Montauk condo rental - View of deck from living room
View of deck from living room
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Montauk Condo Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, large bay-facing deck; easily sleeps four

Rough Riders Landing is a beautiful hidden gated condominium complex right on the bay. Beautiful views from the deck. Walking paths throughout complex. Easy walk to the center of town and ocean if you like, but pool, hot tub, tennis, walking trails right on site. Several restaurants within walking distance. Laundry on site.

Easy access by train: I don't want this to sound like a bad thing - it's not! The train is right to the complex. It's not at all annoying, but it makes it easy to travel and stay out in beautiful Montauk at a condo with lots of amenities without a car! The walk to the center of town and the ocean beaches takes about 15 minutes (about a mile).

Montauk has great restaurants: There are many great restaurants with at least three within a few minute walk from the condo.

Owner has pets: Just to let you know, we have a dog and a cat. We try our best to keep the place really clean of animal hair. However, if you suffer from allergies, we want you to be aware.

4 Reviews of Property 366713 in Montauk, New York

Beautiful Updated Condo on Fort Pond Bay and minutes from ocean
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Beautiful Updated Condo on Fort Pond Bay and minutes from ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366713
+1 607 765-7340
Montauk Hamptons
5

A Montauk Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I recently stayed at this condo with my boyfriend and had an excellent experience. The listing is an accurate, if not humble, representation of the space.

The view of the bay is stunning and the location can't be beat (it's a 10 minute walk to one of my favorite restaurants/bars The Surf Lodge) and not much farther to the center part of town.

We also really enjoyed the pool and tennis courts on the complex grounds.

Chris was very accommodating on multiple occasions and made sure we had everything we needed. I would recommend this condo to anyone looking for an idyllic vacation getaway!

-Kristen
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Updated Condo on Fort Pond Bay and minutes from ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366713
+1 607 765-7340
Montauk Hamptons
5

Great Place to Stay in Montauk

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This was our second time staying in the condo. Both times it was very clean and comfortable. It has all the amenities of home but with a much nicer view! The condo complex has plenty to do - the pool is nicely heated and clean, and the beach is the perfect place to watch the setting sun. The owner is a pleasure to deal with. We will definitely return next summer!
business
Beautiful Updated Condo on Fort Pond Bay and minutes from ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366713
+1 607 765-7340
Montauk Hamptons
4

Great stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My boyfriend and I stayed at the condo for 5 nights in June. We had a pleasant visit and owner, Christine, was super helpful throughout. Her instructions were thorough and the condo was clean. We loved the view! We cooked fresh fish from the market and ate out on the balcony every evening. The only downside was the location- if you wanted to head to the beach in town you had to walk on the main road which wasn't the most scenic of routes. We did have a car so ended up driving to the beach most days. We would definitely stay here again when we next return to Montauk!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Updated Condo on Fort Pond Bay and minutes from ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366713
+1 607 765-7340
Montauk Hamptons
2

Allergy sufferers beware!

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We arrived at 1am to find the unit was filthy! It had not been cleaned since the previous guests. I have been in cleaner public bathrooms. There were dishes in drainboard, dirty pots on stove, kitty litter and sand all over floor, dirty placemats on table, opened liquor bottles, leftover food in fridge and a sticky, dirty floor. Spent until 2am cleaning trying to make it acceptable for my family. Owner won't allow pets to renters yet pets must reside in unit with owner. There was a kitty litter box, dog bones and animal toys in kitchen. Pet hair was throughout and stuck to cushions - cushions of the pull out sofa sleeper. My son had an asthma attack by morning. He spent the remainder of the vacation sleeping with relatives staying nearby. I became seriously ill 2 days after arriving home. It left me and the MD's wondering if I contracted the illness from this dirty property.
The unit location was convenient to dock. Rough Riders is a nice complex. The area has a lot to offer. I would not recommend this particular property.
Owner's Response: During initial email with this renter, she did mention the fact that the place was not cleaned. I had been out of the country during the period and guessed that there was a miscommunication with my cleaning person and that she did not clean in between renters. I must say that I did not get to see the place to confirm the state of the place as indicated in the comments. However, I took her word and returned her cleaning fee without question. She did not mention any of the specifics above or that there was a problem with my pets or her son(owners are permitted to have pets, but not renters per condo rules). In fact, she mentioned that they really enjoyed their stay. Since I have never even opened the sleeper and always use a rug wacker and then a lint brush before vacuuming the cushions upon my departure, I don't know how there could have been such a problem with animal hair, since the prior renter was not permitted to have pet. I guess it is possible that the renter had a pet "on the sly". I believe the above negative comments could be in response to an email I sent asking if she left raw fish in my refrigerator, which really left the place uninhabitable for more than a day after a thorough cleaning. I must say, she claimed not to have left the fish there. I can't imagine that the smell would not have been unbearable during her family's stay. Obviously, this person and I disagree on the issues; I wish her well if she rents at another Rough Riders place. However, this the only negative comment I have received after people have stayed and, as I said to her and am saying to you, I believe that the state of cleanliness was a result of a one-time miscommuncation with the cleaner. I will be sure to check up on cleaning in the future and have added a note that I have pets for those allergy sufferers that might forget to ask. Please note that the statements about health issues are totally unsubstantiated.
Helpful votes: 2/5