Mathews cottage rental - Charming Belfield front
Charming Belfield front
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Mathews Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3-4 bedrooms, 2 full baths, 1 half bath, sleeps 8

Belfield is a charming period bungalow located in the heart of Mathews on desirable Williams Wharf road, home to the nationally ranked Mathews crew team. Situated on 10 acres with over 1200 feet on the East River water activities abound! There are kayaks, windsurfer and a sailboat available to guests. The screened porch (one of 2) is the perfect spot to watch the glorious sunsets. The ground floor features a living room with fireplace, a dining room, sunroom with windows on three sides, a kitchen with eating peninsula and attached sitting room with gas fireplace with french doors to the porch. There is a library with sleep sofa also with french doors to the porch, a large master bedroom and a full bath and a half. Upstairs are 2 charming bedrooms and a bath. Attractively furnished by antique dealer owners. Daytrips to Williamsburg and Busch are easy but do you really want to leave Mathews--it's the best kept secret on the Bay!

7 Reviews of Property 365990 in Mathews, Virginia

Waterfront Charmer on Desirable Williams Wharf
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Waterfront Charmer on Desirable Williams Wharf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365990
1-804-7259098
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Charlottesville. VA
5

Perfect get-away spot, even in the dead of winter

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
With extended family visiting over the holidays, I was thrilled to find Belfield where I hoped we could all get away for a few days. It did not disappoint -- this is a lovely, comfortable home that easily lends itself to a group gathering for meals or an individual being able to find a cozy corner to read or nap. High ceilings, hardwood floors, beautiful views from pretty much every window -- add lovely, tasteful furnishings, comfortable beds, bikes and kayaks -- we had no complaints. Everyone in our group (from age 14 to 86) remarked on how relaxed they felt. The owners were flexible and accommodating. This is a well loved home that they clearly care about and want others to enjoy. Will definitely consider a return visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Kate, thank you so much for your kind review. We are so delighted that you had a good stay at Belfield! Mathews is definitely a place to get away from it all--and we are thrilled that you were able to enjoy the peace and serenity that it has to offer. We look forward to having you return!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Charmer on Desirable Williams Wharf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365990
1-804-7259098
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Charlottesville
5

Serenity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My husband and friends and I had a lovely stay at Belfield. The house is charming and comfortable, with its star feature being the screened porch overlooking a broad view of the river. The layout works well for a larger group, with many places to sit and read or to talk and play games. The first floor bedroom is quite gracious. The upstairs rooms are cozy.

During our stay, we mostly enjoyed lounging on the porch, walking the nearby roads, and sitting on the beaches, but did avail ourselves of the bikes and kayaks. Bethel Beach was our top choice for long walks and Haven Beach for sitting in the sun and getting in the water. Our outings included a trip to Hickory Hill Antiques and to Brent and Becky's Bulbs, both in Gloucester. We shopped at the Saturday Farmer's Market and bought goodies at The Cake Man.

Finally, our canine companions appreciated that this rental was pet-friendly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront Charmer on Desirable Williams Wharf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365990
1-804-7259098
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
New Jersey
5

Lovely stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Had a great week with my family. House was very comfortable with lots and lots of charm. Biking was easy. Plenty of bird watching.
Pity there was not fresh seafood market in Mathews! but the lack of traffic lights made up for it!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront Charmer on Desirable Williams Wharf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365990
1-804-7259098
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Islesford, Maine
5

from God's country, live in Heaven

from God's country, live in Heaven
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Wow, the word to describe this beautiful home. What a place to stay, only wish it had lasted longer. Lovely appointed home in the country. Love that it is a river home, but take that up a notch. Everything you would need. Betsy and Jaik bent over backwards to accommodate all our needs. It was cozy yet very spacious and the decor, beautiful. The porch does not show well in the pictures, just adds one more room to look out on a gorgeous sunset. Great place to stay, plenty of room for games in the yard, lots to do around town. Great for romantic getaway, with family, or for my parents. Hope to return in the fall. Thank you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Waterfront Charmer on Desirable Williams Wharf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365990
1-804-7259098
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
United States
5

Waterfront Beauty!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Beautiful, Peaceful Retreat! Spotless bungalow with million dollar views, the sunsets are breathtaking.. Betsy aranged for every detail, kitchen is decked out with everything you might need. Fresh linens, and lovely antiques for you to enjoy. If you want to relax this is the place for you. We plan on returning often.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Waterfront Charmer on Desirable Williams Wharf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365990
1-804-7259098
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Williamsburg,VA
5

Enjoy the calm in Matthews!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My family and I rented this cottage while in Matthews for our son's wedding. I can't say enough good things about our stay. The internet pictures are good, but it is even more charming and roomy than portrayed. There is great attention to details in every way possible. The owners go out of their way to make sure you'll have a wonderful stay. The property is beautiful- water views everywhere. It is extremely peaceful and private. But, on the other hands plenty to do, if you wish. Our 10 year old grandson had a ball, as well. It is very well stocked- eveything you could need. The location and beauty is what really makes it special. We can't wait to return for another LONGER visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Waterfront Charmer on Desirable Williams Wharf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365990
1-804-7259098
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
d.c.
5

Pleases all and then some!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
My husband and I recently stayed at this lovely (and romantic – wait until you see the sunset) riverside home and plan to return as soon as possible – hopefully with more family in tow, including the kids! Incredible view, decorator décor, close to the charming historic village. The house is in a great location for bike riding or kayaking – two of the top reasons people visit Mathews County. For those looking to do something other than relax and enjoy the peace, beauty and small town way of life that is Mathews, Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown allow history buffs to explore. For itchy footed children or shoppers, greater Williamsburg offers an abundance of options. Busch Gardens, Water Country and Great Wolf Lodge for the younger set and the Prime Outlets for the savvy shoppers of the family are less than an hour away. Golfer? Williamsburg has over 300 fantastic courses.
I know I sound like a PR agent for Mathews, but we just so loved our stay. Hope you’ll enjoy yours. E
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8