Niagara-on-the-Lake cottage rental - Beautifully updated circa 1940 cottage - 5 houses down from Lake Ontario
Beautifully updated circa 1940 cottage - 5 houses down from Lake Ontario
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Niagara-on-the-Lake Cottage Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Cedar Shores is a recently renovated, 2 storey, 4 bedroom house in the Chautauqua area of the Historic Old Town district of Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Located in the #1 location in town. The house is located in a very quiet, quaint area of town with towering, old growth trees. The house is only a short 10 minute walk to the main street in Niagara-on-the-Lake (Queen Street). Spectacular sunsets which National Geographic rated as one of the 10 best in the world can be viewed from a Lakeside park located only 5 doors down from Cedar Shores.

Many nice quaint shops and restaurants in Niagara-on-the-Lake and Niagara Falls is about a 25 minute drive with lots more lively things to do.

PLEASE SEE WEBSITE UNDER 'LINKS TO MORE INFORMATION BELOW'

With restored hardwood flooring throughout and cedar lining the walls of the living room and den, Cedar Shores is a sanctuary that is a model of casual elegance for the area. The house features 4 bedrooms - all with queen or king size beds. There are 2 bathrooms, each with walk-in showers. The master bedroom is situated on the main floor with the remaining bedrooms on other levels. The open concept, fully equipped kitchen has modern stainless steel appliances including a gas stove that is ideal for preparing large meals for all gatherings. The kitchen opens on to a large dining room with a beautiful raised ceiling and roof top windows that comfortably seats 8 people. The living room off the dining room is well equipped with a wood burning fire place, large HD television, Blu-ray DVD player, wireless internet and surround sound speaker system. Off the living room, separated by pocket doors, is a cozy den with double futon and easy chair for relaxing in the corner of the house. There is a washer and dryer located in the basement of the house. The house has central air conditioning.

Off the kitchen is wood deck with a Weber gas barbecue. The backyard features a kidney shaped, heated, in ground salt water pool. There is parking for two vehicles and the house accommodates a maximum of 8 people. The peaceful cottage atmosphere of the area is a welcome sanctuary for people looking to get away for a few days or longer.

Keywords: House Cottage Chalet Vacation Resort

More Details
Hide Details

We bought the house as a weekend and week long getaway for our family. As we were setting it up, we decided to outfit it in a way that guests can easily be accommodated and not feel like they are intruding in someone else's house. From the comments of our guests, they feel that the house is a great setup with the most comfortable beds they've ever experienced.

The location of the house has to be one of the most peaceful locations in town. It brings you back in time to when things were a lot simpler and less rushed.

10 Reviews of Property 264410 in Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario

Cedar Shores - Luxury in Old Town with Lake View and Pool
average rating of 4.7 based on 10 reviews
business
Cedar Shores - Luxury in Old Town with Lake View and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264410vb
+1 (416) 312-3702 (Ontario, Canada)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Markhan
5

Delivered as Represented

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We rented this house for the weekend in early November - it was well equipped, everything we needed to know was well documented. It was in a wonderful neighborhood - quaint, treed and with interesting historical houses along the walk to the town. Beautiful. We would certainly rent this place again if we were in town. The owner was prompt and complete in answering our questions. We enjoyed the walk along the lake and all the shops along the main street. The matinee performance of "Guys and Dolls" was the finishing touch. Thank you
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cedar Shores - Luxury in Old Town with Lake View and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264410vb
+1 (416) 312-3702 (Ontario, Canada)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
5

Highly recommend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Rented the home for a women's getaway weekend. Clean and spacious. Close to downtown, yet quiet, private location. Would highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cedar Shores - Luxury in Old Town with Lake View and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264410vb
+1 (416) 312-3702 (Ontario, Canada)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
5

Wonderful Girls Weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My group of girlfriends decided upon Niagara on the Lake as the destination for our first annual girl's trip. After a lot of time spent on VRBO we decided Cedar Shores would be a good fit for our stay. We could not have been happier upon opening the door that first day! Plenty of room for all EIGHT of us. Huge, beautiful kitchen...plenty of room for us to cook all our meals. A dining room table that seated us all comfortably for meals, and game nights. Large comfy couches with plenty of room for all of us to lounge. And very nice bedrooms and baths that accomdated all 8 of us comfortably. Truly, the perfect house for our girls trip.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cedar Shores - Luxury in Old Town with Lake View and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264410vb
+1 (416) 312-3702 (Ontario, Canada)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Vancouver, BC
5

Beautiful house and location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Cedar Shores provided us with everything we needed and more. We had the best extended family vacation ever. The house was large, clean and located in a beautiful area of town. The surrounding area was peaceful and central at the same time. The backyard pool was fantastic and allowed us to spend countless hours lazing around. We've rented vacation homes before and this has been our best experience to date. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Cedar Shores - Luxury in Old Town with Lake View and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264410vb
+1 (416) 312-3702 (Ontario, Canada)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Albuquerque, NM
2

Probably not worth it

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We did not have such a good experience at this property. Always have rented from wonderful people on VRBO in the past, not so this time. Air conditioning broken for 4/5 days with 97 F heat,no fans, terrible problem with flies after the A/C man came to the house. Owner had us buy fans. He did reimburse us for the fans but gave no discount on the rental. From the time of rental, owner acted as if he was doing us a favor allowing us to stay at his house. Wouldn't do this for a vacation.
Owner's Response: It's unfortunate that this reviewer didn't write what she told me by email - that the house was very clean and in a great location.

The unfortunate circumstances of this visit is that the group checked in on the Friday of a long weekend. I had someone at the house within an hour of her telling me the air conditioning wasn't working. Given it was a long weekend the part wasn't available until Tuesday morning which left the house without AC for 4 nights.

Regarding the flies - this was a direct consequence of the small children in the group leaving the doors open during the stay.

It;s too bad the review wasn't positive and 5 stars like all of he other reviews but these things happen.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cedar Shores - Luxury in Old Town with Lake View and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264410vb
+1 (416) 312-3702 (Ontario, Canada)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Mississauga
5

Fantastic weekend get away in an area with lots to offer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My wife and I planned a 3 day getaway that was a short drive from Toronto. We planned to do some exploring of the surrounding Niagara On The Lake Area. Niagara on the Lake has plenty of offer. The house is located in a very quiet neighborhood on a road with little to no car traffic. The property was just houses away from Lake Ontario and minutes by car or bicycle from the main area of NOTL . Plenty of good restaurants and bars to choose from in town - some with live entertainment. The decor of house was very welcoming and comfortable. The pictures on the web site are deceiving - this house has a lot of space ! The bedrooms are large and bright and provide plenty of personal space and separation ideal for sharing the home with a number of couples or families. No coin tosses required to see who gets the better room - they're all very nice. The kitchen/dining room layout is ideal for getting those group participation dinners prepared - there's lots of space and a nice open concept between the kitchen and dining room The backyard deck complete with barbeque is a walk out from the kitchen. Some nice spring weather let us take advantage of that to cook up a couple of nice steaks complimented with some great tasting local Niagara wine. The yard lends itself to "relaxing" while tending to dinner on the barbeque or just enjoying the surroundings.

All in all - Our stay at Cedar Shores provided us a great experience - Wine tour ( and golfing) adventure in the works....
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Cedar Shores - Luxury in Old Town with Lake View and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264410vb
+1 (416) 312-3702 (Ontario, Canada)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Burlington, ON
5

An Amazng Girls Weekend!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Five Girls, no husbands and no kids....bliss!! We thoroughly enjoyed all that the cottage had to offer. All we had to bring was the wine. The cottage was beautiful, clean, comfortable and well appointed with all the necessities. And the fireplace with provided wood was a nice touch. A great place for a getaway during the winter months to relax and enjoy friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Cedar Shores - Luxury in Old Town with Lake View and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264410vb
+1 (416) 312-3702 (Ontario, Canada)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Toronto, ON
5

Thank you for Cedar Shores

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My wife and I had the pleasure of spending a weekend at Cedar Shores in Sept. 2011. Wonderful place, very clean. Terrific location, very quiet, and only steps to the Lake. Nice pool. Very close to the main street in Niagara-on-the-Lake, we walked to dinner both nights, quick drive to the wineries. Just fantastic, I highly recommend this rental.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Cedar Shores - Luxury in Old Town with Lake View and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264410vb
+1 (416) 312-3702 (Ontario, Canada)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Newmarket, Ontario
5

Girls Favourite Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2011
I have been going to Cedar Shores for about 4 years now, with 2 groups of five girlfriends. We would not consider staying anywhere else when going to Niagara. We all absolutey LOVE this home. The listings were spot-on in explaining the amenities and describing the accommodations. Everyone has a super comfy bed to sleep in, the kitchen is a dream for all of us to participate in cooking. The pool in the super private backyard is a wonderful place to sit and chat. Once, we had a problem figuring out the TV remote controls, and I contacted that owner late one evening, and they took the time to help us figure everything out. The place is spotless and wel;l-maintained. It is a short walk to Lake Ontario where you can sit on a bench and watch amazing sunsets! Very short drive into town for shows, spas and shopping.....All in all, we thoroughly enjoy our time at Cedar Shores, and always try to book for the next year for our girls hideaway days! Highly recommended!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Cedar Shores - Luxury in Old Town with Lake View and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264410vb
+1 (416) 312-3702 (Ontario, Canada)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Farmington Hills, MI
5

Great girls outing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Cedar Shores provided a great site for our girls vacation. Plenty of room, with a great location for walks along the water or through lovely neighborhoods made it great fun. The kitchen was stocked with more items than many of us had in our own homes. The large dining table was a great spot for games or just sharing our good times and catching up. The beds were plush and the family room was very comfortable. We booked this at the last minute and Bill could not have been more friendly and helpful. We would love to come back and enjoy the lovely cottage again. The photos were helpful and accurate.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 8/8