Old Center apartment rental - Living room photos are taken at different times w/ different arrangement
Living room photos are taken at different times w/ different arrangement
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
Minimum Stay nights
 

Old Center Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Located on a quiet street in the canal belt, close to the Centraal Station and public transportation, this classic Dutch apartment, although not directly on a canal, is surrounded by 4 canals and is near the MelkMeisjes Brug (milk girl’s bridge), the Haarlemmerstraat and the Jordaan. The Anne Frank House is an 8-10 minute walk. The Flower Market, Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum, Leidseplein and Rembrandtplein are 20-30 minutes walk but also easily reached by tram (2 minutes walk). Dam Square is no more than a 10 minute walk.

Just off the Brouwersgracht, this 50m2 apartment is on the second floor of a building dating to 1720. This is a lovely one bedroom apartment with classic Dutch details such a wall of floor-to-ceiling-windows in the living room, large windows in the bedroom and kitchen and lovely old beams. The apartment is filled with light and has views of a typical old Amsterdam streets.

You enter into a small entry hall from which you take the central stairway to the second floor where you will find the entrance to the apartment.

Upon entering the apartment, you will find a short hallway. To the right is the bedroom with a dresser, queen bed (160x200), night tables and lamps. There are hooks on the wall and the back of the door for hanging clothes. On the left is the WC with toilet, bidet and washbasin. Moving ahead, the fully equipped kitchen is on the right and the bath with combination tub and shower plus with wash basin, is on the left. You then step into the living room with it's floor to ceiling windows (and draperies), desk and chair, super-comfortable sofa and chair, cable tv, dvd player and wireless hi-speed internet.

The kitchen is off the living room and can be entered from the living room or the hallway. Completely updated in 2010, it has an oven, gas cooktop, dishwasher, refrigerator/freezer and small appliances (microwave, coffee maker, toaster and kettle). It's fully equipped for preparing and eating meals including pots and pans, dishware and silverware. There are always basic kitchen supplies available (herbs, spices, oils & vinegars. etc)

View/Location

Typical small Amsterdam street with sidewalk gardens

Keywords: Bright and airy, one bedroom, quiet, calm, sleeps 2

More Details
Hide Details

6 Reviews of Property 372060 in Old Center, Netherlands

City Calm 2 - 1 Bedroom in Canalbelt by the Jordaan
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
City Calm 2 - 1 Bedroom in Canalbelt by the Jordaan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372060vbi
+31 6 41618527 (Netherlands)
Old Center Amsterdam
New York
5

better than description

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and I stayed in the top floor city calm apartment for three nights at the end of June. The apartment was even lovelier than the photos. It is situated on the top floor of a small townhouse. The living area is a corner windowed room filled with light. The street is very quiet although it is in the midst of the bustling canal district and within walking distance to everything (museums, restaurants, train station, shops, outdoor market etc). The apartment was spotlessly clean and outfitted with a tasteful mix of antiques and modern furniture. It is thoughtfully stocked with coffee, tea, spices, fluffy towels and smooth sheets. The kitchen is perfect, stocked with everything you need for meal preparation (although there are also lovely restaurants everywhere in town). The apartment is up several flights so keep this in mind. It was no trouble at all for us. The apartment has no formal closet but plenty of hangers and a hanging rack for things that you feel need to be stored that way, but really, this is a minor thing. The bathroom setup is nice in that there is a separate watercloset with toilet and sink, then separate room for shower and sink. Although it was only two of us, the extra bit of privacy is nice. Susan, the American owner, sat with us for some time to go over details regarding the area and the apartment. She is a wealth of information. The apartment is within walking distance from train station and Amsterdam is so civilized that it is quite simple to take the commuter train directly from the airport into town. No need at all for a car or taxi. Contacting Susan via email and phone was straightforward and easy. She gave always very clear, detailed directions. She lives in the same building so I would imagine is very accessible if you have questions. This is an extremely comfortable, quiet, clean and charming apartment. We are so grateful for our stay here. Thank you Susan.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
City Calm 2 - 1 Bedroom in Canalbelt by the Jordaan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372060vbi
+31 6 41618527 (Netherlands)
Old Center Amsterdam
Fanny Bay BC Canada
5

The name captures the essence

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We stayed in the apartment 4 nights and were delighted with our choice. The apartment is very clean, well appointed and well stocked, making it a home away from home. The bed is comfortable with good quality linens. Reviewing the posted photos and description, reminds me of how lovely the apartment is. The location is excellent: quiet, close to train station, groceries, restaurants etc and within walking distance of sights. Franklin was very helpful in orienting us. Would stay again and would recommend. The stairs would be an issue for anyone with mobility issues.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
City Calm 2 - 1 Bedroom in Canalbelt by the Jordaan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372060vbi
+31 6 41618527 (Netherlands)
Old Center Amsterdam
sydney
5

Perfect for 2

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Beautifully presented, windows on two sides mean it's bathed in light all day, spotlessly clean and generously stocked. A very quiet location between two canals, 10 minutes walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station, so you can wheel your suitcases easily - the directions provided by Susan were very clear. The kitchen is fully equipped and a good supermarket is nearby. The coffee maker was the only thing that didn't work, but the espresso in Amsterdam is so good it didn't matter. The narrow stairway is very steep, but OK if you're not disabled.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
City Calm 2 - 1 Bedroom in Canalbelt by the Jordaan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372060vbi
+31 6 41618527 (Netherlands)
Old Center Amsterdam
Dublin, Ohio
5

A great location and apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My wife and I stayed in this charming and well stocked apartment for 3 nights. The apartment is a corner apartment with very large windows. Lots of light. The toilet is separate from the bath/shower room and both have sinks. The bed is comfortable as are all the chairs and sofa. Susan was very helpful in going over in detail the apartment, surrounding area and attractions. We ate at the Pancake bakery and loved it. The apartment is a 10 minute walk from Centraal station. Don't miss the Anne Frank huis, but do buy reserved tickets on-line to avoid waiting in the line. Walking the canals is very relaxing, but watch out for the bicyclist. I am told they have the ultimate right of way and they ride like they own the road.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
City Calm 2 - 1 Bedroom in Canalbelt by the Jordaan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372060vbi
+31 6 41618527 (Netherlands)
Old Center Amsterdam
Winston, Georgia
5

It's a PERFECT apartment in every way!

It's a PERFECT apartment in every way!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
If you're like me, you've been looking at hundreds of apartments on a dozen different websites looking for that "perfect" one. I was looking for the "charm" and "location" to make my first visit to Amsterdam special. What's equally important is finding prompt responses to inquiries and establishing a comfort-zone with the rental process.
Before I discuss the apartment, I'd like to speak about the owner of "City Calm 2", Susan. From my first inquiry I felt "that extra mile" and it continued our entire stay. When we arrived she provided us a city map and showed us great restaurants as well as locations for our booked activites. She even met us early the morning of our departure to thank us for our booking.She was the reason I selected City Calm-2 above the others and I didn't regret it for a moment.
Now, as for the apartment...It's absolutely BEAUTIFUL! The furnishings are high class and the bedroom is one of the prettiest I've seen. Susan has already thought of the tinest thing so don't panic about forgetting something, it's most likely there. The apartment is on a cross of two streets, one over from a canal. I loved looking out all the windows at other homes I had only seen in magazines.
The apartment is as close to perfect as it gets....I LOVED it, loved it, loved it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
City Calm 2 - 1 Bedroom in Canalbelt by the Jordaan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372060vbi
+31 6 41618527 (Netherlands)
Old Center Amsterdam
New York City
5

Authetic, Beautiful, and Perfectly Located Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
I just returned from a 1 and half week stay in Amsterdam over New Years and can not be more thankful that I chose to stay at the City Calm 2 apartment. It is in a beautiful upscale neighborhood with a good balance of boutique shops, restaurants, and easy walking proximity to most of Amsterdam's points of interest. The area is not touristy or loud at all and it really made me and my traveling partner feel as though we were at home. I live in New York City and can best equate the location to a home in Brooklyn Heights or the West Village, close to lots of attractions but authentic enough to really get a non-touristy home/ neighborhood feel. The apartment was great for lounging on rainy days and kept very tidy and clean. It was an excellent experience to stay in this apartment and would easily put this at the top of my recommendation list when visiting Amsterdam.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2