Los Altos Hills cottage rental - Private and secluded outdoor dining area with views. Perfect for an evening BBQ!
Private and secluded outdoor dining area with views. Perfect for an evening BBQ!
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Los Altos Hills Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Detached Unit, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

The best thing about this place is its remarkable location .... literally minutes from Stanford campus and Highway 280 ... just over the hill from the Pacific Ocean and Santa Cruz/ Half Moon Bay and yet it's the most peaceful, lovely spot imaginable with glorious views directly out to the pristine open space of the famed Windy Hill.

This is a one of a kind cottage. Great vibe with friendly, welcoming atmosphere.

Sleeps 2 with beautiful detached annex that sleeps 2 available at additional rate.

Keywords: Minutes from Stanford, Woodside, Menlo Park, Atherton with easy access to San Jose, San Francisco, Half Moon Bay and Santa Cruz. This lovely, quiet, convenient cottage with fabulous mountain views is a true gem for anyone visiting the Bay Area.

World Class Hiking!

Fresh eggs from our beautiful hens

4 Reviews of Property 370678 in Los Altos Hills, California

Charming Rustic Cottage, Private with Breathtaking Views!
average rating of 5.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Charming Rustic Cottage, Private with Breathtaking Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p370678vbi
6508512101
Los Altos Hills The Bay Area
Singapore
5

I can't think of a more idyllic place to spend a weekend, or 6 months...

I can't think of a more idyllic place to spend a weekend, or 6 months...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
This review is long overdue. My apologies to Danna, the most wonderful host someone could ask for. When relocating to the area, I started with 2 month commitment which turned into 8 months. And even then it was a hard place to leave.

Your experience starts when you drive up Alpine road under a canopy of trees and up into the hills. As I did so every day for 8 months, I felt like I was going into a different world and leaving the stress of Silicon Valley behind. Turning into her driveway only increased that feeling. The lush and eclectic garden full of flowers and trees felt secluded and welcoming. The rustic appointments of the house made it feel like home. Even the crunch of the gravel driveway under my wheels was comforting.

As you go around the corner to the separate, private entrance to the cottage, you are immediately greeted by spectacular view of trees and the hills. It is the same view as you have out all the windows in the cottage. The cottage itself is light, inviting, homey and well decorated. It is very livable for one or two people. But the photos can probably tell you all you want to know about the cottage itself.

What the photos cannot tell you is want a wonderful, special person Danna is. Charming, quirky, friendly and caring. Some of my fondest memories are of enjoying a glass of wine with her in her living room, sometimes in the company of her wonderful family and fascinating friends... and of course, her mischievous dog, Charlie Cooper.

But don't get me wrong, you will only see Danna as much as you want. She gives you all the privacy you want. She was never intrusive. Most of the time I sought her out as her company was so enjoyable.

It was my pleasure to stay at this special place and I would again without second thought. My only regret is that after becoming attached to the family and the place, I miss them.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Rustic Cottage, Private with Breathtaking Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p370678vbi
6508512101
Los Altos Hills The Bay Area
Singapore
5

I can't think of a more idyllic place to spend a weekend, or 6 months...

I can't think of a more idyllic place to spend a weekend, or 6 months...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
This review is long overdue. My apologies to Danna, the most wonderful host someone could ask for. When relocating to the area, I started with 2 month commitment which turned into 8 months. And even then it was a hard place to leave.

Your experience starts when you drive up Alpine road under a canopy of trees and up into the hills. As I did so every day for 8 months, I felt like I was going into a different world and leaving the stress of Silicon Valley behind. Turning into her driveway only increased that feeling. The lush and eclectic garden full of flowers and trees felt secluded and welcoming. The rustic appointments of the house made it feel like home. Even the crunch of the gravel driveway under my wheels was comforting.

As you go around the corner to the separate, private entrance to the cottage, you are immediately greeted by spectacular view of trees and the hills. It is the same view as you have out all the windows in the cottage. The cottage itself is light, inviting, homey and well decorated. It is very livable for one or two people. But the photos can probably tell you all you want to know about the cottage itself.

What the photos cannot tell you is want a wonderful, special person Danna is. Charming, quirky, friendly and caring. Some of my fondest memories are of enjoying a glass of wine with her in her living room, sometimes in the company of her wonderful family and fascinating friends... and of course, her mischievous dog, Charlie Cooper.

But don't get me wrong, you will only see Danna as much as you want. She gives you all the privacy you want. She was never intrusive. Most of the time I sought her out as her company was so enjoyable.

It was my pleasure to stay at this special place and I would again without second thought. My only regret is that after becoming attached to the family and the place, I miss them.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Rustic Cottage, Private with Breathtaking Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p370678vbi
6508512101
Los Altos Hills The Bay Area
Dallas, TX
5

Portola Valley Bungalow

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This three-room bungalow sits on the edge of a majestic view of Windy Hill and the coastal mountains that backs up to Palo Alto. The great room is great in the European sense: a good chair to read in, a sofa to stretch out on, books and a music collection, a large dinning table that anchors lively conversation late into the night and a kitchen that is fully appointed with all you need to cook grilled cheese sandwiches on a lazy afternoon or salmon cakes for visiting friends and family. If you haven’t figured it out by now my wife and I loved this little place.

Each morning a gentle sea breeze falls through the white knuckles of the fog hanging on the ridge line opposite and works it way down into the valley below and up our hill and through our bedroom window left ajar through the night just for it. If you love nature you will relish this little casita.

The place is sparkling clean, The bed is big, welcoming and firm. The sheets were ironed and crisp when we got there. There is a little room behind the kitchen that makes a good office, if you have to work but really you shouldn’t. There are hiking trails, Stanford isn’t far. And last there is the outside patio. Here big thoughts disappear into the heavens and float back as joy and the good luck and gratitude of having found such a place. And yes fresh eggs 30 steps away.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for the terrific write up. We are very happy you enjoyed your visit!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Charming Rustic Cottage, Private with Breathtaking Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p370678vbi
6508512101
Los Altos Hills The Bay Area
Alaska
5

Great Place To Stay in Portola Valley

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My wife and I had the pleasure of spending 16 days in Danna's cottage in Portola Valley, Ca. We were very pleased with all aspects of the accommodations from the cottage itself to the beautiful surroundings. The decor inside has a vintage antique theme with plenty of living space. There is the added benefit of a workout room and an outdoor patio area with spectacular views of the Portola Valley landscape and the evening skyline. Danna was very accommodating yet respectful of our privacy. Danna makes her famous fresh eggs available to guests on a daily basis. The location of the cottage affords direct access to miles of beautiful hiking trails right yet is close to the convenience of good shopping and dinning establishments. We have definitely marked this place as a top notch place to stay and hope to see Danna again next year.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so so so happy you love the place. We do too. So nice to be appreciated!
Helpful votes: 4/4