionnel avec vue superbe sur l'Atlantique et sans aucun voisin.
Ensuite, la Villa elle-même est extrêmement bien conçue pour les tropiques. Elle est très aérée et très ouverte sur l'extérieur. On y sent toujours une petite brise rafraîchissante. C'est une grande Villa très très bien entretenue et d'un grand raffinement. On perçoit à tout instant l'amour des propriétaires (Bruce et Ann que nous avons eu la chance de rencontrer) pour leur "nid" Dominiquais. Tout est pensé et choisi avec un goût artistique incomparable. L'ameublement et la décoration, un heureux mariage d'antiquités antillaises et d'éléments plus modernes, donnent un très agréable atmosphère de détente et de farniente.
La cuisine, d'une grande beauté, est digne des grands chefs ! Elle est grande, fonctionnelle et très bien équipée. On y a vraiment le goût de cuisiner... en prenant l'apéro... (le poisson qu'on est allé acheter aux pêcheurs de Calibishie).
Et je n'ai pas encore parler de la mer et de la petite plage quasi privée qui est charmante avec les montagnes avoisinantes qui lui donnent un très beau relief. Elle est accessible à pieds en 5 minutes par un petit sentier qui y descend doucement.
Pour ce qui est de l'accueil, il est très chaleureux. Florence et Stéphane (un couple franco-québécois qui sont "caretakers") nous reçoivent en Français. Ils sont toujours disponibles pour tout ce qu'on peut imaginer leurs demander. Ils sont extrêmement sympathiques et toujours prêts à nous aider ou à nous conseiller. Il y a aussi la très souriante Isalène, la "housekeeper" qui garde la Villa impeccable et qui nous prépare les bons jus de fruits frais, les confitures, la soupe et qui peut même nous préparer un repas si on le désire...
Il y a aussi toute la région du nord de la Dominique qui est magnifique, il y a l'Escape Bar & Grill, un resto mémorable, sur la plage, tout près et il y a encore un million de choses à découvrir...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Caribbean home with pool and spectacular ocean views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372433
+1 423 718-1842
Dominica Caribbean
Miami, Florida, USA
5

Don't miss this Villa on Dominica

Don't miss this Villa on Dominica
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Just 20 minutes from the airport (Melville) immediately relaxes you with the sweet smell of banana leaves from the groves hugging the highway.
Loved my 5 day stay in the village of Calibishe, the immaculate and well-maintained Villa has plenty of rooms for a family or friends with 3 magnificent bedrooms with extra beds available for kids. The beautifully designed home with open air veranda to the sea breezes and sounds of waves crashing below. Doze to the sounds of waves crashing and wind blowing through the louvered windows. The lay out of the "green” Villa allows for serenity inside and outside, or for cooking in large spacious kitchen with all green appliances and the furniture and bathroom fixtures are comfortable.
The short drive to Portsmouth, the 2nd largest city and Saturday market is worth it to purchase fruits and veggies from vendors selling organic produce grown in their local gardens. The rich volcanic soil and tropical locale creates pineapples the sweetest I've ever tasted, with luscious mangos.
You must be adventurous and in shape, as this is NOT a tourist destination and you must have a 4-wheel drive to get to any place or walk, like the locals do. Swim in either the pool, or calm Caribbean or choppier Atlantic (some beaches are unsafe), hike to the Boiling Lake (crater) at the top of the 4,000 elevation Mount Trois Pitons National Park. Locals speak English and original Creole patois and are delightfully laid back and live a very natural life.
Walk to the Escape Bar and Grill with open air seating and chairs right on the shore of the Atlantic. Ocean swimming is perfect with crystal clear water and remember to position yourself between the red rocks to be able to swim against the current. Beachside chairs provided and order your delicious meal and libation.
Batibou Beach where Pirates of the Caribbean was shot has swaying palm trees and tropical environment was unlike any Atlantic/Caribbean beach I've experienced.
I highly recommend this property to all my friends and family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury Caribbean home with pool and spectacular ocean views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372433
+1 423 718-1842
Dominica Caribbean
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Bradt Travel Guide's Paul Crask

Bradt Travel Guide's Paul Crask
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Located to the southeast of Calibishie, between Pointe Baptiste and Hodges Bay, Villa Passiflora is one of Dominica's most exquisite accommodation options. A beautifully designed & managed home in a tranquil & private setting, it has 3 bedrooms each with en-suite bathroom, open plan living, dining & kitchen area, study & library, large veranda decks, an infinity pool, hammocks, 4-poster beds with mosquito netting, & wonderful sea views.
Helpful votes: 2/4