Great East Lake cottage rental - Kitchen & Island
Kitchen & Island
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Great East Lake Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, Loft, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6

The cottage is a private stand alone structure nestled in a woodland setting with a full kitchen, cozy living area and private bath. All four cottages and the main lodge enjoy wonderful views of Great East Lake from the privacy of your own space or join in community events just a short distance from your back door.

Outdoor Events might include sailing the sunfish, paddling kayaks or SUPs, playing volleyball, basketball, badminton, bean bag toss, or swimming, snorkeling, fishing, and floating. The game room offers ping pong, pool, cable TV and a great place to relax and read a book or play a board game.

Please inquire about accommodations for larger groups. Check HomeAway.com #367203, #953896 and more.

Smoke Free - both INSIDE & OUTSIDE

FIREWORKS are prohibited due to the high risk of fire and personal injury.

Within a 45 minute drive, you can enjoy a scenic drive and hike along the Kangamangus Highway, hike Mount Washington, bring the kids to Storyland, visit the Hertiage Museum or have a splash at the water park in Portsmouth.

After all the day's activities, nothing beats relaxing around the fire pit and tasting smors over a roaring fire.

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 366812 in Great East Lake, New Hampshire

Charming lakeside cottage on pristine Great East Lake - Smoke Free
average rating of 4.888889 based on 9 reviews
business
Charming lakeside cottage on pristine Great East Lake - Smoke Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366812
+1 9783373780
Great East Lake Lakes Region
Central Florida, USA
5

Lovely cabin for family-friendly vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I had such a great time on my first vacation this summer that I came back for a second vacation in the same cottage in August! We thoroughly enjoyed "lake family" time with owners, Dave and M.B.; and reunited with friends from previous vacations. Our adventures on-site included kayaking with frequent loon-sightings, paddleboarding, boating, board games, cookouts overlooking the lake with its spectacular sunsets; followed by restful nights drifting off to sleep to the song of the loons. Off-site, my adventures included a covered bridge dance, several art festivals, fireworks, concerts (indoor and outdoor), wildlife park, and shopping outlet deals. I am already counting down to next year's vacation here! This is a family-friendly vacation that is sure to provide relaxation and lots of fun whether you're a family of one or six!
Owner's Response: We are always sad to see you drive out the lane but feel good knowing we'll see you again next year.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming lakeside cottage on pristine Great East Lake - Smoke Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366812
+1 9783373780
Great East Lake Lakes Region
Mount Vernon
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The cottage was as cute and comfy as can be. It really felt like home and had plenty of room for two friends to stretch out. We could have easily invited a third and if you like cozy, there's technically room for six. The beds are comfortable, the bathroom and shower updated, and everything you need is pretty much there. It was all newly renovated and you can tell. One night we enjoyed cooking on the grill and having dinner at the little table outside. Not surprisingly in Maine, the property is rather isolated and feels very private but it's unique because it also has a sense of community. The four cottages and house are grouped together and share a dock with sunning chairs, tiki bar, game room, and porch swing so like it or not, you'll be meeting the other people staying there, and if they have kids, you'll be hearing them. For us, that was a positive thing and we really enjoyed being part of a "neighborhood."
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming lakeside cottage on pristine Great East Lake - Smoke Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366812
+1 9783373780
Great East Lake Lakes Region
4

Great Week by the Lake!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a wonderful time in our cottage by the lake. Cabin was perfect for our family of 4 and we had extra room for friends to come up for a sleepover. We loved having tea by the water to watch the sun come up over the lake.

Our family really enjoyed kayaking and trying out the stand-up paddle boards.

I would highly recommend this lake and any of these cottages to stay at!

Thanks Dave and MB for your hospitality!!
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. We enjoyed meeting your family and look forward to seeing you again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming lakeside cottage on pristine Great East Lake - Smoke Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366812
+1 9783373780
Great East Lake Lakes Region
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
There's no better place for a well-rounded vacation spot than Great East Lake. I've spent most of my summers there and you really can't beat it. And in my opinion there are no better hosts than Dave and Mary Beth Barr! Our cottage was just as advertised, spotlessly clean, well-appointed and just adorable. My room faced the water and I could hear the call of the loons every night as well as the sound of the breezes (and occasional patter of rain) as well. It's a truly calming place to stay where you can get plenty of exercise in or around the water, or laze around and read or chat with the neighbors. Our hosts graciously took us out on their comfy pontoon boat (grab your cozies) for a tour of the lake and we even stopped off for a mid-lake swim. There are all the amenities you'll need for grilling or preparing a meal in the fully equipped kitchen. But don't forget to venture out for a lobster while you're there! I'll definitely be back.
Owner's Response: We enjoyed meeting you and are so glad you were able to reconnect with the Lake. Hope to see you again soon.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming lakeside cottage on pristine Great East Lake - Smoke Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366812
+1 9783373780
Great East Lake Lakes Region
Central Florida, USA
5

Tranquility and Great Family Fun!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I enjoyed a week filled with tranquility and great family fun on my vacation at my Great East Lake cottage. The tranquility was provided by the view of the lake from my bedroom - a stunning view through the trees at some truly spectacular sunsets; and at night, listening to loon calls back and forth across the lake.

I enjoyed meals grilled (and eaten) outside; as well as those prepared in my cabin. My cottage was spacious; beautifully decorated; and had all the amenities that I would bring with me from home if luggage space permitted!

Great fun consisted of making new friends; as well as catching up with old friends from previous vacations. I enjoyed boating; kayaking; celebrating with kids learning to swim for the first time; day trips to concerts in the park; seafood dinners; festivals in NH and Maine; and wild blueberries - now in season - plenty of opportunities to pick your own! Wine and cheese in the Tiki Bar; reading in the hammock; board games; and exploring new adventures rounded out my week.

I have booked two vacations at this cottage for next summer; and am eagerly counting down!
Owner's Response: We always enjoy spending time with you and look forward to seeing you next year.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming lakeside cottage on pristine Great East Lake - Smoke Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366812
+1 9783373780
Great East Lake Lakes Region
5

Perfect Spot for Family Vacation on the lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My family has owned a camp on this lake for 30+ years. This year, we needed extra space for family members. After doing some research, and knowing the lake well, I found this rental for my sister-in-law and her family. The location is perfect, as you enjoy nice breezes during the day and awesome sunsets at night. The cottage is comfortable and the grounds have tons of fun activities for all family members, basketball, ping-pong, pool, water sports(kayaks, sunfish, paddleboards). The owner and his wife are great people, we enjoyed evening smores by the fire with them. The cottage itself is well maintained and has all the amenities you need for cooking, cookouts(gas grill), tv, wireless internet, etc. Finally, the lake is one of the best in New England, but I may be a little biased. It really is serene.
Owner's Response: We really enjoyed meeting you and your family - looking forward to seeing you again next summer.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming lakeside cottage on pristine Great East Lake - Smoke Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366812
+1 9783373780
Great East Lake Lakes Region
Central Florida, USA
5

Family Relaxation in a Fantastic Lake Environment!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This is probably my 5th vacation in this cottage with the Barrs as owners. I experienced two weeks of total relaxation in a cozy cottage that has been totally renovated; and has every comfort that you need for a vacation on the lake. Loons provide a background chorus at night to lull you to sleep; and kayaking on the lake during the day is always an adventure! Wireless internet allowed me to access my job as needed; and the rest of my time was spent visiting with other lake families; as well as my own. We enjoyed cooking, board games, boating, paddle-boarding, and all the local festivals and family fun. The Barrs are magnificent hosts; and are always proactive about renovations and enhancements to their property and cottages. I truly feel at home when I arrive; and savor every moment of my vacations at "The Cottage on Great East Lake".
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming lakeside cottage on pristine Great East Lake - Smoke Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366812
+1 9783373780
Great East Lake Lakes Region
5

Great time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The cottage was clean and very private. Easy access to a lake, we enjoyed fishing and swimming. The common room had pool table, pingpong table and an excellent view of the lake! The owner was very friendly and gave us excellent service. He made himself available whenever needed. Stores were not close and a little pricey, recommend to bring own groceries. Look forward to go back next summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: It was really great to meet your family. Hopefully next year you'll get one of those big bass.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Charming lakeside cottage on pristine Great East Lake - Smoke Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366812
+1 9783373780
Great East Lake Lakes Region
Central Florida, USA
5

Cozy Lakeside Relaxation and Family Fun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
I have vacationed at Great East Lake my whole life; and look forward all year to summer at the cottage. This cottage provides a cozy, comfortable getaway home with terrific lakeside views. We enjoy early morning kayaking; and the call of the loons at night. Wireless internet permits us to stay in touch; and work remotely so we can enjoy the relaxation and adventures that are part of a Great East Lake vacation. I have come to love my lake family; and enjoy boating, pie-making bonfires (also great for s'mores), sightseeing, blueberry-picking, concerts, festivals, and a wide assortment of family fun activities. Cottage furnishings reflect family-friendly New England; as do the property owners.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 9/9