Monson cabin rental - Look from the water to the cabin
Look from the water to the cabin
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps16
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Monson Cabin Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms (sleeping areas), 1 full bathroom, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 12 or more

Private large log cabin that sites in the middle of 16 area of land and has 815 feet of water frontage. We get a lot of just couples because of the privacy. The cabin is 40 feet X 60 feet and has a large screened in porch, 30 feet X 26 feet. Also an outdoor deck. Fishing, swimming and boating are right out the lake side door. Hiking on the Appalachia trail or mountain hiking is within a few miles. There are many beautiful walks within the area. The cabin sites approximately 7 story's above the water and faces west. The views are breath taking. All the comforts of home: full kitchen, one full bath, one half bath, cloths dryer and washer, and extra sink in the master bedroom. The master bedroom has a king size bed, the other down stairs bedroom has a queen size bed. Both of these rooms have enough space to set up roll away beds in them. The loft bedroom has six single beds and their is a pull out couch in the

down stairs. There is also a room over the porch that could be used for additional beds. NEW DOCK.

If you have a large group we can sleep 16 people.

Cabin and porch are handicap accessible. Above 7 people the rate goes up by $100/WEEK PER PERSON.

More Details
Hide Details

I lived in Laconia, NH until I was 18 year old and spent a lot of time on Lake Winnipessaukee in New Hampshire. My uncle owned part of an island just out from the Weirs Beach. During the 60's Lake Winnipesaukee was not to crowded. This is where I leaned to love the wilderness and water. This property that we offer is very much in the wildernesss of Maine and the water is pristine. The fishing is excellent and there are two small beaches on the 815 feet of shore line. My wife and I presently live in Newport, RI and have six chlidren and eight grandchildren. I am in my late 60's, still working and decided to rent this property in hopes that we can own it thru our retirement. With all the chlidren and grandchildren we do not have as much time to spend at this cabin as we would like. Our childrens ages are from 23 to 43 and the grandchildren are from 3 mouths to 21 years old. They keep us busy. If you decide to us this property I hope that you enjoy it as much as we do.

Bill Everett purchased this cabin in 2003

The reason I bought this property is that when I first saw it I was amazed by the view of the water. Looking west over the water you are approximately 7 story's above the water. The sun sets are absolutely breath taking. It has everything, screened porch, large log cabin, great fishing, swimming, small beach, very private, and lots of land for you to explore.

The most unique thing about this cabin is the privacy (16 areas)

The second most unique thing is the large size of the cabin.

main floor 2,400 ft2

sceened porch 780 ft2

room over the porch

loft over the two bedrooms

deck 300 ft2

The third most unique thing, the sunset views over looking the water.

7 Reviews of Property 366439 in Monson, Maine

Private, on the water beautiful log cabin, 815 feet of water frontage, 16 acres
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Private, on the water beautiful log cabin, 815 feet of water frontage, 16 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366439
+1 508 264-3909
Monson Maine Highlands
n/a
5

Quiet and private

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The pictures do not show the real size and details of how nice Bill has made this treasure. Our family spent a restful week enjoying the pond and the peacefulness of the area and look forward to next year. My favorite room quickly became the porch were I wasted the time away with reading, napping and watching the humming birds. We also spent quite a bit of time on the pond swimming and kayaking the area. It is hard to put into words the uniqueness of this cabin and the quality family time we had. All I can say is that you will not be disappointed.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private, on the water beautiful log cabin, 815 feet of water frontage, 16 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366439
+1 508 264-3909
Monson Maine Highlands
Medfield, MA
5

Adventure Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
WOW. When I picture "log cabin on a lake", I picture nice and quaint. Now that I have been to Monson Pond at this cabin, I have a new definition of "log cabin on a lake". There is SO much to do and SO much scenary to take in. I honestly can't express in words how exciting this was. The cabin itself is bueatiful and very roomy. We were fortunate enough to stay as a family of five, however, we also had several friends stay for a few nights and things were very comfortable for all. To top it all off, this location is only 20 minutes from the Moosehead Lake region. So in the event you wish to go out for a meal, there is plenty to choose from within a short distance. Please note, fisherman must check out the brook feeding into Monson Pond. My young boys and I travelled up the brook and were lucky enough to catch 2 brook trout in August. Anyone who is an outdoors enthusiast must consider this property. Enjoy!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private, on the water beautiful log cabin, 815 feet of water frontage, 16 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366439
+1 508 264-3909
Monson Maine Highlands
5

A stay in paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
When I previously thought of log cabins, I had an image in my mind: drafty, small, uncomfortable. This particular rental blew away any preconceived notions I might have had. It is spacious, warm, beautiful, and immediately feels like home. The cabin is nestled in a thicket of woods so I felt a great sense of privacy. It is a perfect environment for nature lovers, as hummingbirds, deer, and even moose can be seen regularly. The cabin is in close proximity to some of the best hikes and mountain climbs I have ever been on. I had a fantastic experience, and definitely look forward to returning.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private, on the water beautiful log cabin, 815 feet of water frontage, 16 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366439
+1 508 264-3909
Monson Maine Highlands
5

A wonderful vacation week @ Monson Pond

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband,myself and my mother at the age of 83 spent a very relaxing and totally enjoyable week at the cabin. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the cabin and how clean and comfortable it was. Awesome beds! My husband fished every day catching all three species of fish that Monson Pond is known for. My mother and myself spent most of our time relaxing on the spacious deck or in the very large screened in porch. We had lots of company,playing many games ,took lots of very private walks with our dogs and just loved every minute of our vacation.Thanks for the opportunity to visit Monson Pond and stay at your wonderful cabin in the woods. We left very happy campers!! Also the views were spectacular!! We saw all kinds of wildlife Deer,fox.loons,eagles,hawks etc...


Highly recommended for families with older children and all adults.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your great review and using our property. We hope that you will return next year. Please thank Alden for not catching all the fish.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private, on the water beautiful log cabin, 815 feet of water frontage, 16 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366439
+1 508 264-3909
Monson Maine Highlands
5

Perfect for any occasion!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
First and foremost the reviews below this review are 100% correct and accurate.

I would like to add a few things:

1. Pictures on this site do not do the house justice. It is amazing the attention to detail with antiques and furniture and the dock, boat, and kayak's and the private setting with perfect views over Monson Pond.

2. When we arrived I sent Bill (the owner) an email from my blackberry letting him know that the house blew away any expectation we had coming from New Jersey. I know when you read a review and look at pictures you hope for the best. When we arrived, everyone in our party said the same thing. This place is huge, private and for the first few hours we looked at the amazing antiques and such around the house.

3. The owner Bill was amazing to talk with and gave any information that was necessary and gave contacts in Monson if we ran into any problems.

4. Everything about this place was amazing, it was very clean, it was private, the house is huge, the amazing details to make it more then a vacation home are eye popping. On day 6 of our stay, I was still noticing things in the rafter, never noticed the bear head until day 6. And oh boy the memories of an old stove sitting by the front door, my grandmother had one in her house when I was growing up.

5. The steps are a hike, going down, not so bad, lol. Going up, as long as you take your time, you should have no problems. My inlaws were there, and they are in their mid sixties and made it up, a bit out of breath, but made it up.

Thanks Bill, your place is wonderful and perfect. I would highly recommend this to ANYONE, my wife, two children 10 and 16 and my inlaws all enjoyed ourselves. Nights on the deck watching the sun going down and mornings that my inlaws sat in the two chairs by the window drinking coffee will be memories we will always cherish! We may be planning a fall trip, so you may be hearing from us once again!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private, on the water beautiful log cabin, 815 feet of water frontage, 16 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366439
+1 508 264-3909
Monson Maine Highlands
5

One Week with Friends at Monson Pond

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My friends and I spent a week up at this cabin and loved it! Pictures cannot even do this house justice. The cabin overall, but especially the living room/ dining area is huge. We had a large group and all slept very comfortably. The house was not only big but adorned all over with unique antiques and natural art. Despite the size, the interior decorating made the place feel like a cozy cabin. The cabin was surrounded by such a vast amount of woods, that "private" may even be an understatement! The stairs down to the water are a bit be long, but it is no trouble as you will most likely spend large amounts of time down at the dock or up on the deck. From the deck, the view is phenomenal. A few trees stand in your way of overlooking the entire lake but you will be so high up it will not matter. The lake is perfect to swim, kayak, or fish in.There is also a river down the road where you may swim and fish at as well. The water there is even warmer than the lake. In the center of town, there are several stores where you can pick up most of what you may need. However, I suggest packing food ahead of time if you are staying for an extended period of time. Further down the road from the river is a hiking trail on Borestone Mountain. It is great exercise to climb to the summit and the view is worth it. I definitely recommend this cabin to anyone and everyone. I would love to plan a visit again sometime in the future.
Owner's Response: Louis, thank you for the review. That is exactly how my wife and I feel about the cabin. I am very glade that your group had a great time. That is what it is all about. We will continue to make improvement and hope you will return.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private, on the water beautiful log cabin, 815 feet of water frontage, 16 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366439
+1 508 264-3909
Monson Maine Highlands
gaithersburg
5

3 weeks on monson Pond

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
I was here in late June to early july. The cabin ( house ) is very well kept and spacious. Beautiful views over the pond and lovely sunsets. Great for pet owners as it is totally private. Quite a hike to the pond but it's good exercise. Probably not so good for boat owners unless the dock has been repaired. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2