Mariposa chalet rental - In a Sierran forest ... silence ... incomparable beauty ... a billion stars
In a Sierran forest ... silence ... incomparable beauty ... a billion stars
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Mariposa Chalet Rental Photos and Description
Chalet, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Starlit evenings perfect for romance. A dance floor. Stargaze from the deck. Look, there's Orion! Folks love no neighbors' lights and no traffic noise. And breathing pure air and drinking sweet, non-chlorinated water. The chalet is a comfortable base from which adventurous families launch serious explorations of Yosemite and the Sierra. Days begin with animated fly-ins of wild doves, stellar jays, dark-eyed juncos, grosbeaks and hummingbirds who come to enjoy birdseed. Guests watch happily from comfortable chairs in the Great Room. Squirrels join the party. Sometimes, wild turkeys and gray foxes. Deer cross the meadow. After Mother Nature's morning shock and awe, the bell sounds; time to peek through another window at one of America's richest historical periods. We head for Gold Country Mariposa to enjoy the California Mining and Mineral Museum, the History Museum, visit one of our state's oldest newspapers, and tour California's oldest active courthouse. Amazing!

Explosion of Beauty–Everywhere:

You don't have to wait 'til you arrive at Yosemite to be captured by nature's splendor. Starlit Chalet is in the middle of a lush Ponderosa Pine, Oak and Incense Cedar forest and there is a constant explosion of beauty outside every window. Put on your walking shoes, walk down the hill to the mailbox, turn right onto Jerseydale Road and walk up to the CDF Station. Drink in the trees, the meadows, the quiet, the extravagant display in every direction. And, when the sun comes up, get the birdseed from the pantry, sprinkle it generously along the deck railing and watch the joyful ballet of feathered and furried friends.

Star-gazing–Cooking Fun:

The only lights to distract at night emanate from the moon and billions of galaxies that populate a vast window to the Southern Sky. The starry majesty of the heavens crowns towering Ponderosa Pines. All seen most nights from the redwood deck circling half the chalet. You don't need a Hubble telescope to enjoy the nightly parade of the universe’s celestial extravagance – our star chart and binoculars will do the job just fine. The spacious kitchen includes custom cabinets and many appliances. The inviting tile bar connecting the kitchen and dining area is a great place to gather during meal preparation and cheer on the cook. And if the cook is willing, throwing a few steaks on the barbie may be the perfect preparation for tomorrow's Yosemite hike or tonight's star party.

Dance Floor–Sandy Beaches: Your willing host, Paul, has hiked the Sierra Nevada for 20 years and can answer your questions about hiking trails. Paul also teaches Argentine tango for beginners. Se habla tango! The Great Room's comfortable seating can easily be moved to create dance space when the sun goes down. Bring your CD's and dancing shoes and enjoy your favorite dances with your favorite partner as the stars twinkle overhead. Set a romantic mood with the dimmable track lights. Feet sore from dancing all night? Relief is just 20 minutes away at Briceburg on the Merced. Cold water and sandy beaches for tired feet. A perfect place for swimming, picnics, hiking, kayaking, fishing and seeing wildlife. In May and early June, white-water rafting is available.

Keywords: chalet, 10º cooler in summer heat, mountain home, Yosemite lodging, secluded, private, child friendly, family vacation, honeymoon, Yosemite National Park, vacation home, mountain luxury, hideaway, Arch Rock, romantic, Mariposa, Butterfly Creek Winery, exceptionally clean, mountain bikers, hikers, white water rafters

More Details
Hide Details

Se habla español. I spend my time traveling, writing, and producing documentary videos to help make the world a better place, especially for children. And nature photography. And when I'm at the chalet, hiking twice weekly with a local hiking group. Life is good! And I take being your host very seriously. I and my professional staff spend a lot of time making sure the chalet is clean, safe, comfortable and spectacular.

Paul Weiss purchased this chalet in 2001

On my very first visit, I was stunned by the beauty of Yosemite and this entire area. That reaction continues today. This is one of the most beautiful areas on the planet and being able to share it with friends and family for so many years has given me a lot of joy. Now I get to share it with new friends, my guests. And what guests we have! From all over the world ... and all in love with nature.

Being so close to the beauty of Yosemite and the Sierra National Forest is everything! And at almost 4,000' elevation, the coolness of the chalet is a great plus in Mariposa's warm summers. I love to hike, enjoy good food and curl up on my favorite chair in the Great Room with a good book. Just being quiet in the presence of nature's majesty can be very healing. And being surprised by a deer or the whirring wings of a humming bird ... or looking up at night and seeing a billion stars ... all quite wonderful. And, when the mood strikes (and it does, often) slipping a tango CD into the stereo and moving slowly across the dance floor as the music invades every pore of my body ... aaaaahh. What a wonderful world!

20 Reviews of Property 348104 in Mariposa, California

Starlit Chalet on Yosemite's Doorstep—3,800' High —10 Forested Acres
average rating of 4.85 based on 20 reviews
business
Starlit Chalet on Yosemite's Doorstep—3,800' High —10 Forested Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348104vb
(209) 379-4343 (California, USA)
Mariposa Yosemite Area
5

Would love to come back

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We are two couples that stayed at the Starlit Chalet recently and we loved it. It was a wonderful place to unwind during our whirlwind trip to Yosemite. It was quiet, relaxing, and very comfortable. The recommendations for visiting the park, and the detailed list of hikes helped us make the most of our two-day stay. Paul is a charming and knowledgeable host, and Yosemite is breathtaking. We'd love to come back and stay longer.
Owner's Response: Six young deer just ambled through the meadow in front of the chalet. Then I turned on my iPad and read this review - what a great way to start a day. I love my guests. I love Yosemite. And I love my chalet. Life is good!
business
Starlit Chalet on Yosemite's Doorstep—3,800' High —10 Forested Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348104vb
(209) 379-4343 (California, USA)
Mariposa Yosemite Area
Pompano Beach, Fl.
5

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
What a great place! Paul makes sure you have the information you need to see more of Yosemite than you thought possible. Evenings on the deck are a wonderful close to each day of hiking and sightseeing. Beds were comfortable and the house had everything you could need.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Putting smiles on the faces of guests is important to us ... and being a part of enriching their Yosemite experience puts a smile on ours.
business
Starlit Chalet on Yosemite's Doorstep—3,800' High —10 Forested Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348104vb
(209) 379-4343 (California, USA)
Mariposa Yosemite Area
North Branch, Michigan
5

A lovely place to enjoy your family and nature

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
First I will say that the owner, Paul, is a lovely man who works hard to be sure that his guests are happy. His home is very nice and comfortable and easy to be in. He includes all the little things that make it comfortable including high quality products like shampoo, soap, tissues, etc. Everything is very clean. Each room had lovely views. The furnishings are nice. We enjoyed spending time at the dinner table and lounging in the big living room. We were not fortunate enough to have the stars cooperate, but we certainly did enjoy sitting out on the deck at night enjoying each others' company. I liked that the room with the t.v. was not in the main living room. The area is so beautiful. We enjoyed Mariposa which is not far at all. The drive to Yosemite took us about an hour, and it's a beautiful drive. It was a wonderful vacation and Paul's Starlit Chalet gave us a great place to come together.
Owner's Response: What a gift it was to share the chalet with happy, new friends who love nature … and who appreciate what goes into making their stay comfortable and, we hope, memorable! It inspires us to work hard to make sure our next guests are welcome and comfortable. Y'all come back!
business
Starlit Chalet on Yosemite's Doorstep—3,800' High —10 Forested Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348104vb
(209) 379-4343 (California, USA)
Mariposa Yosemite Area
4

Excellent & Comfortable Embrace to Nature

Excellent & Comfortable Embrace to Nature
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Starlit Chalet is an excellent Vacation home that comes equipped with EVERYTHING you would expect to see around you at your own home. The Owner Paul Weiss is very warm hearted cheerful person who is eager to meet all your needs and is just a phone call/knock (literally) away.

The place is well maintained, VERY WELL equipped, and spacious. The kitchen, laundry area, and bathrooms had AMPLE supplies of everything that you can ever imagine having at your own home. Since the home is in the secluded areas of forest, sitting on it's spacious deck is a treat by it-self.

Other than spotting a few spiders (since the house is deep in the woods), my family found this place to be quite spacious & comfortable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Starlit Chalet on Yosemite's Doorstep—3,800' High —10 Forested Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348104vb
(209) 379-4343 (California, USA)
Mariposa Yosemite Area
4

Excellent & Comfortable Embrace to Nature

Excellent & Comfortable Embrace to Nature
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Starlit Chalet is an excellent Vacation home that comes equipped with EVERYTHING you would expect to see around you at your own home. The Owner Paul Weiss is very warm hearted cheerful person who is eager to meet all your needs and is just a phone call/knock (literally) away.

The place is well maintained, VERY WELL equipped, and spacious. The kitchen, laundry area, and bathrooms had AMPLE supplies of everything that you can ever imagine having at your own home. Since the home is in the secluded areas of forest, sitting on it's spacious deck is a treat by it-self.

Other than spotting a few spiders (since the house is deep in the woods), my family found this place to be quite spacious & comfortable.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your generous review. Words like EXCELLENT, COMFORTABLE, VERY WELL EQUIPPED AND AMPLE tell us we're doing a good job.

I'm also glad your 11-year old found a few little spiders! Experts tell us, "As some of nature's most ravenous and efficient eaters, spiders keep the populations of various insects in check." When I find an occasional spider, I catch it in a jar and put it outside, grateful for the good work it has done. I hope she also saw deer, wild doves, blue jays, hummingbirds and maybe even a bear!
business
Starlit Chalet on Yosemite's Doorstep—3,800' High —10 Forested Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348104vb
(209) 379-4343 (California, USA)
Mariposa Yosemite Area
5

Great!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had an awesome time in this house. It's very cozy and clean.
The nature is perfect. In the morning you can watch the squirrels and birds and in the evening you can enjoy the stars.
Very great service, thank you Paul :-)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to respond. Our guests don't realize it, but all those squirrels, birds and deer have been trained to appear on cue. Can't train the stars, however, they listen to a different drummer!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Starlit Chalet on Yosemite's Doorstep—3,800' High —10 Forested Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348104vb
(209) 379-4343 (California, USA)
Mariposa Yosemite Area
San Jose
5

A perfect getaway in beautiful Yosemite

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Everything was PERFECT
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: A perfect review! We're not often accused of being perfect so it feels very special. Hope to see you next year!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Starlit Chalet on Yosemite's Doorstep—3,800' High —10 Forested Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348104vb
(209) 379-4343 (California, USA)
Mariposa Yosemite Area
5

Awesome stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This chalet was so inviting, peaceful & beautiful. Paul & Nora made our stay so comfortable. Almost everything that you might need is in that house. Whatever that was said on the description on the property was accurate. Our family had an amazing time. Excellent experience. Thank you.
Owner's Response: When I first started last season, I made a list of things I would want in a mountain rental and tried to include all of them in my beautiful chalet. It seems to be working and I'm thrilled to get excellent reviews like this one from our amazing guests. Thank you! Please come back, we'll leave a light on for you.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Starlit Chalet on Yosemite's Doorstep—3,800' High —10 Forested Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348104vb
(209) 379-4343 (California, USA)
Mariposa Yosemite Area
North Little Rock, AR
5

Wonderful place to stay when visiting Yosemite!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Starlit Chalet is about a 40 minute drive from the park itself, but the drive is worth it. Away from the hustle and bustle of the park, our family was able to enjoy beautiful starlit nights on the deck, visits from the woodland creatures (jays, hummingbirds, other bird species, squirrels, deer and wild turkeys) in the morning and a great night's sleep in comfortable surroundings. It was nice being able to cook breakfast in the mornings and supper at the Chalet a couple of nights, Mariposa is close with good restaurants for other needs. Highly recommend this property and the great hospitality of Paul and Nora.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks to all our new friends from Little Rock. Our ears are tingling! Hope to see you all again on your next trip West.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Starlit Chalet on Yosemite's Doorstep—3,800' High —10 Forested Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348104vb
(209) 379-4343 (California, USA)
Mariposa Yosemite Area
The Netherlands
5

a dream

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We were with a group of six from the south of the Netherlands, and the drive up to the house in the evening was already an adventure! Where are we going? For us this was truly a dream, to find the chalet in the middle of the forrest. And as the name says, it was starlit. Everything is provided for in the house. But who needs a big screen TV, with a deck to sit on and enjoy the surrounding nature. Early in the morning we sat outside, and a squirrel peeped over the roof and looked down at us. We put some birdseed on the railing of the deck as Paul told us to. And yes, they all came, first the squirrels, than all sorts of birds, a wild turkey, the wild doves. We just tried not to move and watched them enjoying the seeds, while in the garden below the deer were grazing.... we were overwhelmed!

The drive to Yosemite was a bit far, but i guess that's because we are Dutch and used to short distances to drive to get anywhere ;-) But the road to the park was worth the drive. Very beautiful, and we even saw a bear in the river along the street.

Paul the owner, provides us with lots of helpful information and history of the surrounding area. The only regret we had was not to meet him. Nora, thanks for showing us around, you were very kind and helpful.

Paul, you are so lucky to be able to live there for several months a year!!!

Greetings from your Dutch visitors.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Maurice and all my new Dutch friends. The pleasure you experienced with the chalet and Yosemite is the reason we do this. Sharing hospitality and the beauty of the Sierra AND having the sharing appreciated, well, it makes our day and it encourages us to make sure Starlit Chalet is as good as it can be for our next guests. Come back soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1