Huntington barn rental - The Fielder Farm - Huntington, Vermont
The Fielder Farm - Huntington, Vermont
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Huntington Barn Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 10

Experience contemporary living in a beautiful Vermont country setting. The Fielder Farm offers a unique & stunning Vermont vacation rental home in the heart of the Green Mountains.

Everything you need to make our home your home is provided. Let the gracious living area and professionally equipped kitchen inspire the host in you as you invite family and friends to enjoy a sunset from the second floor windows or dine, alfresco, on trout you pulled from your own 2-acre pond.

The highlight of the lower farm is the Pond. Surrounded by acres of maintained lawn, the Pond is the heart and spirit of the Fielder Farm. It provides an unlimited source of entertainment throughout the year and attracts even the most reticent of visitors. The water is deep, clear and irresistible. Stone steps and rocky outcrops make entering and exiting the water easy and pleasant.

And the fishing is brilliant. Enjoy games on the generous expanse of lawn, cows in the pasture, evening bird watching and sunlight on the mountains. On 230 acres, the Farm has its own hiking trails and wonderful picnic and camping sites with views of Camel's Hump, Lake Champlain and the Adirondacks.

Guests enter the Barn on the ground floor through the Mud Room featuring a native slate floor, dozens of cubbies in a variety of sizes and ample wall space covered with hooks. No matter the season every guest will find more than enough space to stow personal gear.

As you climb the stairs to the second floor Living space your attention is immediately drawn up the custom post and beam frame to the arching bridge and Monitor ceiling 25 feet above. A half a dozen windows along the eastern wall offer a brilliant view of the pond, lower pasture and mountains beyond and fill the space with light throughout the day. This light is the perfect complement to the natural finish on the heart pine floors.

Paying close attention to the details can make a big difference when it comes to using a kitchen day-to-day. The owners of the Barn are keen chefs who spent months cooking in this kitchen. Two bedrooms with similar appointments off the second floor living space make sharing the Barn uncomplicated.

The Loft bedrooms are accessible by a modified ship’s ladder. Each Loft has 3 built-in twin beds, a walk-in closet and plenty of built–in drawer and floor space. The thoughtful arrangement and open design of the second floor living space allows a number of activities to carry on harmoniously.

More Details
Hide Details

5 Reviews of Property 371676 in Huntington, Vermont

230 Acre Farm with Private Pond
average rating of 4.4 based on 5 reviews
business
230 Acre Farm with Private Pond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371676
+1 802 4344562
Huntington Lake Champlain Valley
5

The property and house were beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The house is unique and meticulously build with great detail. They had all you needed besides your groceries. It was so picturesque, quiet, and peaceful. The pond was a popular spot for my kids to catch frogs and newts all day long! The owners were very friendly and completely non-intrusive. We will definitely rent from them again the next time we head back to Vermont!
business
230 Acre Farm with Private Pond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371676
+1 802 4344562
Huntington Lake Champlain Valley
Richmond, Virginia
5

Wonderful Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family and I stayed here for a week and had a wonderful time. The property is immaculate and beautifully maintained - the pictures on the site do not do it justice. We had a wonderful trip on and off the property but we could have stayed at the farm the entire time and still have had a wonderful time - the book collection itself could have kept me entertained for the entire week. The owners were also very friendly and checked in on us and, regardless of what one of the reviewers said, we did not feel like they were interfering with our "freedom." Additionally, I'd like to point out that it's normal not to have AC in Vermont since the summers are pretty mild but the owners did have fans available and the windows could be opened. It is also made pretty clear prior to your stay that several of the beds are in a loft and that there's no cell service (wireless internet is available, though) since this place is in a state park. If these are issues for you, obviously you shouldn't stay here, but if you're looking for a beautiful place to relax in the country that's still not too far away from "civilization," you can't do much better than this place.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
230 Acre Farm with Private Pond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371676
+1 802 4344562
Huntington Lake Champlain Valley
2

Beautiful property, not for all

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The beautifully created barn living space was everything it was described to be. Modern appliances and immaculate interior. What was disappointing were the following: lengthy distance from main road to house, no air conditioning (we had to cut our vacation short due to excessive heat), no suitable swimming available due to large and varied frog population in pond (tough with children), no television or cell service...Also, some sort of outside night lighting with screened in seating/fire pit, a boat for pond would have been nice. Owners were on property which was helpful at times, but also curtailed any freedom. Although the barn was beautiful inside, the upstairs bedrooms were accessible by a ladder, which would not be suitable for people with limited mobility.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
230 Acre Farm with Private Pond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371676
+1 802 4344562
Huntington Lake Champlain Valley
5

Excellent Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Me and a few buddies stayed at the Fielder Farm a few weeks back and we couldn't have been happier with the barn and the grounds. Bert and Sarah were so unbelievably accommodating and their house is beautiful, the pictures do it no justice.

We had a great weekend fishing in the pond and pulling out trout as well as connecting to the hiking trails on the top of the grounds and having a great afternoon hike.

Already looking forward to coming back in the winter for some backcountry riding on Little Baldie.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
230 Acre Farm with Private Pond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371676
+1 802 4344562
Huntington Lake Champlain Valley
5

An Outstanding Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Simply put, this is the best property we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. Our experience with these sorts of properties is extensive--several continents, multiple trips per year, etc.

The house--a converted hay barn is functional, beautifully decorated, and excellently equipped. The decor is charmingly "homey" with a nice mix of pieces that convey both comfort and good taste. It has neither the feel of a staid catalogue page where everything was purchased from Pottery Barn, nor that of grandma's attic where all the ratty furnishings and extra junk are stored. Unfortunately, we have experienced both scenarios before, but at Fielder Farm we felt like we were staying in our friends' home.

We love to cook, and the most disappointing aspect of most rental properties is the poorly equipped kitchen. Not here. The kitchen is well stocked with quality cook wear (including some very nicely seasoned cast iron) modern appliances, and a solid selection of kitchen gadgetry--peelers, shredders, a chinois, steamer basket, champagne flutes, cookie cutters, citrus press, zester, etc. We used them all, and were thankful for them.

The beautiful wood stove, located in the middle of the Great room, kept us plenty warm despite the availability of central heat. Wood is split and stacked on the ground level inside the workshop accessible through a door off the entryway mud room. There was also plenty of kindling to get the stove stoked back to life in the morning. I am quite familiar with wood stoves, and some can be fussy, but this one never required anything more than rustling the coals, opening the damper, tossing on a bit of kindling, and waiting two minutes for it to burst back into flame. Two weeks, zero matches. Don't feel that you have to be skilled in the art of primitive fire making to stay warm in this house.

Bert and Sarah were extremely helpful, friendly, and accommodating during our stay. The driveway was always plowed after a fresh snow, and we were provided with sleds for the children, christmas decorations for the tree, and everything else necessary to make our stay delightful.

The house is located very nicely between Sugarbush (a 25-30 min. drive in heavy snow) and the town of Richmond which boasts several wonderful restaurants and a marvelous local grocery store. Burlington--what a great town--is 30 minutes away.

I would also be remiss if I didn't mention that the house boasts a library comparable to that of a small university.
Helpful votes: 3/3