Uvita cabin rental - Casita Kristina Maria
Casita Kristina Maria
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Uvita Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2 Adults in 1 Queen sized Bed)

Casita Kristina Maria is a 515 sq. ft. studio cabin (including the deck) nestled on 3.75 acres in the rainforest overlooking Marino Ballena National Park in Bahia Ballena. Located a few minutes south of the town of Uvita in a gated wildlife reserve with 100+ acres of natural rainforest. The panoramic views of the ocean, Isla Ballena, Cano Island, Tres Hermanas (Three Sisters rocks), and the rainforest will take your breath away!

Built in 2007, Casita Kristina Maria is furnished with locally crafted bamboo furniture including a queen size bed with a pillowtop mattress and bamboo headboard, a kitchen table with 3 chairs, 2 arm chairs in the sitting area, night stands, a bamboo wardrobe armoire, and 2 adirondak deck chairs.

The kitchenette has a stainless steel electric range/oven and refrigerator, a stainless steel sink, granite counters, a coffee maker, toaster, blender, microwave, tropical design dishes and utensils, and pots and pans.

The bathroom features a tiled shower, bamboo framed mirror, a marble vanity, a ceiling fan, and a window looking out to the rainforest.

Other features include ceiling fans (4 interior and 3 exterior fans), wireless internet, and a covered deck on two sides of the casita. Bedding, linens, towels, and 2 beach chairs are provided.

Enjoy the sights and sounds of nature, including howler monkeys, white-faced capuchin monkeys, white-nosed coati mundis (racoon family), agoutis, toucans, parrots, and many other exotic birds, beautiful butterflies including the spectacular blue morpho, frogs, and other jungle wildlife.

Hike to nearby waterfalls, streams and cascades in the gated reserve.

Relax as you sit in an adirondack chair on the covered deck while enjoying phenomenal views of the ocean, islands, and rainforest in a lush and private setting.

Minutes to beautiful tropical beaches where the jungle meets the shore, and the ocean temperatures range from 80-85 degrees year round!

Ballena Beach Club access is included in this rental. Ballena Beach Club has a restaurant, swimming pool, bar, restrooms, beach parking, and a private access to the beach (Playa Ballena in Marino Ballena National Park).

Convenient to delicious restaurants in Uvita, Ojochal and Dominical, banks, grocery and convenience stores, gas station, and a multitude of nearby activities that include swimming, surfing, horseback riding, whitewater rafting, fishing, boating, kayaking, snorkeling, zipline canopy tours, hiking, exploring ocean caves and rainforest waterfalls, ATV tours, learning about jungle flora and fauna at Hacienda Baru Wildlife Refuge, Don Lulo's horseback riding tour to Nauyaca Waterfalls, visiting Reptilandia, a reptile zoo, and shopping for sourveniers at beachside stalls on Playa Dominical, or at the Community Market in Uvita on Saturday mornings.

A 4-wheel drive vehicle is required. We would be happy to refer you to a reputable and reasonable rental car company, as well as provide you with contact information for making reservations for nearby activities and excursions.

If you need to accomodate more than 2 people, check out Villa Kristina Maria #360199, which sleeps up to 9 people.

Keywords: Cabin,Studio,Casita,Cabina,View,Ocean View,Rainforest,Jungle,Monkeys,Birds,Private

More Details
Hide Details

We live in San Juan Capistrano, in Southern California. Kathy is a real estate broker, Steve is a general contractor and does design work for a structural steel company. We have a daughter in her mid-20's, and 3 dogs - 2 of the dogs, 'Perla' and 'Ballena', we brought home from Costa Rica. Steve surfs, and we enjoy nature and hiking. Our favorite beaches are Playa Ballena at Ballena Beach Club and Playa Ventanas, both in Costa Rica. Our favorite restaurant is Exotica in Ojochal, Costa Rica - their Chicken Exotica is Kathy's favorite, and their 'Devil's Fork' dessert is scrumptious.

Kathy Divel, Owner purchased this cabin in 2006

We fell in love with the beautiful views and gorgeous scenery in the South Pacific region of Costa Rica. The Costa Rican people are so warm and friendly, and made us feel welcome.

Perla de Ballena, the gated eco-community and private wildlife reserve where Casita Kristina Maria is located, reminds Kathy's mother of Jurassic Park because of its lush landscape and natural environment. Being surrounded by nature is a peaceful and renewing experience.

We purchased the land in December of 2006, designed Casita Kristina Maria and Villa Kristina Maria in early 2007, built Casita Kristina Maria in mid-2007 and stayed in the Casita while Villa Kristina Maria was contructed. Both the Casita and Villa were built by Ecomaderas, a local Tico contractor.

The Casita is surrounded by rainforest jungle. Relax to the sound of the seasonal creek babbling through rainforest. You'll be lulled to sleep by croaking frogs, chirping crickets, and the sounds of the jungle at night. Awaken to the distinct roar of howler monkeys as they traverse through the jungle, and the squawking of green parrots flying overhead . At lowtide, and when the surf is big, you can sometimes hear the waves crashing on the beach.

Included in the rental is access to Ballena Beach Club. Ballena Beach Club has a beachside restaurant, bar, swimming pool, restroom facilities, shower, free beach parking, and a palm-lined trail to Playa Ballena. Playa Ballena is a beautiful tropical swimming and surfing beach with views of Tres Hermanas and Isle Ballena. The water temperature is a warm 80-85 degrees year-round.

Perla de Ballena, the private and gated eco-community where Casita Kristina Maria is located, is a wildlife reserve and an ideal setting for viewing the flora and fauna of the rainforest with acres of primary and secondary rainforest, streams, waterfalls, and hiking trails.

A sampling of the wildlife viewed from the Casita include howler monkeys, white-faced monkeys, white-nosed coati mundis (raccoon family), iguanas, agoutis, toucans, parrots, hummingbirds, many other tropical birds, butterflies (including the spectacular blue morpho butterfly) and much more!

While relaxing on the deck, you may see humpback whales breaching in the ocean waters of Marino Ballena National Park from January to April, and from July to October.

14 Reviews of Property 369661 in Uvita, Costa Rica

Rainforest Studio Casita/Cabin - Ocean, Islands & Jungle Views
average rating of 4.857143 based on 14 reviews
business
Rainforest Studio Casita/Cabin - Ocean, Islands & Jungle Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369661vbi
949-496-5675
Uvita Puntarenas
5

Breathtaking Uvita Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The Casita was just what we'd hoped it would be. The mountain side view of the pacific was outstanding and the Uvita location was a perfect home base to visit many local beaches (Whale's tail), and for day trips south to the Sierpe (mangrove tour), north to Manuel Antonio National Park and north to Nauyaca Waterfall (horse back tour). Mix in relaxing with our morning cup of coffee on the deck watching the hummingbirds feeding while being serenaded by Toucan and Howler Monkey calls from the valley below was....well.....simply paradise. After a couple of days, Casita Kristina Maria truly felt like our home. Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful property with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Rainforest Studio Casita/Cabin - Ocean, Islands & Jungle Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369661vbi
949-496-5675
Uvita Puntarenas
Helsinge, Denmark
5

Exclusive paradise found in Costa Rica

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
How can two Danes find themselves a bit of paradise? No big deal, just book a stay at this lovely well decorated Casita. With the rain forrest in the backyard and the Pacific Ocean in front of you, you cannot find a better place for a "hide away". We heard and saw the howler monkeys, the toucans in the tree in front of the house, parrots, a dirt road crossing snake, humming birds and many more birds than we ever get to see in Denmark. The casita was clean, the utensils in the kitchen in perfect condition, plenty of hot and cold water, nice bathroom, wonderful king size bed, fans and AC working smoothly and the property manager was alert, sweet, keen, handy and service minded.We went to nearly all of the beaches in the area and liked specially Pinuelas, Ventura and Ballena Beach Club (good food and friendly personnel). There are well assorted supermarkets nearby on the main road to Uvita. All in all: We enjoyed our stay to the utmost in this Casita with its design, the interior and we were happy to be able to use the pool at the villa, 20 steps lower on the lot. We will quote another visitor by saying, that the road up to the Casita is quite a challenge. You definitely need a 4xdrive.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Rainforest Studio Casita/Cabin - Ocean, Islands & Jungle Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369661vbi
949-496-5675
Uvita Puntarenas
5

Casita with a Million Dollar View!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our tiny casita with a HUGE view of the Pacific.....what a tranquil place to watch the sun set after a fun-filled day! The accommodations were clean and property well cared. The layout was well thought out; no more or less than a couple needs to feel indulged yet thrifty at the same time. We highly recommend utilizing the Ballena Beach Club access and, even if you're not horse lovers, the ride to the waterfalls. The ride is broken up nicely with breakfast and lunch and the destination is spectacular! We would highly recommend this casita to anyone interested in a small, clean, beautiful get-away!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Rainforest Studio Casita/Cabin - Ocean, Islands & Jungle Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369661vbi
949-496-5675
Uvita Puntarenas
5

So good we're thinking about buying...

So good we're thinking about buying...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We loved our stay at the Casita; what's not to love about waking up every morning to white-faced capuchins? We were quite pleased to find a large capuchin family staying in one of the trees just behind the Casita and saw plenty of action from them (we were particularly enamored by a baby monkey who was still riding around on his mom’s back, as well as a vivacious youth that displayed no fear when jumping from branch to branch)! Apart from the monkeys there are plenty of other animals to see in the trees: at one point we had at least forty green parrots in nearby trees having a type of Macaw-cus/town meeting. So bring your binoculars!

Apart from the wildlife, the Casita is quite nice itself. It is simple (read: no Four Seasons, or even Marriot, amenities) but we prefer such practical accommodations and never once desired an item or service that wasn’t offered. The owners provide beach chairs, beach towels, plenty of cooking and kitchen supplies, and air conditioning. Wireless is also available but I wouldn’t count on doing anything useful with it.

We also had the traumatizing experience of trying to find the Casita in the dark. Neither of us had ever travelled on a “jungle road” before, and we now understand why the owners tell you to try and come during the day! We too, suggest this. There were several tense moments where we were unsure if we were driving off a cliff into rainforest ravines, or if we were about to get eaten by a Tyrannosaurus Rex. Apart from being slightly treacherous for spoiled Americans used to paved roads, the jungle road is itself really cool: you get to see huge rainforest plants up close and little waterfalls dot the road. We also stopped one time and found a few poisonous tree frogs that were really cute and colorful.

The ramble will end here with a few last observations: we talked to many tourists throughout our vacation and it was clear we had the best lodging experience in terms of wildlife and beautiful views. It is also neat that the Casita is located in a part of the country that is touristy enough that you don’t feel like a fish out of water, but untouched enough that the experience feels more special and unique that a typical Costa Rican vacation. All in all, two thumbs up! Oh, and we recommend going on a white water rafting trip with Dominical Surf Adventures (Jody was our guide and is the best!) and a kayaking trip with Victor at Uvita Adventure Tours.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rainforest Studio Casita/Cabin - Ocean, Islands & Jungle Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369661vbi
949-496-5675
Uvita Puntarenas
4

rural and nice accommodation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Beautiful view, nice cosy house with all the amenities to cook and a nice shower. We saw many toucans. You are far enough from the noise of the road and you have a nice veranda to sit and enjoy the view.
We liked it very much, but if you are not used to be alone in nature with almost no support you can better choose for a more touristic place.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're glad you enjoyed your stay. The Casita's location in a protected nature reserve provides our guests with a quiet and private location that is ideal for relaxing and soaking in the views of the ocean, islands, birds and jungle wildlife while being surrounded by lush rainforest. Our property managers live just up the road and are available to provide guests with any assistance they may require during their stay. Beautiful beaches, tourist activities such as boating, kayaking, surfing, snorkeling, horseback riding, ATV tours, canopy tours, mangrove tours, hiking, waterfalls . . . are nearby. The towns of Uvita and Ojochal, and the community of Bahia Ballena, are just minutes away and offer delicious restaurants, bakeries, banks, grocery stores, shops, pharmacies and medical facilities.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Rainforest Studio Casita/Cabin - Ocean, Islands & Jungle Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369661vbi
949-496-5675
Uvita Puntarenas
5

Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was our 3rd trip to Costa Rica and our favorite destination! We stayed in the casita for a month and saw wildlife everywhere! Our favorite activity was sitting on the deck in the middle of a jungle watching the monkeys(howlers and white faced), anteaters, toucans, humming birds, Trojans, poisonous dart frogs, Morpho butterflies just to name a few! The ocean view was spectacular as well! The private beach was gorgeous and we saw spider monkeys and white faced monkeys. The property managers, owners, workers, and neighbors were absolutely wonderful and we enjoyed many activities with them such as a fish fry, waterfall tour, Farmer's Market, and out to eat at several restaurants. This was definitely Paradise and the true meaning of Pura Vida living! We will be returning!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rainforest Studio Casita/Cabin - Ocean, Islands & Jungle Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369661vbi
949-496-5675
Uvita Puntarenas
Denver, CO
4

stay at jungle

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had a lovely stay in the cabin. We were glad the cabin is off the grid, in the wild preserve, very safe with lots of animals and plants to watch which was great for our 22 month old son. The cabin was big enough and spacious for all 3 of us, kitchen had everything we needed. The place was clean and well maintained. The only problem was communication. Our computer crashed so without internet we could not really reach anyone. The direction are not very clear so we strongly recommend GPS or at least a good map because in Costa Rica there are no addresses and we had to wonder often around trying to ask people around, which often took us to wrong way. We got lost on the way from airport so we got to the cabin at midnight. The lock boxes were switched and we could not reach anyone to help us to get into the cabin. We figured later to try open the second lock box and found the right keys. The beach house is great, with a nice beach that we had only for ourselves often. We found one of the best food in beach house as well and Cliff and Adolfo were very helpful giving us tips for waterfalls or trips giving us good directions. In the cabin there is no washer or dryer so we recommend to take enough cloths with you because the laundry takes a long time to dry in the high humidity. It was great to have the AC for night time, which we turned on few times during out stay.

After all we had a great experience!
Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Rainforest Studio Casita/Cabin - Ocean, Islands & Jungle Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369661vbi
949-496-5675
Uvita Puntarenas
5

casita cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
excellent
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Rainforest Studio Casita/Cabin - Ocean, Islands & Jungle Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369661vbi
949-496-5675
Uvita Puntarenas
British Columbia, Canada
5

Jungle Rainforest Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We were stunned by the natural beauty we experienced as we first drove up to the property.
We felt like we had stepped into a National Geographic layout!
The cabin itself was an awesome place to spend five nights. We had absolutely everything
we needed for our holiday. Pride of ownership is very evident in the way this place has been cared for. Both the owner, who was onsite for part of the time, and the property managers were very helpful and provided a lot of information about the area.
Make sure you have a four wheel drive, as it's a steep drive up to the cabin, and also have a camera handy for not only the beautiful foliage but also any wildlife you may be fortunate enough to encounter along the way.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Rainforest Studio Casita/Cabin - Ocean, Islands & Jungle Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369661vbi
949-496-5675
Uvita Puntarenas
Portland, OR
5

Beautiful location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The house and grounds are beautiful. Fresh flowers in vases upon our arrival brought the beautiful jungle inside. We rented both houses and my father stayed at the casita. He loved it and it was perfect for him to retreat to. The wrap around porch was great for animal watching. Great size for 2 people with plenty of room.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway