Arroyo Grande house rental - Meandering path to the Home
Meandering path to the Home
 
  • Bedrooms10
  • Sleeps35
  • 8 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Arroyo Grande House Rental Photos and Description
10 Bedrooms, 8.5 Baths, 1/3-acre gardens near Pismo Beach, garden weddings

VACATION RENTAL 2 MILES TO PISMO BEACH - GARDEN WEDDING VENUE

PROPERTY PHOTOS, GARDENS, & AREA ATTRACTIONS:

www.abellagardeninn.com

SLEEPS 30 IN BEDS - 6,000 SQ FT - ESTATE

This beautiful property is hidden from the outside world creating a very intimate and private retreat!

HISTORY

The house operated as a luxury bed and breakfast inn from 1989 to 2012. Trip Advisor still shows over 100 reviews for the Abella Garden Inn.

AREA

The Central Coast, with its laid-back vibe and serene natural beauty, is the perfect setting for a family reunion! Lush vineyards, spectacular ranches, quaint historic villages, and breathtaking beaches make it a very sought-after destination in California.

LOCATION

Just seconds off U.S. Highway 101, this property is 'Conveniently' located to all area attractions in the most sought-after area of the Central Coast. It is only 15 minutes from San Luis Obispo, 2 miles from Pismo Beach, and under one hour to Hearst Castle. Dozens of wineries are minutes away. It is within walking distance of the historic village of Arroyo Grande, a charming little village with an old-fashioned 1930's-style ice-cream soda fountain shop and many charming little specialty stores. Wineries, beaches, dunes, scenic drives, nature walks, historic villages, fine restaurants and shopping are minutes away.

DECOR

The décor is that of a “Country Inn” and is warm and inviting, cozy and comfortable.

GUEST ROOMS

There are 7 spacious and romantic, architecturally unique, garden-theme guest rooms with private full baths and a 3-room suite with a full bath.

First Floor: 3-room suite with full bath, kitchen, dining room, & living room.

Second Floor: 6 large rooms with full baths

Third Floor: One large suite with full bath

Garden: 1/3 acre with 1/2 bath & Garden Room (washers, dryers, large work table, 3 extra refrigerators-6 total on site, & countertops)

AMENITIES

The rooms include seating areas, robes, feather beds, down comforters, luxurious 450-thread-count cotton sheets, large fluffy towels, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, private space heaters, fans, central heating and air conditioning, and many thoughtful and romantic appointments throughout.

THE GARDENS

The upper “rose” garden is perfect for family lawn games and wedding receptions. The lower “fantasy” garden includes a babbling brook, waterfalls, and pond providing the perfect dream setting for a wedding ceremony. Both gardens have several tables and chairs for outdoor dining.

WEDDINGS & EVENTS

There is a separate charge to use the property as a wedding or event venue.

CLIMATE

Being close to the beach, temperatures are mild and comfortable year round; our central air conditioning is hardly ever used.

More Details
Hide Details

I LOVE FAMILY, COOKING, PEOPLE, AND DANCING!!!! I was born in Italy. Family, people, food, music, and dancing equal me, Gina, your little Italian vacation rental owner!! That's me in the picture with my 2 grandsons---life is wonderful!!

I worked the Inn as a bed and breakfast for the last 23 years and now I would like to offer my 'HOME' to your family and friends to enjoy and make many memories as I have done with thousands of guests, family, and friends throughout the years.

I'm going to fly like a bird and 'invent' the remainder of my life so that is why I now offer the Inn to you! Ciao and I send you all my love, Gina

Gina purchased this house in 1989

You cannot have a FAMILY REUNION if people have to stay in 2-3 homes! Imagine up to 30 people staying in ONE HOME in 'real' beds in large bedrooms most with private baths! Imagine also sitting together in ONE dining room to eat, play games, or reminisce! That is exactly what you will find at this Inn!! Add to that a standard of cleanliness, details, and accommodations found only in professional establishments, and this property is hard to beat!!

Free of technological 'junk', it will help families tackle the skills of verbal communication almost lost these days so that they can get to know each other on a personal human level once again!!

The Arroyo Grande area, with Pismo Beach 5 minutes away and San Luis Obispo only 15 minutes north, is a very desirable and sought after destination by travelers from all over the world who come to enjoy the gently rolling countryside, Hearst Castle, the uncrowded beaches, wine tasting at dozens of wineries minutes away, the Dunes, quaint historic villages, great restaurants close by, biking along country lanes, kayaking and boating, bird watching, hiking, and much more!

The most unique benefit of staying at the Inn is that a large number of people can be TOGETHER UNDER ONE ROOF AND STILL HAVE A LOT OF SPACE AND PRIVACY!!

It is also centrally located and easily accessible to all the small towns and sights that make the Central Coast very desirable as a destination location!

Being only 2 miles from the beach also means that the climate is mild year round and the summers stay cool; the central air conditioner is hardly ever used.

I've noticed that most rentals cannot accommodate over 20 people in one house, or they put out a lot of beds here, there, and everywhere so that there is no privacy for anyone. I stayed at a vacation rental and was worn out by pulling out the sofa bed that was in the living room every day for 7 days and making it up each morning; what a way to wear you out--no wonder they say you need a vacation once you get home from your vacation, ha, ha!!! That won't happen to you here!!!!

Plus the 1/2-acre gardens are absolutely wonderful for outdoor games and parties. They say we should smell the roses, well here you can actually smell the roses and the jasmine, and orange blossoms, and.....enjoy life and those you love!!!

15 Reviews of Property 369230 in Arroyo Grande, California

SLEEPS 30 IN BEDS - 2 MILES TO PISMO BEACH, GARDEN WEDDINGS - LUXURY COUNTRY INN
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
SLEEPS 30 IN BEDS - 2 MILES TO PISMO BEACH, GARDEN WEDDINGS - LUXURY COUNTRY INN
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369230vbi
805-543-9075
Arroyo Grande Central Coast California
Santa Maria, CA
5

Beautiful Wedding Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had our wedding here in August 2013. Everything was perfect! This is such a beautiful hidden location if you want to have a small intimate wedding. The garden is perfect and Gina was so accommodating and helpful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
SLEEPS 30 IN BEDS - 2 MILES TO PISMO BEACH, GARDEN WEDDINGS - LUXURY COUNTRY INN
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369230vbi
805-543-9075
Arroyo Grande Central Coast California
Visalia, CA
5

Wedding and Weekend Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
In October 2013 my husband and I had our wedding at Abella Garden Inn. We had both sides of our immediate family stay at the inn which made things very special, as well as accommodating. The home and grounds are beautiful and majestic. The owner, Gina, is detailed, kind, warm and a joy! Gina answered all of my questions and made our day unique and trouble free. Each room was large, comfortable and provided all amenities needed for an inn. Lots of room for all of our family. Kitchen, dining and living room has all the room you will need for 30 people. She arranged for chairs and tables for the wedding, had her grounds beautifully landscaped and was intricate down to every detail. The overall ambiance of the whole inn and grounds is quite wonderful! We fell in love from the moment we saw it! I am very happy that we chose this location and our families loved being so close and sharing the weekend together. Abella Garden Inn is like no other place you have ever stayed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
SLEEPS 30 IN BEDS - 2 MILES TO PISMO BEACH, GARDEN WEDDINGS - LUXURY COUNTRY INN
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369230vbi
805-543-9075
Arroyo Grande Central Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Posted on Yelp - Rated 5 stars

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Every summer, our large extended family vacation together. We love staying in one home so that we can spend as much time together as possible. For the past several years we have done everything from cruises to rental homes in Santa Barbara. It is always a challenge to find something that suits our needs in terms of number of rooms, cleanliness, location, and an overall warm feeling. This summer, our family hit the jackpot! Our family of 16, including grandparents, parents and children, stayed at Abella Garden Inn for four nights. We rented the entire inn and used 8 bedrooms for our family. The inn was beyond immaculate! Absolutely spotless! All the rooms had on-suite bathrooms and had luxurious and comfortable beds. The decor was romantic and warm. At first, we were concerned that our young children would have a hard time not touching Gina's beautiful antiques, but the house is surprisingly kid-friendly. The house/inn has everything that you could possibly need! And if you do need something, Gina is there immediately to help. She is wonderful! The garden is gorgeous. The adults enjoyed relaxing outside, while the children enjoyed playing on the grass. Finally, the location in Arroyo Grande is ideal for exploring central California. We highly recommend this inn to anyone who is looking for a relaxing and fun getaway with your large family. You will not be disappointed!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SLEEPS 30 IN BEDS - 2 MILES TO PISMO BEACH, GARDEN WEDDINGS - LUXURY COUNTRY INN
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369230vbi
805-543-9075
Arroyo Grande Central Coast California
Fountain Valley, Ca
5

Schussel Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Fabulous! Wonderful! Perfect ! These are the words our family of 35 would use to express our thoughts on Abella Garden Inn. The experience of being able to all be under one roof was amazing. We have been having reunions since 1991 and always need two or three cabins or homes to accomodate our size. Abella gave us the luxury of a home with the size and amenities to fit everyones needs. The beds are comfortable, the bedding luxurious, and the size of the dining room let us enjoy each others company during mealtime. The backyard setting with the two areas made it ideal for the kids to play in one while adults enjoyed visiting in another.

Our family ages, 5 months to 88 years, enjoyed outside games, a baby shower, evening festivities, and made many lifelong memories. We thank Gina, our host, for providing everything we needed. The kitchen was well stocked with every pan and gadget needed to made three meals a day for our group. The extra refrigerators in the garage were a bonus and let us store water and cold drinks close to outside activities. The younger folk were happy to have wifi connections to the outside world, while the older crowd enjoyed the quiet of the neighborhood.

We would recommend staying at Abella for any size group but especially large parties. Thank you again for a memorable vacation Gina.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SLEEPS 30 IN BEDS - 2 MILES TO PISMO BEACH, GARDEN WEDDINGS - LUXURY COUNTRY INN
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369230vbi
805-543-9075
Arroyo Grande Central Coast California
5

Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We have a family reunion every two years, and it was my turn to host my family of 28 here on the Central Coast, and I found the more than perfect home in the Abella Inn. I am a local resident and the Abella Inn was a surprise to me. To have a house large enough for us to be together under one roof was a gift. The Inn is a beautiful home in itself and to fill it with the love and laughter made this a very special time for all of us of all ages, from 2 to 71.

The Abella inn is a complete vacation, even if you did not leave the house; location is a bonus, short drive to beaches and walking tour of the Village of Arroyo Grande. We are a family of game players and the set up allowed us to have a party in every part of the house and garden. We had ladder ball, bocci ball and Texas washers set up in the lovely garden with games going daily, plenty of cozy seating areas for the "peanut gallery" to comment on the skills or lack of in the participants. The living room and dining room has so much comfortable seating for conversation and tables for card games and boards games so that members of all ages could join in all activities being separate but at the same time together.

The interior is everything the photos show and better. The home is very well appointed, yet very Kid Friendly. It was a bonus to have so many bathrooms available for privacy and convenience. The beds and bedding are great with all linens and towels provided; Gina and staff take care of the laundry of these items.

Everything you need is available, plenty of dishes, pots and pans and 3 refrigerators in the kitchen. With a different group of family members cooking each night, and foraging for lunch and snack each day it was easy to organize the foods available; Refer #1 for produce, #2 for dairy and meats, #3 for beverages. There was another refrigerator in the laundry room that was also used for beverages, right off the garden, alleviating traffic through the house to the kitchen.

I cannot give a rave review without mentioning the owner, Gina. A delightful, friendly, competent, and efficient hostess and business woman. She has owned, and loved, the Inn for many years and treats each guest as family when they enter, and thinks of every little detail to make the experience special for her "friends" guests. The rental agreement was complete, so that each party was completely informed of all expectations. I appreciated this efficiency, knowing that each party has a clear and accurate understanding
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
SLEEPS 30 IN BEDS - 2 MILES TO PISMO BEACH, GARDEN WEDDINGS - LUXURY COUNTRY INN
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369230vbi
805-543-9075
Arroyo Grande Central Coast California
5

Charming Inn

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
From the moment we said "hello", I knew Gina's adorable Inn would be the perfect venue for a group of six couples ready for some fun and relaxation. Not only was Gina wonderful to work with, but the Inn exceeded our expectations. When you walk under the archway into the secluded garden, the fresh floral aroma is amazing. Great courtyard for al fresco dining. Well stocked kitchen with more than ample cookware, dishes, glassware, etc. The home was spotless from top to bottom. And as other reviewers have said, the photos of the rooms do not do them justice. Every one of our group commented on the uber comfortable bedding and the cozy robes in each room are a lovely touch. The fact everyone had their own bathroom was just icing on the cake. An overall wonderful place to stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SLEEPS 30 IN BEDS - 2 MILES TO PISMO BEACH, GARDEN WEDDINGS - LUXURY COUNTRY INN
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369230vbi
805-543-9075
Arroyo Grande Central Coast California
Mountain View, CA
5

Perfect for Our Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
If you are looking for a home that can fit a bunch of people under one roof, then this is your place. I recently planned a family reunion for about 20 of us. I wanted to find a place where we could all stay together, be able to cook together, eat together, and sit together in the living areas in our pajamas whenever we were home, and also be close to the beach. When I found Abella Garden Inn, it was exactly what I was looking for in terms of everyone truly being in one home together!

Gina is the owner and she has taken care of the home very well. The whole house was clean, organized, and personally decorated with Gina's special touch. Each of the rooms had a special theme and was presented nicely to all the guests. We used all the rooms and it was perfect. The actual neighborhood was in a residential area near the freeway, nevertheless, it was just a short 5 min drive away to many beaches, including Pismo Beach and Avila Beach, so that turned out to be ok. One night we took an evening stroll and 1/2 a mile away was the famous Doc Burnstein's ice cream lab, so that was a nice treat (literally)!

Since this is not a typical hotel or bed and breakfast, be prepared that arranging your travels may be a little more communication than you are used to. Instead of a normal booking where you just pay for the rooms and then show up on your arrival date, expect many more emails and phone calls. One example is Gina wanted to know certain details such as exactly who was staying in each room. Although it may be strange to have to share that information, it is Gina's way of personalizing your experience. She likes to prepare the exact number of beds, towels, etc. You are paying for exactly what you use, so since we only had 21 people, we were only allowed access to a certain number of beds. Also, reserving the home is just through a simple agreement form (not a contract), so make sure to ask all the questions you have up front, such as cancellation fees, house rules, things that are provided or not provided, check in/check out, etc.

Organizing this family reunion was a lot of work, but it was well worth it and Abella Garden Inn was perfect for the occasion. Gina really tries to make her home special for others to enjoy. One final note of appreciation to show that Gina really cares about her families: we had left some irreplaceable items at the house and Gina made sure to get it back to us as soon as we discovered the items were lost. Thank you Gina!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Ciao Grace and THANK YOU for your kind review!

Since you made your reservation 5 months in advance, I can understand how you could lose track of information I sent. The cancellation policy is the first information I send and it is included on the Reservation Confirmation. I also forward to my customers a contract titled "Agreement and Rules", Floor Plan, List of Local Activities, Supplies Provided, What You Need To Bring, and Items In The Kitchen.

I'm very happy to know that you all enjoyed the comfortable beds, your rooms, and the entire ambiance of the Inn. It brings joy to my heart to see families spending time together here because, in my opinion, without family there is no life! Please come again!

My love to all, Gina
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SLEEPS 30 IN BEDS - 2 MILES TO PISMO BEACH, GARDEN WEDDINGS - LUXURY COUNTRY INN
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369230vbi
805-543-9075
Arroyo Grande Central Coast California
Yorba LInda, ca
5

Amazing home to have a great experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We were in the SLO area for my son's graduation and needed a home that would be big enough for all our family and friends coming to be a part of the celebration. The home was perfect! Bedrooms for everyone to have their own privacy plus so much space for everyone to enjoy social downtime! It was great with so many tables and multiple rooms that everyone could do what they wanted yet be together, tables for card games, puzzles, couches to read or hang out! The grounds are beautiful and with great weather, it was very nice to sit outside! We had a great time and have great memories thanks to this property!

The pictures are very accurate and the home was very clean! I would definitely recommend this property! You wont be disappointed!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
SLEEPS 30 IN BEDS - 2 MILES TO PISMO BEACH, GARDEN WEDDINGS - LUXURY COUNTRY INN
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369230vbi
805-543-9075
Arroyo Grande Central Coast California
Morningside Park, CA
5

Abella Garden Inn offers the convenience of the Home we dream of for our destination Wedding.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I have personally coordinated over 800 weddings & events in 15 years in California, so when it was my turn to get married, I had all the hook ups
and connections down. Except for 1. Vacation Rental for this area.

We looked at several Vacation Rentals in the area, and our original plan was to get 2 or 3 Houses as none could accommodate the number
of family and bridal party we wanted it to.

An impersonal hotel was out of the question. We hadn't seen our family in a really long time and wanted them all under 1 roof it all possible.

We were in town from Los Angeles looking at wedding venues with another client of ours and stumbled upon Gina here on vrbo.

The capacity got our attention.
Gina's warmth and personality got us into a tour of the house.
The VHS collection & hotel quality of the rooms sealed the deal.

We are children of the 80's and my favorite personal touch was the VHS collection. I know, it's wacky.. But so are we! My Brother and Dad all grew up
watching VHS, and we were all there together watching them again the night before our wedding day. We watched Dick Tracy! It was rad.

The pictures do NOT do this home justice. It is much more upscale and fancy in an antique and cozy way than I can express in this review.

The beds were so comfortable. The linens so fresh and clean. The garden, was picturesque.

We had a blast.

Not only did our family have an amazing time but Gina was like family instantly and came to our wedding to end up being the best dancer of the night.

I have never seen my Father in law dance like that!

Gina, thank you for everything. You helped make our wedding weekend perfect.

Can't wait to show you pictures when they come out.

Potential Abella Renters: You owe it to yourself and your family to consider Abella heavily if you are looking for a romantic getaway OR a family gathering
of any kind. It was the perfect backdrop for our family and wedding weekend and as a planner I think I know a little bit about value at a wedding.

I specialize in Budget Weddings and this is a great value. If I hadn't already booked my wedding venue, I would have booked my wedding there. Abella is perfect
for a Tea Party Garden Wedding, butterflies and all.

So sad our weekend is over and can't wait to renew our vows at Abella every year.

Thankfully yours,
Tiffani & Stanley
Est. 11/3/12
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
SLEEPS 30 IN BEDS - 2 MILES TO PISMO BEACH, GARDEN WEDDINGS - LUXURY COUNTRY INN
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369230vbi
805-543-9075
Arroyo Grande Central Coast California
Los Angeles, CA
5

Wonderful Wedding Weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The Inn was perfect for our intimate garden wedding. We rented the entire inn for our guests during the wedding weekend and loved the beautiful, unique and private rooms. Our guests were gushing about the decor; the inn was a gorgeous backdrop for our vintage-themed wedding. We will cherish the amazing photos we were able to take in this outstanding space for many years to come. All of the spaces are well-kept and very comfortable. The gardens and common areas were fantastic for all of our wedding weekend events, from the ceremony and reception, to the welcome dinner in the formal dining room, to playing board games in the den. We could not have found a better fit for our event.

Gina, the owner, was welcoming and warm and made the whole experience enjoyable. She keeps her place immaculate and treats her guests like family. We would most definitely stay at the inn again and highly recommend this vacation rental!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway