Somers house rental - Looking down on beautiful Somers Bay with the Swan Mountains in the background
Looking down on beautiful Somers Bay with the Swan Mountains in the background
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps11
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Somers House Rental Photos and Description
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11

Only a stone’s throw from the shores of Beautiful Flathead Lake, sits “Bella Vista.” Designed and completed in 2010, our Exceptional Home offers some of the loveliest views in the valley. This top quality home sits on 2.8 acres and is nicely landscaped with shrubs, trees, and manicured lawns. It is Very Private but you will appreciate how easy and fast it is to get to town.

Wake up in the master suite to a beautiful sunrise spilling over the Swan Mountain Range, with the sun shimmering off the lake surface. Our Spacious Master Bedroom and walk-in-closet is on the main floor, with a “Pottery Barn” wicker sleigh bed. You will feel like a King and Queen in the massive elegant travertine tiled bathroom with a custom shower and a large soaking tub for two.

You will enjoy the main floor of our home as it is very open and cheerful with lots of large windows. The striking Kitchen is well outfitted with cooking at home in mind even though we have quite a few great restaurants in the valley.

Our central vacuum system makes it is a breeze to keep the beautiful hand scraped Hickory Floors clean which are in the kitchen, living room, dining room and master bedroom. Our home is tastefully decorated and is a great place for family gatherings. Next to the master suite is a guest bedroom and full bath that is perfect for children. It is appointed with two hand-carved single beds. Curl up in our cozy living room and watch a movie from our 42 HD Flat Screen T.V. or just gaze at the stupendous alpine-glow sunsets.

Downstairs you will find a very spacious family room with its own full kitchen complete with granite countertops and alder cabinets. Your guests will enjoy the two wonderfully roomy bedroom suites. Last, but not least, is the Forth-of-July room, an ideal retreat room for the person who likes to be out of the way or just sleep in. You can play ping pong, watch a movie or just sit in front of the Hearthstone gas heater enjoying the views. Our home has central heating and cooling and has a very good air filter for the allergy sensitive folks. With two hot water tanks and a circulating pump you will have lots of hot water quickly.

“Bella Vista” was built by us, Robin and Patti Graham, home builders (Rivendell Builders) and authors of the books “Dove” and “Home is the Sailor”. We designed the home to take advantage of the wonderful views of the lake and mountains as they are Truly Magnificent!

We hope to see you soon and we are looking forward to making your vacation the very best.

More Details
Hide Details

After a 5 year epic voyage of sailing a small boat around the world and writing the books “Dove” and “The Boy Who Sailed Around The World Alone”, Patti and I left the west coast of California forty two years ago to ride the wave of the “Back to the Land Movement” in Montana. We bought a quarter section of mountain top for $95 dollars an acre, built our log home, grew our own food and raised the gamut of farm critters. We also wrote about our struggles of growing in the Christian faith and our experiences of trying to live simply in “Home is the Sailor”. After 32 years we were missing the water so in 2003 we bought an older cabin on Flathead Lake. After spending our first night there we never spent another at the ranch and have never once looked back. We had come home. Two years later we built and moved into our dream home next door to our lovely historic cabin. After we had a couple of wonderful family “VRBO” vacations in Mexico we decided to list our lake cabin as a VRBO rental. It was a great experience. But as time goes on the wanderlust was creeping back and we wanted to do some more traveling. We sold our lake cabin, built nearby a wonderful 3750 sq. ft. “VRBO” yearly rental, 'Bella Vista', on the hillside overlooking Somers Bay and now are offering our personal home, 'A Delightful Sailor's Home', as a VRBO summer rental as we come and go. We hope you will enjoy the Flathead Valley as much as we do.

Robin or Patti Graham purchased this house in 2009

Our home in Somers is nestled on the northwest side of beautiful Flathead Lake. Flathead Lake is 28 miles long and up to 15 miles wide. The lake’s sparkling waters and miles of tree-lined shore offer unlimited recreational opportunities and wildlife habitat. Overlooking it all are the magnificent Swan and Mission Mountain ranges.

A mile away along the paved walking and bike path is Somers Bay Café, serving great breakfasts and lunches. A 5 minute drive south to Lakeside is the Tamarack Brewing Company, a fun spot to relax and have a great meal and handcrafted ales.

Located 8 miles south of Kalispell, our community is the destination spot for locals as well as tourists. All four seasons, Somers offers something for everyone. Ski the slopes of Blacktail Mountain (only 30 minutes away) to sailing and boating majestic Flathead Lake. We are 30 minutes from Glacier Park International Airport and only 45 minutes from the magnificent Glacier National Park and Whitefish Mountain Resort (Big Mountain).

Whether you are looking to relax or to play we have it all. Stay inside and catch a movie in our comfy home or just observe the spectacular lake views. In the winter and spring go ski, snowboard, snowshoe, cross country ski or snowmobile. In the summer enjoy water skiing, jet skiing, sailing, kayaking, swimming or fishing. Just a quick 10 minute drive away you will also find Eagle Bend Golf Club, one of the best courses in the Northwest. Other areas of interest include the Bigfork Playhouse, Glacier Symphony and Chorale, Hockaday Museum of Art, the Conrad Mansion, and the Central School Museum.

27 Reviews of Property 368330 in Somers, Montana

'Bella Vista' Overlooking Beautiful Flathead Lake
average rating of 5.0 based on 27 reviews
business
'Bella Vista' Overlooking Beautiful Flathead Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p368330
+1 4068572461
Somers Flathead Lake
Eastend, Sk. Canada
5

Great Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
A beautiful home with every amenity you could ever want! Gorgeous view and nice and close to go skiing at Blacktail and enjoy services in Kalispell. It is such a beautiful home; we especially enjoyed the hot tub on the deck overlooking the lake. We stayed with two families of 4 and it was plenty of room.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
'Bella Vista' Overlooking Beautiful Flathead Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p368330
+1 4068572461
Somers Flathead Lake
Saratoga Springs, NY
5

Bella Vista – Perfect Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We are empty-nesters and wanted to have a lovely holiday in Montana with our grown children. We stayed at Bella Vista over the 2013 Christmas week and could not have had a better experience.

First, the house: location, location, location! The views of Flathead Lake and the mountains are breathtaking, and the whole house is designed to maximize them. The light on the lake is constantly changing so it is impossible to tire of gazing out on it. We loved drinking our coffee at the breakfast booth in the kitchen watching the sunrise color the wispy early morning clouds, reflecting pink on the lake below. And the sunsets over the lake were no less spectacular. The house is also reasonably close to skiing at Blacktail Mountain and to shopping on Route 93 South, another location plus. Bella Vista itself was designed and built by the owners and it is truly a gem. It is deceptively spacious and can accommodate a large crowd, but its layout and scale give it a roomy-but-cozy feeling. It abounds with details that convey both quality construction and artistry. The finishes are beautiful and harmonious, from the tasteful furnishings, to the beautiful flooring and built-in bookcases, to the granite counters, to the appliances and the lighting. Clearly a lot of thought went into the design of this house. Functionally, you have everything you need, and more than you expect. We were pleased that the kitchen was well stocked, as well as the bathrooms. Ditto for the game and toy closets and the downstairs, which had ample room for the ping pong table and a second kitchen area. Such details make staying at Bella Vista feel like home because you’re not trying to make do with an under-provisioned or generic-feeling rental.

Second, the owners: Robin and Patti are the loveliest people you could hope to meet. Their attentiveness and responsiveness made the entire transaction – from reservation to departure – a breeze. But they definitely went the extra mile. They cut a Christmas tree for us and it was already standing in the family room waiting to be decorated when we arrived. They also dropped by shortly after we arrived to deliver a pretty tree skirt and make sure we knew how to get the heat in the house just right.

We highly recommend Bella Vista to anyone wishing to stay in beautiful Montana!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Bella Vista' Overlooking Beautiful Flathead Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p368330
+1 4068572461
Somers Flathead Lake
5

WOW is all my family and I can say!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This house was spectacular. I am sure it has been mentioned before in other reviews, but it needs to be said again, the pictures of this house are good but they don't do it justice. The interior and exterior grounds are fantastic and the views are some of the best we have seen at any rental.
We had 4 adults and 4 kids stay here and we couldn't have been happier. Everyone had plenty of room to hang together or to do something alone. My personal favorite was to wake up in the morning at sunrise with the sun shining over the lake and have coffee at the kitchen table. The view was breathtaking and it was a daily joy for me.
Thank you Robin and Patti for offering up such a wonderful place for us to stay. Everyone loved it! Our youngest even liked it so much that he made us take pictures of every room so that he could remember the stay. We plan on returning in the summer and this will be the first place we try to book!
business
'Bella Vista' Overlooking Beautiful Flathead Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p368330
+1 4068572461
Somers Flathead Lake
Pittsburgh, PA
5

Something for everyone

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had a big group of family all under one roof. Everyone had different expectations and needs, but this home seemed to exceed in every category. The location was perfect with easy access to Bigfork, Kalispell and Lakeside. The private lane and breathtaking views from both levels of the home made it feel private. The property was extremely well-maintained, and the owners had everything you could need (including wood for an outside fire pit!). I won't even look anywhere else if we have a need to rent a house in this region again - what a hidden gem!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Bella Vista' Overlooking Beautiful Flathead Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p368330
+1 4068572461
Somers Flathead Lake
Austin, TX
5

Hit the Jackpot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We've stayed at a lot of VRBO rentals through the years, but this one, by far, has the most gorgeous and peaceful view of Flathead Lake and the mountains. We saw beautiful sunrises every morning, and were blessed enough to have a full moon and its reflection on the lake the night before our departure. The house is spacious, comfortable, and extremely well appointed. Upstairs is the master suite and a bedroom and bath. Downstairs is a small kitchen and bar, a large living area with TV and ping pong table, a bathroom and 3 more bedrooms! You'll love it. Robin and Patti, the owners, live just down the road and are the most accommodating and delightful people you'll ever meet. The Red Jammer trip to Glacier National Park was well worth it, and I'm glad we were able to see all of it before the seasonal road closures. Dining recommendations: Somers Bay Cafe for breakfast, Buffalo Grill in Whitefish and Pocketstone Cafe in Bigfork for lunch, and Jagz in Kalispell for dinner (although there are tons of eateries we never got to visit which are probably just as good). You might also visit the Mission Mountain Winery in Dayton. Nice little place with pretty good wines. For small town shopping, you've got to see downtown Bigfork and downtown Whitefish. Such charm and great little shops. If you're there for cherry season (July), be sure to drive over to the east side of the lake where all the orchards are. Lots of roadside stands, and some pick-your-own places as well. Just a wonderful area to visit, relax, and regroup.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
'Bella Vista' Overlooking Beautiful Flathead Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p368330
+1 4068572461
Somers Flathead Lake
Yreka, Ca
5

Perfectly Awesome!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This is an incredible home with fantastic views. Absolutely beautiful sunrises and sunsets. The home was very comfortable and private if you needed to be with two families between the two floor levels. It has a beautiful sitting area in the center of the drive that has many pretty flowers to enjoy. Everything was there that we needed to enjoy the week. If it wasn't, Robin took care of it right away which was super nice and accommodating. You cant go wrong renting this vacation home. It's a gem and a five star one at that.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
'Bella Vista' Overlooking Beautiful Flathead Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p368330
+1 4068572461
Somers Flathead Lake
Syracuse, New York
5

Spectacular views!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We loved this home. This home is high end with the latest furniture and appliances and beautifully decorated. Almost every room has a view of the Flathead Lake and mountains. We enjoyed the full length of the house deck and hot tub. We took wonderful sunrise and sunset pictures. The bedrooms are very spacious especially the master suite. Beds were very comfy. The house is bigger and more spacious then I thought it would be.
It took us a little less than an hour to get to Glacier National Park. A must see. Town of Whitefish is adorable with lots of cute shops. Tamarack Brewery 4 miles away in Lakeside has great food and brew.
There is not one negative thing I can say about this rental. In fact it is one of the nicest homes I have rented. Patti and Robin are wonderful hosts.
business
'Bella Vista' Overlooking Beautiful Flathead Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p368330
+1 4068572461
Somers Flathead Lake
Syracuse, New York
5

Spectacular view!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We loved this home. This home is high end with the latest furniture and appliances and beautifully decorated. Almost every room has a view of the Flathead Lake and mountains. We enjoyed the full length of the house deck and hot tub where we couldn't take enough pictures of the sunrises and sunsets. The bedrooms are very spacious especially the master suite. Beds were very comfy. The house is bigger and more spacious then I thought it would be.
It took us a little less than an hour to get to Glacier National Park. A must see. Town of Whitefish is adorable with lots of cute shops. Tamarack Brewery 4 miles away in Lakeside has great food and brew.
There is not one negative thing I can say about this rental. In fact it is one of the nicest homes I have rented. Patti and Robin are wonderful hosts.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Bella Vista' Overlooking Beautiful Flathead Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p368330
+1 4068572461
Somers Flathead Lake
Washington
5

Home away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Bella Vista was as oimpresive as its pictures. The home and grounds were very well maintained. The kitchen which was a deciding factor for us was all we hoped for. As soon as we walked in it felt like home and we would not hesitate to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
'Bella Vista' Overlooking Beautiful Flathead Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p368330
+1 4068572461
Somers Flathead Lake
Santa Barbara, California, USA
5

Bella Vista Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Bella Vista far exceeded our expectations with its stunning views of Flathead Lake and mountains, its meticulous attention to detail and craftsmanship, the immaculate condition, and all of the furnishings and amenities that created a luxurious yet comfortable atmosphere. The home sleeps eleven (not the usual futon, cot arrangement) in the beautifully furnished lower floor, so we felt a bit indulgent when there were just three of us, but it is worth every cent. We're so grateful to our gracious hosts for sharing their treasure with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway