Oakland house rental - Front of house
Front of house
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Oakland House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Office, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Our sunny, secluded Oakland Hills home is perched high in the hills with a front deck providing wonderful views of Marin County, San Francisco, the Bay Bridge and the Golden Gate Bridge. We also have a private back patio with a 4-person cedar hot tub.

The front deck and entry of the house is reached by 18 stairs with two landings. The house has hardwood floors, a dining room (seats 6) and living room with floor-to-ceiling windows with views, a wood-burning fireplace, a modern kitchen with granite countertops.

The two upstairs bedrooms each have queen-sized beds, and the downstairs bedroom has both a queen-sized bed and a twin bed. The main bathroom has a bathtub with shower. The master bedroom has an adjoining office, and these rooms have French doors opening to the back patio and hot tub. The master bedroom also has its own bathroom with stall shower. The house is approximately 1500 square feet.

There are many books and paintings throughout the house.

You can reach San Francisco in 20-30 minutes by car or public transportation, and the village of Montclair, with its cafes, shops and a Sunday farmers' market, is only a 2-minute drive or a 20-minute (hilly) walk from our house. Berkeley, with its great university and wonderful restaurants, is only a 10-minute drive.

This neighborhood of Oakland is called Montclair. It's in the hills, and although close to city life in Oakland, Berkeley and San Francisco, it's quite green and natural here, with many trees and birds and hiking trails.

Keywords: Montclair, views, decks, hot tub

More Details
Hide Details

We are Kees and Janet. We've lived in the beautiful Bay Area for over 30 years. We've been dividing our time between our Montclair home and our cabin in Yuba County, California, for the past six years. We have two grown sons, one living in New York and one in San Francisco, and one toddler granddaughter.

Kees is Dutch, born in Delft, who moved to Canada as a child and then to California. He is fluent in Dutch and leads a local Dutch meetup group. He is retired from the San Francisco Chronicle, having worked as a graphic artist, and is now a painter. Janet is a California native. She has recently retired and now works part-time as a freelance index editor for a legal publishing company. Both Kees and Janet love to travel.

Janet den Breejen purchased this house in 2007

The benefits of this property include the view of San Francisco Bay and Golden Gate and Marin. A secluded setting but is centrally located, 5 minutes from Highway 13 to Berkeley (10 min), San Francisco (30 min) and Downtown Oakland (20 min), Marin County (40 min) Pacific Ocean at SF (1 hr). We are close to many miles of hiking in regional parks nearby. Swimming at nearby Lake Temescal. Near many charming shopping districts with excellent restaurants. Near the University of California at Berkeley (20 min).

We enjoy getting up early and walking our chocolate lab, Charlie, on his daily route, a half hour loop through the neighborhood. We like the aroma of the bay and eucalyptus trees and the fog clearing from the valleys. We often encounter does with fawns, Steller jays and red-tailed hawks and sometimes wild turkeys. We often walk down to Montclair Village for a latte at Peets Coffee.

13 Reviews of Property 367413 in Oakland, California

Golden Gate Bridge View from Light, Bright Oakland Hills Home
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Golden Gate Bridge View from Light, Bright Oakland Hills Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367413vb
Oakland The Bay Area
5

Central to exploring Bay Area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The listing is accurate. While there are lots of walking, hiking and biking opportunities just out the door, all but the most ardent hikers probably want a car in this hilly Montclair location. We found there was plenty of room, everything worked and it was easy to entertain some local friends with all the kitchen equipment on hand. BART is short drive away and AC Transit is easy to access for destinations like SF. If you are not familiar with extensive East Bay Regional Park system, this home sits near access points for endless outdoor options. If you do the outdoor stuff or just like a relaxing soak, the hot tub is perfect. The best part is planning your days for late afternoon to feed the birds (wrens, chickadees, jays, robins, dove) and squirrels (lots of competition for food - owner supplied) while enjoying the sunset. Everything is in great shape but not so shiny that you are afraid to have kids touch anything - it is a home
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Golden Gate Bridge View from Light, Bright Oakland Hills Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367413vb
Oakland The Bay Area
5

Magnificent view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was a wonderful property with an incredible view.Janet and Kass were warm and welcoming hosts.
It was a great reunion week with our two sons(and their significant others).We would highly recommend this property
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Golden Gate Bridge View from Light, Bright Oakland Hills Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367413vb
Oakland The Bay Area
Oakland, CA
5

Perfect and Charming Home for Multifunctional Needs

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We needed a house to stay in for six nights with family visiting from the East Coast, which in total included two toddlers and two babies. This incredibly charming home served not only our needs, but provided the perfect touches for our family get-together.

Besides the spectacular views of the Bay from the front deck, the house is well-stocked with: tasteful and interesting books, fine colorful paintings from the owner; as well as toys, books and movies for small children. Our kids were thoroughly enjoyed and occupied, and we didn't need to bring a thing for them. Nightly we partook in stargazing from inside the toasty and classy redwood hot tub. The home can serve a frazzled family, or a couple looking for a romantic and relaxing getaway.

The owners were incredibly helpful in accommodating us, from clear and concise instructions, local food and entertainment options, to the bottle of wine awaiting our arrival. Without even meeting them, they seem like the types we would enjoy the pleasure of knowing personally.

I can't recommend a stay here enough, which we will try to do again if the opportunity presents itself.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Golden Gate Bridge View from Light, Bright Oakland Hills Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367413vb
Oakland The Bay Area
5

Truly home away for home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was our truly home away from home: so welcoming and charming. We had 3 adults and 3 kids ( two three year olds and a ten year old) and had comfortable arrangements for all of us, plenty of open family style space and enough private space for small kids for their naps. We spent our mornings and evenings on the patio enjoying the beautiful views of the bay. The kids loved having so many toys in the lower bedroom, while adults appreciated the house's art and books. The house's easy access to both San Francisco and Oakland allowed us to do lots of adult and kids friendly activities from Muir woods and Sausalito to Roberts park and lake Temescal in Oakland. Thank you for giving us such great memories!
business
Golden Gate Bridge View from Light, Bright Oakland Hills Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367413vb
Oakland The Bay Area
5

Great house and location - car recommended

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had a lovely sunny week here in April (2 adults, 2 teenage boys, and our daughter at Berkeley also staying with us for a few nights). The house and facilities were great - the boys in particular loved the hot tub, but we all used it, and we enjoyed numerous games of table-tennis too. The patio is a sun-trap, but it was also nice to be able to sit at the front - the view across the bay to San Francisco is amazing, and we had some lovely sunsets. Squirrels and birds visited the veranda, and we saw deer several times on our way to and from Montclair.

It's nice to stay somewhere which is a home from home, rather than an impersonal holiday house. Janet and Kees told us to use anything we needed from the kitchen, and left a bottle of wine too, which we really appreciated. We made good use of the coffee machine, and the Peets coffee, too. When you go on holiday in UK/Europe, you don't often get things left in the fridge or cupboard for you!

The only thing we would say is that we would strongly recommend hiring a car. We didn't, because we'd used public transport in San Francisco the previous week, and thought we would be OK here too. Also this was our first time in the USA and we were a bit reluctant to drive in a big city on the wrong side of the road. We were able to get the 18 bus from Montclair down to Oakland to get the BART at 12th or 19th (or to carry on to Berkeley), but the walk from the village is steep, and not one we wanted to do when it got dark. There were a couple of bikes the boys were going to use, but unfortunately they both had flat tyres (no repair kit to be found). Montclair itself has a couple of supermarkets (worth leaving a Safeway card for foreign visitors, perhaps? We don't have Safeways in the UK) and there are several places to eat. There was a restaurant tour on the day we left, which sounded like it would have been fun.

So overall, we definitely recommend it, and Janet and Kees are very welcoming hosts, but do make sure you have a car.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Golden Gate Bridge View from Light, Bright Oakland Hills Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367413vb
Oakland The Bay Area
5

U.C. Berkeley Graduation Celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Our stay at this house was fantastic! Our daughter was graduating from U.C. Berkeley and we wanted a special place to prepare and share in her celebration dinner! The kitchen has all you need and more to cook anything, the dining area is perfect, the living space is extremely comfortable and the views are breath taking. We enjoyed the hot tub, art, books and music; this house afforded us a very special peaceful and relaxing event with great memories of our daughter’s wonderful accomplishment!

I would highly recommend this home to anyone!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Golden Gate Bridge View from Light, Bright Oakland Hills Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367413vb
Oakland The Bay Area
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
5

Perfect!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
A beautiful vacation house in a wonderful location with outstanding views and so full of character. We couldn't have asked for more!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Golden Gate Bridge View from Light, Bright Oakland Hills Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367413vb
Oakland The Bay Area
Sequim,WA
5

Bay Area retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Choosing to stay at this home while attending our niece's wedding was perfect! Our family as well as our daughter's family, including a toddler and newborn, spent a week in this lovely, comfortable home. The downstairs bedroom was great for them with baby equipment, toys, and children's books provided. The upstairs bedrooms provided a nice space for my husband, teenage son, and me. We found the living room and kitchen areas and great for hanging out and relaxing. We enjoyed the hot tub and table tennis on the back patio and spectacular views from the front terrace. Several family dinners were enjoyed outside while a busy toddler happily played on the deck. I would highly recommend this home for any stay in the Bay area. The owners are wonderful hosts, very helpful and accommodating.
I might add that the house is filled with wonderful artwork done by the owner and we had fun deciding on our personal favorites before leaving for home. Given the opportunity, we would gladly stay again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Golden Gate Bridge View from Light, Bright Oakland Hills Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367413vb
Oakland The Bay Area
Temecula, CA
5

GREAT OAKLAND HILLS HOUSE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My family and I stayed at Janet & Kees house while attending my son's wedding in the Oakland Hills area. It was one of the most relaxing vacations we have had in a long time. The house is nestled in the hills and has a GORGEOUS view of San Francisco Bay! We loved sitting out on the deck. It is within walking distance to Montclair village (if you don't mind walking hills). The owners were wonderful in the planning stage and continued to keep in contact to make sure our stay was going well. They left us a bottle of wine as well as leaving out many brochures and maps to make our stay easier. There are numerous paintings throughout the house, which gave the house character and an appreciation for the owner's lifestyle. I would highly recommend this house to anyone who wants to stay in a desirable area of Oakland or needs access to the Mormon Temple, Greek Orthodox Cathedral, or the many trails of the regional parks nearby.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Golden Gate Bridge View from Light, Bright Oakland Hills Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p367413vb
Oakland The Bay Area
Rockville, MD
5

Ultimate vacation in June 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was the ultimate vacation stay! Everything was wonderful in this exquisite home. From the bottle of wine that was waiting for us when we arrived to the nice paintings and the entertaiment system available everything was like home. Thank you very much for the nice stay and we will tell all our friends about this.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway