San Diego house rental - Front of the House with off street parking on the right side.
Front of the House with off street parking on the right side.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

San Diego House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Welcome to our home! This property is beautifully renovated, tastefully furnished and close to everything. Relax in style.

Located in San Diego's historic Kensington, one of the finest neighborhoods in San Diego. Take a one block short stroll to coffee houses, restaurants, the Ken Cinema and the local park. Very easy access to freeways. Within a few minutes drive are: Downtown San Diego, Balboa Park, Museums, the San Diego Zoo, Seaworld, Beaches, San Diego International airport, Shopping centers, and the San Diego Convention Center.

Enjoy outdoor/indoor living. Relax and dine in the backyard under the arbor amongst the trees. Inside, enjoy open plan living. The second bedroom has double doors that open to the living room. The living room features modular furniture which you can arrange based on your activities.

A delightful house and location to enjoy your vacation.

Keywords: Craftsman, Garden Retreat, Downtown Kensington, Vacation Rental

20 Reviews of Property 366486 in San Diego, California

Cozy Retreat in Historic Kensington, Close to All. Intro Price
average rating of 4.9 based on 20 reviews
business
Cozy Retreat in Historic Kensington, Close to All. Intro Price
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366486vb
(619) 395-0664
San Diego San Diego County
4

Good

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
House was great, owner was very obliging.very neat and clean would stay here again, quite neighborhood
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Cozy Retreat in Historic Kensington, Close to All. Intro Price
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366486vb
(619) 395-0664
San Diego San Diego County
Seattle, WA
5

Great Location....Great house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Darren and Kelly are outstanding. The house is old, but in good shape and very clean and you are close to all the things you need. It worked out very well for us. Not far from all the San Diego activities and there are very good restaurants within walking distance......a block or two at most.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car
business
Cozy Retreat in Historic Kensington, Close to All. Intro Price
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366486vb
(619) 395-0664
San Diego San Diego County
Crestone, CO
5

Magnificent Month

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Our stay at this beautiful cottage was most enjoyable. The property was clean, well decorated and had all the necessary equipment to assure a successful visit. Kensington is a small friendly and quiet neighborhood which invites walking, offers a variety of cafes and restaurants and a well known coffee shop on the corner, Our dog was comfortable in the house and in the fenced back yard. The owner, Darren, was available to answer all of our questions and to offer suggestions regarding nearby attractions. Since Kensington is very close to a major highway, getting around the city and beyond was a "breeze". We certainly recemmend this property and plan to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy Retreat in Historic Kensington, Close to All. Intro Price
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366486vb
(619) 395-0664
San Diego San Diego County
Olathe, KS
5

Fabulous!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Exactly as described & pictured, my husband and I could not have been happier with our selection of Darren's jewel in Kensington. It is a lovely property with a soul of home and we were not lacking for anything we needed during our stay. Tho we had a well appointed kitchen that we made use of every day, I loved the walkability to the local eats, liquor and family owned video store. With quick access to the main arteries of El Cajon and University Ave, as well as being close to the highway, all of the city's attractions are reachable with ease. What I love most about visiting San Diego is what I know as the wonderful "midtown" neighborhood experience and I cannot say enough good things about this rental as being a little slice of San Diego heaven!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy Retreat in Historic Kensington, Close to All. Intro Price
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366486vb
(619) 395-0664
San Diego San Diego County
Fredericton, NB, Canada
5

California vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Darren's home on Kensingston Street was a great place to end our California Adventure. My husband, 5 year-old daughter and I stayed here for 6 nights in October. The home had everything we needed for an extended stay (including beach chairs and umbrella, lots of extra towels and a washer and dryer) and was immaculately clean. The back patio was a wonderful space for at home meals. The pictures very accurately reflect the reality of the interior space as well. There was lots of room, and could easily accommodate a larger group than ours. The neighbourhood is great - a Starbucks and several restaurants right around the corner, and several nearby playgrounds for little ones. We ate at several of the restaurants (Kensingston Grill, Kensington Cafe and the Burger Lounge), and they were all great. We also ordered pizza from a place a bit further up the road - Zia Gourmet Pizza on Adams St - which was fantastic. The home, although on a quiet residential street, also has very easy access to the highway and it takes no time to get to any of the major San Diego attractions. Finally, Darren was fantastic. There is plenty of information at the house on nearby attractions, and he brought us some additional information our first morning there. He even drove us to the airport for our extremely early flight when we left and credited the damage deposit before we had even arrived home. Warnings: (1) the plumbing is a little iffy, but this was only a minor inconvenience; (2) there is no air conditioning, but there are lots of ceiling fans; and (3) you won't want to leave.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cozy Retreat in Historic Kensington, Close to All. Intro Price
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366486vb
(619) 395-0664
San Diego San Diego County
Rancho Mirage, CA
5

Charm and Convenience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We spent four months in this delightful Craftsman cottage and were extremely pleased that we did so. The house is located in Kensington, a lovely, historic neighborhood with terrific opportunities for long walks and a village center with good restaurants and other amenities less than a block away. We were also only a few minutes from the 15 freeway with fast connections to downtown and all the great shopping in Mission Valley.Our doggies were delighted with the large backyard and so were we. Best of all, Darren, the owner, lives next door and is the most amiable, helpful landlord we've ever encountered.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cozy Retreat in Historic Kensington, Close to All. Intro Price
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366486vb
(619) 395-0664
San Diego San Diego County
Grandville, MI
5

Lovely, charming stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This was the most charming house to stay at. It was clean, cozy, and a lovely "home-away-from-home"! The owner was great! Very friendly and helpful if you wanted to know what places to eat at and to visit.
We were able to do day trips to San Diego area and visited Balboa Park which was a couple minutes drive away.
Overall we LOVED our stay at this house and in the town of Kensington. Highly recommended place to stay!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cozy Retreat in Historic Kensington, Close to All. Intro Price
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366486vb
(619) 395-0664
San Diego San Diego County
Renton, WA
5

Seattle Resident

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
The little house was charming and clean. Bath and Kitchen fixtures have been updated and there were hardwood floors throughout. Instant hotwater was a bonus. Good place to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cozy Retreat in Historic Kensington, Close to All. Intro Price
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366486vb
(619) 395-0664
San Diego San Diego County
-
5

A perfect place for a college graduation celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Our son was graduating from San Diego State University and we wanted some place close to the college and his apartment without having to do the hotel scene. We wanted a cozy place to stay and also have a Celebration BBQ with his friends on Sat. afternoon. I must say whole-heartily... Darren's home did not disappoint us. The adorable, and beautifully restored bungalow was so cozy and perfect for my husband, myself and our in-laws. Because it only slept 4, our 2 son's stayed at the apartment, but came for meals and family time.

It is within walking distance, 1 block of the few shops in Kensington and we had dinner at the Burger Lounge 2 blocks away. Such a cute neighborhood which I enjoyed on my early morning walks. Because the house is so close to the shops, parking would have been a problem if it were not for the LONG driveway of the house. It fits 4 cars easily.

Darren was a pleasure to meet and he was so helpful. He had extra propane for the gas grill, loaned us his BOSE player for the bbq and set out extra chairs.

This was our first stay in a VRBO, even though we have our own listing with VRBO #393779, and we will always look to VRBO first instead of a hotel. I really liked using the Reservation Manager feature for booking the rental as it set up a payment plan and sent reminders well in advance when the payment was due. Very helpful!!!

I am so glad our son has another year to get his teaching credential as I am sure I will be staying here again.

Thanks again Darren!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy Retreat in Historic Kensington, Close to All. Intro Price
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366486vb
(619) 395-0664
San Diego San Diego County
Portland, OR
5

SDvaca

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
This bungalow was as charming and perfect in person as it was in the pictures. It is conveniently located in the heart of Kensington neighborhood and walking distance to coffee, cafes, nail salon/spas/barber shops, restaurants, gas station, and a short drive (longer walk) to a grocery store. There is a small park with swings, slides, etc and a library a stone's throw away from the house, which is perfect if you have small children. The house is conveniently located to the 15 freeway, downtown, the zoo, Balboa Park, children's museum, and the beaches. Darren, the owner, is wonderful, and has all kinds of maps and brochures of San Diego ready and available for you to use. The house comes fully equipped with everything you need in the kitchen, plenty of towels, beach chairs/umbrella/beach towels, a pack and play, and even a BBQ grill in the adorable backyard. My only three <minor> complaints are 1) that the mattress in the front bedroom squeaks a lot, so we woke up my sleeping baby every time we moved or shifted positions in bed; 2) something in the house flared up my allergies and my mother-in-law's allergies. My husband thought the house smelled like animals (cat possibly), but I couldn't identify the source. My MIL and I only took 1 Zyrtec the first night and were fine the remainder of our stay; 3) it is virtually impossible to see oncoming traffic as you are trying to back out of the driveway. We had to have 1 person stand out in the middle of the street to direct the driver out to make sure that we didn't getting clipped coming out. All in all, however, this is a perfect rental and we will definitely be looking to rent Darren's bungalow again when we return to San Diego!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2