Asheville apartment rental - Owner Lives Upstairs. Steps off deck to the apartment. Parking in front of house
Owner Lives Upstairs. Steps off deck to the apartment. Parking in front of house
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

Asheville Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Looking for a conveniently located property in the Asheville area? Your search is over. My quaint apartment is located just minutes from Biltmore Estate, Biltmore Village, and downtown Asheville. The completely renovated downstairs apartment is located in a circa 1925 house at the end of a very short and quiet street with lots of trees. It's like being in the country with all of the advantages and conveniences of being in the middle of a city. I live upstairs and am available to provide information and directions but your privacy remains important and you will not be disturbed. There's a fully equipped kitchen with lots of amenities, Free Wi-Fi service, Cable TV and a DVD player. There are 2 private entrances. Enter the living room from a cozy little patio with a bistro table and two chairs. The other doorway exits from the bedroom to a very private porch that overlooks a large back yard which hosts a variety of trees, flowers and birds. Perfect for enjoying a cool drink or a glass of wine.

Biltmore Estates Tickets: As an official Biltmore Estate Ticket Distributor and Partner I Offer Tickets and the second day is FREE! They're good for 2 consecutive days at no extra charge. No standing in long lines. I'll have them waiting for you when you arrive.

More Details
Hide Details

I am Janis and for many years, prior to my husband’s passing, it was our goal to own and operate a guest cottage in beautiful Asheville, NC. I am fulfilling this dream as he would have wanted. My love of nature and the beauty to be found in Asheville is a constant source of discovery for me and as my eyes are opened to the beauty that surrounds the cottage and apartment, it excites me to be able to offer visitors first hand information on the endless sites in store for them. I am here to make your trip a memorable one and to offer everything I can to help you achieve that. “Your Complete Satisfaction is my #1 Goal!” I've lived in 13 cities including Atlanta and Savannah, GA, Malibu, Marina del Rey, North Hollywood, CA and Orlando, FL for 18 years. Asheville is my favorite!!!

Janis Kaye purchased this apartment in 1983

I actually didn’t choose Asheville but rather married into it so to speak. My husband owned this home and lived in it for a short time off and on. When we married we moved to Orlando, FL and the house remained unoccupied except for an occasional renter. In 2000 we decided to completely restore the home and after renting it for a few years we decided to sell our home in Orlando and relocate full time to the property in Asheville, a move we never regretted.

It's the last house on a very short dead end street with very few neighbors so no busy road. It has the country feel but is within the city limits and close to almost everything. Biltmore Village and The Biltmore Estates, Downtown Asheville, Antiquing, Great Restaurants, Cafe's, Bistros', Unique little shops, The Blue Ridge Parkway and more are about 3 to 8 minutes away.

92 Reviews of Property 367999 in Asheville, North Carolina

Biltmore Estates- Approx. 1 Mile....Asheville Approx. 3 Miles
average rating of 4.987805 based on 92 reviews
business
Biltmore Estates- Approx. 1 Mile....Asheville Approx. 3 Miles
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367999
+1 +828 545-5820
Asheville Asheville Area
Chattanooga
5

Great amenities!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We have stayed at VRBO properties for over 10 years and your home ranks as one of the top properties we have been to! The hospitality and things you provide exceed expectations! The location is extremely close to everything. Of course we wish the weather was better so we could have enjoyed the grounds from the back porch but we will just have to come back. The deposit was returned promptly.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Biltmore Estates- Approx. 1 Mile....Asheville Approx. 3 Miles
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367999
+1 +828 545-5820
Asheville Asheville Area
Warsaw, Indiana
5

STOP, LOOK NO FURTHER, STAY HERE!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This truly was the most relaxing vacation I can ever remember. Whether I wanted to shop, sight-see, or just "hang out", this is the perfect location. The back deck is phenomenal for bird watching and watching spring reveal itself with the weeping cherry tree, daffodils, lenten roses, flowering plum all blooming and the red buds just ready to come out, seeing the hostas, peonies, day lilies, and tulips sprouting through the soil and growing daily. The dogwood has buds: it's a time of renewal and rejoicing after the harsh cold winter. The decorated playhouse and decorative yard art just bring a smile to your face and now the windmill. Can't forget the 'gnome home 'too!
The apartment is spotless and so homey with a natural brick wall in the spacious, well equipped kitchen. I used the crock pot , coffee maker and microwave consistently. There are tons of outlets and it has really good natural light as well as plenty of regular lighting. I love the pocket doors, so handy. There is lots of storage in the kitchen and bathroom. The living room has a wonderful rustic stone wall and crown molding. Laundry is right off the deck...it doesn't get any easier. Janis hung a clothes line, has clothes pins, plenty of hangers and I can't forget the "octopus" with all the clips for socks and undies...ingenious!

High dollar linens, cozy comforters and a comfy bed enrich restful nights and promote late mornings. The dresser and closet provide more than enough space for clothes as well as luggage. The bedroom is large and tastefully decorated.
Janis has this knack of anticipating ones needs. She saw I loved to read and loaned me a book detailing the hilarious adventures of the Sweet Potato Queens...LOL, too funny! There are also books in the TV cabinet. I loved bird watching and next thing I knew she loaned binoculars and a bird book to make it even more interesting and fun

There is lots of literature available in the apartment and Janis is always available to answer any questions, offer suggestions for adventures, places to eat and gives great directions. Janis totally respects one's privacy. On the other hand, if you want to just hang out and talk, she's there for you. One of my favorite evenings was sitting around the fire.
Lat year the cottage for a month, this year the apartment for 2-1/2 weeks and I'm already excited for next year, 2 weeks in late April. More adventures in WNC and all roads lead to the perfect 5 star location from where to start...RIGHT HERE!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Biltmore Estates- Approx. 1 Mile....Asheville Approx. 3 Miles
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367999
+1 +828 545-5820
Asheville Asheville Area
Grand Rapids, MI
5

great price, great place, great location.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Our vacation to Asheville in mid March included hiking in the region, arts district downtown and the tour of the Biltmore Estate. We selected the apartment cottage because of the price and were very happy with the location. It was very easy to navigate to and from. We love being in neighborhoods over hotels and this was more than ideal with ample room and a great selection of cookware, too. Janis has maintained the property magnificently and it was a pleasure to meet her and spend time in her place.
Cheers, Mark and Barb
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Biltmore Estates- Approx. 1 Mile....Asheville Approx. 3 Miles
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367999
+1 +828 545-5820
Asheville Asheville Area
Huntsville, AL
5

Great Kitchen, Bed, Location and Hostess!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We’ve used VRBO many times but this was our best experience EVER! This little apartment is the cleanest place we’ve ever stayed in, no exception. It’s in a perfect location and has everything you will need while on vacation. It only took a couple of minutes to get to the Biltmore Village and Estate and downtown just a few more minutes. The Biltmore is a must see and Janis will have the (2 day) tickets waiting for you when you arrive. Asheville offers great restaurants, shops and entertainment and because it was so close we would go there for the day, come back “home”, regroup and go back later.



The apartment is more than well-equipped and stocked. Although we didn’t do much cooking this time, we checked it ALL out for our next, longer visit (which we plan to book soon). There are plenty of amenities for cooking and Janis has thought of everything, even spices, coffee, filters, tea, and hot cocoa to name a few.



Janis is the consummate hostess and born to do this! She has a “black book” with restaurant menus that she personally put together and is happy to recommend some of her favorites. She’s typed up directions for grocery stores and provides the discount cards which are attached to the keys, directions where to buy cheaper gas, Biltmore, downtown Asheville, several waterfalls, maps and many brochures. If you have any questions she enthusiastically helps. She even printed something off her computer for us. There was a little goodie basket provided on the kitchen table for a quick snack in case you have the urge. She shared hot and delicious homemade brownies with us!



Thanks for holding onto our deposit, Janis. We’ll get back with you next week with our summer reservations.

Thanks for everything!

Rachel and Kyle
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Biltmore Estates- Approx. 1 Mile....Asheville Approx. 3 Miles
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367999
+1 +828 545-5820
Asheville Asheville Area
Huntsville, Al
5

Superb! Spotless, Cozy, Comfortable, Well Stocked, Best Hostess Ever! A Must Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
I read almost every one of Janis’ reviews but for those who don’t have the time let me summarize them. The captions that guest left, describe it honestly and a few are, beginning with the best one……
“Look no further than Janis' Apartment, Your search for Asheville accommodations ends here! Clean, & Centrally Located, Peaceful and Convenient, Beautiful, and close to Biltmore! Cozy, Comfortable, Convenient and Exceptionally Clean!, Exceptionally Peaceful!, Great Back Porch, Outstanding accommodations & fantastic owner, Relaxing and Extremely Comfortable Bed! Fantastically Stocked Kitchen, This place is wonderful! Just Minutes From Downtown and to end the list “OUTSTANDING!”

It’s no wonder she has repeats and guest commenting, they fill like family, giving 5 stars and swearing their allegiance to her when/if they come again. The apartment is all that and more and so is she! From the beginning of your inquiry, to which she is quick to respond to and all other correspondences as well, to the end when she PROMPTLY returns your deposit money, she is friendly, professional, prompt, hospitable and full of information/directions that she joyfully shares!

As one guest stated “Janis is the BEST hostess ever”!

Janis, Thank you so much for everything! You are the Best and we WILL be back to stay again. There is still so much to do and see and we know you’ll help us!

Sue and John
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Biltmore Estates- Approx. 1 Mile....Asheville Approx. 3 Miles
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367999
+1 +828 545-5820
Asheville Asheville Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Close to attractions and downtown... Perfect Spot!

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Janis,

Thank you so much for a lovely stay. The accommodations were excellent. Also, the location to the attractions and downtown just made this a perfect spot. It just felt like home.

Thanks Again,
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Biltmore Estates- Approx. 1 Mile....Asheville Approx. 3 Miles
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367999
+1 +828 545-5820
Asheville Asheville Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Last Minute...Wonderful Stay!

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Thank you for a wonderful stay! We appreciate the last minute accommodations. We have reserved this page (in your guestbook) for future visits.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Biltmore Estates- Approx. 1 Mile....Asheville Approx. 3 Miles
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367999
+1 +828 545-5820
Asheville Asheville Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Cozy, Homey and Fantastically Stocked Kitchen

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Janis,

Thank you so much for all the hospitality you showed us when we were here and during the phases of planning the trip. The apartment was absolutely wonderful!! We went grocery shopping the first night and were concerned we might not have the cookware and little extras we needed when we got back but the kitchen was fantastically stocked and had everything we could have possibly needed and more! Everything about the apartment was cozy and homey and it was a great place to come back to after a long day of walking around downtown. Again, thank you for you kindness and hospitality! We will definitely be recommending this place to friend and family!

P.S. Roll Tide Roll!
business
Biltmore Estates- Approx. 1 Mile....Asheville Approx. 3 Miles
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367999
+1 +828 545-5820
Asheville Asheville Area
5

Excellent Accommodations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The accommodations were excellent. Also, the location to the local attractions and downtown made this a perfect spot. The owner is a wonderful host!!! It just felt like home!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Biltmore Estates- Approx. 1 Mile....Asheville Approx. 3 Miles
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367999
+1 +828 545-5820
Asheville Asheville Area
5

Couples Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We loved the apartment cottage. It was so warm and cozy. Everything was provided and we didn't have to worry about a think. We enjoyed coming back here at the end of every day. Much better than staying in a hotel. We will definitely stay here again
on our next trip to Asheville.

Janis provided a warm welcome as soon as we drove up. She then showed us around the cottage and then went over a map of Asheville with us and showed us all the places on the map that we were wanting to go to. She showed us the best way to get around town and provided lots of brochures of local restaurants.

We both LOVED the Biltmore book that she provided and read it cover to cover before our tour of the Biltmore.

Thanks for an excellent stay!!!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3