Hilo studio rental - Our location on Old Onomea Road is one of the prettiest lanes on the island!
Our location on Old Onomea Road is one of the prettiest lanes on the island!
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Hilo Studio Rental Photos and Description
Large open studio; private bath & kitchenette, w/ covered lanai. Sleeps up to 3.

Aloha!

Note: Two night stays are sometimes possible, especially once our calendar is nearly full. Please inquire with your specific dates.

Our country estate is in Onomea, 6 miles north of Hilo, on 5 tropical acres with garden and ocean views. Onomea Guest Suite is a private cottage with garden views of flowering royal Poinciana trees, sweeping monkey pod trees, mango, lychee, mountain apple and coconut trees, and many other varieties of palms. The most repeated description by our guests is 'peaceful'. The suite has a studio layout... bedroom, living room and kitchenette all in one ample main space, and a lovely stone-tiled bath with very high ceilings and gorgeous light. The covered lanai is enjoyable rain or shine for dining or relaxing. Our road is one of the loveliest in all of Hawaii. Artists frequently come to paint it! Within walking distance is the old donkey trail to Onomea Bay, a breathtaking bay along the old Scenic Highway. You can also walk to the Hawaii Botanic Gardens, and by car, we are equi-distant from Volcano National Park to the south and Waipio Valley to the north.... Just 2 of many other attractions in the area.

Queen bed, plus a twin size day bed provides a comfortable accommodation for up to three. Kitchenette has enough cooking appliances that you won't miss the stovetop or oven. You'll find the barbecue on your lanai and many cooking applances on the countertop or in the cabinets....hot plate, microwave, electric skillet, crock pot, coffee maker, and blender.

A few notes about our guest suite....and us!

(Don't forget to READ OUR REVIEWS!!)

Our guest space was completed in March 2011, a project lovingly created over two years.

The bathroom and shower are wheelchair accessible and there are no steps between parking and entry to suite.

There are three separate buildings on the property (the main house and two cottages) all adjoined by covered breezeways. My wife and I occupy our own private cottage. We work from home and are usually available to help you with directions, dining suggestions or simply to come up with extra pillows!

The suite is the smaller of two guest accommodations on the property. If you need space for a larger group, the main house (HomeAway # 974771) sleeps 4 to 6.

Should you be interested in being married in Hawaii, our property is a beautiful setting for a ceremony. I am a lifelong photographer (formerly a film location scout) and can provide photos .... and my wife is certified to perform legal marriages!

By car, within 10 minutes, are the magnificent 419 foot high Akaka Falls, the charming village of Honomu; and the nearby city of Hilo, center of commerce on the east slope of Mauna Kea and home to the renowned Hilo Farmers Market.

Some other activities we recommend you think about during your stay, here on the east side of the Island of Hawaii......

Horseback riding in Kohala or Waipio Valley; a zipline adventure; several nearby beach parks, snorkeling, Champaign Ponds, photography, hiking; bird watching; a visit to the 13,980 foot summit of Mauna Kea where 7 international telescopes are redefining our understanding of the heavens (a visitor center is open daily at the 9,000 foot level); Alahanui Park - Hot Spring Pond; the Lyman Museum, the Tsunami Museum, the Hilo zoo, Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut farm and factory; and.... Volcano National Park. There is a clickable calendar at this site. Please check the calendar for availability and contact us about any questions. FOR INITIAL INQUIRIES, EMAIL IS GREATLY PREFERRED OVER TELEPHONE. Mahalo!

More Details
Hide Details

Together we have many stories to tell... about location scouting for film and Tv, performing in Tv and theater, photo assignments, llama farming, life in New York City, LA, Montana, growing up in the territory of Hawaii, the band, our kids. If you come and see us and care to share some stories....as we say in Hawaii... we can Talk Story together.

Randall Duryea purchased this studio in 2003

This is one of the most beautiful neighborhoods in all of Hawaii. It is gorgeous here, and we'd love to share it with you.

Our place is peaceful... We are on the green and lush side of the island. It's never hot here, never cold, though it might get chilly enough to grab a cotton sweater or flannel shirt early in the morning. The air is soft and full of the smell of flowers. The rivers and waterfalls speak to the rain, the rain responds and the birds and crickets and tree frogs provide the chorus of life all around.

35 Reviews of Property 371622 in Hilo, Hawaii

Peaceful and Private Garden Cottage on a lovely country estate.
average rating of 4.885714 based on 35 reviews
business
Peaceful and Private Garden Cottage on a lovely country estate.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371622
+1 808-365-3969
Hilo Hilo District
5

Peaceful getaway with top notch hospitality

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Without exaggeration, this is an awesome place to stay! If you are looking for a peaceful, laid back environment that has all the comforts of home for a more than reasonable price, your search should stop right here.

Randall and Donna are exactly what you want in a property owner/manager. They are there when you need them with a vast knowledge of Island info, yet they are incredibly respectful of your privacy. Donna gave us a bunch of Apple Bananas that were just to die for and Randall was very patient in answering all of our questions and understanding our constant mispronounced Hawaiian names.

The suite was clean, sleek, homey and well stocked with everything we needed for our stay. The grounds are beautiful and very well manicured. My only regret is that I wish that I would've brought a frisbee!

We would not hesitate to come back and stay with Randall and Donna! Diane and I feel as though we made new friends while here! You will too!

Kevin and Diane
Springfield, MO
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Peaceful and Private Garden Cottage on a lovely country estate.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371622
+1 808-365-3969
Hilo Hilo District
5

Beautiful setting, convenient to Hilo and Volcano.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We stayed for 3 nights and should have stayed for the week because the studio was beautiful. Owner really paid attention to every detail when building and furnishing. Owners do live on the property and are very nice. Location is very convenient to Hilo where there are many short day trips you can take in all directions. We loved the place and would go back in a heartbeat.
business
Peaceful and Private Garden Cottage on a lovely country estate.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371622
+1 808-365-3969
Hilo Hilo District
5

A piece of paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
As we drove up to Randall's place from the scenic route we took, my wife and I were absolutely amazed at the beautiful landscape of our accommodations for the next several days and upon entering our cottage we were equally impressed by this and well-appointed suite. Randall was a pleasure to work with when setting up our reservation and made us feel very comfortable and that we were making a good choice. The bed was comfortable, the cottage very clean and well organized and what a beautiful view of the landscape from the living room or patio while enjoying a morning cup of coffee (very soothing and peaceful). Then there’s the shower (wow!) which was the icing on the cake. Randall also had some great suggestion on places to go for hikes, sightseeing and dinning. We've stay at other HomeAway properties and this is on our list for places to return to. Thanks so much for your hospitality Randall and look forward to staying with you again.
Greg and Marci from Colorado
business
Peaceful and Private Garden Cottage on a lovely country estate.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371622
+1 808-365-3969
Hilo Hilo District
5

Pretty private place, hospitality +++

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This is a nicely decorated and well equipped apartment looking out into a pretty and private garden. It's a reasonable drive north of Hilo (about 10 mins of the town centre) but well placed for exploring the eastern side of the Big Island. We covered the entire eastern side from Kopaha tidepools and Paloa in the south to Waimea and Mauna Kea in the north. Wonderful hospitality from the owners. The bathroom is to die for!
business
Peaceful and Private Garden Cottage on a lovely country estate.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371622
+1 808-365-3969
Hilo Hilo District
Vancouver, wa
5

Excellent week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We're 55+, but found getting around was a breeze. Only one short rain shower in our April week. Overall, a great place to stay, and Randall was helpful in every way.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities
business
Peaceful and Private Garden Cottage on a lovely country estate.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371622
+1 808-365-3969
Hilo Hilo District
United States
5

LOCATION - LOCATION! GREAT SIDE OF THE ISLAND

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The location of this property was perfect and just as described. We were looking to stay in a lush area and this side of the island was just that. If you are looking for waterfall hikes, walks through the Botanical Gardens and close proximity to town, this is the place to stay! Nice size unit, beautiful bathroom and a lovely view. The Saturday Market was busy, try the unusual fruits and if your in the heart of Hilo, check out "Brain Freeze" for Shaved Ice and the like, it's family operated and they were SO FRIENDLY. The people on this side of the island were warm and gracious. Richardson's Beach was good for an intown snorkel location and there were two large turtles eating right there in the tide pools. This is not the side of the island for people that like a real busy tourist area like Waikiki it's much more slow paced and mainly local residents. For the most part the unit is set up for 2 Adults, but we took our 4 year old twins and they slept fine on the twin bed.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Peaceful and Private Garden Cottage on a lovely country estate.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371622
+1 808-365-3969
Hilo Hilo District
5

Hilo Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We just loved this precious piece of heaven. The grounds are meticulously groomed and the accommodations are wonderful. Everything is top notch, from the bathroom towels to the sheets, blankets and carpets. Randall is very patient and informative and Buddaboy and Huko are an added joy. If you are looking for a quiet place to relax after a day of touring this is it. Adele and Don/ Ontario, Canada
business
Peaceful and Private Garden Cottage on a lovely country estate.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371622
+1 808-365-3969
Hilo Hilo District
Alberta, Canada
5

Ahh Hawaii

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This is a beautiful location & accomodation. The hike down to Onomea Bay is a must but make sure you wear the proper footwear. The suite is equipped with the essentials & the fruit/produce left outside the door was a bonus.
The rental was clean & the surrounding green space immaculate. The daily visit from the resident dogs made me think of home.
Randall & Donna were very informative & friendly which made it easy to ask about the area restaurants, attractions etc. I would highly recommend this location & if the chance to stay here again should arise I would not hestitate to book it.
business
Peaceful and Private Garden Cottage on a lovely country estate.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371622
+1 808-365-3969
Hilo Hilo District
5

Couldn't ask for a better experience!

Couldn't ask for a better experience!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This review comes a little late as I still seem to be on island time after our visit in December. My girlfriend and I stayed with Randall and Donna for a full week before heading to the other side of the Big Island and it was a fantastic experience.

As soon as we arrived, we were greeted by Randall with a big "Aloha" and an even bigger smile:) Everything about the property and accommodations were exactly as described: clean and comfortable, it felt like home right away. The property that Randall and Donna have is gorgeous and I find myself pining to return as I type this in a cold Canadian winter!

Not only were Randall and Donna fantastic hosts - always there when needed, always respectful of our privacy, generous and thoughtful - but Randall was also a great resource of info on the "what's" and "where's" of the Big Island. The restaurants he suggested were fantastic; try the Thai one, it was great.

We didn't spend a lot of time at the property during the day as we were out adventuring, but at the end of the day when we returned it was as if we were coming home. It's peaceful there and at night there's a nice breeze that comes through the numerous windows to cool things off for a peaceful sleep.

The only surprise for us was the amount of rain that we had as Hilo is on the rainier side of the Big Island; however, the rain cooled things off intermittently throughout the day and actually made sight-seeing and visiting places like Volcano National Park quite enjoyable. We spent a week on the Hilo side and another on the North End. First week was sight-seeing, with a few days driving to the west side for some good beaches, and the second week was beach time near Kona. Looking back, I find my best memories are of the first week; it's less touristy and you can get in touch with the local vibe better than the Kona side.

All in all, a great experience. Would we stay with Randall and Donna again? Absolutely! Should you? Most definitely.

Mahalo Randall and Donna!

Aloha!

Pete and Kelsey
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Peaceful and Private Garden Cottage on a lovely country estate.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p371622
+1 808-365-3969
Hilo Hilo District
Middlebury, VT
4

Beautiful guest quarters close to Hilo

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This guest suite was very conviently located (only 10 minutes from Hilo) and very tastefully decorated with an open floor plan and amazing stone work (in the bathroom particularly). It was clean and quiet, though note that you share the 5 acres with the owners as this suite is attached to their residence. Open air patio is only dining / table space, so bring a layer to protect from the mosquitos and enjoy the beautifully landscaped grounds.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/3