Springfield chateau / country house rental - The Hideaway February 2007
The Hideaway February 2007
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Springfield Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1.5 bathrooms, sleeps 4

Whether you're on a Romantic Honeymoon, a retreat, or you just want to get back to nature and some peace and quite; you'll love this beautiful little private, two story Hideaway.

Our Western Cedar Chalet has vaulted ceiling, windows with wonderful views and is nestled in the woods and surrounded by freshwater creeks. May and June stroll through the Iris and Daylily gardens - they should be in full bloom!

You may just want to relax on the back deck in the hot tub and watch the wild turkeys fly up to roost in the woods behind the chalet. A great place to bird watch...Sorry no hunting.

You will LOVE the 6 person HOT TUB, plus upstairs King and Queen size bedroom Suites with a new walk-in 6 jetted spa shower. If you have pets the back deck and part of the yard is also fenced.

21 Reviews of Property 367992 in Springfield, Tennessee

Secluded and private cabin only Minute from Nashville
average rating of 4.428571 based on 21 reviews
business
Secluded and private cabin only Minute from Nashville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367992
(615) 384-6748
Springfield Tennessee
5

Perfect Vacation Home near Nashville

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We stayed 14 days while we had work done on our home in Goodlettsville. The house was very clean, no musty smell. The hot tub was also clean and ready for us.The land and creeks surrounding the chalet are beautiful. It was nice that we could take our large dog and having the deck and part of the yard fenced was great for Maggie (our dog). If you are looking for a great place near Nashville, THIS IS IT!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded and private cabin only Minute from Nashville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367992
(615) 384-6748
Springfield Tennessee
5

very nice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
we stayed 3 nights...very nice place
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded and private cabin only Minute from Nashville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367992
(615) 384-6748
Springfield Tennessee
Northern Indiana
5

GORGEOUS, RELAXING, PERFECT!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We came down from Indiana to watch the Colts (her) vs the Titans (him). We arrived a little early & Brenda OK'd early arrival....what a treat! We were able to settle in & use the hot tub before the big game. Loved it!
We did notice a slight musty smell when entering but after cooking our first meal it was no longer noticeable...also burning a candle helps. Don't really think it was that big of a deal. The layout upstairs was like a maze but there was nothing in this house that we didn't like, although we have never rented a house & a dog...lol Polly is friendly & harmless. The shower is amazing, the beds comfy, the location & view are peaceful, the hot tub a luxury, the fireplace cozy.....I could go on & on. WE LOVED IT!
We explored downtown Nashville, the mall & drove some crazy roads. Didn't have time to hike the area but will get to that next trip. Just so much to do in such a short time period. Save a space for us next year because we will be back for the second annual trek to Nashville for the big game!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hello Bill,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Hideaway and we look forward to your return for the Big game next year. Like us, I'm sure you guys will be cheering for Payton this weekend at the Super Bowl.

I wanted to let you know that Polly had kidney failure and had to be put down this week. We had a very nice service for her. She was not only The Hideaway 4 legged greeter, she was also the Hopewell Baptist Church Greeter. She was at the church doors every time they were open and she will be missed by many.

Thanks again,
Brenda
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded and private cabin only Minute from Nashville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367992
(615) 384-6748
Springfield Tennessee
4

Wild turkeys, hummingbirds, and friendly dogs- oh my

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a marvelous stay at Hopewell Hollow Hideaway. The location is beautiful and the house is well-suited for a relaxing stay. We were greeted upon arrival by Polly, the friendly dog from next door. She was good with our 3 year old child. The house has an intimate open air feel about it so any noise in the house can be heard throughout. The shower in this house is perhaps the nicest I have ever used, but the controls take a bit of getting used to. The hot tub was warm and ready for us when we arrived, and is a nice feature. We got to see wild turkeys several times during our long weekend, and a hummingbird feeder is hung outside the front window that was visited often making this a great location for bird watching. A few cool streams converge by the house, which are occupied by small fish and frogs. A couple of bridges over them make exploring the area nearby a fun and easy activity. We were not expecting any internet connectivity at the house but being AT&T customers we did have cellular and 4G Lte data service. I would definitely stay here again, it was a much better value than a hotel.
Other reviews mentioned a smell that was persistent in the home. A slight smell is noticeable when you first arrive, which would be consistent with a house of this vintage, but we did not notice it after being in the house more than 5 minutes. Perhaps the air purifier the owner has put in place has helped. Our clothes did not have any residual smell after our stay, and I could not detect the smell of mold or mildew.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded and private cabin only Minute from Nashville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367992
(615) 384-6748
Springfield Tennessee
Detroit Michigan
2

Katherine Maczala

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The property is beautiful and the location is great. I was very disappointed that the home's air was unbearable. There was an overwhelming smell of mold. I went outside and saw the air conditioning unit fan was broken. But, the cold air was poring through filthy vents filled with thick dirt and mold. The thermostat was stuck on and couldn't be turned off. I opened the 3 windows that had a screen for fresh air and shut every vent in the house. I wanted to leave but I had only 3 days to spend in Nashville and had 2 dogs which makes it hard to obtain last minute lodging. I left the owner a note about the lack of proper maintenance and health safety to guests. The hot tub was filthy which promotes bacteria and was very disappointed with that as well because that was a feature in my decision to choose this property. It takes money to make money. The owner has a little goldmine there and should at least take the proper precautions to ensure the health safety of their guests. My girls and I had headaches and my dogs were sick for two days after coming home.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Kathy,
I'm very sorry that your stay at the Cabin was unpleasant. We had hoped that we had solved the musky odor by fixing a small leak under the sink. After you left we noticed the smell was still there and found that water had gotten into the side wall in the garage... Springfield was blessed with 2 weeks of rain before you arrived. This weather is very unusual and we had never had any water get into the garage or home before. We have had 2 feet of sheet rock and insulation removed and have fans working to dry thing out so it can be repaired.
I'm not sure why you could not work the central air. It is working fine. I also shocked the hot tub and checked the chemicals the day you arrived. We inspected under the house and found it to be dry and the duck work was in good condition, so the air in the unit was not bad.
business
Secluded and private cabin only Minute from Nashville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367992
(615) 384-6748
Springfield Tennessee
2

Great House, But.....

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My wife and I stayed here for a week recently, with our toddler son. The house and property are BEAUTIFUL. The photos in the listing don't do it justice. Although the property is 20-25 minutes from the Interstate and an hour from the city, the location is fine if you are trying to "get away from it all". The bedrooms are spacious and really nice, the living room and kitchen are very quaint and serviceable, and the hot tub is a very nice touch, very soothing.

But it wasn't all pleasant. Although we went shopping the first day, some things we had to buy (and didn't expect to) were bathroom tissue, kleenex, and garbage bags. The DVD player didn't work, the coffee player didn't work, and although these issues were small, we had to buy a coffee pot so we could have coffee on the trip.

The two biggest issues... number 2, the place was not clean. Although it might look like it at first glance, there were cobwebs everywhere, inside and out, even in the bathrooms and bedrooms. Since you are charged a cleaning fee, that didn't sit well with us. There are all kinds of outdoor amenities, like a grill, sitting areas, lounge chairs, deck, etc... but they were basically all unusable since they were filthy. We could not enjoy the lovely outdoor setting, unless we were sitting in the hot tub... really a drag.

Number 1 issue was the smell. When we first opened the door, we were immediately struck by this old, musty, cabin smell. We hoped that once we had the central air system running for a bit, that the smell would dissipate.... but it never did. I do realize the cabin in enclosed by the woods, Tennessee is humid in the summer, etc... but the air ducts were in bad need of cleaning, and think there are some things that can be done to lessen the impact.

As a matter of fact, when we got home, all our clothes and personal items still reeked of this old musty smell. Even though we washed clothes before we left, we had to launder them again to get them clean.

These things made it tough for us to have a really good experience.... had things been clean and worked properly, I think our trip would have gone a lot better. Looks like there was a couple in the property for a month before us, and only a couple of days in between the reservations, so maybe they would have done more if they had time.
Owner's Response: Jim,
I would like to start out by saying thank you for letting me know all the issues you had during your stay. I wish you would have given me a call so that we could have addressed your problems. As you said the renter before you had been staying for a month and did not give us a review or leave any comments or concern. We had no idea that the coffee pot or DVD player were not working and plan on purchasing new ones today. Thanks again!
We try to keep the out door furniture as clean as possible, but due to the 2 weeks of almost constraint rain, it made it impossible to keep dry and clean before your arrival.
I also noticed the musty smell inside the cabin after you left. We found a leak under the kitchen sink that was causing the problem and had it repaired. We hope to have the musty odor under control before my next renter arrive tonight.
As most rental homes do not furnish paper towels and toilet paper, we do have one roll furnished in each bathroom and one roll of paper towels in the kitchen. This gives the renter that are staying longer than a couple of nights time to go to the store. We also furnish enough coffee and condiments for a couple of nights.
I hope to have the rental up to a 5 star rating before our next renter arrive.
Thanks again for your comments,
Brenda
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded and private cabin only Minute from Nashville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367992
(615) 384-6748
Springfield Tennessee
United States
5

Henry and Amanda

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Wonderful place to get away from it all. 30 easy minutes to Nashville. Wild turkey everywhere and very dog friendly host. Can't wait to go back!!!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded and private cabin only Minute from Nashville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367992
(615) 384-6748
Springfield Tennessee
Holland, Iowa
4

renter

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My husband and I and 3 teenage kids spent 3 full days at the chalet and enjoyed it very much. It was located in a quiet somewhat secluded area with the trees around us and very relaxing after spending a day in Nashville. The pillow top beds were more comfortable than mine at home. The hot tub was a bonus feature and was enjoyed by all. We have plans to return and would definately recommend this chalet.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded and private cabin only Minute from Nashville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367992
(615) 384-6748
Springfield Tennessee
Hendersonville, TN
5

Relaxation at it's best.

Relaxation at it's best.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had a wonderful time at Hopewell Hollow Hideaway. This is a wonderful place to just relax and recharge. The sound of the creeks running and the beauty of this property are the perfect setting for those who enjoy the outdoors. There are no compaints about the house itself. Confortable beds, really cool shower, everything you would need in the kitchen. Excellent!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded and private cabin only Minute from Nashville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367992
(615) 384-6748
Springfield Tennessee
Balltown, KY
5

Beautiful and Restful Get Away 2 Years in a Row

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The hot tub, view, and sounds on the back porch are great .You can hear to the water flowing out of the cave nearby and watch birds and squirrels in the woods. The gas fireplace is nice to cozy up to also.

This is in a very rural area but still only about 10 minutes from I65. Nashville is only about 30 - 40 minutes away. I hope my wife and I can continue to getaway here at least once year.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway