Bar Harbor estate rental - La Maisonette
La Maisonette
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps14
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Bar Harbor Estate Rental Photos and Description
6 Bedrooms, 3.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12

''''La Maisonette'', circa 1886, is a beautiful 3,400 square foot, 6 bedroom home in downtown Bar Harbor nestled within Bar Harbor?s national historic district with a view of Frenchman's Bay and a beautiful 1/2 acre back yard.

Located on West Street, you are a short stroll to restaurants, shops, bike and kayaking rentals in the downtown area. Acadia National Park is just minutes away by car or rent a bike and walk to the shuttle in downtown Bar Harbor which will take you into the park to spend a day riding the Carriage Trail.

At low tide, walk around the corner and enjoy the unique experience of crossing a sand bar to Bar Island or simply walk along the sand bar collecting shells and photographing the spectacular views.

With its shingle style architecture, La Maisonette offers charm and character with high ceilings, detailed woodwork, a staircase tower, a solarium and fireplaces.

La Maisonette is fully furnished and offers a wrap around enclosed porch that provides a brief view of the ocean, 6 bedrooms that sleep 12, 3 full and one partial bathroom, WiFi, and HD TV, we believe it offers everything you need to enjoy a wonderful Bar Harbor vacation.

More Details
Hide Details

We began coming to Bar Harbor when our first child was born. We fell in love with the town and Acadia National Park. We now have four children and are thrilled to own this beautiful home so they can grow up visiting Bar Harbor

18 Reviews of Property 371955 in Bar Harbor, Maine

La Maisonette - Historic Renovated 6 BR Downtown Bar Harbor Home
average rating of 5.0 based on 18 reviews
business
La Maisonette - Historic Renovated 6 BR Downtown Bar Harbor Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371955
+1 7038515292
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Ayer, MA
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This house is the perfect place to stay to enjoy Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park without having to drive anywhere. Some of us in our family have been visiting this area for many years, so we have stayed in various places. This is by far the best. The house is fully equipped with enough of everything to take care of all of your needs. It's a beautiful old house with lots of nooks and crannies - perfect for hide and seek. The front porch was a favorite place to gather. Our family ranges in ages from 5 mos. to 60+ years coming from Massachusetts and Colorado. We enjoy having family dinners at the end of a fun-filled day and we were all able to comfortably fit around the table in this house - a big plus! We are also very active and we could bike into the park right from the house. Plenty of room in the yard for bikes, kayaks, etc. We thank you for making our little piece of heaven so enjoyable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
La Maisonette - Historic Renovated 6 BR Downtown Bar Harbor Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371955
+1 7038515292
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Birmingham, Michigan
5

A Dream Come True -- A Place You Will Never Forget

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
La Maisonette is one of those remarkable places that you may imagine, but think that it is just some sort of wonderful dream. Well, let me tell you that a stay at this house will restore your faith in dreams. The house is awesome. From the moment you set foot in the house, you will feel as if you have crossed into some other dimension in time and place. The house has a rich historic fabric to it. It is very difficult to describe. It made our family feel warm and welcome. The house goes on and on. So many nooks and crannies -- so much to discover. You can be there a week and still be discovering places in the house that you never realized were there. You can sit quietly on the front porch and watch the harbor, and the cars and bikes, and the people go easily drifting by you, close enough that you could reach out and touch them, and yet far enough away that you may seem invisible -- or feel like you have just been blended into the scene before you. This place has an abiding solitude to it. In the midst of Bar Harbor, on its busiest of days, this place is a beautiful refuge. You can reach out and take in the town at your leisure -- it's all right there, at your doorstep. Or you can simply relax in the house's multitude of rooms and special places. The screened-in front porch is enormous, and yet strangely intimate. And the open porch is equally inviting. You can just sit and rock and take in the sights from your own very private perch. It is wonderful!

I swear that the house takes on a life of its own. It's like living in a fairy tale. As you move from room to room, you will not be able to miss how much care has gone into the individual attention to the details in each space. If you are one of many, you will find ample room either to find your separate favorite places or to gather as a family. The living room and its adjacent anteroom are particularly warm and welcoming. The breakfast room off the kitchen is also a most charming spot -- it sort of begs for people to sit around and chat about the town or the harbor or Acadia. In our case, it was a perfect spot to power up our laptops or to pour over maps and pamphlets about the many special establishments and adventures available in and around town. We were thoroughly taken in by our surroundings. In many ways, we began to feel over the course of our week at the house that we had always been there. We became part of the town. ... Staying in this house is truly an amazing experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
La Maisonette - Historic Renovated 6 BR Downtown Bar Harbor Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371955
+1 7038515292
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Perfect Home for Bar Harbor Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
La Maisonette is a gorgeous, historic, sprawling home that easily accommodated our family of nine, most of whom were visiting from Texas. The location is ideal; in town, easy walk to everything, but also relatively quiet compared to busy Main St. The owners have done a wonderful job of restoring the home -- particularly in the magnificent, updated kitchen -- while maintaining its character, charm, and period details. We were a quick walk from all our favorite activities, which included Lulu Lobster Boat, Oli's Trolley Tour, a nature cruise by Whale Watching Co., shopping Main St, and crossing the sand bar to hike Bar Island. We also walked to our favorite restaurants: The Reading Room (refined yet comfortable, surprisingly kid-friendly), 2 Cats (beware of late-morning crowds), and La Bella Vita at Harborside Hotel. Our family isn't much for cooking while on vacation, but we did use the home's backyard gas grill for a feast on the 4th of July, and we also whipped up a huge breakfast one morning -- all made much easier by the spacious, well-appointed kitchen. This was the perfect home for our week in Bar Harbor!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
La Maisonette - Historic Renovated 6 BR Downtown Bar Harbor Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371955
+1 7038515292
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Rochester Hills, MI
5

Fabulous and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
To say that this vacation was unforgettable is an understatement. We have rented vacation homes many times throughout Europe and the US and this was certainly one of our favorites. During our stay of 2 weeks, our family enjoyed Bar Harbor immensely and La Maisonette was a major factor in our satisfaction. We had family members ranging in age from 14 to 73 and at times there were as few as 7 of us and at others as many as 11. The house was roomy and inviting; even at our peak of 11, we never felt cramped. The 5 teens loved the "secret" attic and spent much of their indoor time there. They could stay up late at night and not disturb the adults. I was even amazed that as we prepared for a family photo session, all 11 of us took showers within an hour and didn't run out of hot water! The house was furnished comfortably -- the beds were probably the most comfortable we've encountered in vacation rentals. My favorite spot was the front glassed in porch where we could sip coffee in the morning and cocktails in the evening and watch the world go by. The kitchen was well-stocked with pot & pans, baking dishes etc; we lacked nothing for everything from baking cakes to preparing a full out lobster bake. The house was clean and the owner was responsive whenever we had communications. My only suggestion would be to install hooks in each bedroom for towels-the bathrooms are understandably small and it's hard to keep track of each person's towel. As far as location is concerned, it was perfect. We could walk easily anywhere in town in a matter of minutes--this was a feature the teens especially enjoyed. It gave them a sense of freedom to walk for pizza (Rosalie's) or ice cream (Ben & Bill's) whenever the mood hit them. Here are some activities and restaurants we enjoyed: Nat'l Park Sea Kayak tours, Oli's Trolley, Lulu's Lobster boat, Jackson Laboratory, Reel Pizza (movie and pizza-very fun!), S-K tours Bangor (for Stephen King fans), Atlantic Brewing (and BBQ), Acadia (so much to do!), sunrise on Cadillac Mtn, Thirsty Whale, Downeast Deli, Cottage St Bakery, Jordan's (for breakfast), Mache Bistro (for a romantic anniversary dinner). Whew! As you can see we had plenty to do during our 2 weeks, but also had plenty of time and space to sit back and read a book and enjoy our vacation. Thanks Angelique!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
La Maisonette - Historic Renovated 6 BR Downtown Bar Harbor Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371955
+1 7038515292
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Lancaster, PA / USA
5

fam reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Great stay in BH. Kitchen is large and well equipped. Nice location for town. Yard was good for games. Large rooms made for good meeting place with extended family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
La Maisonette - Historic Renovated 6 BR Downtown Bar Harbor Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371955
+1 7038515292
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Hallettsville, TX
5

A rare find in Bar Harbor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
La Maisonette provided the perfect "anchor" house for our family reunion, comfortably accommodating ten of us in six bedrooms. We rented a second house on Greeley St. for the additional adult grandkids, but La Maisonette was THE place for our large family visits and meals. The kitchen was one of the best stocked rental kitchens we've ever had with two stoves/ovens, high-end cookware and enough table settings for a small village. These amenities easily allowed for the collective preparation and enjoyment of many family recipes. The beautiful home has unusually large rooms for spreading out or gathering for visits. The enclosed front porch was a great place to start or spend the day with a view of Frenchman's Bay across the street. The home was conveniently located for all our activities. We could walk our kayaks to the bay boat ramp across the street, walk to the Hannaford market, restaurants, shops, town square, farmer's market, harbor, shoreline path, etc. Having so many people in our group and a limited number of cars, made this high "walkability score" a real plus. In spite of the poor long-range weather forecasts for our week, we lucked out with PERFECT conditions each day. We're already looking forward to a future visit to La Maisonette and beautiful Mt. Desert Isle!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
La Maisonette - Historic Renovated 6 BR Downtown Bar Harbor Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371955
+1 7038515292
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Something For Everyone

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I selected La Maisonette for our family vacation because it seemed to fit everything I was looking for...a roomy home with lots of bedrooms and an equipped kitchen in a location that was within walking distance of amusements. There were 8 of us, ages 21 to 77, and I wanted to ensure that no one had to wait for a ride to have fun. La Maisonette more than fit the bill! The house was just beautiful and a short walk away from restaurants, a fine grocery store, shops and interesting bars (for the under 70 folks). While the youngsters and youngster-wanna-bes hiked the park, the older, wiser folks took the trollie. On the many days it rained, there were cards and games to be enjoyed. Those who didn't indulge in games were able to find a quiet nook and enjoy online videos, Facebook and email over wi-fi. I made some family favorites for meals...my personal contribution to the utensil drawer is a veg peeler I picked up to peel the many apples needed for baked apple pancakes. When looking for the missing member of our party, I'd often find them on the porch either reading, gazing at the water, or watching the folks walk by. I can tell you that the pictures do not this property justice. It is a beautiful home that I would recommend to anyone. Because my folks are getting up there in years (and are from Wisconsin) and their grandchildren are now adults, it's likely that this will be the last type of vacation we will all be able to take together. I'm glad it could be in such a beautiful home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Kathleen, thank you for you lovely words about la Maisonette. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and that the house was perfect for everyone. I wish Mother Nature had cooperated better but am happy to know the house provided a refuge for y'all. The housekeeper called to make sure I thanked you for leaving the house in such great condition.
business
La Maisonette - Historic Renovated 6 BR Downtown Bar Harbor Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371955
+1 7038515292
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Ukiah, CA
5

Bar Harbor Rocks, Part 2

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
1st part of review below

Dishwasher soap and Tide was provided which was really helpful. There are tons of sheets, blankets and pillows. There are enough towels for everyone. There are 2 washing machines and 2 dryers. Also ironing board/iron etc. It’s really very well equipped. The beds are reasonably comfortable. The rooms are lovely with beautiful views of either the bay or the yard or trees or whatever! We didn’t use the porch much because it was October and getting a little chilly but it was wonderful and I would have lived out there if we were there earlier in the year.

All around, this is a terrific place, especially for a large family gathering. We loved being under one roof and so enjoyed the wonderful meals, laughter, stories, and general revelry that we had. The back yard is beautiful. If you arrive in the dark, it’s a bit tricky to find, but it only takes one time! The driveway is a bit narrow so be careful if you are bringing in a large rig. Plenty of room to park though. It is 2 short blocks to the grocery store which has a good selection of produce, baking supplies etc. Downtown is 3 blocks the other way. Everything in Bar Harbor is accessible. The park is heavenly in Autumn.

Thanks for sharing your home with all of us travelers! We absolutely loved it!
Chris
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
La Maisonette - Historic Renovated 6 BR Downtown Bar Harbor Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371955
+1 7038515292
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Ukiah, CA
5

La Maisonette Rocks!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Our family traveled from all over the country to meet in Bar Harbor and stay at La Maisonette. We used every part of the house as there were 14 of us (actually 16 on one night). Everyone was comfortable and had plenty of space. We ate nearly all meals at the house so the kitchen(s) were very important to us. There are 2 refrigerators, 2 ranges, many sets of dishes, plenty of silverware and lots of cooking utensils. We like to eat lots of good stuff so we needed (and brought with us) a few things to facilitate lots of baking and cooking: a Kitchen Aide stand up mixer and 12 cup food processor were always in use. Although it sounds like a decadent request, it would be great if there were 2 dishwashers. We had one going almost non-stop. We laughed about the “mysterious disappearing water pitcher” which was a very cute, small pitcher and we kept putting it away and couldn’t find it. It was filled and refilled dozens of times. There is a waffle maker, a griddle (not electric, FYI), lots of skillets but none are non-stick so if you like that type of pan, bring them. There is not much tupperware (it probably gets tossed when people leave) or storage type plastic ware. There was a lot of baking pans but I still used my own 2 cake pans to make a 3 layer cake and another one on top of that. There are pie dishes, I think 2. There are good knives (Henckels) but hopefully they will be professionally sharpened over the down season. I actually brought 3 good knives and we used all of them constantly. We were the last bunch of the season so there were many cooking staples such as flour, sugar, cinnamon, ground ginger, Pam cooking spray, vegetable oil, tea, baking soda. I did bring a bunch of spices for baking. The place was completely cleaned when we arrived. The kitchen worked well. There is one large kitchen with lots of counter space and also a butlers pantry (which is basically the 2nd kitchen) where we stored lots of stuff. I really enjoyed cooking in the kitchen which is set up well. There are 2 tables in the kitchen so lots of people would hang out in that area but we did end up eating meals in the dining room (with one of the kitchen tables moved out there) to accommodate our large crowd. We did have lobster one night...made a mess but had a great time. There is a complete set up for lobster, nothing to bring (except the lobster and butter!).

The rest of the review is in the next review block. Couldn't fit it in here and I think it's useful info.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
La Maisonette - Historic Renovated 6 BR Downtown Bar Harbor Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371955
+1 7038515292
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Oronoco, MN
5

excellent property for large family groups

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Our extended family group of 11 had plenty of room and found lots to do in this truly lovely vacation home. The house was immaculately clean and everything was in good working order. The two kitchens were very well stocked with all the cookware, bakeware, dishes and utensils we needed to create great family meals. The furniture and beds were comfy and cozy for the cool September nights we had, and we made nearly constant use of the dishwasher and 2 sets of washers/dryers. The location is ideal - an easy walk to the grocery store, many shops and restaurants, and also to the sand bar that can be walked across at low tide to an island with a great view of Bar Harbor. Since we were just a few miles from Acadia, some of our number hiked/biked there, while the more sedentary enjoyed leisurely car rides with frequent stops on the Park Loop Road. A few of the many high points of our visit - watching the sunrise on Cadillac Mountain, taking a carriage ride up Day Mountain, playing foosball and other games from the amply stocked game cupboard, and eating delicious lobster and clam chowder at Stewman's. There was even a good sports bar (Little Anthony's) around the corner from the house so we didn't miss the Sunday games! We had ages from young adult to retirees in our group, and everyone had a great time.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1