Ithaca farmhouse rental - Rear view of house
Rear view of house
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Ithaca Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
4 BR, 2 BA, Sleeps 7, waterfront, historic, NO addtl fees for taxes or cleaning

Comfortably furnished, sun-filled 4 bedroom house (sleeps 7 on all new mattresses and linens - 2 queen beds & 1 twin upstairs; queen sofa bed on main floor) with two bathrooms, fully-equipped remodeled kitchen with brand new appliances, formal dining room seating 8, wood stove in huge living room, wrap around porch and two enclosed porches, with the sights and sounds of Fall Creek from most rooms and all three porches.

The house is a former creamery - a picture hangs in the dining room of a horse-drawn milk wagon parked in front, circa 1800.

House is located on 8 acres along Fall Creek.... Lots of woodlands to explore.

Approx 3 miles from Sapsucker Woods (Cornell Lab of Ornithology) and Ithaca Airport.

Window air conditioners in three rooms in summer, and wood stove & hot-water heating during the winter months.

We are really serious about the fact that house sleeps 7 max.

Large screen TV/DVD player with DirecTV.

Sheets, towels and basic supplies provided.

Professionally cleaned and maintained.

On the bus line to Cornell and Downtown Ithaca.

The creamery sits in the front of 8 acres on both sides of Fall Creek where it makes a 90 degree turn in the little hamlet of Etna. Five miles downstream Fall Creek passes through Forest Home and Cornell University and becomes Ithaca Falls.

There is a house across the street and a house next door - the creek and protected Finger Lakes Land Trust are your neighbors on the other two sides. The partially enclosed wrap around porch with views of the creek and back yard is a favorite year-round spot for us and our guests.

The Etna post office is a couple of hundred yards up the road - a great walk with your dog, who will be treated with a biscuit upon entrance.

The road is very lightly traveled by cars, but bike and foot travel is frequent.

You can put your kayak or fishing rod in the water from the property. Water levels fluctuate during the year, but there is always moving water and wildlife to be enjoyed.

Sapsucker Woods, the Ithaca airport, Cornell University, a brewery, restaurants and shopping are all within a 10 mile radius, yet you really feel like you are out in the country when you are at the creamery.

There is off-road parking for 4 cars right next to the house and the TCAT bus to Cornell and downtown Ithaca goes right by the house. Rental cars are available at the airport which is less than 5 miles away.

More Details
Hide Details

My wife and I live in Baltimore and plan on retiring to the creamery in around 10 years. We had no connection to the Finger Lakes until we traveled through on our way to Canada and we both fell in love with the area. We call it 'Drinking the Kool Aid' and countless others have suffered the same fate as we did. Two years later we bought the house and have spent the last five years furnishing it and spending vacations there and enjoying all there is to do in the area

Michael Hall purchased this farmhouse in 2008

Beautiful views, easy access to the water, birds and wildlife abound, house and property full of history, close to Ithaca but still 'away from it all'

You will immediately feel 'at home'.

18 Reviews of Property 366589 in Ithaca, New York

Charming home on Fall Creek - IC GRAD 2014 OPEN - Buy 5 nights,Get 2 nights FREE
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 18 reviews
business
Charming home on Fall Creek - IC GRAD 2014 OPEN - Buy 5 nights,Get 2 nights FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366589
+1 410 4102980193
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
5

Another great weekend at the Yellow House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We've rented the house many times now over the past 3 years and it's always been a great experience. The house is always immaculate and comfortable, plenty of space for us and visiting local children to gather. Owners are also wonderful to work with! Thanks to Pat and Mike for another great weekend at your the Yellow House!
business
Charming home on Fall Creek - IC GRAD 2014 OPEN - Buy 5 nights,Get 2 nights FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366589
+1 410 4102980193
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
5

Great Vacation Option

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Perfect location near Cornell. The creek porch and overall character of the home make for a comfortable stay. Huge dining table was great for playing board games. Home was very clean with ample linens and amenities for four people. Owners explained everything accurately and were pleasant. We enjoyed all the nearby waterfalls and had some excellant pizza at the Scalehouse Brew Pub which was recommended by the owner. I would recommend this home to friends and family!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming home on Fall Creek - IC GRAD 2014 OPEN - Buy 5 nights,Get 2 nights FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366589
+1 410 4102980193
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
Richmond, VA
5

Lovely house in the country

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Lovely house in the country with beautiful view of the river. Very convenient to Ithaca. We had 6 people stay there (3 adults, 3 tweens), and there was plenty of room. Well-appointed kitchen, comfortable beds, heat worked well. Property very clean & well-maintained. Owner very quick to respond to all questions about the property.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming home on Fall Creek - IC GRAD 2014 OPEN - Buy 5 nights,Get 2 nights FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366589
+1 410 4102980193
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
4

Charming home near Ithaca

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We loved sitting on the porches and watching the birds and chipmunks near the creek. The house was clean and well-supplied with everything we needed. We enjoyed visiting Buttermilk Falls and Treman State Park, as well as Mahogany Grill on the Commons. We would definitely recommend this property to friends.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming home on Fall Creek - IC GRAD 2014 OPEN - Buy 5 nights,Get 2 nights FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366589
+1 410 4102980193
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
5

Cozy home in beautiful area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We really enjoyed our stay in this lovely home. It was just as described, and everything was clean and ready for our arrival. The owners were responsive and very easy to communicate with. The home is in a beautiful, peaceful area and a short drive from downtown Ithaca.

I would definitely recommend this property and hope to return again soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming home on Fall Creek - IC GRAD 2014 OPEN - Buy 5 nights,Get 2 nights FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366589
+1 410 4102980193
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
4

Etna & Ithaca With Ulysses & Hector On The Side

Etna & Ithaca With Ulysses & Hector On The Side
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
A pleasant stay at a lovely home on Fall Creek! The view from the bedroom & veranda of the creek, deer, geese, & ducks, (an occasional seagull); + a heated bathroom floor, a clothes-drying rack worthy of the name, & dye/perfume-free laundry soap all conributed to a good time!

Cornell U & progressive Ithaca are short drives away. We thoroughly enjoyed the wineries on Cayuga & Seneca Lakes, the Women's Rights Museum, Fillmore Glen in Monrovia, & Corning Glass Museum.

The Grand Gorges & Falls - Ithaca, Lucifer, Buttermilk, Montour, Taughannock- are all within easy reach.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming home on Fall Creek - IC GRAD 2014 OPEN - Buy 5 nights,Get 2 nights FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366589
+1 410 4102980193
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
5

Beautiful Country Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband and I met our 2 adult daughters, their husbands, and our teen-aged grandson for a long weekend. The house was spotless. The kitchen, pantry, and refrigerator were well-stocked. It was wonderful not to have to bring linens and make up beds upon arrival! The bathroom even had shampoo, conditioner, etc. Some of us sat in the rocking chairs on the large covered porch and watched the others swim, kayak, and fish in the creek. The yard was perfect for bean bag and wiffle ball games. In the evening we had plenty of room to spread out and watch TV, read, or talk. Downtown Ithaca (restaurants, shopping, theatre) was an easy 15 minute drive. We are very familiar with the area but found plenty of pamphlets and books describing area attractions and activities. We have been renting vacation homes in the Finger Lakes for years and agreed this was one of our favorites!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming home on Fall Creek - IC GRAD 2014 OPEN - Buy 5 nights,Get 2 nights FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366589
+1 410 4102980193
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
5

Historic Home Offers Peaceful Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We LOVED this adorable, historic home. It was spacious and full of character! The small town of Etna is quiet and tucked away but just minutes from Ithaca. We spent our days around the lakes touring wineries and exploring state parks and then we'd come back home to rest, drink wine, and read in the den on the second floor or in the enclosed wrap around porch. The peaceful stirring of the creek, along with the pleasant solitude of Etna, made it easy for us to slow down and forget about work for awhile.
We highly recommend this rental to others, especially if you are looking for a peaceful escape. We found the home cozy and inviting as well as private. We didn't feel like we were lodging in a rental but in someone's home. It was clean and well maintained. The kitchen is updated and the first floor bathroom boasts a large shower with a heated floor. The living room offers visitors plenty of furniture to enjoy reading, board games, or naps.
Pat and Mike were very kind to provide us with their personal recommendations for activities and sightseeing. Since this trip was our first visit to Ithaca, we planned our itinerary with their advice in mind. We visited the Commons and Ithaca Falls, Ithaca Farmers Market, 5 wineries (Long Point, Heart and Hand, King Ferry, Atwaters, and Standing Stone), Robert Treman State Park, Ithaca Brewery, Cornell University, and Watkins Glen. Mark and I could not possibly hit all the wineries within 5 days, so we want to return to visit the rest of them. (LOL There are about 100 of them.) In addition to wineries, we want to spend more time swimming in the lakes. We took a chilly dip in the Lower Falls at RTSP. The temperature was 63 degrees and it was totally worth it. :-)
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Ithaca!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming home on Fall Creek - IC GRAD 2014 OPEN - Buy 5 nights,Get 2 nights FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366589
+1 410 4102980193
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
5

vacation rental 366589

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We had a wonderful time. The house is very comfortable, cozy, clean, fully equipped and stuffed. All these made out stay very pleasant and worry-free.
We'll definitely come again. Thank you very much
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming home on Fall Creek - IC GRAD 2014 OPEN - Buy 5 nights,Get 2 nights FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366589
+1 410 4102980193
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
5

GREAT GETAWAY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The house is cozy and charming. The owners are very accommodating and friendly.
I would certainly recommend this place to everyone. Quiet yet close to everything.We had our two small grandchildren with us and they enjoyed it also. We didn't get to relax there as much as we would have liked, only because we had many wedding festivities to attend. When we visit Ithaca again, we will certainly be renting it again.!
Helpful votes: 1/1